Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

The Mold Removers LLC

About

Founded 1988 • With Angi since July 2002

Complete mold remediation services. We have been in business for over 30 years and cover the entire state of indiana. We also do testing for mold contamination for all areas of your home....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Verified Reviews

4.8

(51) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

45

4

3

3

0

2

1

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

mold removal (50)roofing (2)
Showing 1-25 of 51 reviews
1.0

09/01/2021


Linda D.

Do not know why this was sent to me.

Description of Work
N/A we do not have any mold

Category roofing

Work Completed On 09/01/2021

5.0

03/19/2019


Carl E.

I received an analysis a couple of weeks earlier from another reputable company stating I had mold, but without suggestions on how to fix it. I called Jim Marshall on 3-11-2019 and explained my problem. Our biggest issue was a musty smell in two downstairs bedrooms. His associate Buddy came by the next afternoon. He measured the walls for moisture, pulled up carpet in corners to check for water staining or tack nail rust and then checked the outside walls. He recommended changing the grade on the side of the house which slanted down, fixing a downspout and buying a dehumidifier for the basement to lower the humidity. If this did not solve the problem, he would then start cutting into walls. I am happy to say that his recommendations worked. He would not take any payment for his analysis. This is an impressive and honest company I will definitely call again if I have any problems.

Description of Work
mold remediation

Category mold removal

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/12/2019

5.0

10/19/2018


Brad P.

Inquired about mold testing for daughter's bedroom. He gave me a few ideas over the phone of what to do as opposed to just to tearing up the place. If we need a test, I'm definitely calling back.

Description of Work
Mold testing for bedroom

Category mold removal

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2018

5.0

09/14/2018


Sarah H.

I recently hired The Mold Removers to remediate (kill and remove all remove) mold found in my home’s attic and crawl space. My realtor initially recommended them, then I checked out their great reviews on Angie’s List before I called. I spoke with Jim Marshall when I called, who also sent me the quote after his partner Buddy came out to assess the situation the next day. I felt I was in good hands from the start, and never felt any high pressure tactics. I also felt their quote was extremely fair, especially given quotes I had seen in the past. They also graciously accepted my Angie’s List coupon which I initially forgot to tell them about. The team of 4 came out the following week. All were highly professional, protected my home with plastic, and did the job well. The solution used was very strong, so I did leave my house for the rest of the day. I absolutely recommend The Mold Removers and will not hesitate to use them again if I need them in another home.

Description of Work
Mold remediation in attic and crawl space that was noted in home inspection for home sale.

Category mold removal

Cost $1,570

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/04/2018

2.0

07/26/2018


Jeff K.

Decent job performed but too pricey. Dumpster left a job site 5 days too long. When picked up the truck ruined my 3 week old asphalt sealant.

Description of Work
Mold Removal

Category mold removal

Cost $286

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2018

5.0

01/23/2018


WHITNEY M.

Called Jim to set up a consultation. When I described what the situation was he recommended trying to handle myself. Gave me step by step directions. If it doesn't work I will definitely call him. Amazing in this day and age to find someone willing to help and actually not profit from it!!!

Description of Work
Needed consultation on spots of mold

Category mold removal

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/23/2018

5.0

09/20/2017


Jennie S.

It went very well as we were under a lot of pressure to get this done before our final inspection. These Gents are very customer service oriented and kept constant communication with us - the job was completed in record time. We were very pleased!

Description of Work
We need mold removed in our Crawl space prior to selling our house.

Category mold removal

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/24/2017

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your review. We enjoyed serving you. Jim
5.0

03/17/2017


Chrissy A.

I called Jim in a panic because I needed the mold removed in order to sell my home. He calmed me down, reassured me that he'd take care of it and rendered an extraordinary and prompt service- and for 33% less than the other quote I attained! I highly, highly recommend Mold Removers to anyone and everyone!

Description of Work
Mold removal in attic, basement, and crawl space; vapor barrier installed in crawl space.

Category mold removal

Cost $2,850

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/20/2017

5.0

03/13/2017


Kathleen Y.

They didn't find anything, but were professional in dealing with my concerns.

Description of Work
We had an unpleasant odor in our house. I was very concerned about mold. The proprietor suggested a couple of things to do before they came. They didn't find any mold but I was impressed that they seemed more concerned with a solution than just wanting to collect a service fee. I hope not to encounter strange smells in my house again, but if I did, I wouldn't hesitate to call them. It wasn't cheap, but it was worth it for my peace of mind.

Category mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/04/2016

5.0

01/06/2017


Claire D.

I contacted Jim because we needed a second opinion. Our buyer's inspector had (wrongly) determined that there was mold in our attic, so our buyer had a different large mold treatment company (unfortunately well-rated on Angie's list with a high volume of reviews) come out. I was told "there isn't really mold in the attic", and then in the same sentence that "there was some by the chimney" and gave us a high estimate and elaborate treatment plan. This seemed rather suspect since we couldn't see anything other than staining (probably from prior to the roof replacement a few years back) without moisture. Our original house inspector from when we bought the house confirmed that everything about the assessment and estimate from the other mold treatment company was hokey and suspicious. I then called Jim with the Mold Removers, who was very friendly and he sent his associate Buddy out to look for mold the next day. Buddy was completely honest that there was no mold just old staining in the attic, and that no treatment was needed. Both great honest guys! If you suspect you have a mold problem, check with them first! Some companies who both test and remediate have vested interests in finding something, but The Mold Removers are trustworthy and friendly professionals.

