Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

BearCo. Tree Service

5.0

(75) Verified Reviews

Founded 2013 • With Angi since April 2015

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

5930 E 56th St

Indianapolis, IN 46226

Description

Full Service Quality Tree Business that specializes in Customer Service and Satisfaction....

Verified Reviews

5.0

(75) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

72

4

2

3

0

2

1

1

0

Rating Details

Price

5.0

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

tree service (75)leaf removal (1)
Showing 1-25 of 75 reviews
5.0

03/29/2022


Lynne F.

We have used this service twice now, and have been pleased with their work and professionalism both times. We had one huge dead tree taken down in the back, and two Maples in front trimmed and dead removed. I’m pretty fussy about my plants, landscaping and not having things stepped on or disrupted, and they take the utmost care. BEARCO was recommended to us, and I would happily recommend them. If I need future tree services, they will be my first and only call.

Description of Work
Tree removal and trimming.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/28/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for the kind review.
5.0

04/26/2021


Kim Alan L.

It was excellent. Everyone was prompt and professional. I asked that the larger limbs be cut for firewood and stacked. They did great cutting the appropriate length for fireplace (they didn't split which they said ahead of time couldn't do) and did a very nice stacking against my fence. I recommend BearCo and would use them again.

Description of Work
2 large mature maple trees removed

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2021

2.0

10/26/2020


DARYL G.

10-16-2020 submitted request for quote on Angie's List 10-22-2020 did not hear from them - left phone message to call me 10-26-2020 did not hear from them - submitted this review

Description of Work
small job - remove a few branches

Category tree service

Work Completed On 10/26/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I was out of town during your request, sorry for your inconvenience. I don’t feel that your review is fair considering you haven’t even spoke or met with myself. Thank you for reconsidering your review and I would be happy to answer any questions. Regards, Bear Hammann 317-850-2019
5.0

08/19/2020


Arthur S.

The arrived early in the morning prepared my yard for the big truck they needed to get in to work on the large oak trees I needed worked on and got to work. The 4 person crew were polite and worked hard from start to finish. The Forman took great care not to damage my property while the work was getting done. The work and clean up was great. I am highly satisfied with this company and would hire them again. The price competitive and more than fair. Excellent experience.

Description of Work
Trim and clean up and trim two big oaks in my front yard and trim limbs and branches away from over my roof from a gigantic oak on the side of my home.

Category tree service

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2020

5.0

05/27/2020


Kasey J.

Great! We love working with Bear Co. They offer competitive pricing, great communication & they're very careful to protect your outdoors while safely removing trees. This is our 2nd time working with them and both times the trees were located very close to our pool & they didn't get a single leaf in our pool due to how careful they were and the precautions they took while removing/trimming the trees. Their guys are always friendly, punctual & clean up well. Couldn't even tell they took down a bunch of trees. Now our pool has full sun again! Thanks Bear!

Description of Work
Trimming of several trees and 2 trees removed

Category leaf removal,tree service

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]! Always a pleasure working with you.
5.0

05/15/2020


Guinn D.

The crew completed the job in just over an hour and a half, start to finish. Worked very carefully and did a great job of cleaning up. Would definitely hire them again!!!!!

Description of Work
Removed 6 trees of various sizes along a sidewalk

Category tree service

Cost $895

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]
5.0

04/14/2020


Scott R.

BearCo was great. They came out for a quote and were friendly and informative. The team that came on site did a great job, clearing the trees, leaving us some firewood (we requested that), and cutting back the overgrowth. The onsite lead also pointed out one of the trees was still alive and blooming so we did not remove that tree. I was impressed that he was so thorough and paid attention to detail.

Description of Work
We had 3 dead trees and a lot of overgrowth

Category tree service

Cost $850

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2020

5.0

07/26/2019


Brian N.

Great job removing tree & cleaning up debris. Professional & friendly service.

Description of Work
Tree removal

Category tree service

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/19/2019

5.0

07/18/2019


Paige S.

AMAZING. Bear is the kindest, friendliest, most knowledgeable professional I have ever worked with. My tree not only fell on my roof, but also fell on the power lines that connect to my home so this was a particularly terrifying experience for me. I am a first time homeowner and had no clue what to do. When Bear came out he calmed me down and told me exactly what i needed to do with contacting IPL and even got in touch with an electrician for me. He came back again later that day with one of his techs to further assess the damage and put my mind at ease. They did an amazing job cleaning up, my yard actually looks BETTER now than it did before the tree fell. I am very grateful to Bear and his crew and will absolutely use him as my go-to tree service company and have already recommended him to a couple friends. THANK YOU!

Description of Work
large tree fell down on my roof and power lines

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2019

Images

Review for BearCo. Tree Service - 5930 E 56th St, Indianapolis, IN - 37997759

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank [Member Information Removed] very much for the kind words [Member Name Removed]. Pleasure working with [Member Information Removed].
5.0

07/17/2019


. ..

Good response to communications. Work completed in a timely manner. Excellent cleanup. Gladly use this company again!

Description of Work
Removal of fallen tree; trim & shape other tree; remove dead branch from other tree

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2019

5.0

06/20/2019


XXXX X.

Excellent job! Bear came out for an estimate and right away educated us about our trees which ultimately earned our business. It was very clear he knew exactly what he was talking about when it came to the different types of trees in our yard. Their quote was very fair and in line with others, but we felt we had more trust in the expertise Bear showed. They went above and covered our pool to ensure no debris went in it which was very much appreciated. When finished, they cleaned up so well you wouldn't have even known they were there. We'd certainly recommend them to others for any type of tree work needed. Thanks!

