Updike Bathroom Remodeling

About

Founded 1959 • With Angi since June 1996

3-7 employees. uses subs for electrical. cost is determined by the job. no travel charges. Additional DBAs - Updike Construction Company Inc.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

Indianapolis HomeGreenwood HomeGeist Area

Verified Reviews

4.9

(350) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

306

4

28

3

8

2

2

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (321)tile installation (59)plumbers (74)flooring (52)bathtub refinishing (39)countertop installation (35)lighting (23)drywall (23)electrician (20)glass repair (17)door installation (15)cabinet makers (13)
Showing 1-25 of 350 reviews
5.0

06/23/2022


Marshall N.

The communication has always been great, the workmanship and professionalism outstanding. As noted, we’ve had them back to do our other bathrooms and we’re always happy with the results. We did price some others on our most recent work, and while Updike wasn’t the cheapest, they were close, and the confidence we had based on prior work meant a lot. Bottom line, we’ve had zero disappointments using them. They are highly recommended by us

Description of Work
We had Updike redo our outdated master shower years ago. Since then we’ve had them back twice to update other bathrooms

Category bathtub refinishing, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2021

Images

Review for Updike Bathroom Remodeling - 7494 Madison Ave, Indianapolis, IN - 39775830
5.0

03/18/2021


Kevin A.

Excellent. Updike was professional and through from the initial contact to the finished product. The owner was extremely friendly and set the proper expectations for quality and length of the remodel. Sheri was extremely helpful in our decision of materials and color choices. She made what could be very overwhelming seem much less complicated. In addition she kept us informed on timing and any changes. Our remodeling crew were great. Joe was very knowledgeable and his quality was excellent. I would highly recommend Updike for a complete remodel.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category bathtub refinishing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/11/2021

Images

Review for Updike Bathroom Remodeling - 7494 Madison Ave, Indianapolis, IN - 39254402

+3 More

5.0

03/16/2021


Lisa K.

It was a great experience from the beginning. Dan gave a fair and thorough estimate prior to selection and the installation team was prompt, polite and tidy. I highly recommend their services!

Description of Work
Renovation of master bathroom

Category bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, countertops, plumbing, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/24/2020

5.0

01/17/2021


Jim R.

Fantastic! If Alex isn't the best shower installer around, then I would like to meet a better one. Very polite, courteous and knowledgeable. By the time the job was done ,we were like old friends. Thanks Alex !! Also thanks to Dan Updike!

Description of Work
Replace bath tub with walk-in shower.

Category bathtub refinishing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/17/2021

Images

Review for Updike Bathroom Remodeling - 7494 Madison Ave, Indianapolis, IN - 39139215

+2 More

5.0

12/16/2020


Jennifer R.

It is beautiful! We got a 2-bowl solid surface countertop for our kids' bathroom. We chose the style of sink bowl and the pattern in the surface. Joe installed the countertop and two new Delta faucets. It looks great.

Description of Work
New bathroom countertop

Category bathtub refinishing, countertops

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2020

5.0

11/28/2020


Lynn D.

Excellent service! The end result was amazing, the quality of work was exceptional. They were professional, respective, cleaned up every day. I am very pleased with the result and have recommended them to others.

Description of Work
remodel bathroom, replace shower, flooring, corrections in plumbing and electrical

Category bathtub refinishing, home remodeling

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/28/2020

5.0

11/06/2020


Michael W.

Dan respond quickly to my request for quote and made suggestions on overall shower upgrades and details. Joe did a A1 professional job on installation with close attention to details. In many cases he was more critical on quality than me. The crew also made every attempt to keep dust and disruption to my home at a minimum while performing the upgrades.

Description of Work
Removed old outdated shower and replaced with larger custom shower.

Category bathtub refinishing

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/28/2020

Images

Review for Updike Bathroom Remodeling - 7494 Madison Ave, Indianapolis, IN - 39006489
5.0

10/31/2020


Audrey J.

Our goal was to update our bathroom by removing a never used garden tub and replacing it with a large, low maintenance shower. COMPLETE SUCCESS! Dan listened to our ideas, and used his design skills to fashion the type of shower we envisioned with angled walls, no door, and a low-profile entry with just the right amount of glass. Jeff was assigned to do the job from start to finish, and you seldom encounter an individual as talented and easy to get along with as him. He handled not only the demolition of the existing bathroom, but was able to do the required plumbing, electrical, dry wall, sub floor, and installing the cabinets and vanity top without the need for involvement of another contractor. The floor and wall tile was laid with precision, and Jeff made sure the work areas, both inside and outside were cleaned up at the end of each day. We commend Dan for his choice of employees, and would definitely recommend Updike Bathroom Remodeling to family and friends.

Description of Work
Complete remodeling of master bathroom

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2020

5.0

10/20/2020


Judy F.

Very helpful at all steps in process. Workers very punctual and always kept me updated on process

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category glass repair, plumbing, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2020

5.0

10/20/2020


Linda H.

It went very well. One person did all the work. It was done in a timely, thorough manner. The materials are of good quality.

Description of Work
bathtub removed, shower built with tile, new vinyl flooring, new toilet

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2020

5.0

10/20/2020


Beverly L.

Wonderful. It is convenient, safe and absolutely beautiful

Description of Work
Total renovation to master bath and bedroom wall to make it handicap accessible

Category bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2020

5.0

10/19/2020


KATHY D.

Excellent! The quality of the work, products and the crew were outstanding.

Description of Work
master bath remodel

Category home remodeling

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2020

5.0

10/19/2020


John M.

Great! The team was professional and friendly from the beginning to the end of the project. They have a wonderful selection of tiles and products to choose from.

