Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Flat Fee Realty, LLC

Founded 2007 • With Angi since September 2013

4.9

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8888 Keystone Crossing Ste 1300

Indianapolis, IN 46240

Description

Flat Fee Realty, llc. offers the public for more flexibility and savings on professional real estate marketing services. Today more sellers want to participate in the sale of their home, while others just want the same service for less commission. We accommodate these needs by offering service

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/05/2017


Jeffrey J.

It sold!! Thanks Vern..... GREAT Job!

Description of Work
Vern helped us get our home sold.

Category real estate agents

4.0

01/02/2017


DARCY W.

Vern did a great job for the price. He was always responsive and professional.

Description of Work
I listed my 5 acre, fixer-upper property with Flat Fee Realty.

Category real estate agents

5.0

08/02/2016


Kathi L.

Vern was excellent and I would highly recommend him as a Realtor. His was responsive to all of my communications, always provided what he agreed to, was a complete professional and very easy to work with.

Description of Work
Vern Carter helped me sell my parents house from out of State

Category real estate agents

5.0

07/26/2016


Allison K.

Smooth, always available for questions. Arranged closing on the same day back to back.

Description of Work
Sold out home and assisted in buying a new home.

Category real estate agents

5.0

07/26/2016


Don K.

Vern sold our house in 10 days. He was referred by a friend who had similar success. His experience, calmness and proficiency made the negotiations and "bumps in the road" very seamless. If you want a save thousands when selling your home, call Vern Carter! We saved over $12K versus the traditional realtor contract. Its a no-brainer. This guy knows the real estate business, and is a true "closer".

Description of Work
Realtor/Agent for sale of $315K home

Category real estate agents

5.0

07/20/2016


Cassandra P.

Everything was smooth from start to finish. He did everything a normal realtor does but for a fraction of the price. Highly recommend everyone use Vern Carter!

Description of Work
He listed my home on the MLS and handled all the paperwork for the sale of my home and communicated for me with the buyers agent.

Category real estate agents

5.0

06/28/2016


Maureen L.

Excellent job. I knew the house would pretty much sell itself, so I had a hard time going with a traditional realtor to whom I would have to pay 3%- 3.5%. Thus, I went with a flat fee realtor. Vern Carter was great!

Description of Work
Listed house for us; placed in MLS; took photographs; set up showings; assisted at closing

Category real estate agents

5.0

06/21/2016


Jason W.

It was a great experience. Our house sold, and we payed significantly less than we would have with a typical commission based realtor.

Description of Work
Listed our property on the MLS and provided realtor services.

Category real estate agents

5.0

06/20/2016


Denise S.

Good. Vern met with us and explained how the service worked. He had a staff member show how house several times and then came to the closing and worked with the buyer's realtor. We saved thousands by selling our house through Vern and not a traditional realtor.

Description of Work
Listed our house on MLS and was at closing.

Category real estate agents

5.0

02/13/2016


Jerry D.

Vern Carter of Flat Fee Realty listed a house for us. instead of having to pay a full 6 or 7 per cent commission we paid Vern's company a flat fee of around $600 which saved us over $5000.00. So our total cost was only 3% plus the $600 we paid Vern. He was very responsive to all of our questions and was very involved with helping us with all the negotiations and final agreement. We would highly recommend using this company and will use it again for our next sale.

Description of Work
Real estate sale and listing.

Category real estate agents

5.0

10/28/2015


Judi C.

Vern had a lot of stressful work when Wells Fargo reneged on our buyer's loan approval. (They had a 15 year mortgage with WF with no problems, learned the hard way that they changed after 2008). We went to the table for closing 3 times due to the big bad bank. Vern had to strategize around the realtor for the home we were buying as a contingency. (Purchasing 13395 Bellshire Ln) She was unprofessional, kept threatening to accept other offers even though ours had been accepted. A Columbus Day bank close allowed him to not have to inform her of a 2nd unsuccessful close until 2 days later, buying us time. Everything went through to everyone's relief. This guy is who you want on your side when other realtors & banks don't do what they say they will. He will manage any future buy/sells we have! In addition to his share of the commission on the home we bought, we made sure he got a good bonus.

