Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

American Fence Co

Founded 1985 • With Angi since August 2010

4.5

(33) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 174

Muncie, IN 47308

Description

Fence installation and refurbishment, and automatic gate systems including audio and video. Also services Muncie and Richmond.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/28/2018


shelley A.

Refuse to follow up. Failed to give an estimate.Called his place about 6 times and he did not return call.He is very prejudice man and should not be working for the American people

Description of Work
To remove and replace 24 feet of fence. to place 2 gates

Category fencing

5.0

08/06/2018


Meryl M.

They were later than estimated in doing the work due to getting the materials late from the manufacturer. The 3 installers did a great job! It was worth the wait.

Description of Work
New fence installed

Category fencing

5.0

10/03/2017


Mary L.

Very pleased with the finished job and the price. I would suggest keeping a close watch on the progress just to make sure it turns out as expected. A few things came up, but they made everything right (am still waiting on a can of touch up paint they ordered for us). Really glad we had them do the job. Initially contacted Top Choice Fence due to a recommendation from an acquaintance. I'm sure T.C. is probably good, but they didn't respond in any way to my 3 messages over the course of a month. When they actually answered the phone, they said they would come by on a couple days. Then nothing! Really unprofessional of Top Choice! Who needs that?!

Description of Work
Brown chain link fence around a pool. Difficult, with different slopes.

Category fencing

2.0

07/07/2016


jana D.

We called the company and made an appointment a few days later at 9am. They called us the morning of at 9:15am to tell us the person who does estimates truck broke down and we can reschedule for the following day at 11am. We agreed. The day of AGAIN we got a call that the estimator's truck had a flat tire and was unable to come at that time but would come in a few hours. No exact time was specified so we called back around 2pm to the estimator, as we got his phone number, who stated he would just quote us for $250 over the phone. We requested that he come out to take a look at the gate and he said he would call back. We never got a call back! If you really did not want our business, this company should have said so!

Description of Work
fence gate replaced

Category fencing

5.0

11/16/2015


William D.

I feel I got the most for my money.

Description of Work
Installed black chain link fence on a very uneven yard and it looks great.

Category fencing

3.0

06/17/2015


Shilo H.

Not a bad company. I think they gave us a fair price, and the quality of the materials and labor were up to standards. But they left out yard a mess and it took WAY to long for them to complete the job. I don't know what their normal works hours are, but it varied from day to day; some days they were only there for a few hours which made the process a slow one. They did a great job though at doing exactly what I had asked for. I asked them to put the horse wire for the fence in the ground a few inches because other wise our dogs will dig out, so they had to dig a trench to do this; it rained a little during this process, so the dirt that needed to go back in the trench turned into mud. They were having a hard time getting it in the trench, the said they would come back when it was dry to push in the dirt, I did pay them the same day they said that, and we have not seen or heard from them since, which i kind of expected. Overall the quality was good, but the time length was not. As long as you are not on a strict dead-line, i would suggest them.

Description of Work
Split-rail fence installation.

Category fencing

5.0

12/17/2014


Ronald W.

..They did a very good and clean job of removing my old fence, kept the work zone very clean. All workman were very polite and friendly to myself and my wife. Performed every step to the T that was drawn up in the proposal. They somewhat punctual, that would be the only thing that wasn't a 5 but they still were there every day and completed the job in a reasonable amount of time.

Description of Work
Removed 135 lineal feet of chain link fence, Installed 135 ft. of privacy fence called Picture Frame. All posts to be 4" to 4" set 30" deep in concrete New generation treated wood. Height was 6 foot. Came back in October and used Thomson's clear seal and sprayed both sides of fence to seal wood fence. for and extra $ 325.00 . Fence cost $ 2980.00. A very professional job.

Category fencing

5.0

11/03/2014


Pamela E.

The work went smoothly...The crew did a very good job...and pretty quickly...My ONLY issue was that they did drop a bit of hardware, here and there...Not a big deal, but h****** the lawn mower...I would use them again...

Description of Work
Erected a chain link fence around our backyard..About 460 ft. of material...A small walk-thru gate and a larger, drive-thru gate..

Category fencing

2.0

10/14/2014


kimberly S.

Never got to see the quality of work

Description of Work
Company came out several days after initial appointment. Looked at repair work to be done, did not take any measurements, stated they would email estimate, gave me a business card, and have never heard from them again. Very disappointing. Several friends had recommended this company and said they did good work

Category fencing

1.0

10/14/2014


Anthony G.

