Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc

Founded 1968 • With Angi since December 1999

4.8

(228) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

555 Industrial Dr # 100

Franklin, IN 46131

Description

Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc was founded in 1968. We are your go to company for anything ranging from furnace, air conditioning to water heater, and plumbing installation and repair in Franklin, IN. Call us today to schedule your consultation!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/13/2021


Cara S.

From the first call, to the initial technician diagnosis, to the design & estimate of a new system, to the installation… they have been an excellent company to work with! Everyone was extremely nice, friendly, attentive, and professional. Excellent prices, excellent customer service, and overall an excellent company! A+++

Description of Work
Replaced A/C and furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/21/2020


Michael & Joyce R.

The company who made the water softener had a malfunction in the water softener and it put sand throughout the whole house. Johnson fixed it all and put in a new water softener without question. They repaired everything where the water softener caused a problem. What a tremendous company! Morality still exists. I would highly recommend them as well.

Description of Work
They service our heating and air in our house and put in a new water softener.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water softeners

5.0

07/30/2019


JANICE H.

They're professional, friendly and very nice people. I've never had any trouble in their work. They call me and tell me when they're gonna be here.

Description of Work
They checked my Air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/16/2018


Aaron B.

Johnson Comfort (Heating & Cooling) has given us tremendous service the past couple years. We’ve used them for replacing our heater, A/C and odds-and-ends plumbing. They’re always kind, helpful and do right by the customer. Will use them for many years to come.

Description of Work
Our water heater needed attention after we discovered some gas was escaping from the valve.

Category water heater repair

5.0

06/25/2018


LaDonna W.

Eugene and his apprentice were excellent -- explained the work to be done, how they were going to arrange the work, and kept their sense of humor. And the price estimate was the price we paid!

Description of Work
New faucets installed in bathroom, water softener installed, all drains under house replaced.

Category plumbing, water softeners

5.0

06/01/2018


Diana G.

Eugene Whitlock was the technician who came and he did an excellent job with the installation of the garbage disposal unit.

Description of Work
Plumbing Service, he put in a heavy duty garbage disposal for the kitchen sink

Category plumbing

5.0

04/11/2018


JANICE H.

They do a good job. They are very nice. I have no complaints whatsoever.

Description of Work
They do seasonal servicing of our heating & air conditioning units.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/18/2017


DAVID T.

The company has two well specialists, so it took a week to get one out. Which wasn't a problem as the old tank was still functioning. Eugene Whitlock came to the house as scheduled. He did some testing and said the tank needed replaced. He ran into town and brought back a new tank, and replaced it. He also replaced the plumbing with new as the old was not to code. The new tank works great. He also drained my water heater and showed me how to do that. He was very courteous, friendly and cleaned up afterward. I would welcome Eugene back again.

Description of Work
Our well tank wasn't functioning properly. It was old, and needed replaced.

Category plumbing

5.0

10/22/2017


Rebecca G.

It went well. I've used them before and have a yearly service contract with them. Caleb came and did the inspection and did a good, professional job.

Description of Work
I needed check-up on my HVAC system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/13/2017


Brian P.

Adam from Johnson Heating called within 1/2 hour of me placing the call. He came out, and had the issue figured out within 10 minutes! Did some troubleshooting, and narrowed the issue down to a wiring issue at the A/C compressor causing a short that was blowing an internal fuse at the furnace. He explained everything, explained the cost prior to doing any work, and had me back up and running within an hour. This is my second call to Johnson for furnace/A/C service, and the service has been consistent. Quick, Professional, clear cost structure. Definitely would recommend them.

Description of Work
Came home to find no power to the furnace. No Circuit breakers tripped. Called Johnson Heating and Cooling to troubleshoot. This was an off hours call.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Good Morning, [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the review we strive for excellence in Customer service glad we could be of assistance and get you taken care of, If you need anything in the future please give us a call., Have a great weekend!
1.0

05/09/2017


David and Lily (Man Yao) K.

