Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Southern Construction Company LLC

Founded 2005 • With Angi since February 2011

5.0

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7644 South Mount Zion Rd

Bloomington, IN 47403

Description

Construction- Specializing In Trim Carpentry - Other Services Listed

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/22/2016


Kara B.

Once again, Jim and his crew delivered! Jim worked with us to design a beautifully tiled walk-in shower. He and his crew were meticulous when it came to laying the intricate tile work and I appreciated that he checked with us to make sure the plumbing and fixtures were working well weeks after the project was completed. Our stunning shower is now "Pinterest-worthy" and we couldn't thank Jim enough for his ideas and professionalism.

Description of Work
Bathroom shower remodel

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

07/12/2016


Stacey H.

The project took about 3 weeks, due to several bad weather days. We could not be more pleased with the results. During the course of the project there were a few modifications or additions to the original scope of work we asked to have done, (pool filter access panels, sitting benches, hot tub steps) and Jim was very accommodating. During the project I could tell we were the beneficiaries of his crews wood working abilities. The fit of the deck boards around the pool is perfect. The few times that we had to contact Jim if he wasn't already here, was just a phone call or text away which was always responded to in a timely manner. We would highly recommend Jim and Southern Construction to anyone that needed any deck or carpentry work.

Description of Work
We had a large deck project built, 40' x 68' (approx. 2700 Sq. Ft.). Jim from the very first contact was extremely professional. He came to the house and talked to us about our thoughts and ideas of what we were looking for in the end. 3 days later Jim provided us a very detailed estimate. He had came back out and shot the location with laser equipment, to provide us a detailed drawing of the deck, stairs, hot tub location, etc. He provided us a line itemized material list and labor cost.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, decks, deck cleaning, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

03/17/2016


Kara B.

I am very fortunate to have gotten Jim's contact information off of Angie's List. I contacted Southern Construction via email and had a written response to my construction needs within 24 hours. Jim was able to work around my busy schedule and was out at my home within the week listening to my construction needs and emailed me an estimate the next workday. My estimate was extremely thorough and detailed. I was thrilled that Jim was able to fit our project into his schedule in less than a week from my first email. Jim and his crew were prompt and courteous, treating our home and our belongings as if they were their own. Our master closet construction that he completed is phenomenal and we appreciate the attention to detail Jim made throughout the project (ex: put in extra door hinges to ensure our doors didn't hit our new closet shelving units, etc.). Our floors were swept and tidied at the end of the workday--the crew insisted. After this positive experience with Southern Construction, we have already started thinking about our next big project that we will hire them to complete for us. Look no further for construction & remodeling needs--Southern Construction gets our vote.

Description of Work
Master bedroom closet design and installation of multiple closet storage systems; removal of existing wire shelving; spackling and painting; changing out existing lighting.

Category closet systems, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, doors

5.0

07/04/2015


Lee A.

We are thankful and blessed that Jim was our contractor for our deck project. Jim was punctual and professional from the initial contact with him to the very end of the project. His crew were also very polite and professional. Jim responded to phone calls and emails promptly. They treated our property as if it were their own. Mid-way through the project we changed our minds on the deck design and Jim was so nice about acknowledging our request and making the appropriate change. They cleaned up every evening and and worked hard everyday they were here. Our only disappointment was that he had said he would be able to stain the deck and that didn't work out. We really would have loved for him to finish the deck. We have another project lined up for him and will move forward with that this fall once we get the quote. Jim is extremely busy and it is hard to get on his calendar. My recommendation is that he is worth the wait. I would find it hard to believe that anyone would be disappointed in Jim, his crew or the quality of work they do.

Description of Work
Jim and his crew built a wood-treated deck along with a pergola-type roof for the deck.

Category decks, deck cleaning, home remodeling, house painters

5.0

03/11/2015


Thomas W.

Description of Work
They installed prefab wooden shelves for to make built-ins. They did an excellent job!

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

07/27/2014


Thomas W.

Jim responded to my Angie's List message within 24 hours. He was very professional and his crew did a great job. We are very pleased with the results. They even cleaned up before they left.

Description of Work
Installed chair rail moulding

Category remodeling

5.0

06/03/2014


Jill B.

We have been very pleased with them.

Description of Work
They fixed some of the support structure and some stairs on our outside deck.

Category decks

5.0

05/05/2014


Jason R.

