Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing

Founded 2011 • With Angi since July 2011

4.9

(433) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6542 E Westfield Blvd

Indianapolis, IN 46220

Description

At Howald Heating, Air Conditioning, & Plumbing, your well-being is important to us! We are family owned and operated. Our history is deep and one that we are proud of. We provide heating and air conditioning maintenance and repair, as well as new installation and replacement of furnaces, air conditioners, heat pumps, boilers, geothermal units, etc. We also provide quality plumbing services from water heater repairs and replacement, to drains and sump pumps. Give us a call to schedule an appointment today. ******Furnaces-Heating,Furnace Repair & Cleaning,Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems,Heating Contractors & Specialties,Air Conditioning Service & Repair, Plumbing-Water Heaters (gas and electric)-Attic Insulation Installation Attic Insulation Installation and Duct Cleaning. Plumbing service, maintenance and installation: Tankless water heaters, Reverse osmosis systems, Kitchen and Bathroom faucets, Toilets, Showers, Garbage disposals, Drain lines, Sump pumps, Battery back ups, Water softeners Water lines******...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/21/2022


Jane B.

Their technicians are really nice the job done pretty fast they are very thorough I don't have any problems every visit.

Description of Work
Maintenance for furnace and AC.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/28/2022


ED K.

They are very honest and good I've been using them for 10yrs now.

Description of Work
Replace water heater

Category water heater repair

5.0

12/28/2021


HARRY & SARAH M.

I have used them for years and they have been excellent. About three years ago they put in a new system and they go the extra mile. I would highly recommend them as well.

Description of Work
They service my HVAC system twice a year.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/22/2021


Jeffrey Z.

This was my first time using Howald services and it was an excellent experience. Mike was extremely friendly and helpful. I will definitely use Howald for my future furnace/AC needs.

Description of Work
Furnace tuneup

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/02/2021


JOHN S.

Everything went perfectly. It took only 2 days to schedule and about 2 hours to install. We replaced and old water softener that was on its last legs. The plumber, Joe, was well trained and did an excellent job. He walked me through the clock and other settings. He left the work area probably cleaner than it was before he arrived. We live in an older house and have used Howald for our plumbing and HVAC needs for many years and are very pleased with their service.

Description of Work
Purchased and installed a new water softener.

Category plumbing, water softeners

5.0

06/02/2021


Ruth K.

They have been excellent and I have been using them for 5 years. They are reliable, professional, and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They have installed and serviced my two furnaces and air conditioners.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/12/2020


john F.

They did a great job and I would give them my highest rating. We have used them for years and we would hire them again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
They serviced our HVAC system and cleaned out our ducts.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

You are so very kind! We appreciate you so much!

1.0

07/14/2020


GARY S.

The repair with Joe went fine. THEN, I tried to get an e-invoice for the repair. The invoice had been promised. Three days later no invoice. I called and the e-invoice was sent. The BILL TO address on the invoice was incorrect, it was another address with a person whose name is similar to mine. Thanks to errors like this I get calls for credit card debt for the name similar to mine at the address listed in the BILL TO address--then apparently linked to my phone number. I called again. I could not get the phone person to understand that the BILL TO address was wrong and I was concerned as I get tagged as the individual living at that address by debt collectors. No the other address isn't my other home, I had to explain. No I didn't give that address as my office, I had to explain. No, the work was not done at the BILL TO address which is why the JOB ADDRESS was correct, not the BILL TO one No, no, no. Finally I'd had it and directly told the phone person so in no uncertain terms. Then I was switched to another who told me what a mean man I am, how unhappy I am, that I need love! All of this because my initial contact couldn't understand there was a wrong BILL TO address on the e-invoice and errors like this have caused me grief in the past.

Description of Work
Toilet repair.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

We’re very sorry for the inconvenience this situation has caused. We just recently have switched to a paperless system and are working out all the kinks that come along with something new. We are so sorry this affected your account and assure you we are working diligently to resolve the issue. Unfortunately, it was difficult to fully understand your concern as your frustration led you to speak unkindly to our staff. We have always prided ourselves in our customer service and our ability to fully take care of clients so we are working hard to get this data issue taken care of right away. Your specific account has been updated but we appreciate you bringing to light a software issue that absolutely needed attention immediately. Please accept our apology for your experience and we hope you’ll give us the opportunity to make it right in the future.

5.0

09/16/2019


MARTI D.