The clean out that goes from my main drain to the grinder was left open. They left the electrical box for the control panel open, when it was padlocked shut to begin with. The bolts for the grinder lid were left on one of my shelves on the back patio. I had to clean and correct all of this myself. He didn't leave me any kind receipt. He was rude and very belligerent. I asked him for some documentation and told me, "It does'n't work like that, you can't have it. You have to call the company Monday morning. I gotta go," then left. I called and let them know that I had an issue with the service. The Vice President called me and seemed pretty reasonable when he made that low offer, but I'm afraid that he's going to use that as leverage to gauge me on future services. Explained that the person who came out was one of his part time plumbers. He said he would reduce the price and told me the only thing I had to pay for was the diagnostic, which was $11.95. I wanted to cancel my membership with them because of how they tried overcharging me. I told him I wanted my money back because I didn't want anything to do with them again. Then he said he would totally wipe out the cost and convinced me to keep my membership, but he didn't. I got a bill in the mail, so I called him. He said I shouldn't have gotten that, and he would take care of it. Then I got another bill saying I am now 60 days late on my bill! Now I can't get him on the phone and I have left half a dozen messages. I spoke to Annie in accounting this morning, and she said she could not authorize the removal of the charge. She claimed that she would talk to Paul and follow up with me. It is hard for me to have faith that this is going to be taken care of finally. At this point, I don't want to retain any membership with them, even if this is finally rectified. If they want to pro-rate the refund on what I paid on my membership, so be it.

Description of Work
I had a blockage in my main drain line. I thought it was in my toilet, but once they arrived and couldn't use the equipment that they chose to use, which was an auger. They used the equipment for less than two minutes. We then found that there was a problem with the grinder itself.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this issue. Our, v/p of operations was able to reached out to you and offered our sincere apologizes for the misunderstanding our plumber was having with your request and apologize for his behavior. Being rude or even perceived as rude is not our normal business practices. We take ownership of the issue and have made it clear to our plumber the proper way of responding to your request should have been apologized to you and let you know we don't have paper invoice/receipts in the field from our work tablets, asked to email you the invoice and offered to have the office to get you one out in the mail asap. Again our sincere apologizes.
5.0

05/03/2017


veronica B.

Excellent. Would definitely recommend!

Description of Work
New heating/air conditioning system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

04/17/2017


Randy G.

The sales and installation went as expected. The cost was a little higher than I anticipated but nothing outrageous. The also added on (per my request) a whole house humidifier and a new programmable thermostat. These have worked without issues since the installation nearly two years ago. Since the installation, I have not seen from nor have I been contacted by this organization to maintain the unit. Customer follow through is an area they could greatly improve upon.

Description of Work
Replaced the entire heating and AC system after multiple instances of the heat pump starter and capacitor failing as well as the unit being over ten years old.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the review. I do apologize that we have not been able to connect with you regarding having us come and do annual maintenance for your new system. Our records shows that we left a few messages over the last couple of years and that we did an adjustment on the limit switch in 2015 and we took care of a plumbing problem in 2016. We have awesome maintenance club plans .... I will give you a call today. Respectfully, Zona - Johnson Heating Cooling Plumbing.
3.0

04/17/2017


Janet M.

I always heard good things about them and so I called them to come out. I have one of those filters that you don't replace, you take it out and wash it kind. Something, when I put the filter back in, I flipped a switch or something and he charged me $89. I think that was kind of steep for him just to come out, not really, I mean he didn't clean it, he didn't do anything, he just said, you know, it was just a switch. He wrote on the receipt something about home owner replaced, returned filter cleaning and knocked the switch off or something. It was a very cold day and I was freaking out because the heat wouldn't come on.