Everything went extremely well! Jim was able to squeeze our job in several weeks ahead of the initial completion date since it was a smaller project, and everything was completed on schedule. This was the first time we had hired a contractor and we were very pleased with how Jim explained the entire process during our initial meeting and answered all the questions we had. His quote included every detail of the project for easy comparison and he and his crew were very friendly and professional while completing the work. Jim was very responsive throughout the process and responded to emails/texts immediately. The deck looks better than we imagined it would and we are extremely happy! Thanks Southern Construction!

Description of Work
Jim and his crew built a new cedar deck on the back of our house to cover the existing concrete patio.

Category decks

5.0

03/07/2014


Diane H.

Jim was very professional and pleasant to work with. I am an architect and consider his workmanship as first rate. He was very careful while working inside my house. He protected the floors and kept a small shop vac by his side and cleaned up dust as he finished each window and moved to the next. We encountered a little rot at one location and he obtained the materials and did the additional work to make the repairs quickly and at a reasonable cost. I am quite pleased with the work and will use him again.

Description of Work
Southern Construction Company (Jim Southern) removed 10 existing windows and replaced them with Marvin awning windows that I had purchased from a local supplier. I had obtained cost estimates from 4 or 5 other contractors. Jim wasn't the lowest price, but after discussing the project with him I felt he would do the best job. He provided me with a take-off list of trim pieces and other materials needed for the install so that I could purchase them myself and save his mark up.

Category home remodeling

5.0

09/23/2013


Ben S.

Jim came out to assess the situation. I was getting estimates for a kitchen remodel and the first step is to remove a wall. Jim came out to see what he could do and assessed that it was a load bearing wall. He took measurements and we discussed the project. He told me he would let me know in a few days after he talked with some of his contacts. He wrote me back a few days later letting me know that he didn't feel comfortable taking on this project. He had never done a project requiring structural considerations, so had to decline. I feel this was extremely professional as he would prefer to tell me up front that he couldn't do the job rather than getting a week in and letting my roof cave in or something. He gave me the contact information of a couple of other contractors in the area who would be able to satisfy my needs. I have actually decided to go with one of his suggestions to move forward with my project. While I, personally, would probably not call him again, I'm sure that he would do a great job with simpler remodels, installing cabinetry, trim work, etc. Even though we weren't able to work together, it was a pleasant experience overall.

Description of Work
Came out to give an estimate on removing a wall as a first step to a kitchen remodel.

Category woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

09/11/2013


Jill B.

Contractor did and OUTSTANDING job! I have absolutely zero complaints. His work is perfection. I am a bit reluctant to post this review because I'm concerned that he might get too booked up for any other work that we can dream up!

Description of Work
Installed sliding glass door in place of french door, installed replacement ceiling fan and recaulked around bath tub.

Category handyman service, doors

5.0

08/20/2013


Diana M.

I contacted Southern Construction and explained to them my rough ideas on what I wanted. During the second meeting I was able to select trim work and other materials that were to be used for the crown molding and wainscoting. They helped me select the best trim and crown molding available for my application. They provided me an estimate and I asked them to build me a sample to provide me a better visual of how the wainscoting will look, they built up a section and brought it to my house. After that, I decided to hire them for the job. They started the work one month later as they were very busy. Once they started the job, they worked very hard and spent much time paying attention to details. I believe that they take pride in their work and care that the finished product is high quality. They spent much time measuring, discussing the best ways to design each small detail, to make sure the wainscoting and molding looked perfect. They also provided me photos of past jobs they performed to help me decide on what stair rail design to choose. I was impressed with the quality of the final product and the work ethic and talent that the Southern brothers demonstrated. Next time I have work to be done I will call them first.

Description of Work
Designed, installed and painted wainscoting and crown molding in all the common areas of the house and stairway, designed and installed woodwork to simulate a column in my family room, matching the columns on my front porch and installed a new stair rail system and painted everything.

Category remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

5.0

07/01/2013


Sharon M.

Description of Work
Jim Southern replaced our deck, rerouted a drain spout, built benches and a planter box, and constructed a slide out piece and trellis gate to access the AC unit. He and his crew also built railings and steps.

Category decks, home remodeling

5.0

06/10/2013


Ken D.

From start to finish (and beyond) we found Jim Southern to be very thorough. From bid to final caulking. Walls were patched, re-mudded, floor replaced, cabinets installed. fixtures hung all with cool professionalism. This guy is good and his team is very easy to get along with. His knowledge of the trades involved suggests he's had training as well as a lot of experience. Give him a call. I put "B" in the price category simply because I had no idea how much a job like this could actually cost. Jim did, however, save me some money on the cabinets.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category drywall, flooring contractor, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

05/21/2013


Gene N.