It been great. I stared with him with Broad ripple heating and air. And he started his own business. Been with him for 10 years.

Description of Work
HVAC Maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you so much! Thank you for sticking with us all these years!

5.0

08/16/2019


JILL L.

Howald Plumbing was excellent. They respond immediately. They have a big reputation in the north side of Indianapolis Indiana. They always done great job.

Description of Work
Sam came out to fix the leaking pipe in my washing machine. He have also done a couple of things for me from the past. He replaced the out door faucet at the back of my house and removed the old sump pump and replaced it with a new. He's always done a great job.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

We love hearing this! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We’re here for all your heating, air conditioning and plumbing needs.

5.0

07/07/2019


PAM J L.

Perfect. Austin has fixed plumbing problems before at my house and is always knowledgable and helpful in recommending the best outcome and answer questions about future issues that come up in an older home. Will definitely use again!

Description of Work
Repair leaking toilet

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

We’re so grateful to hear about your positive experience with Austin! Thank you for sharing with us. Call us anytime!!

5.0

06/21/2019


Sheriee L.

They are excellent and we would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
We have been using them for 10 years. They installed our HVAC system and they service it now.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate you!

5.0

06/08/2019


Raymond M.

Received multiple quotes, Mr Howald personally reached out to us and inspected our system. When it was thought a part could be replaced that ultimately couldn’t, Mr Howald gave us unbeatable pricing on a whole new unit. He was honest and fair. The service men were so kind and punctual. They made a large purchase, that could’ve been such a headache, a pleasant experience. We will genuinely never use anyone else for our heating and cooling needs.

Description of Work
We needed heating and A/C replaced

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

This is wonderful to hear!! Thank you so very much for trusting us with your heating and cooling needs!

5.0

01/31/2019


Jeff S.

It went great. The guy who came out was friendly and thorough. Definitely would use him again.

Description of Work
There was a bad sensor in our hvac unit, and they changed the panel board and the sensor.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/10/2018


donn D.

Great. Always professional and do t try to oversell

Description of Work
AC tune up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/25/2018


Miriam V.

Work was completed very well. I was pleased with the work.

Description of Work
Two water lines

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

We're glad to hear this! Thanks so much. Call us anytime.

5.0

07/16/2018


Robert S.

Harry and Chris were very punctual, friendly, and explained everything. They were very detail-oriented. They did an excellent job, finished on schedule, and we are very satisfied with the result. We were also very pleased with the price.

Description of Work
Our 77 year old 2 story house needed all water pipes replaced and a new water heater and softener installed.

Category plumbing, water heater repair, water softeners

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience! We're so happy to hear these things about our plumbers! We hope you'll call us again should you need our services. Thanks again!

5.0

06/25/2018


Lauren W.

Really well! We thought we had a leak but when he looked at everything and listened, he explained it wasn’t a leak. I liked how he explained what a leak would sound like so I would know. Scheduling was smooth and he arrived on time! I’d definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Possible plumbing leak

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review, [Member Name Removed]! We're so glad to know that Austin was able to take care of things for you. Call us anytime!

5.0

05/11/2018


Jane B.

very good i was very happy, price was less than youve expected

Description of Work
i had a water usage problem they fixed the leak

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

You've been a customer of ours for quite awhile now and we just want to thank you so much for your continued trust in us to handle your heating, air and plumbing needs. We look forward to working with you again soon. Thanks so much for your review.

5.0

04/19/2018


THOMAS G.

Austin did a great job. He replaced a round bowl, lower height toilet with a new taller, elongated one. He also repaired two leaky faucets. He is a very nice young man and was a pleasure to have doing the work. I will call Howald Plumbing again for future plumbing needs. The office personnel were also very nice.

Description of Work
They replaced a toilet with a new one I purchased separately. They also repaired two bathroom faucets.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

We're so glad to hear things went so well with Austin. We love having him on our team. Please feel free to call us anytime! We are also happy to help with heating and cooling needs as well. Thanks so much for your feedback!

5.0

04/04/2018


Gary R.

Everything went great. I couldn’t find another HVAC company that would even come out because “they don’t work on ducting” which I found strange. James came out found out what the problem was rather quickly and they returned and resolved. They had to re-attach a duct that had become disconnected, they did a great job and made a small a hole in the wall as possible. Everyone was professional and explained everything they weee doing. I would absolutely use them again, as a matter of fact I am switching to them to handle all my HVAC needs going forward.