Description of Work
Vern was a full service realtor for the sale of our home.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review on my Birthday! Much appreciated.....This transaction will go down in history as the most complicated I have ever pulled off. :)
5.0

08/20/2015


Luke B.

Originally, we looked in to listing our home as "For Sale by Owner". We are an accountant and an attorney so figured we could manage the home selling process. For $600 Vern set us up with the pieces we couldn't do ourselves and, what in our opinion, were the most important services we needed from a realtor. These included listing our home on the MLS and access to the automated showing scheduling service. Vern didn't help us stage our home or do open houses but we didn't miss these things. He provided a very professional sign for our yard and a lockbox for our house. Once we had an offer, he helped us along the way with negotiations. Overall, Vern was very responsive and I would certainly recommend him to anyone looking to sell their home without having to pay a realtor 3%. Vern provides excellent value for the money.

Description of Work
Flat Fee Realty provided us with the key benefits of a traditional realtor (MLS listing, showings scheduling, lockbox) without the cost. Vern was responsive and helped us along the way with the key components of our home sale at less than 10% of the cost of a traditional full-service realtor.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review! Wish we could have met in person... What would we do with out email and cell phones?
5.0

07/27/2015


James H.

We listed our house for sale by owner on zillow and all seemed to go well but everyone that looked at our house either had a house not even on the market yet, or was not yet prepared to buy. I had enough stress. We had looked at a house previously that Vern had listed but decided on another house. But we kept his business card just in case. We had 3 other realtors come out all charging 6-7% commission and another that stopped by saying he had a buyer wanting us to sign a agreement. Instead we called Vern he was able to pull all our pictures and info off our Zillow add. And a couple days later it was on the market and sold within 30 days at full price with no contributions to closing cost to the seller. By using Vern he saved us between 5,400.00 and 7400.00 thats on a 200,000 dollar sale price using the 6% or 7% another realtor would have charged us. In our opinion its a no brainer. We have recommend Vern to all our family and friends and hope he stays in business so the other realtors will lower their rates. Vern gets 10 stars in our opinion.

Description of Work
sold our house quickly and very professionally.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! It was fun working with you both.
5.0

07/20/2015


Sue M.

They did a great job advertising the home and we were very happy with the price we received. They were always readily available to answer questions when we would call and we greatly appreciated that.

Description of Work
They sold our house. We listed it with them back in September 2014.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thanks it was a pleasure working with you both.
4.0

07/13/2015


Ronnetta M.

It went pretty well! I did not sell the home which was my goal. However, for the price Flat Fee Realty charges, I believe my home received a good amount of exposure to buying agents and clients. Given that Flat Fee doesn't provide the extras such as open houses etc. I consider 30+ showings in a 6 month period and an offer on the house, which I did not accept, a successful attempt at selling the home. The service that Flat Fee Realty works with to arrange the showings is excellent and receiving real time feedback after each showing was vital for me to make the changes necessary to make my home more appealing to potential buyers. In the end I decided to rent the house and my agent, Vern Carter, found a great renter for me. Overall the experience was positive.

Description of Work
Served as the listing agent for the sale of my home.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Most clients who have open houses see little results and expose themselves to various forms of attack. Traditionally open houses are really only an avenue for Brokers to meet new potential clients, not to sell the house they are holding open. The visitors who go to open houses usually haven’t even spoken to a mortgage lender yet; they have no clue how much the home owner is asking; and chances are they won’t buy the home after touring it. For that reason we do not do open houses. However if you wanted to do an open house we would have set that up for you.
5.0

02/16/2015


Joshua M.

Vern(Agent) was great, I had heard nightmares of flat fee listings online and the agents being out of state etc. Vern was on it he is local to Indianapolis, very knowledgeable and professional. I was looking online and was hoping to only pay $250-300 for the flat listing, the reason why I went with Vern and spent the $600 was because of other positive Angie's list reviews. And believe me I am glad I spent the extra $. We listed the 4bd 2.5 ba 2400sq house in Noblesville on Halloween 2014 for $159,900. I had a showing every day for the next week. Almost everyone complained about the kitchen, I had a white dishwasher and the rest of the appliances were black. The second week I had one showing. (I was expecting to have an accepted offer in 2 weeks.) I dropped price $500 and got a few more showings, got a few low ball investor offers. Vern recommended I reject. Then no activity for about 3 weeks during thanksgiving time into early Dec. I bought a black dishwasher and installed it on first week in Dec and no one complained about kitchen anymore. I got an accepted offer in Beginning of Jan-15 $154,500. We closed on Feb 13th 2015. I was happy with the amount that I got and Vern saved me about $4000 in commissions I didn't have to pay. I am going to list another house I own and will use Vern again for that one.