Description of Work
Visual mold inspection

Category mold removal

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/05/2017

5.0

12/20/2016


judy S.

I had black mold on my ceiling. He was very complete and detailed during the assessment . Most importantly he was honest and told me it was just surface mold and I could remove it myself. He checked my house and all areas. He told me where the mold was coming from and to clean my ceiling fan. Thanks for being so honest.

Description of Work
I need a mold removal assessment. Buddy came out.my house and all areas

Category mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2016

5.0

10/25/2016


William S.

Buddy came to the house and did a thorough inspection. After assessing our entire basement he let us know that we don't have a mold problem and that we didn't need to pay for expensive tests. This was not what I expected to hear. At a minimum I expected to get hit up for expensive tests, if not for full blown remediation services. Buddy let me know that neither would be required and didn't even charge us to come and do the inspection. Great guy and great company.

Description of Work
Evaluation to determine if we needed mold remediation services after we had a drain back up.

Category mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2016

5.0

02/18/2016


Kimberly M.

Inspected areas in the basement that mold could have been an issue.

Description of Work
I spoke to both Jim and Buddy Crider. Buddy came out and did a free inspection for me and we concluded that there was no need for further test. Buddy gave me lots of helpful advice to reduce the chance of and prevent mold in the basement. Very professional and helpful! Even though I did not need them to do any paid work Jim still called to make sure all of my questions were answered. I would definitely recommend this honest company to anyone! They have over 18 years of experience in the field! I definitely feel a lot better after having them come check out the area of concern in my home!

Category mold removal

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/11/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you {Member's name removed}, it was our pleasure to serve you Jim
1.0

11/18/2015


Caitlin K.

Well they were extremely slow in the process of getting a quote and getting scheduled for mold removal. It was really cheap compared to other places but when they showed up they did $2000 of work in an hour which I really question if all they did was just pour bleach everywhere. They were very disorganized. As far as payment they were very unclear and while I was waiting for a bill I got a rude email asking where my payment was when I didn't know where I was suppose to send it or when it was due. In general it was cheap but I dont know if they did anything and they were very unprofessional and disorganized in their business. I do not recommend. They were nice at first and I feel bad writing such a bad review but getting an email saying "when can we get paid" is not good customer service especially when I was not given a due date or a bill just an invoice.

Description of Work
Mold remediation

Category mold removal

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2015

Service Provider Response

the original invoice was mailed October5th and as of this date we still have mot been paid. I emailed [Member name removed] 2 -3 weeks and very kindly ask her when we could expect payment. She said she didn't have the address to mail the check to. I told her it is on the invoice in the top corner. She didn't ask how much she owed because she had received the invoice. A few days ago I emailed her and ask when we could get paid which I didn't think wasn't unreasonable request. Most customers pass at the completion of the work. I even noted on her invoice that we accept credit cards. I hate to chase a customer for an unpaid invoice, Brenda's case I had no alternative. The length of time edit text asked to complete our job should be in material as long as the job is been completed which it was. I am very sorry she feels this way as Is this the first negative comment I've ever received from Angie's list. Thank you for allowing me my comments and thoughts, Jim Marshall
5.0

10/05/2015


Madelyn W.

Peace of mind. I'd been seeing "spots" on the walls and ceiling of a basement bedroom. I finally called The Mold Removers and Buddy Crider came out that afternoon. After testing the walls and ceiling, he found no indication that there was moisture/mold behind the drywall. His advice - get a dehumidifier. I can't tell you how good I felt, because I had thought surely that the walls would have to be torn out. While no service was performed, this company certainly gave me peace of mind!!! Angie's List, please add a category to cover this type of "nonservice"!

Description of Work
Gave me peace of mind!!!

Category mold removal

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/29/2015

5.0

08/19/2015


REGINA C.

I had two recent leaks from my water softener and was concerned that I might have areas of mold where the water had leaked. I wanted The Mold Removers to come out and test for mold and remove it if found. I was able to contact them via the Angie's List website which was great-and they called me back the next day. I was able to schedule for the next week. The gentleman came out and tested for moisture and mold in the areas where I had concerns. He found nothing that worried him and that was a HUGE relief for me. I asked him how much I owed him and he replied, "Nothing!" I wanted to pay him for his time but he refused. I told him how much I appreciated his honesty, and heaven forbid, if I ever do need such services again, I will certainly give him a call.

Description of Work
Tested for mold in my home around areas where I had concerns

Category mold removal

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2015

5.0

07/02/2015


Whitney S.

Awesome. Professional, communicates very well, honest.

