Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

ReTouch Design-Build-Renovate

4.7

(24) Verified Reviews

Founded 2003 • With Angi since December 2009

Licensed
Trade License Number
20213544
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Phone Number

Address

5940 Reeds Rd Suite 100

Mission, KS 66202

http://www.retouchco.com

Description

ReTouch works to help our clients improve their living and working spaces. We are client-based more than project-based, meaning we are more concerned with building strong, lasting relationships with our community of clients than we are with "selling a job". We strive to be the main resource for our clients' home and business building and remodeling needs. This leads us to do anything from replacing a light fixture to building a new office building....

Verified Reviews

4.7

(24) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

19

4

1

3

1

2

1

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (7)decks & porches (7)interior decorators (5)electrician (5)countertop installation (5)architect (4)woodworking (4)plumbers (4)door installation (3)interior painting (3)flooring (3)fence company (3)
Showing 1-24 of 24 reviews
5.0

06/26/2022


JOHN H.

We have used ReTouch multiple times and have always been more than pleased. They do qualify work & are very conscientious. They fixed minor imperfections that we didn’t even notice. They helped design our new kitchens and made unique requests a reality – such as a corner pantry with a distressed barn door that my wife really wanted. Our house is far from level, and they created unique solutions that were effective & economical. I trust them and would use them again.

Description of Work
Two kitchen remodels & flooring

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, picture framing, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2022

1.0

05/23/2022


Beau J.

Set up an appointment for a project bid. Stopped by and looked around. That was February 2, it's now May 23. Never heard from him. Would have been a six-digit project.

Description of Work
Home addition

Category remodeling

Cost $129,000

Work Completed On 02/02/2022

3.0

03/11/2022


billie K.

The job that he did fell apart so I called him and he came out and he fixed the parts that was broken. I am satisfied with the repair work.

Description of Work
Tear down and rebuild a deck, stain and seal service

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/10/2021

5.0

09/04/2020


Carl G.

ReTouch came to the house and gave me an estimate to demolish and install a new deck. I then updated the design and they worked with me on an updated quote. ReTouch informed me of when they will be at the house, and they were on time. When the crew arrived, Dean and Dylan, meet with me and went over the plans and the proposed schedule and started the work. ReTouch did a great job. They demolished the old deck and installed new footings and new and additional frame work. They asked numerous questions throughout the installation and made some suggestions for the deck flooring to have a nicer layout. They did an awesome job. Richard the foreman kept me in the loop on everything and helped every step of the way. My wife and I love the new deck. ReTouch did an awesome job and I would be glad to hire them again!

Description of Work
Removal of Old Deck and Installation of New Larger Deck

Category decks, architect

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/03/2020

Images

Review for ReTouch Design-Build-Renovate - 5940 Reeds Rd, Mission, KS - 38852065
5.0

08/14/2020


Tom W.

Lead carpenter Mark Franklin was the on the scene manager and did a great job communicating and coordinating. Everyone was conscientious about their job and responsive to what we wanted. I recommend them and will use them again for the next project.

Description of Work
Our project involved total remodel of two bathrooms on main floor, a hall bath and master bath. We had bids from 4 firms and ReTouch priced the project right in the middle ($40,000) of the price range. Their designer did a good job in helping us pick quality products within reasonable price ranges. They brought samples of everything to us so we didn't have to run around town.

Category architect, home remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2020

Images

Review for ReTouch Design-Build-Renovate - 5940 Reeds Rd, Mission, KS - 38800159

+3 More

1.0

06/25/2020


Tony S.

Critical: Professionalism, Responsiveness I met the owner at my house to review the scope of work. Nice guy. He gave me an estimate and agreed to do the work on my porch overhang. Afterwards, poor communication. Poor follow through. Two carpenters show up. I reviewed the scope of work with them and I left for work. 30 minutes after I left for work, they walked off the job. No call. No professionalism. Just left. 3 hours later I called their supervisor Richard who fumbled around and said that the workers weren't coming back. Huh? The owner is a nice guy but talk is cheap. Very unprofessional. I wouldn't count on them. 1 Star max.

