Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Capehart Landscape & Design

4.9

(206) Verified Reviews

Founded 2006 • With Angi since September 2006

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

5613 E 81st St

Indianapolis, IN 46250

http://www.capehartlandscapeanddesign.com

Description

Justin Capehart followed his passion from high school at Heritage Christian through IUPUI in Business while working for Allisonville Nursery in Fishers, Indiana. For eight years Justin worked in the garden center learning the business. He was promoted to residential foreman for the nursery, meeting with clients on landscape designs and managing the crew during installation. Justin then acted as foreman of commercial landscape installations until he left to begin his own business in 2005. Justin continues to maintain a relationship with Allisonville Nursery and is involved in residential and commercial projects for them from time to time. Justin attributes the success of Capehart Landscape and Design to the personalized service he gives every client. 14 employees. Owner on all jobs. Cost is determined by the job. 11 yrs with Angies List -11 Super Service Awards. As authorized contractors of manufactuers Belgard, Unilock and Techo-Bloc. 6 mos. interest free financing on Belgard and Unilock. 6 year warranty on workmanship of hardscapes - lifetime mfg. warranty on material....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(206) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

192

4

3

3

2

2

4

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (167)hardscaping (77)outdoor kitchens (8)landscape lighting (4)concrete driveways (2)mulch delivering (44)lawn care (38)Patios (30)stone & gravel (17)tree service (12)concrete repair (9)irrigation system (3)
Showing 1-25 of 206 reviews
5.0

11/22/2021


Steve F.

Capehart is an amazing company. They take extreme pride in their work. Designer visits frequently to be certain everything is placed properly, owner stops by to for quality control several times during the project. At the end of each day, the street in front is cleaned and garbage is hauled out. This is the second job this company had done for us. They will be returning in the Spring to do another hardscape design. I cannot over recommend this company.

Description of Work
Install French drain for low areas in yard, transplanted existing plants in bed designed by developer, and mulched beds.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/08/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. Always a pleasure working with you! Barb
5.0

01/21/2021


Jeanine I.

I am very pleased with the work Capehart did. I have a beautiful new walkway, safer steps to the front door, and better lighting. It has certainly added value to my home. I worked with Justin. He presented several options and made suggestions and was patient as I took some time to decide what I wanted. The installers worked incredibly hard and did an excellent job. Barbara in the office also answered questions and kept me informed. I would definitely use this company again and would recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Replacement of walkway pavers to the front door, limestone steps, and new pathway lights

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. I know Justin enjoyed working with you. Always feel free to contact us with questions, concerns or help with another project. Best Barb
5.0

11/05/2020


Donna A.

We were very pleased with the results and couldn’t have asked for more from Shea. She was professional, knowledgeable, patient, and personable, and came to the house twice to review with me what we wanted done, what plants saved and moved, etc . Unfortunately, the work was scheduled when we we had to be out of town, but Shea was in constant communication with me and sent daily pictures of the process. We would definitely use Capehart again, and I would definitely work with Shea again!

Description of Work
We wanted to have the mulch, old plantings and ground ivy at the front, one side, and back of the house and around our stone patio removed and replaced with river rock.

Category concrete repair, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. Hardscape and landscaping worked out great!. Yes, Shea enjoyed working with you. If we can be of service again, let us know. Barb
5.0

11/04/2020


Natalie W.

We worked with Leslie at Capehart to design a landscaping plan for a "blank canvas" yard at our home. Our project included a request for trees, plants, and a deck/patio. Capehart did a great job listening to our objectives, and designing a plan that incorporated those preferences with a professional perspective that took into consideration creativity and efficient use of the land. Leslie was extremely patient with us landscaping novices as we took a couple of months to come to a final decision on design, asking lots of questions along the way. And once we gave them the green light, Capehart was installing trees just a few days later. One month in, we are still happy with the planting and design. We also completed a deck and patio design with Capehart that we have not installed yet, but are very happy with and plan to install in the future. We spoke with several local landscapers to get quotes and Capehart was generally competitive on the tree planting, and more expensive on the patio installation. I will note that in speaking with a handful of vendors, Capehart always yielded rave reviews from on integrity, professionalism, and quality of work. I would certainly recommend Capehart for a high-quality lanscaping project.

Description of Work
Property landscape design, tree installation

Category landscaping, mulch

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2020

5.0

11/02/2020


Jeff S.

Excellent service and quality work. We added a pool to our backyard. My wife and I selected Capehart Landscape and Design to help update our entire landscape design at our home. Leslie is fantastic to work with. Prompt arrival for all appointments, professional and creative. Great communication through out the entire project. Their crew arrives on time at the beginning of the day and cleans up at the end of the day. Justin was instrumental in identifying an issue with the pool install that could have been a major issue had it not been identified. The issue would have had a major impact on the overall landscape look, particularly the pool deck.. Very grateful to have Justin, Leslie and the Capehart crew help us realize our dream of a beautiful back yard that constantly receives positive reviews from our guests. Highly recommend if you need a quality landscape update performed by a professional company.