After installing the fence we were told that it came with a lifetime warranty!! After all it was a 7k fence so that sounded great to us. We did have to call and have the guys out to fix a warped board a little while later and that was no problem. We called they came and fixed it all was great. Well due to some strong wind and storm the fence sustained a little damage to one of the boards and the latch on the gate (not a big fix) We called American Fence Company in July to have them come out at there convenience, because the gate was still usable not a pressing issue. Well they never showed up for the appointment and no call. No big deal things happen. But to make a long story short it is now October and the fence is still not fixed and we have now exchanged over 7 phone calls with the lady that answers the phones, not one time have they called to let us know that they wouldn't make it out!! And also the lady never calls you back like she says, you have to call her every time!! Initial experience was great, but since then has been awful!!!

Description of Work
American Fence Company installed a large wooden privacy fence sometime around 6 years ago, and they did a great job we loved the fence at first!!

Category fencing

1.0

09/11/2014


Steven G.

The service was absolutely lousy. It took 6 weeks and constaant calling to get the even the partial installation done. I was told that when the ground "dries thouroughy" that they would be back to finish pulling the fencing tight and cleaning up. That was the end of June 2014. It is now 11 September 2014 and I have not hear a word. I will finish the work. I will not have them do any additional work and do not want them on my property again. I was constantly told they want me completely satisfied and the they do quality work and yet, over two months after they left the job is still incomplete, not even a call. Never aagain with this company.

Description of Work
Install new fencing in backyard

Category fencing

5.0

08/28/2014


Ronald W.

Started Monday morning work all 5 days very nice consscientious workers about pickup up trash, continued all week to do an excellent job. Redid some to make a good looking fence. A fine job.

Description of Work
Removed old chain link fence. Installed 135' of privacy fence. Installed picture frame style a new generation treated wood. A lot of extras that made the whole job very professional.

Category fencing

5.0

07/01/2014


Natasha U.

They were really great! They worked during weather that was horrible. The staff was really professional and the craftsmanship was wonderful.

Description of Work
Perfect Service

Category fencing

5.0

06/30/2014


Darci S.

Rich and his crew came out when they said they would to do the installation. A 6ft section was installed, but due to some miscommunication with Jerry the wrong 4ft fence was ordered. Rich listened to what we needed and re-ordered the correct fencing. Once that fencing came in, the remaining fence portions were installed without issue. Rich and his guys were very friendly and understood exactly what we were needing. They worked until 8pm one night in order to get the fence finished. Any issues were resolved in a timely fashion and fence looks beautiful. I would highly recommend All American to anyone with fencing needs. Thanks to Rich and his crew for everything!

Description of Work
Installation of 6ft and 4ft vinyl privacy fence in residential yard.

Category fencing

5.0

06/13/2014


Andy S.

Rich and his crew showed up Saturday morning and completely installed a new privacy fence on each side of my house facing the street and running down one side of my backyard connecting to the existing privacy fence of my neighbors. They were very down to earth, hardworking guys who treated the job as if they were installing their own fence! I was extremely impressed with the quality of work and materials used for the price paid! I would HIGHLY recommend this company for any future job. They did outstanding work and finished it all in one day. We are very happy :-)

Description of Work
Removed old chain link fence & Installed new privacy fence

Category fencing

5.0

05/10/2014


Susan K.

It's a beautiful fence! The posts are set in concrete and the gate is big enough to drive a car through. Jerry's son and his crew did all the installation. They did a great job at keeping me informed and answering all my questions. In order to complete the job during bad weather, they worked on Saturday and Sunday. My back yard was left neat and tidy. I am very happy with the work this company did for me. An excellent family run business!

Description of Work
I needed a fence for two large dogs. Owner Jerry Barnes came out and gave me a very fair estimate for a large area to be enclosed by a five foot high galvanized chain link fence. Jerry was very informative and knowledgeable. He even brought up some great questions that I had not thought of.

Category fencing

5.0

11/12/2013


Brent P.

This is the fourth home that Jerry has put in fence for our pets. His crew has always done a great job at a reasonable price. This time Rich and his buddy started the fence on Friday and finished Monday. The end product was precisely what we wanted. Thanks Jerry and Rich.

Description of Work
Installed black vinyl chain link fence in our new back yard.

Category fencing

5.0

10/07/2013


Steve B.

