Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing

Founded 1993 • With Angi since August 2002

4.8

(1213) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

284 N Belmont Ave

Indianapolis, IN 46222

Description

Efficient Systems was founded in 1993 to provide energy efficient lighting solutions to commercial customers. Over the years, the business has grown to include heating, air conditioning, refrigeration, electrical and plumbing for residential and commercial customers; always with an emphasis on energy efficiency. We're proud to service residential, commercial, and industrial equipment throughout the Indianapolis metro area. You no longer need to contact a different contractor for your mechanical and electrical services, at Efficient Systems we have the skills and experience to handle all your indoor comfort needs. Whether it's a blown fuse box, a leaky toilet or a noisy furnace, we have a solution that will fit your needs and your budget. Helping keep your home or building comfortable is our main goal, that's why our technicians are certified, factory trained and ready to assist you. Please give one of our specialists a call, we're available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/28/2020


Mike K.

Overall, it did not go well. The owner (or president?) of the company, Shawn, was my installer. At the time, he explained everything to me and was very helpful but he did say he tried to take a little shortcut and it ended up extending his installation time to "undo" whatever it was that went wrong (I'm not really sure) but he was frustrated with himself. I didn't think much of it at the time but I can't help but think that it may have had something to do with the fact that my 3 year old water heater is now leaking from several spots. He sold me on an expansion tank to "improve the life of the water heater" which makes that fact that it barely made it 3 years even more frustrating. All this said, I understand that appliances fail from time to time. I'm a reasonable guy (I leave VERY few negative reviews). What bothers me as much as the relatively young water heater failing is how this company has dealt with it. I have left no less than 3 voicemails for Shawn and have not gotten a return call/voicemail. They sent a tech out to check out my water heater and he was a nice enough guy and I am sure he's beholden to the company policies so he charged me $75 to tell me what I already knew, my water heater is leaking and broken. They quoted me $600 for replacing the crappy water heater they installed in the first place. In the end, I understand that mistakes will be made and this may not even have been any mistake made by Efficient Systems but the way Shawn has handled it (he hasn't done anything) is why this company gets an F. No accountability. I'd shop around and find another plumber.

Description of Work
I needed to have my water heater replaced.

Category water heater repair, air duct cleaning

5.0

05/22/2020


Rita M.

Did everything we asked and I would hire them again!!

Description of Work
Upgrade box and car plug installed

Category electrician, air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
5.0

04/24/2020


Justin Y.

Instant response and great price and communication

Description of Work
Replaced Furnace

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
5.0

03/17/2020


Rita T.

They came out the next business day and determined I needed a new water heater which they replaced the same day. Bryant was prompt, courteous and knowledgeable. I was very happy with their service. The only thing I would suggest is that if a customer makes a big purchase like this that they do not charge a service call.

Description of Work
They installed a new water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
5.0

03/02/2020


Tod B.

Excellent! I will hire this company for the next job.

Description of Work
Check if toilet is loose

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the Review. We look forward to assisting you with all you home improvement needs if needed. Remember we service HVAC, Plumbing & Electrical.
5.0

02/13/2020


BRIAN S.

Adam originally came to provide me with a quote and then both Bryant and Adam came back to do the work shortly thereafter. They were accommodating when something came up and I had reschedule last minute. They spent the majority of the day at my house working on a variety of projects. They were friendly, efficient, and did a great job. Definitely recommend this company and these two gentlemen.

Description of Work
Replacing fixtures, installing outlets, and moving outlets.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
5.0

02/11/2020


lori L.

Great!!!! Very professional. Clean. Polite. Thorough! Even took care of an unexpected issue while there fit minimal cost.

Description of Work
Installation if need outlets and security cameras

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
5.0

02/06/2020


PAT & TONY A.

I've been meaning to write a review for the last 6 months. Last summer the air conditioner was not cooling the house. Bret came and discovered that the large fan of the outdoor air conditioner was not working. Bret worked with his office and discovered, after much searching, that the 7 year old fan was still under warranty, Bret saved me $400.00 for a new fan and charged labor cost only. Bret was wonderful!!!