Description of Work
Entire landscape update

Category concrete repair, landscaping, tree service, hardscaping

Cost $125,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2020

5.0

10/26/2020


Cathy H.

Great!! We started with Capehart Landscape and Design a year and a half ago when we wanted to mulch in a large portion of our yard off the patio and also decided to update our landscaping. That fall we got the mulch and did the prep work for spring. Last spring we had 7 different flower beds landscaped of varying sizes including the front of our house. We loved the plants that were suggested and they went along with what we had in mind with keeping with perennials and attracting bees, hummingbirds and butterflies. They were back in the fall for a clean up and we split some grasses and transplanted those in preparation for spring. This spring we got more mulch and some new plants along with those that didn't make it and were under guarantee. They are very professional. Our phone calls are returned within 24 hours. The work ethic of the crews has been great and they leave our yard looking beautiful. We constantly get compliments from our neighbors. Shea did an amazing job of selecting plants for our yard that our just thriving and made wonderful suggestions for how we should expand the mulch which was much better than what we had planned. Justin also came out to talk us through putting the section we wanted under mulch and was there in the first fall and spring when the initial work began. They both helped our project look so much better!!! We will be using them twice a year from now on to keep out gardens and mulch looking great!

Description of Work
Landscaping and mulching

Category concrete repair, landscaping, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. I know Shea enjoys working with you on designs and we enjoy installing them! Thank you Barb
5.0

10/26/2020


Cathy H.

Everything has gone great and we are very pleased to be working with this company. After many years of trying to have plants come up at the right time at the right heights and doing some mulching work of our own. It is nice to have people who know what they are doing in charge! We intend to keep using them to keep our flower beds looking great. Next comes the fire pit!

Description of Work
We wanted to mulch in a portion of our yard off our patio an update all our flower beds. Justin and Shea came last year and gave us better ideas than what we had originally planned. Last fall we took care of the mulch in many beds and had various areas cleaned up along with seeding done on one side of our house. This spring Shea had planned a wonderful garden for us based on our preferences that bloomed throughout the year. We got many compliments from our neighbors. This fall we had a cleanup done and extended a bed and had grasses split and moved there. Next spring more flowers will be planted there and they moved new hosta that had sprung up around our maple in the mulch. During this times when you can't go many places, we have a wonderful backyard to enjoy thanks to them. They will be back in the spring for more. We plan to keep using them to help our garden grow!!!

Category landscaping, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2020

5.0

10/16/2020


Beth M.

Leslie's landscape design is spectacular, and it solved a number of problems with the steep grade in the backyard. Our three installers did excellent work, from laying the paver patio to enriching the beds around the house to taking great care with planting the flowers, shrubs and trees. We are very pleased with the project and recommend Capehart heartily.

Description of Work
Develop landscape design for a new home and install

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/16/2020

5.0

06/26/2020


Chris W.

Everything went perfectly. Shea was amazing. Great communication skills, and flawless design and execution. I could not be more pleased.

Description of Work
I received an estimate for the entire home, but I opted only to do the work in the front yard this year; then, I'll do the rest next year.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2020

5.0

05/29/2020


Cathy H.

Capehart Landscaping & Design did a great job with our project! Communication with Justin and Shea was excellent and we were always kept updated when our planting would commence since this depends on the weather and their prior commitments. We discussed with Shea what types of plants we wanted and she came up with a wonderful plan where we have various colors and heights blooming throughout the season. We wanted all perennials that would attract hummingbirds, butterflies, and bees, and she devised a wonderful plan for our yard. The crew that was sent did a great job and treated our yard with great care! We are very pleased with our finished look and plan to continue to use them for added mulch and flower bed cleanups each year.

Description of Work
We had a great deal of mulch placed and even covered some grassed areas. Our side yard had a lot of top soil added and was raised since it always flooded and was seeded and straw left for grass to come up. Our beds were prepped for this spring and we just had plants installed around our entire house in about 8 different bedded areas.

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2020

5.0

05/29/2020


Doug D.

Everything went great! Looks great! Arrived when scheduled and no delay in completing.

Description of Work
Replace old tired front landscaping--20 pulus years old. Solve standing water problem after big rain in rear.

Category concrete repair, landscaping

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/29/2020

5.0

01/25/2020


Sapna J.