Description of Work
Trimmed 2 very large trees & completely removed and stump grinded 3 trees

Category tree service

Cost $2,175

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2019

5.0

02/06/2019


Sally L.

Great job, very satisfied. Will. Recommend to friends.

Description of Work
Trimmed very large Burr Oak in front yard

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/30/2019

5.0

11/14/2018


ANN R.

Bear was the first person to reply to my request for estimates; he was the first to show up to assess the work needed, and his bid was the lowest of those I solicited. I posted a request on Sunday, got the estimate Monday, and by Tuesday or Wednesday his crew (3 trucks!) had removed all the debris and climbed the tree to take down other branches that looked dangerous. (Photo only shows half the cleanup area.) Bear was extremely prompt and courteous in all contacts and his crew was efficient and professional. Hope I don't need them again (!) but I highly recommend them to anyone who does!

Description of Work
Tremendous wind storm damage broke limbs that were two-stories tall off a tree onto roof and deck and yard. Needed debris removed so the roof could be repaired ASAP.

Category tree service

Cost $825

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2018

Images

Review for BearCo. Tree Service - 5930 E 56th St, Indianapolis, IN - 37553664
5.0

11/13/2018


THOMAS M.

They were great. They took down three Bradford pears, the largest of which had been damaged in a windstorm. They removed the tree, ground the stumps, cleaned up everything, and all at a reasonable price. The owner, Bear Hammond, is very responsive and timely.

Description of Work
Three trees removed

Category tree service

Cost $525

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/05/2018

4.0

11/06/2018


ROBERT D.

I did not hire them as the quote was more than another vendor.

Description of Work
Large tree limb down and remainder of tree taken down

Category tree service

Work Completed On 11/06/2018

Service Provider Response

Mr [Member Name Removed], I appreciate the opportunity to bid on your tree work; however, the fact that I didn’t do the work and that I was very prompt in responding to you, I can’t understand you leaving a review and that it would be a B rating. Thanks again Bear Hammann BearCo Tree Service
5.0

10/15/2018


katie B.

They did a great job of removing all the dead wood and also removing the branch over the house. They removed all the debris and the branch that had fallen previously.

Description of Work
Removed dead tree limbs and limbs hanging over house

Category tree service

Cost $495

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2018

5.0

08/25/2018


Stephen P.

I talked to Bear (owner) about coming out and removing the tree. I had used him previously to remove a tree on the other side of my driveway and loved the work that his crew (The Squirrel Tree Service). I checked another contractor provided by a neighbor. They were nearly twice as much as BearCo. BearCo was my choice again. Bear had his crew there at 1 PM and removed the tree from my roof with a crane by cutting it into pieces. His crew took the rotted tree after chipping all the limbs. They ground up the stump and leveled it. Their cleanup left the yard as good as was before the tree fell. I am super pleased with their work (again) and will call him if I ever have any tree issued. This was done at a very reasonable price. Thanks Bearco.

Description of Work
A tree in front of my house fell on my house at 7:30 AM on 8/8/18.

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2018

5.0

07/09/2018


Kurt G.

The work was done quickly, professionally, and smoothly.

Description of Work
A dead tree in my back yard needed removing.

Category tree service

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2018

5.0

04/30/2018


Edward S.

They were great. Come on time and removed the tree efficiently. And, they cleaned up the area. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
Removed a large pine tree and ground out the stump

Category tree service

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/28/2018

5.0

04/12/2018


Ryan W.

BearCo was excellent. They offered a competitive quote, provided an updated quote to cut the wood into firewood lengths (which I later split) and to cut the tree down without driving equipment onto our new driveway. They were prompt, professions, and did a wonderful job. They cleaned up well and did not destroy our yard in the process. Very precise work. They also removed a nearby stump that the prior homeowners left for no extra charge. Highly recommend and would use them again.

Description of Work
Tree removal

Category tree service

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/06/2018

5.0

03/22/2018


Christopher F.

From my first message, Bear was very responsive and kept me up to date on the progress of the job. The quote was provided and very complete. We changed a couple items on the list and he was quick to let me know adjustments to the quote. He gave me a time frame and stuck to it. Removed two large trees and a smaller tree. Trimmed another. Ground down the stumps of the two larger trees. Removed all debris and cleaned up. Didn't look like anyone had been on my property.

Description of Work
tree service

Category tree service

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/19/2018

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review [Member Name Removed]
5.0

02/01/2018


LISA B.

Excellent service from start to finish! I called Bear on a Sunday and he came over the next day to look at the tree and discuss with me what we wanted to have done. He provided the written estimate later that same day and it was hundreds of dollars less than the 2 other estimates I had received. Bear also honored the 10% Angie's List coupon! I confirmed with him later the same evening that I received the estimate that I wanted him to do the work and the trimming was done today (8 days later). Bear and his crew did an excellent job trimming the tree and cleaning up as they went. I couldn't be happier with this company and would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Trimming of a very large sweet gum tree

Category tree service

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2018

5.0

12/11/2017


STEPHANIE H.

Great. They were done in a day and cleaned up, so I hardly knew they were there.

Description of Work
They removed a large tree from my yard.

Category tree service

Cost $1,195

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2017