They were fine. They were co-operative and on time. Note: The member at 03:30 says that he this review is not for Southern Construction Company as he misunderstood it with Gilles Tremblay which is the actual SP. Please check.

Description of Work
I used Southern Construction Company for carpentry.

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

05/17/2013


Phillip S.

We had experience with Southern Construction before we needed this work done. The installed trim and built cabinets at a new house we built. Their workmanship , fit and finish was well above any we have noticed in the area. The trim on our mother-in laws house was rotting in places and she wanted to replace it. We took quotes form 3 providers and included Southern because we knew the quality of his work. The Southern bid was the lowest bid by a few thousand dollars. The actual work was done as scheduled given the wet spring in Bloomington. The quality of the work was well above the average carpenter since this company specializes in trim work. besides the quality of their work, they made sure the trim was correctly painted and waterproofed. We added a small paint job to the gutters toward the end of the project which they took on gracefully. The house appears new now. Perhaps the best quality of Southern construction is the fact that they are polite, do what they say they will do, do it well, and on time. We will use them again and probably will not get a second quote. These people are good at what they do and trustworthy as well.

Description of Work
Southern Construction replaced trim around the house that was rotting in places. They also did a small roof repair job and replaced a portion of an arbor covering the back porch.

Category custom cabinets, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

04/12/2013


Alexander S.

Jim Southern, his brother and another helper arrived promptly and began work. Once they started, they realized the original grouting was extremely hard and difficult to remove from the adjacent tiles. They worked very carefully and meticulously to remove the old grout and not damage the adjacent tiles. It was quit a bit more work than I think they anticipated, but they didn't complain and actually completed installing the new tiles within the 4 hour time period they estimated. Jim came back the next day and completed the grouting. He even called me to tell me he would be 20 minutes late so I would not be concerned. And he did a beautiful job matching the color of the old grout. Jim Southern and his crew are top notch! I would highly recommend them to anyone. For any future work, I will call them first. They totally cleaned up any debris, were careful not to track dirt in on the carpet, and took everything away. Jim even cleaned up the yard area where they had their tile saw. And they were just really nice young men.

Description of Work
We had several ceramic floor tiles that were cracked or pitted. Southern Construction originally bid to replace and grout 8 tiles for a cost of $450. When they started work, we decided to replace one more for which they only charged an additional $15. I had left over tiles they could use for the replacement, but they did provide the grout and all other materials.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, remodeling

5.0

03/20/2013


Phillip S.

Southern construction has a skilled employees, in fact, they specialize in trim carpentry. We had both cabinets and build in book cases installed by them. The fit and finish is outstanding. they are polite, on time and do what they say that they will do.

Description of Work
We had both cabinets and build in book cases installed by them.

Category custom cabinets, home remodeling

5.0

12/11/2012


Amanda C.

Although I don't remember their names, the two men working at our home were very kind and professional. They answered any questions we had to the best of their knowledge. The work they completed seems to be of hiqh quality and craftmanship. If I ever needed any work in the future, I would not hesistate to contact Southern Construction Company LLC.

Description of Work
Southern Construction Company LLC was hired by our home builder to perform what appreared to be basic carpentry work to complete the home. I saw them working on the stair rail and trim.

Category home builders, woodworking

5.0

12/04/2012


Julia Y.

Jim was easy to communicate. He was honest and very responsive to phone calls and e-mails. The project took Jim and his brother three days to finish. They were professional and showed up every morning on time. Quite satisfied their work.

Description of Work
Remodel the old deck. Replaced the old lumbers, boards and some posts.

Category deck cleaning, woodworking

5.0

08/07/2012


Nena C.

Absolutely fantastic. We had a few companies come for an estimate and Southern Construction was the only ones that noted that the previous deck had no flashing and that we had water damage. After hiring Southern Construction, Jim and his brother arrived each day on time, were extremely professional and completed the work on time. They went above and beyond our expectations. We are new to the Bloomington area and upon discovering the damage from the ants, they helped us get someone over to take care of the problem. We could not get over how perfect of a job they did. Their craftsmanship was excellent. We feel very blessed that we stumbled upon this business to improve our home. Thanks guys.