Description of Work
Wood rot repair

Category woodworking, architect

Work Completed On 06/24/2020

5.0

04/30/2020


Daniel B.

from my front porch and wanted to get some wooden steps installed. On guidance from my parents, I reached out to contractors in order to get quotes and see what various designs/ideas could be reached. Lance provided me the best experience, and seemed to really understand what I was looking for, he kept an open line of communication and let me know about when work would start, even with all the rain. His team showed up on a Saturday and got the job done fast and well and I could not be any happier. His team was able to match the railing and all decorative pieces with the already existing deck. I will definitely be keeping Retouch Design and Lance in my phone book for future projects.

Description of Work
New wooden deck stairs

Category woodworking

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/25/2020

5.0

02/24/2020


Mitch M.

We recently hired ReTouch to remove an exterior wall and install a large sliding type patio door. From the very beginning of our project, ReTouch stood out above all other contractors we received bids from. When we first met Lance to look at the project, he asked us questions and just listened to us. He was genuinely interested in understanding what we wanted before even looking at the space or taking measurements for the bid. He also creatively worked to provide several options within our budget. From that point forward, Kelly was our project manager and was amazing. He was very courteous and kept us informed on any decisions that needed to be made. He communicated very well and let us know the plan for each day and when people would be in and out of our house. Every single person from ReTouch involved in the project (project manager, electrician, carpenter, finish carpenter, etc.) was a pleasure to work with, cared about the work they were doing and went above and beyond finishing out all the details of the job. We couldn't have been more pleased with ReTouch. They stayed within budget, completed the work on time and were all very high character people to work with. Thank you ReTouch!

Description of Work
Installed a 12' sliding patio door

Category remodeling, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/12/2020

Images

Review for ReTouch Design-Build-Renovate - 5940 Reeds Rd, Mission, KS - 38404912

+1 More

5.0

12/17/2019


Alexander R.

Very well. Team was knowledgeable and expertly installed. Would definitely recommend to any one that want a excellent remodel done planed from start to finish!

Description of Work
kitchen Remodel

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, decks, flooring contractor, picture framing, interior designers, remodeling, wallpaper removal, replacement windows, marble & granite, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors, sunrooms, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/17/2019

2.0

11/15/2019


Frank P.

We are extremely disappointed with the lack of professionalism, work ethic and integrity of ReTouch Design-Build-Renovate owner Lance McCarthy and his Contractors. Our kitchen remodel started June 17, 2019 with a contracted 40 days; completion date of July 26, 2019. To date, November 15, 2019, over 5 month later, ReTouch has yet to fully complete our project, as well as going over budget almost $5,000. Our Project Manager was April Harlan who informed us first thing that she had a remodeling project going on at her home. She stated that no other projects were getting her attention until hers was done. “It was her turn!” We later found out she had a big party planned for the July 4th Holiday. We thought she was kidding around but she was totally serious. And she did absolutely nothing as far as management of our project. She repeatedly pulling contractors off our project to work on hers. Her project was completed, then she left town on vacation. We also suspect her of ordering extra flooring the same as ours, charging the full amount to our account which resulted in her flooring cost being practically free. We suspect this because there were 18 full boxes of the flooring left over after our flooring was installed. If this was an miscalculation, she clearly has no aptitude for measurements as well as project management. Due to her lack of attention to our project most of the work was done wrong or was not done at all. The only thing that she paid attention to was getting paid. There were many deviations from the plans without a word to us. While still on the job, ReTouch was regularly redoing much of its own work after we questioned the results. Workers were never on time and often didn’t show up at all. We felt that we were prisoners in our home waiting around on them to show up to work. On several occasions Contractors treated us with rudeness and disrespect. ReTouch carpenter Tom Byles told my wife that the plan for the kitchen was ridiculous and that if we were so dissatisfied with his work, he would load up all the cabinetry and haul it off; then our project would wait until he finished up with 3 other projects. Unfortunately, we had already paid ReTouch for the work and the project was already 4 weeks past the 40 days leaving us without a kitchen. The quality of his work is very poor, while we paid an outrageous price for what was supposed to be custom cabinetry by a Master Craftsman. We would have had better quality from Lowe’s boxed stock. The ‘Final Invoice’ contained amounts for work that was either done poorly, or not done at all. Several times we emailed complaints and provided a list of issues, defects and faulty workmanship. Lance McCarty acknowledged our ‘bad experience & treatment’ and wanted the opportunity to try to make it right. We decided to give him the benefit of the doubt. However, we were again disappointed with the results. In the beginning it had been our desire to do our project with a local small business. We saved up for over 5 years and were really excited about having it done. We normally are not ones to be so negative but feel it important to inform others so that no one else falls victim to ReTouch deceptive business practices. Needless to say, at this time we are completely disgusted with the whole ordeal. We definitely would not recommend doing any business with ReTouch. Our recommendation to homeowners is to use a corporate business such as Lowe’s, Home Depot or Nebraska Furniture Mart since they will see to it that the contractors complete the project to the satisfaction of the homeowner or they don’t get paid.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2019

5.0

12/24/2018


Elizabeth T.