Description of Work
Vern(Agent) was great, I took my own pictures about 25 of them ( he would have done that though also), he resized them for me after I emailed them to him, and got it listed on the MLS, got an account set up for me on centralized showing, so that I would get texts messages and emails when there were showings. He also got it posted on Zillow and Trulia and dozens of other sites. He put a lock box on the door and a sign out front. He answered questions by phone text and email in a timely manner. Only reason I gave him a B on responsiveness is because he was on vacation 2 weeks before closing and I had to wait a week to get some questions answered, but I was not freaking out and other then that he either responded same day or within 24 hours. Vern answered all questions I had and gave suggestions when I asked for it, and he came to closing.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the detailed review. Sorry you felt I didnt respone quickly while on vacation. I did respond an I had to buy the international plan on my cell phone so I could be avaiable but service and internet access was spotty. I was only gone for one week and we already had everything scheduled so we just needed to wait for the closing which went smoothly. Next time you will be assigned an associate broker if I have to take a vacation. :-) I look forward to working withn you agian!
5.0

01/13/2015


Diane S.

After becoming disillusioned with traditional listing agents, I turned to FlatFee Realty to put my home on the MLS and handle showings. Despite the name of "FlatFee", this is a full service realty company with attentive and savvy professionals. Rather than relying on commission based sales, I knew what I was paying for from the beginning. With the advent of on-line services such as Trulia and Zillow, it seems the most logical service to use is Flat Fee. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Vern and Ashley sold my house. I knew their charges from the very beginning, and there were no hidden charges at closing. The buyer's realtor received a commission, but I knew Flat Fee's costs at the time of the listing.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! I am glad we were able to help you move on. I look forward to helping your firend find a new home. Good luck in your new city!
5.0

12/10/2014


Melissa B.

It was an amazing experience. Vern was professional, reliable, and thorough. He saved us a lot of money and gave us great service. He was always so quick responding to any questions from potential buyers or ourselves. I would wholeheartedly recommend him.

Description of Work
Took pictures, listed home in MLS, placed lockbox, sign, responded to inquiries, handled all paperwork including offers, inspection responses, etc.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review. You and your husband were a pleasure to work for. I look forward to working with you agian in the future.
5.0

10/21/2014


Christopher W.