Description of Work
I needed to get heater/air conditioner ducting repaired

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

This is so great to hear!! Thank you so much for your feedback. James always strives for complete customer satisfaction and we are so happy to know we've converted you to a Howald Heating customer going forward! :) Call us anytime! We're happy to help.

5.0

03/26/2018


William H.

Better price than others quoted & quick response.

Description of Work
heater repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Glad to hear we were able to get you taken of. Call us anytime! We're happy to help.l

5.0

01/09/2018


Lisa M.

It went great! Frank explained that my 90 efficiency furnace was frozen bc it was in an unconditioned area. He explained that the 90 efficiency furnace needed to stay warm. Wish the company who sold it to me told me that! After placing a space heater near the furnace and drain pipes, it kicked back on! They followed up with me twice to make sure all was ok. Great customer service guys! Very grateful!!

Description of Work
My furnace went out during the streak of single digit temps. After calling three other companies, including the one that installed the furnace only three years ago, Howald called me back within 30 min AND came out to my house within the next 30 minutes!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Wonderful! So glad Frank was able to get you back up and running quickly. It sure has been COLD!! Hopefully your home is nice and toasty. Call us anytime!

5.0

01/02/2018


TODD Y.

It went flawlessly and got the updated coils from the manufacturer that should last longer than the 8 years they lasted. Was very impressed by the tech and the company.

Description of Work
Have a geothermal system and the system was throwing an error. I called the company that installed the unit, and they told me they would have availibility 3 weeks out. Well that wouldn’t cut it. I called Howard heating and they sent someone out who specializes in geo the next day. After about an hour of testing the tech finally found the problem of the coils had a crack in them due to the poor manufacturing by the company. He immediately left a message at the office to see if it was under warranty, and broke the bad news that we were going to need some gas in the system to keep it going and if the coil was under warranty it still would cost about $1300. Well it was better than paying for a new system or coils at $2500+ They ordered the part and within a few days it was in and installed

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

This is great news! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience. We're so glad things went well and look forward to working with you again in the future, should the need arise. Thanks again!

5.0

01/02/2018


MASON H.

On schedule and efficiently completed

Description of Work
Semi-annual heating/air conditioning system maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

That's what we like to hear! Thanks so much.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Cooper's Water Conditioning

    Established in 1978, Cooper's Water Conditioning has national brand name whole house water softeners, reverse osmosis drinking water systems, and iron filters that last for years without interruption. We are a family-owned business that offers the highest quality water treatment at affordable prices. Our service area is Indianapolis and all surrounding areas .  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Puresoft Water Treatment

    Puresoft Water Treatment is the Hague Quality Water dealer for central Indiana. Hague offers the only customizable whole home water treatment products with a 25 year warranty. We sell, rent, service, and install water treatment systems. This includes water softeners, whole home filtration, iron removal, drinking water systems, and UV lights. We are a family owned business servicing central Indiana for over 25 years, providing 100% customer satisfaction. Hague products are made in the USA. Our technicians have an average of 17 years of experience. Our ratings are stellar: A+ BBB, 5 Stars Home Adviser, A Angie’s list, and 5 Stars Bizrate.com. Contact us at 317-535-6280 for your free in-home water analysis.  

    Elgin Water Care

    Family owned and operated since 1946. The Hull family has owned the business for the last 72 years and provides residential and commercial water softening, filtration, drinking water, salt delivery, bottled water and service to most makes and models of water softeners.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    CO51300008
    Trade License Locale
    Indiana
    Trade License Authority
    Indiana Licensing
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2017
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Furnaces Repair & Cleaning. Air Conditioning Service & Repair. Attic Insulation Installation. Duct cleaning. Plumbing Service, Maintenance & Installation. Sump Pumps. Battery Backups. Water Softeners. Water Lines.

    Services Not Offered

    Please Inquire

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing

    How is Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing overall rated?

    Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing open?

    Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing provide

    Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing offer free estimates?

    No, Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing offer emergency services?

    Yes, Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing?

    Yes, Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing offers warranties.

    What services does Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing offer?

    Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing offers the following services: Furnaces Repair & Cleaning. Air Conditioning Service & Repair. Attic Insulation Installation. Duct cleaning. Plumbing Service, Maintenance & Installation. Sump Pumps. Battery Backups. Water Softeners. Water Lines.

    Are there any services Howald Heating Air Conditioning and Plumbing does not offer?

    Please Inquire