Description of Work
He turned a switch back on.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Removed Member Name], Thank you so much for speaking with me today and I will pass along your comments to our staff. I do apologize for the experience you had with our technician. I know his heart was in the right place but his words could have been a bit better chosen for the concern he had. Again thanks so much for speaking with me and please let me know how I can be of assistance to you in the future. Respectfully yours, Zona at Johnson Heating Cooling & Plumbing
1.0

12/29/2016


Wanda G.

We are NOT going to do business with Johnson Heating and Cooling.

Description of Work
They were here to give an estimate on installing a walk in shower and toilet. He said that the water shut off valve going to the toilet was frozen and it would cost $234 to replace it. My husband knew that the valve had been replaced recently. He went and shut off the valve and it worked. He then asked the repairman about it. The repairman then admitted that he had not tried to the valve. So he was going to charge us for something that did not need to be done.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed], We most certainly want to respond to your concerns. As we said, both over the phone and from emails from our owner on the day of the FREE estimate, we take every customer concern seriously. Our plumbers have a set price book by job, not by parts and labor - this method is the most current and fair pricing structure in our industry. Whether a job takes 1 hour or 6 hours the job price does not increase or decrease. The FREE estimate was best practices which our plumber attempted and we attempted to explain. If our technicians start moving equipment or testing parts which look damaged or old without permission from the homeowner, and they would break in the process of a free estimate the repair would be on us, so the customer can demonstrate the condition of equipment but not our technician. Our plumber, office staff and owner tried to explain the pricing and practices of our company, we realize you were upset and probably did not realize we did not charge you anything for the estimate and you had no commitment to accept our free estimate, Our company tries to be thorough with estimates so there are no hidden problems, we could say we could put in the new tub at a certain price but not include the hook ups, connections and or any number of other needed items or not recommend the replace of old parts and then in a month have your valve fail in a month or two. We would love to have the opportunity to go through information again with you and your household and explain the process and the methodology.
5.0

12/29/2016


Bonnie & Michael R.

They installed a portable air conditioner until we could get the permanent unit installed. It was such a hot day and they moved us to the top of the list! They were just excellent. Clean, efficient, punctual, professional, and we went ahead and bought a furnace from them. The price was reasonable.

Description of Work
Installed a new Air Conditioning and furnace unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. We try to exceed expectations at every turn.
5.0

08/10/2016


Daniel F.

Extremely friendly and great quality of work

Description of Work
Serviced my furnace and came out to fix a water leak. .

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review.
5.0

08/02/2016


JAMES G.

I liked their price and signed a contract. They arrived on time and were very professional and efficient. They said they were not sure if they had found all the duct leaks. And should call them back if the AC couldn't keep up But if works fine and runs a lot less than the old unit ever did.. Too bad I can't them a triple A rating.

Description of Work
I had used a different contractor for years . I had them check my no AC problem The technician took a quick look and told my my unit was 13 years old and had to be replaced. Then he said it would be cheaper to replace the furnace too. Not pleased with the high replacement price I fond Johnson on Angies list and gave them a call. After their inspection they agreed that it should be replaced but the furnace was in good shape ,and would probably last a long time. Now her's the rub, they checked my duct work( which the previous contractor had never inspected ) and found a large gap in cold air return , which meant I was drawing super hot air into my AC . Not a good thing..

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the review.
5.0

04/21/2016


Heather N.