First off, just a word of advice to anyone who is looking for a Realtor to sell his or her house and is reading this review: stop poking around on the internet and give Vern a call now. It will save you a lot of time and money! Vern is very knowledgeable, professional, hard-working, and available to his clients at any time, day or night. There is absolutely no reason to go with a traditional full-fee Realtor when selling your house; Vern provided me with every service I could possibly expect when selling my house, all for less than 1/2 of 1% of the selling price. Compare that to the 3 to 3.5% that full-fee Realtors are taking for doing the exact same amount of work, and the value that Vern and Flat Fee Realty provides is self-evident. Now to the details... I called Vern late one evening after work and left a message, not expecting a call back until the next day. Within 10 minutes, Vern called me back to help. We scheduled a time for him to meet me at my house to take a look at the property, discuss details, answer questions, and share ideas for the listing. Given that I had already moved and was back and forth between Ohio during the weekends, Vern was very willing to meet with me on a Sunday afternoon to get things started. Talk about great service! When I met with Vern, I gave him a tour of the house and discussed pricing. I told him what I was hoping to get for the home, he gave me an extraordinarily accurate estimate of the price at which he would list the home, and we decided on a price. We walked through the paperwork, chose options (I added the heavy-duty swing post yard sign and electronic lock box), and I payed him to list the home. I lived on a corner lot very close to the heart of Broad Ripple, and because of this, he even offered to have his assistant stop by from time to time to ensure the lawn was not littered with an occasional beer bottle when it came time to show my house. Since I opted to have the exterior of my house painted prior to listing, Vern was very patient and worked with the painter's schedule to take pictures of the home (and the painter took forever to finish the job!). Vern took pictures of the interior of the home on one day and came back another day for pictures of the exterior. Per my request, he also waited until we had all of the pictures to list the home. When it came time to put my home on the market, Vern wrote an excellent description and asked me to look over the details of the listing. There were a couple of things that needed changed, and he promptly made all updates. One by one, the showing notifications started rolling in, and within 4 days, I had an offer. In full disclosure, my home was in Broad Ripple and was competitively priced, but there is no doubt in my mind that Vern's listing played an important part in how quickly I received an offer. The listing was posted on all major real estate sites and a number of smaller ones, too, and he did a great job of capturing all my home to offer while leaving a few small pleasant surprises for those who decided to take a tour. Vern provided expert guidance throughout the offer/counter offer process, and he was always available to discuss plans and ideas. He was very supportive through the inspection & repair process, providing rough, yet very accurate estimates of costs for requested repairs. He also put together a great summary of all the costs to be expected through closing, and again, his estimates proved to be accurate. When it came time to close, Vern helped arrange for me to sign my side of the paperwork in Ohio so I didn't have to make the 6 hour trek back to Indianapolis to complete the sale. Closing went smoothly, although I am certain that Vern would have been there to help if needed. All in all, selling my home with Flat Fee Realty was definitely the best experience that ever started with me searching Angie's List for a reputable service provider. Vern is awesome and provides unparalleled value when it comes to selling your home! If you haven't called already (as recommended 8 paragraphs ago--I told you that you could have saved some time!), give Vern a call now and get the ball rolling on selling your home. It saved me over $4,500 and countless hours & days stressing over selling my home. I hope this review has been helpful. Now go call Vern!

Description of Work
Vern sold my house. The home was only on the market for 4 days! He was the integral part of the entire process from listing to closing.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed]!!! Working for people like you are the reason I love what I do. Hope I can help you buy a house if you ever come back to Indiana.
5.0

08/27/2014


Bettina L.

I don't understand why anyone wouldn't use Vern! You pay a fraction of what you would pay a typical Realtor and he does all the same things! He took pictures, put our listing on the MLS, wrote up all the paperwork for counteroffers and offered advice along the way. We had previously listed our home with another agent and were going to have to pay 7% commission - we didn't end up selling and decided to wait and list at another time. I found Vern on Angie's List and we decided to list with him. You do still pay the commission to the Buyer's agent (3%) but this will save you thousands! If we ever have to sell again I won't hesitate to call Vern (although I hope that isn't for a very long time). He also helped us find a new home and made sure all the details were worked out with both closings. He is a patient, professional guy and I highly recommend him!

Description of Work
Vern listed our home with his flat fee service and helped us find and purchase another home.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed]. We had so much fun looking at homes after we sold yours. Hope your move went well. Keep me in mind when your ready to move agian.
5.0

07/30/2014


Christopher B.

Vern was very professional and his follow up was great. Although we paid a flat fee (around $600), I feel like we still got the full value of a standard (usually 3% of purchase price) services one would expect from a Seller's Agent. A great value!

Description of Work
Sellers agent. Flat fee.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member name removed]!
5.0

06/19/2014


SCOTT M.

Even though I was a flat fee customer and wasn't buying a new home through Vern he still provided the same services as I'm guessing he would to any other (higher paying) customer. I had a lot of questions with regard to asking price, inspection response, etc. and he was very knowledgeable about the entire process. I would definitely utilize his services again in the future!

Description of Work
Vern listed my house using his flat fee services. He took pictures, gave me some sound advice about selling a home since I was a first timer and everything went pretty smooth.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Glad to be of service! Thanks
5.0

05/14/2014


Matthew R.

Vern is a first class Realtor who has an excellent business model that helps a buyer maximize the equity in their own home to buy their future dream house. Vern has been around the block and knows the business very well and was very responsive to all our needs. On both ends of our transactions we had some wonky things happen to us outside of our control, but Vern did a good job providing guidance, clarity, and rational when you're making one of the biggest decisions of your life. With that being said, dont waste your time or moeny selling your home from a big box broker who will rob you of have your home's equity and go with Vern.

