Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO

Founded 1992 • With Angi since April 2005

4.9

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5213 BUENA VISTA

Mission, KS 66205

Description

5 EMPLOYEES. USES SUBS FOR SHEETROCK. ROOFING. PLUMBING & PAINTING. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/23/2017


Colleen S.

They are very consistent. The materials they use are very durable. They are very professional and follow up on any questions. They were flexible and would work on issues that came up during the job.

Description of Work
Exterior painting

Category remodeling

5.0

07/20/2014


Keith M.

Excellent service, thinks of all the little details, ensures everything is done the right way and to the satisfaction of the customer.

Description of Work
Complete renovation of 1 bathroom and partial renovation of another

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

02/11/2014


Kim A.

.

Description of Work
.

Category remodeling

5.0

01/10/2012


Jean M.

The work was absolutely beautifully and meticulously done, on time, and with lots of follow-up by Jan Duncan, the owner. Jan is incredible to work with. He gets back with you usually within an hour or two if you have a question. He is efficient, pleasant, listens to you carefully, and works with you and his craftsmen in figuring out solutions to tough problems. Jan follows up to make sure all aspects of the project are completed --- no dangling tail ends. We are so trusting of these people that we had them start the project and do all the dusty work while we were on vacation. Snyergy has also remodeled a bathroom, a kitchen, and a new concrete driveway for us. Each of those projects was also started or done while we were on vacation. In every project, Jan and his staff have been efficient, on time, and the quality of work was outstanding. The staff is very tidy --- carefully cleaning up at the end of each day. They are quiet (well as quiet as you can be with saws and electrical tools) and unobtrusive. We were originally referred to Synergy by our neighbor who has had probably 4 major projects done by Synergy and they (ane we) were very impressed by their work. Our other neighbor was very impressed with Synergy's work --- and plans to use them too when the need arises. We have referred Synergy to other friends who have likewise had the same outstanding experience. We cannot say enough good things about this guy and his wonderful staff!

Description of Work
This is the 4th project we have used Synergy for. I am not sure I have the above amount of the project correct --- it was done in several phases and we were billed by several people. Our latest project was remodeling a back room: new floor, walls with wainscoating (and ledges), drywall, new double window, adding baseboard heat, and a wall of custom cabinets. We also had to move our electical service.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, concrete driveways, drywall, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

01/10/2012


George L.

We have used Synergy in the past for other remodeling jobs in this house - including the finishing of our basement in 2006. The reason that we have continued to rely on Jan Duncan and Synergy is for his attention to detail on the project. This not only applies to the work that he and his crew directly works on, but to the subcontractors that he hire.s He is also a very honest individual who lives by his word - his quotes are spot on. He also is one to take ownership of any aspect of the project (as long as he is made aware of a problem) - he will see to it personally that it is addressed. Another aspect of Synergy and Jan Duncan that we have come to appreciate is his willingness to consider ideas that may not be necessarily and quot;traditionaland quot; or have not been done before in the residential environment. When we first started looking into general contractors with our basement project, other contractors would often dismiss our ideas or try to get us to do something the way and quot;everyone else does itand quot;. Jan is always willing to listen to new ideas and then investigate ways to introduce a new design or material in to the project. The work was started at right after Thanksgiving of 2010. Because of the extent of the project, we could have chosen to move out of the house, but we chose to have Jan and his crew do the project while we still lived in the house. The people that he hires are clean and considerate - they have started the work days when our daughters were sleeping and only did the loud stuff when they were awake. We knew going into the project that this would have a big impact on our living space during the construction, but it was a huge sacrifice on our part. - losing 2 of the main bathrooms and bedroom during the majority of the project. Because the project started in the winter, they had to essentially build the outside first, then do the demolition of the existing exterior walls after the new and quot;shelland quot; was created. The new foundation was dug up and created in the dead of winter in the midst of one of the ice storms and then the following thaw - needless to say the project site was a mud pit, but Jan and his crew managed to keep the majority of the mud confined to the backyard by using demo'd wood planks to create and quot;walk-waysand quot; thru the mud! Knowing that our project would involve heavy equipment - bobcat, concrete truck, etc that would have to go onto our adjacent neighbors property, Jan approached our immediate next-door neighbor to get their permission to come across a portion of their yard that exists between our two house. This is with the plan that their area would be re-sodded upon completion of the project at no cost to them. Our next door neighbors were more than willing to allow for the incursion onto a small part of the property and the construction view out of their dining room. They have been more than patient with us as we get thru this project. Jan even showed his appreciation of their patience with our project by helping them complete a small project in their backyard. The only unexpected aspect to our project has been the fact that is has taken longer than we have expected, mainly because of supply issues - tiles, flooring, lighting. Overall, if we had anything else in our house to remodel, we would be going back to Jan and Synergy to have it done - the workmanship and quality are second to none!

Description of Work
This was an extensive remodel project that increased the usable square footage by ~33% of a 15 yr old home in Lenexa. The project included new foundation and 2 story addition off the back of our home to include a new mudroom, walk-in pantry, expanded dining room/ kitchen, new 2nd floor laundry room, expansion of one bedroom, creation of 2 new bathrooms from a previously shared bath, remodeling of the master bathroom and walk-in closet, creation of a "green" roof. The project was approved by our home owners association and the City of Lenexa.

Category remodeling

1.0

04/20/2011


Sharon G.