Our house is a 1995 ranch with a finished basement, and when we bought it 3 years ago our heat pump and hot water heater was at the end of its usable life so we knew we were going to have to replace it soon. Since the Trane heat pump and Bradford & White water heater had lasted 20 years we wanted them replaced with the same equipment. I made appointments for quotes with a few different companies. The first came out on a Friday took some pictures and chatted for about an hour said we would get the quote on Monday. After I called Tuesday and asked where it was we got it on Wednseday, it was for almost $10,000...ouch, and not for the equipment we wanted, he quoted us American Standard. We knew this was going to cost us a chunk of change but that seemed high to us. We had Johnson come out on the following Friday. Shane was very hands on and actually took measurements like you would expect someone to do when providing services like this . The water heater and air handler are in the basement packed tightly into a closet in the laundry room, they don't make water heaters in that small of a diameter anymore so we were thinking we were going to have to remove one of the studs from our laundry room wall to accommodate the new heater. He told us they would be able to stagger our return air duct and move the new air handler over so the new larger diameter water heather would fit, we were so happy to hear that. When we asked when the work could be done he said Tuesday provided they had the equipment in stock. OK now for the great part, Shane went out to his truck for about 5 minutes and came back with a quote that was over $3,000 less than the other company for the exact equipment we wanted, and a payment plan with no interest for 12 months! So now we didn't have to worry about a home equity line or re-finance on the mortgage to get this done, it was like a dream come true, and on Tuesday it did come true. They truly went the extra mile. The first heat pump had a dent on the bottom of it, it is an outside piece of equipment, and the dent did not affect the functionality of the equipment, we would have been OK with that but they were not, so another new heat pump was brought out to replace it, OMG are you kidding me how awesome is that. The installers were very professional the carpet was covered and any messes they made during the install were cleaned up, other than the new equipment I could not tell that they were there, and the work was done as promised in a day. Shane even stopped by to see how it was going. I would 100% recommend Johnson to anyone asking, our experience was flawless.

Description of Work
Replaced heat pump and hot water heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a great review. We aim to please at every turn. We appreciate our customers and it's nice to know you appreciate our efforts.
1.0

04/05/2016


JULIO R.

I had no problem with the work or the water heater installed. It was with the company management itself that I had the problem. 1. I told them that I REQUIRED a phone call shortly before the repair man arrived so I could put my large, elderly dog up. On the first visit, there was NO CALL, and the guy just showed up. Fortunately, the dog was in the back of the house. Because they didn't have enough help that day, they had to come back for the old water heater to remove it. 5 days later, they called to schedule the pick up. AGAIN I asked that I get a call before they arrived so I could put the dog up. AGAIN the guy just shows up and rings the bell. THIS TIME my dog was asleep in the entryway on tile flooring. He was startled by the doorbell and tried to jump up and twisted his back leg. He limped for two days. I was furious! I called and threw a fit and explained what happened. The VP of the company called me (which I demanded) and basically paid me "lip service" about how sorry they were and apologized, explaining that calling ahead was part of their procedure and they obviously failed twice. 2. I had to pay $100 EXTRA for a "stairs charge" because the water heater was in the basement. They are supposed to remove the old water heater when they are done, but didn't and it took them 5 DAYS to come back to get it out of my basement. When the VP called, and I told him about what happened to my dog, he "feigned" concern. At NO TIME did he offer to pay vet bills. I also complained about the $100 stairs charge and that I paid it, yet it took them 5 days to use the stairs. AT NO TIME did he offer to return the $100, especially after they had also injured my dog. It has been over two weeks since they hurt my dog, and NOT ONE PHONE CALL to check to see if he was alright. These people obviously could care less about their customers or customer service. Stay away from this company. UPDATE 04/21/2016: After the company read my review, I got an immediate call from the Vice President. I was surprised that he had the courage to respond to me directly. He was extremely humble in his response, and apologized sincerely. He listened to what I had to say, and was extremely empathetic. He offered to refund a part of my service cost and the check arrived within a few days. He was sincere about the apology, and just making the call under the circumstances took a lot of professionalism. I will use them again."

Description of Work
Had a new 50 gallon electric water heater installed.

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking my phone call today, Paul Burgess, Vice President Johnson Heating & Cooling and Kellie Plumbing.
5.0

04/03/2016


Emily T.

Tony was very professional. He addressed a problem with our unit and advised we contact our Home Warranty before proceeding further.

Description of Work
tune up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review.
5.0

01/27/2016


Joanna M.