Both fence projects turned out excellent. The front fence gets compliments all the time. However, the owner's son, whose does the work with an assistant, did not listen to my, and his father's, instructions on what size of gate was needed for the back yard fence. We wanted the gate large enough so we could drive our camper through and park it in the area behind our house. The gate ended up being about four feet short on both sides. When we called the company about this, the owner's wife, who handles the administrative part, said she would let her husband know. Well, he declined to return any of our calls and never had the gate fixed. So, our gate is pretty much worthless. On the day when the entire project was finished, the son seemed more concerned about leaving to attend his daughter's soccer game then inspecting his work and cleaning up the left over items lying on the ground. As a result, one board on the end of the wood fence was left off and there were numerous pieces of chain link fencing lying all over our back yard. I picked up all the ones I saw; however, I somehow overlooked one of the pieces, which was about two feet long, and it got wrapped around my lawn mower blade, causing it to stop running. All in all they do good work, but need constant supervision. Since I could not be there all the time to "supervise" my $1,800.00 project was not completed to my satisfaction. And, after all that, I have the same problem I had before the back yard fence was put up - I can't park my camper where it's supposed to be parked. UPDATE: After documenting my problems with my backyard fence, All American Fence Company came to my house and completely redid the gate to the backyard fence. They did an excellent job and now my camper can fit through the gate.

Description of Work
Put up chain link fence in back yard and wood semi-private fence in front yard.

Category fencing

5.0

08/26/2013


Lisa B.

Estimator was a charming guy that came out with his dog and wife. Initially were to arrive at 2 PM, but at 2 PM their office called to say they were running late and would be there in an hour. We talked, deal seemed reasonable, so I signed up for the work on the spot. I was expecting them to come on a Monday, but the guys came out on a weekend which was alright as I had communicated my eagerness to get the work done. The guys "completed" the job in less than an hour. When I went out to look, it was all wrong. The workman explained that there wasn't enough detail in the estimate (lesson 1 -- get the details written down, this was a small job but the details mattered) and that he'd be back on Monday to fix it. He explained that he would call me first thing Monday to let me know when he'd get to my fence as he had another job that was weather dependent and rain was forecasted. On Monday at 10 AM, I called the office since I hadn't heard from anyone and I didn't want my job forgotten. The office seemed clueless as to what was going on, but immediately after ending that conversation my phone was ringing and the workman was on his way back to our house. Once Steve got back to work, he fixed everything to my satisfaction and was very polite and apologetic. My initial impression was not good at all, but in the end, everything was worked out satisfactorily. Our dog hasn't gotten out of the fence yet, so I'd definitely give them another job.

Description of Work
Replace fence taken down by previous owners, add a small walk-through gate and pulled cable around perimeter of fence to make pet proof.

Category fencing

5.0

06/17/2013


Dawn R.

The owner came to get the details and make recommendations. Very nice older gentleman and he had great ideas. We asked how we could save a little on the fence after we told him what we wanted. He saved us about $2500 just by modifying the design some. He came back a few days later with the contract to sign and receive half the payment. About a week later the materials showed up on the lawn and the next day the crew was there to build it! It didn't go quite as fast as they originally told us, but they kept us updated almost daily on the progress and how much longer they anticipated. The crew was very nice and the the crew lead kept us well informed. There were a few differences in what we had discussed, but the crew chief (who also happens to be the owner's son) worked out the differences the best he could. (We also should have read the contract a little better to make sure everything we wanted was spelled out). We did a fair amount of customizing, and the fence looks GREAT! We had a major storm last week and you can't tell at all. GREAT quality of work and GREAT communication from the team doing the work. Would definitely use them again, and in fact tried to get them to build something else, but it wasn't a fence, so they said no. :)

Description of Work
Built a fence over 500 feet long

Category fencing

5.0

04/15/2013


Miah B.

They came out to look at the fence. There were additional costs that were starting to add up and I didn’t feel like I was getting the coupon value.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for $1100 Worth of Fencing Services.

Category fencing

Service Provider Response

Customer wanted à quote for replacement of fence and was given à quote on this. She thén décidéd she wanted additional Height on oné side and 2 additional drivé Gates. This additional work added to thé cost ,which she was aware of.We would Still do thé work contractéd for if she would so désire. We stand ready to do thé work.
5.0

04/08/2013


Dwight J.

Jerry came out and gave wife the estimate and explained process. Wife signed contract as they were over a thousand $$$ less than others and gave a 5% military discount extra. We did not expect them to come out because of the cold weather. Two young men came out and completed the job in cold windy January weather within 2 afternoons. Fence looks great and adds to the property value. Dogs love it too! Professional workers who take pride in their work. Privately and locally owned! Recommend Jerry first as this is not my first fence.