On Retouch’s home page it reads “We enrich lives by redeeming spaces.” Retouch absolutely did this for our family and our now redeemed home. My husband and I bought a house in January of 2018 that needed heavy renovations. Initially Retouch was called to our house by the elevator company we hired to install an elevator. We were already overwhelmed by the amount of work needed to be done so we asked Retouch to give us some guidance. After a walk through this project was quickly becoming a bigger project than we had imagined. Retouch did our elevator shaft and the finishing of its floor, kitchen, hearth room, mud room/butler’s pantry, parlor, dining room, main floor ½ bath, master bedroom, master bathroom, master martini deck, basement with full bathroom, workout room, kitchen/bar and mantles on 3 fireplaces. Outside Retouch renovated the screened in porch, removed and rebuilt a new deck, renovated the walk out patio and gave our home a major transformation with a curb appeal that has me overwhelmed is the best way. Most of the areas mentioned were gutted to be updated, designed and function as we requested. The design team really listened to our requests and quickly learned what we liked, but still kept us informed every step of this journey. Retouch was in our house for about 9 months before we did a final walk through. There were unforeseen obstacles that delayed some aspects of the renovation, but knowing that when the work was finished we would be in a home that was more beautiful and more functional beyond any we could ever have imagined helped us remain patient. Our Retouch team was thoughtful, respectful and well-intentioned throughout this transformation. Retouch’s rates are reasonable and they did not push any services on us that we did not need. Everyone on the Retouch team was honest and trustworthy. We had friends and family who experienced the “before” of our house. Now they see the “after” is our home that truly reflects our family. Our neighbors applauded every step of the renovation and people have stopped by to express their amazement at the transformation that they watched over those months. Our lives have been enriched and our house has become our home. We would strongly recommend Retouch and we will be using them again.

Description of Work
Major renovation

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/24/2018

5.0

10/28/2018


Natalie V.

We were very pleased with our ReTouch team's quality, responsiveness, and design solutions for our unusual master bath layout. Their completed project was timely and well executed, and the team communciated with us consistently throughout the design and construction process. We had used them previously for a kitchen update and were equally pleased with their work on that project. We would highly recommend them and would use them again for a future project in our home.

Description of Work
Master Bath Remodel - significant updates and layout changes

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, picture framing, interior designers, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/11/2018

5.0

10/06/2018


William D.

Excellent. The Retouch staff worked with us to make sure the final product was what we wanted. We had to change some of the fixtures from the original design which decreased the cost and Retouch was always receptive and cooperative. Would use them again without hesitation.

Description of Work
remodel master bathroom and lighting in kitchen

Category contractors, countertops, drywall, electrician, plumbing, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2017

5.0

10/04/2018


Smitha M.

Professional, timely and good pricing.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category remodeling

Cost $16,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2018

5.0

08/21/2018


Angela F.

Lance and the entire ReTouch team did a great job for us! We wanted a roof to cover an already existing backyard patio. We ran into a delay with the city providing the required permits and Lance took on the burden of getting that all straightened out. Even though that meant extra work for them, our price didn’t change. On top of that, we are exceedingly pleased with the end product! My husband has worked around construction projects most of his adult life and he comments regularly on the quality of the work that was done. We definitely recommend ReTouch and would use them again in a heartbeat!

Description of Work
They built a roof over an already existing back yard patio.

Category decks, picture framing, remodeling, sunrooms, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2018

5.0

08/20/2018


Estrella D.

i am very satisfied with the work performed by the company. if I need another project without any doubt i will hire the same company. i highly recommend them,

Description of Work
old deck demolition and build a new deck

Category decks, remodeling, garage builders, woodworking, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/20/2018

Images

Review for ReTouch Design-Build-Renovate - 5940 Reeds Rd, Mission, KS - 37342424

+3 More

5.0

08/16/2018


Erin B.