Description of Work
We have used this provider twice now. The first time we used them, we needed to have mold removed in the crawl space of our home that was for sale. We could not have been happier with the price, service and professionalism. In our new home, we smelled a musty smell from my daughters room. I had them come out to let me know if they thought mold was behind the wall. Instead of scaring me and trying to get money, they told me to try re-caulking around the window first to see if this would stop any moisture from getting into the wall. I REALLY appreciated the honesty. They did not try to get me to spend money unneccessarily. If we do find that the smell does not go away and that mold may need to be removed, we will definitely used The Mold Removers!

Category mold removal

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2015

5.0

04/07/2015


FRANK R U.

When I called I actually got a person. Jim discussed the issue and Buddy was sent out to evaluate the situation. They concurred with the inspection report and provided an estimate. I accepted the proposal and a team of three men was sent to my house in a matter of days. These guys were experienced and very friendly. Answered all of my questions and got the job done quickly. Buddy visited a few times to check on how it was going. Because this would be subject to another home inspection they went above and beyond the call of duty and extended their remediation to areas that were not included in their earlier estimate. Jim, Buddy, and their team were always responsive to any questions or concerns I had.

Description of Work
Home inspection revealed that we had mold in the attic and crawl space. They removed the mold and laid visqueen in the crawl space.

Category mold removal

Cost $2,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/02/2015

5.0

10/24/2014


APRIL T.

Wonderful-- could not ask for a better company to do the work. Highly recommend. Great group of guys..

Description of Work
Treated the affected areas of the attic with Shockwave, an AntiMicrobial agens, crawl space. removed existing vapor barrier , treated entire crawl space including floor joists and subfloor with shockwave. followes with oxi-kill. installed a new vapor barrier in crawl space.

Category mold removal

Cost $2,160

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2014

5.0

05/27/2014


Joseph C.

This was by far the best experience we have had using a company with any type of work or repairs needed. Our house is 30 years old and in the process of being sold. We had different companies come in and do various jobs that needed attention. All of the contractors we delt with out of Fishers were not honest on what needed done, they were more expensive and not truly competent on their ability. One contractor tore up our kitchen floor to "reach" the mold in the crawl space under the house. Not only could he not do it, he just told us after tearing up our kitchen floor that he was done, but he wouldn't charge us. Needless to say we had to put in a new kitchen floor with our own money. The Mold Removers first talked to us on the phone and we sent them our inspection findings. Then they sent in a very qualified employee that gave us a true and honest analysis of exactly what the problem was and exactly how they would fix it. They did some moving around in their schedule to get our issue taken care of in the short time frame it needed done. Our realtor gave the buyers The Mold Removers phone number and they called him. The owner explained the issue and that it was fixed in great detail because another "mold guy" wanted another $1,700 spent that was not needed. After The Mold Removers finished their conversation with the buyers, the buyers knew the problem was resolved and were more than comfortable with the job of The Mold Removers and accepted the offer of our house. It was quite refreshing to actually deal with a company that is honest and is there to do an outstanding professional job and service for their customers. They did not try to perform any unnecessary work just to make an extra buck or gouge their customers. Now the buyers can purchase our house knowing an issue is resolved properly and professionally.

Description of Work
We had mold throughout our entire crawl space of our house. They took out the molded insulation, remediated the entire area, put in new insulation and whatever else that needed done.

Category mold removal

Cost $2,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2014

5.0

05/10/2014


Mark B.

After seeing an episode of King of the Hill where Hank has an encounter with a mold inspector who is running a racket, I was leery of having to work with mold inspectors. Jim Marshall and Buddy Crider took that concern away. They were honest and professional and kind. They were not alarmist but were honest about mold and what consequences it can have. They provide free estimates and Buddy was able to come out within 24 hours of me calling. Jim, the owner, got me a bid within a few hours of Buddy's visit. Jim called personally to let me know his computer was down and he went to a nearby location just so he could send it. We accepted the bid and buddy and his team came to our home in less than 48 hours. They were so friendly and respectful. They put down plastic before bringing in equipment and moved everything out of our laundry room. They bagged the damaged drywall and then explained, in detail, what's they had found. They then treated the area and got to fan and filter running, which they picked up the next day (since it needed to run overnight). These guys are an awesome team and I would recommend them time and again. Thank you for the excellent service!

Description of Work
The Mold Removers LLC inspected our laundry room where the ceiling had bowed and mold had appeared. They then came to the house, removed the infected drywall and treated the mold.

Category mold removal

Cost $1,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/09/2014

5.0

04/17/2014


Julie C.

Jim was very helpful with treating the problem and working with the buying and selling realtor during the sale of my home.

Description of Work
Mold Remediation in Attic.

Category mold removal

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2014

5.0

03/11/2014


JON & JANE S.

After noticing water had leaked into garage from frozen gutters called Jim. Though very busy was able to get someone out to analyze and discuss course of action. Id'ed wet areas, removed the drywall and insulation and treated the entire area for any possiblemold. Very professional, punctual and delivered exactly on time as discussed. Would use again for any similar projects.

Description of Work
Provided drying, insulation and drywall removal after an "ice daming" in garage.

Category mold removal