Denis Jimenez arrived and I explained that the clog was somewhere between the washing machine, Bathroom sink, and Kitchen sink. He asked to see the layout of these rooms and asked why I thought this did not involve the main sewer drain. Satisfied with my answer, he asked to see the pipes in the basement. Then he asked me to go up and try the different drains. He concluded that the problem was in the Kitchen line and went to work. He not only got the drain unclogged, he discovered that my Kitchen drain had an Automatic vent on it that had clogged and was no good. He demonstrated how my sink should be draining and gave me an estimate for replacing this vent. All the time he was he, he was explaining things to me and giving me tips for avoiding this problem happening again. He also had a great sense of humor. I've been looking for a plumbing company. I think I've found it!

Description of Work
Cleared drains

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for your review. Denis is awesome, glad he could solve your problem.
5.0

01/12/2016


Jill J.

David came out and ended up doing repairs wich ended up costing me less than what I paid for the deal. I ended up geting a refund on the deal and because of their honesty, I want to use them again.

Description of Work
I bought a big deal to replace my toilet. They advised I did not need it replaced but rather repaired.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. We give our best effort to do what is best for our customers and appreciate their loyalty. Thanks for the review.
5.0

12/29/2015


martha M.

Came as planned, did the work, didn't over-sell the job, and even returned when there was a slight leak and fixed it without charge.

Description of Work
Installed two frost free outdoor hose bibs.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. We aim to please!
5.0

11/04/2015


Deborah S.

Shawn Keith and the Johnson crew were amazing to work with! Shawn took the time to explain my options and to ensure that I was comfortable with my decisions. He cared about my satisfaction and came to the house to answer questions and inspect the work. The crew provided excellent service ? they were punctual, efficient, and the work was done well. I couldn?t have been more impressed with Johnson?s professionalism, customer service, and the obvious care they take in the quality of their work. I would highly recommend their services!

Description of Work
I had a new furnace, AC, water heater, and sump pump installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

[Member Info Removed], Our company appreciates your review. I will let them know what wonderful things you had to say. We all strive for the best outcomes every time - thank you again.

    Other local Pros in your area

    H2X Outdoor Solutions

    Excavating contractor in Columbus Indiana. We are able to handle most all excavating jobs. Site prep, foundations, drainage, property maintenance, tree removal, gravel drives, and demolition. We are able to handle larger excavating work like most excavators, but we are unique because we have some smaller machines that can fit into backyards and thru narrow gates. We also utilize special ground protection mats that allows our machines to do the heavy lifting will keeping you’re lawn and turf from being damaged by the weight of the moving machinery. Give us a call today for a free estimate, no job to big or small.  

    Cooper's Water Conditioning

    Established in 1978, Cooper's Water Conditioning has national brand name whole house water softeners, reverse osmosis drinking water systems, and iron filters that last for years without interruption. We are a family-owned business that offers the highest quality water treatment at affordable prices. Our service area is Indianapolis and all surrounding areas .  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Aqua Otter

    Welcome to Aqua Otter, a locally owned and operated water purification company serving Indianapolis, IN, and the surrounding area since 2002. Even our supplier Hydrotech Canature Water Group located in Carmel IN. We offer the top water filtration systems and water conditioning services in the industry. Our professional and reliable staff will improve the quality of your water for you, your home, and your office. We strongly believe in honest, quality work and truly care about our customers. Our goal is to find you the solution you need as quickly as possible and deliver quality water. **Payment plans available**  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heating & Cooling. Ventilation. Duct Repair. Geothermal. Plumbing. Water Heaters & Softeners. Sump Pumps. Reverse Osmosis. Water & Air Quality Testing, Repair, & Installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc

    How is Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc overall rated?

    Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc open?

    Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc provide

    Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc?

    Yes, Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc offer?

    Johnson Heating & Cooling Inc offers the following services: Heating & Cooling. Ventilation. Duct Repair. Geothermal. Plumbing. Water Heaters & Softeners. Sump Pumps. Reverse Osmosis. Water & Air Quality Testing, Repair, & Installation.