Description of Work
Installed black vinyl 48 inch chain link fence 187' with one pedestrian gate and one vehicle gate at residential property.

Category fencing

3.0

03/11/2013


Ardene K.

In our area it is hard to find companies that will build field fence. Called All American Fence Co. to give a free estimate. Checked other Fence companies also. American Fence gave a price estimate and a build time. They said the build time would be 3 days. It ended up taking 6 weeks to complete. Since we already had the posts, we provided all posts for the job. From the start they were behind. Were suppose to start on Monday, had to wait on lines to be marked. They started on Tues. They start late in the morning. Approx 10:30am stop about 12:30/1pm for lunch. Take about 2 hrs for lunch, return and leave about 4pm. So the hrs on the job is about 4hrs per day. Since the job was started in Dec. the weather was fluctuating. Since they didn't start on Monday which was a nice day, They started on Tues that was a bad weather day. Thur. was a very nice day, but they didn't show up because of car trouble. Fri. was a bad weather day. I called them to find out how soon they would have this job done. So they did come out on Sat. When they started to put up the fencing and stretch it, right from the start they made a big mistake. They tied in to a existing fence line. The post they tied into had not been in the ground, but for about 4 months. Plus they had removed some of the dirt away from this post. So when they tied into this existing post they forgot to cross brace it. Which in turn pulled the existing post 3 inches out of line when they stretched the fence. They did come back after I called them to try and pull the post back in to place. But it is still about two inches out of line. Problems: This company knew I was waiting to put livestock in this field. They left cut fencing dubree on the inside and outside, along with fencing nails and wires. This posses a danger to livestock. Livestock can ingest this. Cigarette butts were also left, along with other trash. Not all posts were completely filled in around posts with dirt. This may cause a problem during spring thaw. Some of the fence doesn't look stretched evenly. Existing fence post still out of line. Kept the rest of the fencing after job. Hung gate, didn't leave enough room for gate latch. Would not recommend this company for field fence. Don't think I would recommend for other fences either.

Description of Work
Build field fence. Approximately 387ft of fence. Build 3 sides to enclose field. Wooden and t-posts supplied Use goat fencing.

Category fencing

5.0

09/14/2012


George S.

They responded within a few hours to my phone call and gave me an estimate on the spot. I got two more estimates. They were the lowest by $1000. They came on time and finished on time. They treated the yard and garden well. They worked cooperatively with the neighbors. I was pleased with the quality of the materials and workmanship.

Description of Work
They put in a 120 foot 6 1/2 foot tall shadow box cedar fence. They removed the old rotting fence.

Category fencing

5.0

07/03/2012


Mary K.

The fence we chose was a 6' white vinyl fence. The parts of the fence had to be ordered and that took about three weeks. If you choose this type of fence, don't be in a hurry to get it. It may take up to a month toget it installed. It is worth it.

Description of Work
Jerry and his lovely wife Judy came to our home on a Sunday afternoon as this was the only time we had available. Jerry was extremely knowledgeable and never pressured us. We told him exactly what we needed and his assured us he could take good care of us. His son actually installed the fence when the heat was in the mid nineties. He was completely professional and very hard working, never taking a break or complaining about the heat. The fence is perfect - we have three cats who cannot get out! they love being in the yard.We would recommend this company to anyone. The fence is beautiful and exactly what we wanted.

Category fencing

    Other local Pros in your area

    All Amps Electric Inc

    All Amps Electric Inc. offers incomparable quality, honest and affordable services. We are known for our trouble-shooting skill and ability to identify and repair problems that others over look or are unable to repair. If your energy bills are too high, need lighting advise, want to add some space to your home, or build your dream home from scratch, we can do it all and everything in between. We can help you with any aspect of your electrical, remodeling needs, or home building. We offer free estimates and a 1 year no-worry-guarantee on all work performed. Give us a call today!  

    General Remodeling
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Fence installation & refurbishment. Automatic gate systems including audio & video.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about American Fence Co

    How is American Fence Co overall rated?

    American Fence Co is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are American Fence Co open?

    American Fence Co is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does American Fence Co provide

    American Fence Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does American Fence Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, American Fence Co offers free project estimates.

    Does American Fence Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, American Fence Co does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does American Fence Co offer a senior discount?

    No, American Fence Co does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by American Fence Co?

    Yes, American Fence Co offers warranties.

    What services does American Fence Co offer?

    American Fence Co offers the following services: Fence installation & refurbishment. Automatic gate systems including audio & video.