Description of Work
Required a new fan for air conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
5.0

01/23/2020


Mallory T.

Tech came out and found the problem quickly and fixed. Great service.

Description of Work
Water softener not working

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water softeners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
5.0

01/11/2020


Hector R.

The plumber was very efficient and knowledgeable. He was in and out in less than an hour.

Description of Work
Installed garbage disposal and associated pipes to a sink.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
5.0

08/08/2019


Chase T.

Went great. Ryan was super efficient, friendly, and knowledgeable. He was able to complete the job quicker than anticipated and it saved me money off an already agreed upon amount!

Description of Work
Hang 4 outdoor lighting fixtures

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
5.0

07/10/2019


suzan D.

I have not seen it as I am out of town, but John New was straight forward and honest. He was willing to work with me. I asked that the installer send pictures since I could not be at the house and I got a dozen. I recommend John New.

Description of Work
New A/C and I added a furnace at the same time

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again
2.0

06/24/2019


Mark C.

I had Efficient Systems fix a leaking water line at my home. The plumber was competent although he was not licensed, by his own admission. He identified the leak and fixed it within a reasonable amount of time. My issue was with the amount that I was billed. I was billed for 3 hours of labor. In total the plumber was at my home for less than 2 hours. He left my home to pick up the supplies (copper tubing and 2 fittings) needed for the job from “the shop” then returned to complete the job. Why should I be billed for that time because his truck was not stocked properly when I clearly explained the problem prior to the plumber coming to my home? In addition to the overbilling for labor, the company owner would not accept any company coupons ($75 service call or 5% off parts) that were shown on Angie’s List. For the labor overbilling and unwillingness to accept their own Angie’s List coupons, I paid $195 more than I should have for this job. Although the plumber was competent and the job was completed in a timely manner, I would not use Efficient Systems again and would not recommend them to anyone else due to their excessive billing and unwillingness to accept their own coupons.

Description of Work
Water line repair

Category plumbing

4.0

06/14/2019


Lorraine H.

Lost electricity & heat in sub zero weather, Efficient systems got there quickly to service electric furnace to find it wasn't furnace/heatpump but the electric panel. They got their electrician out to my home quickly, who did the job quickly left the jobsite clean and was professional except when it came to marking the panel. The old panel had been marked up to show which breaker went to what. Granted it had been done messily by various people over time, but repairman said he couldn't read it. Now I have 6-10 breakers that says lights and outlets. I wish I had thought to tell him to leave the old box and then I would have a starting point as the old box said "bath fans", "bth outlets", etc. He told me I could use a radio on full volume to figure it out! Of course that doesn't work for lights or my garbage disposal! So I am stuck running back and forth to the garage!!!!! Even if he had changed the wiring, it wouldn't have changed what was on an individual circuit or unlikely for that circuit to be wired to the other side of the panel in the new box. After job was completed saw a number of coupons in various places for several hundred dollars cheaper. But w/o heat there was no time to shop around and started off using an Angie's List coupon ($49 to find out the furnace was OK - was supposed to buy me $149 worth of work, didn't show that credit anywhere).

Description of Work
Replaced 200 Amp Electric Panel

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again.
1.0

06/03/2019


stephen N.

Adam showed up gave me an estimate for a big job and installed a ceiling fan in the same visit. After thorough communication and explaining the job he came back to do the work and then notified me when it was done and ready to have the drywall completed by someone else. When the contractor came to start on the job he let me know that the work that was done by Adam was nowhere close to completion. As they continued to ***** his job he found a lot of wires that were not connected to anything and just fell out of the ceiling when they were touched. Adam told me on the phone it was a miss communication but wanted us to pay him to work on the “rest” of the job. The supervisor backed up what Adam did and now a week later we had to hire someone else to finish the job. Our kitchen should have been completed last week but now we don’t even know when it will be done because he left a bunch of live wires and the drywall can’t go over that or will cause a fire. No one ever apologized or refund any of our money.