Description of Work
Completely removed and rebuilt our front deck. Replaced wood framing bottom of house that was destroyed by carpenter ants and water damage. Lowered our deck and water proofed our house. As well as building us rails.

Category decks, woodworking, doors

5.0

08/07/2012


Nena C.

Southern Construction previously built a front deck for us and we knew that the front door and frame would need replaced due to water damage. Jim helped us select a door and after arrival of materials Jim came by & replaced our front door and frame. As he did with our deck, the work was performed in a timely manner and executed well. We most certainly will use Southern Construction for future repairs and remodeling.

Description of Work
Front door and frame.

Category decks, woodworking, home remodeling, doors

5.0

04/25/2012


Winnie C.

The whole job was extremely professionally done! From the start, the quote was written in great detail. Jim gave us a timeline and finished right on time! He did above and beyond what he wrote on his quote eg. replaced more deck boards, tightened another downspout that I didn't even know was coming loose, bolting our deck to code. Jim and his team meticulously hand-painted the sealer onto the deck. All debris was removed professionally, and no plants and herbs were hurt in the process. Jim even taught me how to fix our leaky garden faucet! There was something electrical that Jim couldn't do, but Jim asked around to see if he can help us with that too! Thanks Jim for fixing up our house!! It was a great experience!!

Description of Work
Jim removed and replaced many deck boards and deck spindles. He replaced a lot of the loose nails with screws. He installed bolts to bolt deck to the house to bring the deck up to code. He power washed the deck and applied sealer to all wooden surfaces including the underside of the deck. He also re-attached the side gutter downspout that has come off after a storm.

Category decks, gutter repair, handyman service, deck cleaning, pressure washing, house painters

5.0

05/28/2011


Julie A.

Jim and Chad did an exceptional job. They were always on time, courteous, and conscientious. I would highly recommend these hard working, honest carpenters for any job. I would not hesitate to use them again.

Description of Work
Jim and Chad installed wainscotting and molding in my master bathroom. And molding in my master bedroom.

Category contractors, handyman service, remodeling, garage builders, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

02/23/2011


Ann V.

They are very trustworthy, reliable and accommodating. They clean up after themselves. Most importantly, their work is excellent!

Description of Work
They powerwashed and sealed our deck twice. Recently, they have also installed laminate hardwood floors and ceramic tile throughout the kitchen, living room, dining room and hallway. In the future, we will use them to remodel our bathrooms.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, deck cleaning, pressure washing, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Fane Window Cleaning LLC

    Fane Window Cleaning LLC is a professional window cleaning service provider in Franklin, IN with more than 4 years of experience. Call today for a free estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Lengachers handy man

    Hi! I'm Adam Lengacher, and I have been in construction since I was 15 years old. I'd love to help make your dreams come true! I do anything from putting on a new roof, installing framing, drywall installation and garage door installations.  

    Angi Certified

    J's Drywall and Painting

    J's Drywall and Painting specializes in basic insulation installation, drywall installation and repairs, interior / exterior painting, and more! We are an owner- operated company, so no worry of having a middle man or unqualified workers. We love working with customers to ensure the highest quality product and service provided. Please reach out about any drywall or painting needs around your business or home!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Interior and Exterior Doors, All Types of Interior Trimwork, Interior Stairs and Balustrades, Cabinets, Windows, Shelving, Porches, Decks, Pergolas, Wood Deck and Fence Staining, Light Painting, Laminate and Hardwood Flooring, Ceramic Tile, Bathroom Accessories, Heavy and Standard Glass Shower Doors, Remodeling and New Construction

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Southern Construction Company LLC

    How is Southern Construction Company LLC overall rated?

    Southern Construction Company LLC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Southern Construction Company LLC open?

    Southern Construction Company LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Southern Construction Company LLC provide

    Southern Construction Company LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Southern Construction Company LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Southern Construction Company LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Southern Construction Company LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Southern Construction Company LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Southern Construction Company LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Southern Construction Company LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Southern Construction Company LLC?

    Yes, Southern Construction Company LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Southern Construction Company LLC offer?

    Southern Construction Company LLC offers the following services: Interior and Exterior Doors, All Types of Interior Trimwork, Interior Stairs and Balustrades, Cabinets, Windows, Shelving, Porches, Decks, Pergolas, Wood Deck and Fence Staining, Light Painting, Laminate and Hardwood Flooring, Ceramic Tile, Bathroom Accessories, Heavy and Standard Glass Shower Doors, Remodeling and New Construction