Description of Work
Complete bathroom remodels (2 bathrooms).

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2020

5.0

11/16/2019


Dave O.

So very impressed! Our 1970's bathroom has been transformed. We are very pleased with workmanship, attention to detail, and daily effort to clean the job site before leaving each day.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/16/2019

5.0

08/09/2019


Mary C.

Updike Bathroom Remodeling was fantastic from the first contact to the follow-up. This was a job that was a total tear out down to the studs. When I went to the showroom, the entire process was explained. I left with tile samples to see what they would look like in the different light at my house. When I returned with my selection, I went home this time with the selected tile and countertop samples and wooden vanity samples. When those major items were selected, there was the discussion about what fixtures I would like. They were very patience with me as I changed my mind multiple times before signing the contract. Also they were very honest about when they would be able to do the bathroom and the length to do it when they started. When the work was started, I barely knew the installers were there. They came on time and were always polite. There wasn’t any loud music nor trash left in the yard. They cleaned-up each day before leaving. The tile work is outstanding and the fixtures are placed where I wanted them. I couldn’t be more pleased.

Description of Work
Total bathroom tear out and new bathroom in existing foot print

Category home remodeling

Cost $17,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2019

5.0

07/13/2019


CHRIS & KIM H.

I met with Dan back in March to get and estimate on the work we needed done. We were looking at replacing our outdate bathroom fixtures and replacing the vanity top. We also wanted to add to the height of our bathroom cabinets so that we would not have to lean over so far at the sinks. The work was done in June and even though the contract stated probably two days of work, it was completed in one. Ron did a fantastic job and everything looks great! Even adding the extra wood to raise the counter top, Dan did a great job of matching the color and you would never know it was a add-on. We are very please with the results.

Description of Work
Bathroom vanity top and fixtures needed replacing.

Category home remodeling

Cost $3,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/13/2019

5.0

01/23/2019


John V.

Updike did an excellent job. Our remodeled bathroom is great. The work crew was excellent and very efficient. Dan and his crew were always very responsive to our questions and needs. The work was done as promised and in a timely manner. I would always highly recommend Updike Bathroom Remodeling.

Description of Work
Full Bathroom Remodel

Category home remodeling

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/10/2018

5.0

09/17/2018


Ron E.

This is the 2nd time (and 2nd home) we hired Updike Bathroom Remodeling for bathroom remodeling projects. For this project, Dan Updike's company replaced three large previously damaged bathroom wall mirrors and installed backsplashes on four (4) bathroom sinks. They also updated our master bathroom shower stall by installing two permanent Onyx Collection Liberty Corner Shower Caddies with matching tile trim and two ADA stainless steel shower grab bars. During the planning phase, Dan visited the house two times to discuss our options, make recommendations, and take measurements. He provided his quote on time, explained the scheduling and payment processes, and set our expectations on how the project would be completed by his team. Everything went well. The two team members showed up on time, were very professional and did a great job completing each part of the project. They went above and beyond by completing a couple of unplanned items; patched two holes in the drywall at the top of one old mirror that was being replaced, then painted the area prior to installing the new mirror so everything would have a nice clean finish. They also vacuumed and cleaned all workspaces. We will definitely hire Updike Bathroom Remodeling for any future bathroom improvement needs.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodeling / Upgrades

Category glass repair, home remodeling

Cost $3,085

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2018

5.0

03/20/2018


TERRI B.

Due to scheduling, they had to start a week late but were very prompt in notifying of the change and keeping us informed. The master bathroom was a total remodel that involved taking out the current tub/shower and installing walk-in, tiled shower, installing new tile floor, installing new vanity and cabinets, including a 3-mirror medicine cabinet, new counter top and sinks, and 2 new lights. Dan Updike was very helpful in picking out colors/material and helping us throughout the entire process. During construction, everyone was very professional and showed up on time each morning. They cleaned up every day and Dean answered all questions along the way. During construction, we had slight hiccup with our building permit but it was straightened out within 24 hours. The end result is fantastic. We are extremely pleased. It feels like a spa!

Description of Work
Total bathroom remodel. New shower, new vanity, new cabinets, new sinks, new floor, new lights

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/02/2018

Images

Review for Updike Bathroom Remodeling - 7494 Madison Ave, Indianapolis, IN - 36916586

+2 More

5.0

02/04/2018


Nikolai B.

Dan Updike and his installer Dean did a fantastic job remodeling our master and guest bathrooms. Dan is very polite, knowledgeable, and helped us a lot to make our decisions. Dean is very skillful and really hardworking guy. The bathrooms look great now and I would hire Dan Updike company again without any doubt.

Description of Work
Remodel master and guest bathrooms

Category home remodeling

Cost $26,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2017

5.0

01/24/2018


John B.

Work was of high quality however I thought they were pricey considering all the extras I was charged for and accessories and painting not included in the price

Description of Work
remodeled 2 bathrooms

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/22/2019

Service Provider Response

Customer was not charged any "extras". There was an option on the original quote and contract to move plumbing for new layout. Could not determine if this was possible until bathroom was tore out. That is why it was an option if possible.
5.0

11/17/2017


Bradley S.

Excellent work. Very Happy with the results

Description of Work
Downstairs bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, ceiling fans, home remodeling

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2017

5.0

11/01/2017


Becky M.

I met with the owner Dan, several times to choose tile, cabinets, countertops etc. They started on the date originally agreed upon & worked 2 1/2 weeks until completed.

Description of Work
Complete bathroom remodel. Remove old shower, garden tub, toilet, counters, mirror, and flooring. Installed all new, even moving the shower to a different location in bathroom.

Category home remodeling

Cost $26,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2017