Description of Work
Hired the company to fix our electrical in order to finish our drywall in the kitchen.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

We're sorry that this job didn't go as you expected. There was confusion over the instructions given by your wife and the actual conditions which indicated that there would be a bulkhead in the area where the wiring was performed. You have a general contractor (he is also an electrician) who is performing the rest of the work (framing, drywall, plumbing), however, he was not involved in any of the conversations leading up to our work. Normally, the general contractor directs the subcontractors. This is done because the general contractor is knowledgeable about construction practices and the overall scope of work. It is important to mention that there were no blueprints to guide us in our installation of the wiring for the can lights. Our electrician roughed in wiring for new can lights and these wires were left hanging at your request as you were going to install the can lights yourself. Your characterization of wires not connected to anything and falling out of the ceiling is at odds with the phone conversation we had during which we offered to return to resolve any loose wiring at no charge and you declined the offer stating "that's not a huge thing, it's more of a craftmanship thing, I know that it is an easy fix". Your comment stating that there are a "bunch of live wires and the drywall can't go over that or will cause a fire" is misleading. This wiring is in an area where we thought there would be a bulkhead. We offered to reroute this wiring to resolve the issue and indicated it would be a 2-3 hour job. We indicated that we would not charge for the service call but would charge for the additional work. You esentially declined this offer as well and the phone call ended amicably.
5.0

05/19/2019


Tracy M.

We called this company after 6pm on a warm Saturday evening. The dispatcher was very nice and was able to send someone within the hour. The repair guy was pleasant and quick. We paid the weekend "come out and look at it" rate plus the cost of replacing the capacitors. Total was $323. Our house is nice and cool again. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
replace Dual Run Capacitors on air conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again.
5.0

03/24/2019


Rachel L.

Adam was on time, and fully equipped with professional knowledge of electrical, plumbing, AND HVAC. I didn’t have to call for three people! I signed up for maintenance annually on HVAC and know I’ll be in good care of smart, hard working, and honest people, which is very rare and valuable. Also, kind and sincerely helpful. My dog rarely takes right away to new people in the house and right away he knew Adam was a good person. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
HVAC maintenance planning, look at dehumidifier in basement, doorbell camera installation, question on toilet.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again.
5.0

03/17/2019


Muhammad A.

Greatly appreciate the quick turn around on a Friday (late afternoon). Sean, Heather, and tech Mitchell showed superb team work and did an excellent job in replacing the sewage pump and fixing the fried power plug. Also, the cost was very comparable to other service providers even though the work was done after hours. It was really smooth and "Efficient". All is all, fantastic customer service! And, BTW, this is not the first time they showed such commitments in case of urgent needs.

Description of Work
Changed sewage pump and fixed power plug in terminal box

Category electrician, plumbing, wells, sewer cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again.
5.0

11/14/2018


Dave D.

Efficient Systems was great to work with. This is a smaller company that seemed more interested in making sure I was satisfied, instead of selling me every option under the sun. Work done was high quality and there were no issues. Had a whole crew here all day. Cost estimate was accurate, and they took the time to explain the various options I had with different types of systems they sell. I would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Replacement of furnace and AC unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/08/2018


Karen M.

Fine - I had a class & indicated what time I would be home - Adam got through early & called to see if he could come but had lunch instead & was waiting for me whe I got home. I told him I needed to take my dogs out first & would then crate them & he said fine- just give me a wave when you're ready which I did. He checked out the switch, he said he could replace it (which was something I could not afford at the time) but that he could try & fix it, which he was able to do. He did tell me it might not last & if it didn't that it would need to be replaced. It was fine for a few days & then did go off again so as soon as I have the funds I will have them fix it.

Description of Work
The switch in my bedroom would not turn the light on

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again
5.0

10/23/2018


Kristine I.