We just bought a new house and needed a post to support the roof over the porch. We needed something to provide structure, but also look nice. Retouch came over and discussed it with us, answered all of our questions, gave us a good price. The carpenter that installed it was great too. He answered all of my questions and the post looks great.

Description of Work
Post added to front porch roof

Category decks, remodeling, home builders, architect

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2018

5.0

07/26/2018


Laura P.

We worked with ReTouch in 2015 to do a complete kitchen remodel in 10 days. Yup. In 10 days, our kitchen was taken down to the studs, appliances were moved around to improve flow, and then everything was put back together and fully functional 10 days later. It was awesome! How this worked..... We designed the space, ordered materials and had the cabinets made before anything was ripped out. This is a highly unusual approach. I don’t know any other contractor who would be willing to do this. This took a lot of coordination from various vendors (countertop fabricator, custom cabinet maker) but it made the process SO much easier for our family. Two things I particularly appreciate about ReTouch. 1. They are quite good at communicating during the project. I knew when to expect people in the morning (who was coming when) and I usually received an end-of-the-day summary of that day’s work. Now, some things would change or someone might be delayed for one reason or another, but at least I had an idea of what was to happen when. 2. They are interested in building a long-term relationship with their clients. They take the long view. If something does not go the way you expect it, they will fix it and they will make it right. For example, we had a miscommunication about the style of cabinet that was to be built. We realized the miss before they were built, but after the budget had been established. The misunderstanding meant that ReTouch should have charged us about $2,000 more than they did. Instead of charging us for that amount, though, ReTouch absorbed that cost since they were not building what we thought they were getting. I do not believe that approach or ethic is common in this industry. And because of their commitment to doing the right thing, we have hired ReTouch on three other occasions. They did a full basement remodel for us, they built a deck with a pergola for us, and they replaced some windows for us. We are now starting a full bathroom remodel with them. We trust them, and there is no higher compliment than that for a contractor.

Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel

Category custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, electrician, interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2015

Images

Review for ReTouch Design-Build-Renovate - 5940 Reeds Rd, Mission, KS - 37269666

+2 More

5.0

07/26/2018


Laura P.

After we had a flood in the basement, we worked with ReTouch to put back together our finished half of the basement. This was our third large project with ReTouch. And we are already planning our next project (full bathroom remodel) with them. We appreciated ReTouch’s designers’ expertise with materials that would be best suited for a basement project. They also understood that we needed to keep the project to a specific dollar amount (equal with the insurance payment for the damage). At the same time, though, we wanted to improve the functionality of the basement and were able to do just that. The project timeline went a little long (partially due to an overly optimistic timeline that they were striving toward) but primarily due to a production delay in the carpet that we selected for the stairs leading down to the basement. ReTouch knew that we were having a big party and needed to use the new basement before the carpet would arrive. So — at their expense — they installed temporary carpeting (which also looked good!) I cannot tell you how much we appreciated their commitment to our timeline. ReTouch has come through for us in instances like this on multiple occasions. That is why we have chosen to work with them again and again.

Description of Work
Basement remodel

Category interior designers, remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2017

5.0

02/28/2017


Russ M.

Excellent customer service, the guy was great to work with. The work was done in a timely fashion by contractors that were clean and professional.

Description of Work
They built an approximately 100 square foot multi-level deck.

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2017

5.0

04/06/2015


Cameron R.

Kitchen remodels are inherently stressful and they were fantastic. Extremely professional. Lance and Corey met with us multiple times to finalize our plans and - very important - they never pushed for us to do or spend more than we wanted to do. And once we had a plan in place, our project manager was great about staying on budget. We felt like our project manager (Corey) was an excellent communicator and kept us informed of everything that was going on and was incredibly patient when answering our many questions. He also stayed amazingly calm whenever a problem surfaced (which is unavoidable with a big project in a old house) and always called with a solution already in mind. I felt like they went out of their way to make sure we were happy with all stages of the project. When you are going to have people in your home for literally months on end, you want people you like and trust. We had that with Corey and Retouch. Fully satisfied and would absolutely use them again.

Description of Work
Full kitchen remodel (down to the studs); reconfigured footprint of kitchen; built new stairs and entryway down to basement; bumped up ceiling in places; opened up doorways; installed new cabinets, backsplash, countertops, windows, doors, lighting.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, fencing, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling

Cost $80,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2014