Description of Work
Vern assisted us with the sale and purchase of our new home.

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Glad we got it done! Hope you like the new house we found. It was fun working with both the Sell and Buy. BTW - Thanks for the great Cigars! That was an awesome bonus.
5.0

03/09/2014


Andrea M.

Vern, our agent was fantastic. He was informative on market and professional in all dealings. He sold our home in three days and lent us guidance to ensure we received the highest price. We Highly recommend him!

Description of Work
Listed and sold our home

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Thanks...Hope the cross country move went well.
5.0

11/07/2013


jason L.

WOW what great value! Vern was very professional and friendly. I hired this company to sell our home. We had our house listed within 24 hours and sold it in 2 weeks. Vern kept it simple for me. Saved thousands! I would highly recommend this company to anyone.

Description of Work
My agent that sold my house

Category real estate agents

Service Provider Response

Glad to be of Service!

    Other local Pros in your area

    GuyCo Homes & Remodeling

    We charge a $100 consultation fee for all Remodeling and Design consultation appointments by Jon Guy, to be credited back if we move forward to the contract stage. GuyCo Homes & Remodeling is a full service design and build firm specializing in residential and commercial custom building and remodeling. GuyCo offers our clients a turn-key service. Share your dreams and ideas with us and we bring them to life. Honor and Integrity is the foundation on which GuyCo is built, and customer satisfaction is our number one priority. Repeat business and word of mouth has made GuyCo a leader in Central Indiana. The leadership at GuyCo has over 30 years of building and remodeling experience serving Indianapolis, Carmel, Avon and many other communities. Our customers depend upon us to translate their ideas into workable and attractive homes that meet their designated schedules and budgets, whether it is a kitchen or bathroom remodel, new room addition or an entirely new custom home. GuyCo is able to achieve a high level of success by employing knowledgeable, customer service oriented employees and teaming with professional Trade Partners that put our clients first. --- We invite you to call for details on scheduling a consultation with one of our staff. We will review your ideas, present a strategy and assist you in achieving your dream. --- 4 employees. Charges a flat rate. Ask about Angie's List Discount. Financing available. Additional DBAs - The Guy Corp, GuyCo Homes. Additional e-mails - info@guycohomes.com, design@guycohomes.com, consulting@guycohomes.com. Award winning.  

    Kyle Dickson with Coldwell Banker Kaiser

    There are many qualities and skills that go into being an excellent real estate professional - integrity, in-depth community and market knowledge, marketing savvy, effective negotiation skills and a high-quality professional network, all of which are hallmarks of how I work. That said, in my experience as a Real Estate professional, I've also found that providing the very best service is essentially about putting my clients first. This means keeping myself accessible, being a good listener as well as a good communicator, and responding quickly to your needs. This "client first" philosophy has always been my approach and it requires me to continually improve my skills and ways of doing business. In addition, I've found that the latest technologies are enabling me to do everything I've always done, only much more quickly and efficiently. They've also helped me to extend the range of services I provide to my clients. So when you decide that you'd like to buy or sell a home please contact me.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Property Management
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Real Estate Services - What we bring to the table is experience, integrity, and real estate marketing methods that get you results. If you think you can’t afford a Realtor®, you’ve just found a solution!

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Flat Fee Realty, LLC

    How is Flat Fee Realty, LLC overall rated?

    Flat Fee Realty, LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Flat Fee Realty, LLC provide

    Flat Fee Realty, LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does Flat Fee Realty, LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Flat Fee Realty, LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Flat Fee Realty, LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Flat Fee Realty, LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Flat Fee Realty, LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Flat Fee Realty, LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Flat Fee Realty, LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Flat Fee Realty, LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Flat Fee Realty, LLC?

    No, Flat Fee Realty, LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does Flat Fee Realty, LLC offer?

    Flat Fee Realty, LLC offers the following services: Real Estate Services - What we bring to the table is experience, integrity, and real estate marketing methods that get you results. If you think you can’t afford a Realtor®, you’ve just found a solution!