Our whole experience with Capehart was fantastic, from the initial meeting with Leslie (their design specialist) and Justin (owner) to the final walk through. Both were helpful in answering questions and addressing concerns throughout the design process, specifically about any potential for damage to the pool. They were also happy to meet with us as often as needed and showed us several prior projects they had completed, per our request. They were also upfront about costs and estimates, documenting everything for us and making necessary adjustments. Once construction began, their crew did an amazing job of keeping our yard and street clean, to the extent that we had neighbors and an HOA board member comment to us! They were also very nice when asked to move their trucks/equipment so I could get out of my garage and did so right away (which I really appreciated because I didn't always give them much warning!). Throughout construction, Justin and Leslie were always available and responded quickly to questions/concerns (either with a phone call, text, or in person if it was necessary). We are extremely satisfied with the end result and would not hesitate to use Capehart again for future projects! The best part is we have a beautiful new outdoor space to enjoy, our yard looks as if nothing happened, and our pool is working as it should. They even power washed the cover, so it looks even cleaner than it did prior to construction!

Description of Work
remove concrete around pool deck, install brand new pavers, build pergola, mitigate irrigation issues

Category concrete repair, landscaping, irrigation systems, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, outdoor kitchens

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/25/2020

5.0

12/29/2019


Catherine S.

We have been working with Justin and his team for almost 15 years, and would recommend him to anyone. We renovated a home, and needed front and back regrading, as well as landscape design and installation. David designed a beautiful hardscape and softscape plan, and worked with us to tweak it to fit our style. He was very knowledgable and easy to work with. Justin is a consummate professional, and will make sure things are done right the first time. He also helped to provide recommended irrigation and tree experts.

Description of Work
Landscape front and back

Category landscaping, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/29/2019

5.0

11/11/2019


Tina P.

Leslie, the landscape architect and Mike, the work supervisor were both fabulous to work with. They were pleasant, prompt, courteous, efficient, knowledgeable, detail oriented, flexible, accommodating and easy to work with.

Description of Work
We hired Capehart Lancscaping to draw out a landscaping plan for around all four sides of our house, moving and reusing some of our existing plants. They also put in some edging and replaced mulch with rocks.

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2019

5.0

10/30/2019


Tanja B.

Capehart provided a landscape design for our backyard after an initial consultation at our home. We decided to do the project in phases due to budget restrictions. The first part consisted of a large privacy screen for our porch. The screen was custom built with quality materials and installed securely. The team took the time to stain the cedar a darker color on site when I expressed that I had originally expected it to be a darker stain. I really appreciated the extra time they took to darken the stain. The end result is a gorgeous, artistic screen!

Description of Work
Porch Privacy screen custom built

Category landscaping

Cost $3,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2019

Images

Review for Capehart Landscape & Design - 5613 E 81st St, Indianapolis, IN - 38202988
5.0

10/24/2019


RON S.

Justin and his team were responsive, fair and meticulous in their work. Highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Landscape and hardscape

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2019

5.0

09/14/2019


H. David S.

Great work, with a "new" natural appearing dry creek bed which blends in beautifully with the existing landscape.. We had a chronic problem with a swale in a low and wet area of the back yard. Mowing the soggy grass left huge ruts in the dirt. Justin offered some excellent ideas to create a natural look, with large boulders edging one side of the bed, and several flat natural granite stepping stones as a path along the base of the new creek bed. The grass was removed and various sizes of stone created a 50 foot dry creek bed in the swale, with multiple large stones along the way. We would highly recommend Capehart Landscape and Design.

Description of Work
Craft a dry creek bed in a low, wet area of the back yard

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel

Cost $7,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/09/2019

4.0

08/28/2019


PAUL & PENELOPE B.

I've been using them for over 10 years. All the jobs have gone very well. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Landscape

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2019

1.0

08/16/2019


Sterling G.

Never communicated with me in any way following my request for a consult via Angie's List.

Description of Work
Landscape design and installation

Category landscaping

Work Completed On 08/16/2019

Service Provider Response

So sorry for the no response to you. We are not perfect for sure but we do try and we do try to rectify when we make a mistake. That being said I do apologize and cannot give you a good reason for this non communication. However, if you are willing to give us another chance and have not gone in another direction, please call us at 317 439 0778. Thank you
5.0

02/18/2019


Scott N.

Wonderful project. We are thrilled with our unique water feature!!

Description of Work
Water feature and landscaping stone work

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2018

5.0

11/28/2018


MARY D.

Outstanding work! Their attention to detail was amazing. They did a beautiful job in all aspects. The owners were very hands-on and involved throughout the whole process as well.

Description of Work
They built a new outdoor patio.

Category hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/28/2018

5.0

10/31/2018


Sharon Z.

We were very super pleased with Capehart Landscaping. Designer Leslie listened to our goals and preferences while making informed suggestions and guiding us through a thoughtful design process. As a result, we love how her awesome design came to life and our neighbors are impressed too. Each member of the Capehart team was friendly, knowledgeable and went above and beyond as they transformed our builder’s grade landscape into a beautiful, professional caliber landscape. We highly recommend Capehart and won’t hesitate to reach out to them again.

Description of Work
Landscape Design and installation

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2018