I was able to schedule a last minute appointment with this company and they came out and gave an estimate on all of the electrical repairs that were found from the home inspection. They clearly knew what they were talking about and were super friendly.

Description of Work
Electrical Work Estimate from Home Inspection Repairs

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again
5.0

10/01/2018


Shanell D.

The technician Aaron was top notch. I asked many questions and he was friendly and knowledgeable. His advice and service professionalism speak very highly for Efficient Systems. He also left me with a great document detailing the condition of my system and recommendations for repairs and upgrades. Great company!

Description of Work
Semi Annual Maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again!
5.0

08/29/2018


BRIAN J.

The technician diagnosed the problem and replaced the two outlets. Adam was professional and answered all my questions. Called them on Tuesday and they able to see me the following day. I have done business with them once before and think they're a great service provider.

Description of Work
Replaced two GFIC outlets that went bad.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again!
5.0

08/26/2018


Wayne U.

He came out the next day, actually ahead of schedule. Tried a pressurized test to clear the clog. It helped but was still slow to drain. So he then snaked the line with an electric snake and it cleared up the line. Works great now.

Description of Work
The washer drain pipe was completely clogged.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again!
5.0

08/20/2018


Wayne U.

My circuit to the barn suddenly tripped the breaker. I suspected the underground cable between the house and barn (about 100 feet) was bad. Sean came out (actually earlier than expected) and carefully tested the underground cable every few feet with a special sensing device finding it OK. So Sean checked the switches and outlet boxes in the barn and found the short. He replaced one of the back boxes and rewired the incoming circuit to correct the problem. Everything works great now. Sean was very friendly and professional, and I would certainly do business with them again.

Description of Work
Fix a failed circuit in my barn.

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and feedback. We look forward to serving you again!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Tri-County Water

    We have been helping people in Michigan & Indiana get new water softeners, reverse osmosis systems, water filters, and more for many decades, all of which are American-made, and we're looking forward to serving you too. On top of our standard installation, maintenance, and repair services, we can also help you change your filters and we can deliver bottled water and softener salt directly to your home or commercial location.  

    Generator Supercenter of Indianapolis

    Leader in the whole home generators, our top-of-the line Generac generators, along with our skilled technicians and electricians, effectively ensure that you're never left in the dark. Turnkey installation and service of Generac brand generators for your home. We have a team of manufacture certified technicians and state certified electricians and plumbers. We provide free in-home consultations to determine which generator is best suited for your home and budget. We are a fully insured company that is family owned and operated.  

    Elgin Water Care

    Family owned and operated since 1946. The Hull family has owned the business for the last 72 years and provides residential and commercial water softening, filtration, drinking water, salt delivery, bottled water and service to most makes and models of water softeners.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heating, Cooling, Electrical, & Plumbing Service & Installation - Furnace & Air Conditioner Repair, Geothermal, Air Quality, Humidifiers, Electrical Service & Panel Upgrades, Circuit Breakers, Surge Protection, Clothes Dryer, Range, & GFI Receptacles, Dedicated Circuits, Exterior Lighting, Ceiling Fans, Water Heaters, Sump Pumps, Faucets, & Water & Gas Line Leaks & Repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing

    How is Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing overall rated?

    Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing open?

    Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing provide

    Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available

    Does Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing offer free estimates?

    Yes, Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing offers free project estimates.

    Does Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing offer emergency services?

    Yes, Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing?

    Yes, Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing offers warranties.

    What services does Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing offer?

    Efficient Systems-Heat|Cool|Electrical|Plumbing offers the following services: Heating, Cooling, Electrical, & Plumbing Service & Installation - Furnace & Air Conditioner Repair, Geothermal, Air Quality, Humidifiers, Electrical Service & Panel Upgrades, Circuit Breakers, Surge Protection, Clothes Dryer, Range, & GFI Receptacles, Dedicated Circuits, Exterior Lighting, Ceiling Fans, Water Heaters, Sump Pumps, Faucets, & Water & Gas Line Leaks & Repairs.