So far so bad. This company has total disregard for any surrounding neighbors' properties. They have driven up on our grass, thrown cigarette butts in our yard, cleaned their muddy boots off in our grass and one guy brings his dog to work and keeps it in his vehicle. He will occasionally let it out and lets it defecate on our yard and other peoples yards. The job site is a total mess. They have driven over others driveways with the concrete trucks and lumber delivery trucks. They made such a mess in the street that I had to call the city to get them to make the workers clean it up. You know how you see other people getting work done on/around their house and think what a nice job and that you would hire this company to do some work for you? BEWARE!! We even put flags on the side of our yard to keep them from driving up on the grass and they just walked over them and bent them. Update: This 'project' was a real inconvenience for our neighborhood. What I said in my previous report still stands. There was no hyperbole here. The contractors and subcontractors for this project were inconsiderate of surrounding properties. I did indeed clean up cigarette butts from my grass not to mention other trash and food items such as orange peel that was thrown out of one of the workers truck windows. (And there was a dumpster on site). There is no jealousy for the neighbor having the work done, just empathy that they didn't know what they were getting themselves into. There are contractors that have integrity and those that don't and by calling it how I see it, these do not. Maybe there should have been some supervision or communication with the workers on how to work in an existing neighborhood. I am not using Angie's List as a blog, I am just letting people know how this contractor did not seem to care about the surrounding properties, and if that is a concern for prospective customers, then they will appreciate this report.

Description of Work
This company is doing an addition to a neighbor that lives across the street. They have poured foundations, built the add on and generally created TONS of trash. They have been working on this project since December 2010. Update: This is a remodel for a neighbors' house in our subdivision.

Category concrete repair, remodeling

Service Provider Response

This is very sad. This poor woman (the member) has had ill feelings towards her neighbor (our customer) for 9 years (by the member's own admission). Unfortunately for us, our company became collateral damage from the very day we started this project. Angie's List is supposed to be a place where people can look up comments from a company's past CUSTOMERS. The member is not one of our customers but has chosen to use Angie's List as a blog to regurgitate hyperbole, prevarications, and misinformation motivated by her dislike (jealousy?) of her neighbor. What a shame.
5.0

04/23/2007


Diann S.

I was very pleased with the work. The work was done timely and very professionally, Jan hired high quality tradesmen and closely supervised the work.

Description of Work
Redo kitchen, take out walls, and expand closets.

Category drywall, remodeling

5.0

10/03/2006


George L.

This was such a big project from our standpoint and Jan and his son did a fantastic job with every aspect. He was very open to new ideas in the design phase and worked well with our architect in creating the design we wanted. During the construction phase, his crew was very efficient, did a great job and kept the rest of the house clean. Jan's attention to detail was such, that if something was not done properly by the subcontractor, he would have them re-do the job until it met his approval! He is probably 10% more than others that we had priced out, but the professionalism, attention to detail and the overall quality of work, were second to none!

Description of Work
Complete remodeling of a 1000 sq ft walkout basement. Included expanding patio door to 12 ft wide, creation of new concrete patio, addition of 6 new windows, full bath, kitchenette, custom cabinets, bedroom and entertainment area. Ceiling in the basement with unique slope and recessed areas for lighting.

Category custom cabinets, concrete repair, remodeling, replacement windows, doors

5.0

04/10/2005


DLONNA B.

THE OVERALL EXPERIENCE WAS EXCELLENT. SYNERGY'S OWNER, EMPLOYEES, and CONTRACTORS WERE GREAT TO WORK WITH, DURING THE 12 WEEK PROCESS. THEY WERE ALWAYS AVAILABLE TO GIVE US, AND SHOW US, DAILY PROGRESS. AND WHEN WE WANTED TO CHANGE SOMETHING, MIDSTREAM, THEY ACCOMMODATED OUR CHANGES. WE WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE NEEDING ANY TYPE OF HOME IMPROVEMENT.

Description of Work
SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION COMPANY ADDED A 24 X 24 ROOM ADDITION, AND BATHROOM TO OUR HOME.

Category remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mr. Handyman of Northeast Johnson County

    Busy schedules make both major and minor home repairs hard to get to. You also want someone you can trust in your home. Our technicians are Employees, not subcontractors. They are Insured and bonded, you can trust them in your home. Our techs have at least 20 years experience in the trade. One call to Mr. Handyman solves all your home repair headaches Our motto of "On Time, Done Right" says it all.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    AJR remodeling

    AJR Remodeling is family owned and operated with professional experience in residential remodeling and custom woodworking. From framing a new home to designing and building your new living space we do it all. Contact us to discuss your next project today!  

    Angi Certified

    Bath wizard

     

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    RESIDENTIAL REMODELING. ROOM ADDITIONS. WHOLE HOUSE REMODEL/REBUILD. CUSTOM HOMES. KITCHENS. BATHROOMS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO

    How is SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO overall rated?

    SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO open?

    SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO provide

    SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO offer free estimates?

    Yes, SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO offers free project estimates.

    Does SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO offer a senior discount?

    No, SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO does not offer a senior discount.

    Does SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO offer emergency services?

    Yes, SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO?

    Yes, SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO offers warranties.

    What services does SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO offer?

    SYNERGY CONSTRUCTION CO offers the following services: RESIDENTIAL REMODELING. ROOM ADDITIONS. WHOLE HOUSE REMODEL/REBUILD. CUSTOM HOMES. KITCHENS. BATHROOMS.