Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney

Founded 1981 • With Angi since August 2011

4.7

(50) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

220 W State St

Ashley, IN 46705

Description

Protecting your family and preserving your home and lifestyle is important. But what can you do to make sure that you’re enjoying the heating and venting systems in your home as safely as possible? That’s easy, give Old Smokey’s a call. Additional phone - (260) 587-9691....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

08/07/2016


Kalista J.

Service person called to say he was on the way. Arrived on time for appt. Service person was polite, friendly, and professional. Vacuumed out the fireplace unit. Offered to replace the dirty lava rock in the bottom of the firebox for an additional $20. He spent a significant amount of time inspecting and attempting to solicit additional repairs. As he was preparing to leave, I discovered that only half the floor of the firebox was covered by a very thin layer of the lava rock. When I asked him to complete the job, he explained that it would cost another $20 to finish covering the floor. I refused the additional upcharge and discovered the next day that I can buy the necessary lava rock from Lowe's for $9. Overall I feel the minimum charge of $199 for what turned out to be less than an hour of work and the upcharge for materials that should have been covered in the original fee to have created a very unsatisfactory experience. I feel that the service was highly overcharged and the service was greatly underdelivered.

Description of Work
Gas fireplace cleaning and service

Category fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your thoughts and am sorry you feel that the price is too much, we do try to offer fair pricing in the industry, We do charge for the gas service and service call and not the individual job, some gas services can take 30 minutes others can take over an hour and a half. We are a local small business and sadly can not buy bulk like the large hardware stores can and sell for less than we can offer. The technician follows an inspection process and we require him to share his findings for anything that needs to be repaired so that you as the customer can be aware and decide if and when you want to do those repairs. We would love to show you we have a great service record and hope you consider using us again. Thank you again for this review it is very important for us to hear our customers thoughtsa
4.0

03/07/2016


Dan C.

It was good just like before. They were punctual.

Description of Work
Last fall, they cleaned the chimney.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

10/30/2014


Debbra C.

Was late coming, but called to let us know ahead of time. He took his shoes off and laid a huge blanket down so nothing got on my carpet. Very courteous and polite.

Description of Work
Cleaned my propane radiance stove in living room. Swept up all dust, rust and cleaned the glass. Impressed how clean he got the glass. Changes thermo coupler.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

[removed member name]Thank you for you comment we appreciate the opportunity to service you
5.0

10/18/2014


Suzette M.

Neil, the serviceman, performed his job efficiently and very thoroughly. He kept his area matted and clean.

Description of Work
Clean gas stove/ troubleshoot remote.

Category gas logs

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review we greatly appreciate it
5.0

09/19/2014


Cathy R.

They were late in arriving, but called to tell me. They were friendly and courteous and did the job extremely well. They took off shoes every time entering the house. They were knowledgeable about their business.

Description of Work
Chimney was cleaned and inspected. They used professional vacuum and ladders. I have 30' Chimney which is difficult to get to. They did with no problem or complaint.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

[removed member name] Thank you for the comments, we appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to serving your fireplace and chimney needs in the future
5.0

09/08/2014


Sylvia D.

Excellent. Phone calls to confirm.The appointment were made ahead of time. Gentleman arrived on time, brought all equipment in, spread big cover - performed services and cleaned up. Was all well done.

Description of Work
Serviced 2 fireplaces.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

5.0

08/28/2014


Pamela B.

On time, very thorough, courteous, explained everything, cleaned up after.

Description of Work
Routine maintenance on home fireplace.

Category fireplaces

5.0

08/27/2014


Scott H.

They were very timely, efficient and personable.

Description of Work
We had them out to service our chimney and fireplace.

Category chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

08/23/2014


Jon O.

Good, 1 hr service. Rain stove out doors.

Description of Work
Align and service gas stove. Pilot light adjusted.

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/18/2014


Carol M.

Called ahead ...arrived promptly courteous and professional.

Description of Work
Fireplace cleaned & chimney dryer vent cleaned.

Category chimney repair

5.0

06/17/2014


Jerry J.

Me arrived when started, very professional.

Description of Work
Cleaned chimney & wood insert.

Category chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

06/16/2014


Mike M.

Very well, clean & friendly. Top marks.

Description of Work
Annual service/cleaning etc.

Category chimney sweep, chimney repair

5.0

06/13/2014


Rick M.

Very well - Confirmed appt, called en - route, on time , friendly, professional, neat and tidy.

Description of Work
Clean chimney and wood furnace.

Category chimney sweep

5.0

05/16/2014


Florence S W.

He removed shoes & spread blanket for his tools, etc. Did an exceptional job in a reasonable amount of time. Very satisfied.

Description of Work
Fireplace cleaned.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

thank you for the kind words!! our technicians and the company appreciate it!!
5.0

03/20/2014


Terry W.

It was great. They were okay. Price wise they could improve on that.

Description of Work
I used Old Smokeys Fireplace and Chimney to repair the chimney.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, we will definalty continue to give quality services and product.
5.0

02/17/2014


Al M.

We saw the insert and liked it and sales lady was knowledgeable. Came to house, measured and installed.

Description of Work
Sale and installation of gas fireplace insert.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. We enjoy having you as a customer and appreciate your continued business.
5.0

02/15/2014


Robert S.

Very good phone contact. I would use down the road...

Description of Work
I did not because they were not able to service my Fireplace

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. We hope you will consider us for future needs.
5.0

01/29/2014


. ..

Called ahead to let us know they were on the way. Discussed with us concerns for future consideration. Left area clean.

Description of Work
Swept 3 chimneys and inspected 3 chimneys.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Dear Valued Customer, We appreciate your review and hope to gain your continued business. Thank you,
5.0

01/15/2014


Dawn M.

We were shown the actual video taken on the inside of our chimney. It was deemed unsafe to use due to cracked and missing mortar, we were offered a couple of solutions as well as cost for them.

Description of Work
Cleaned out the fireplace flue and scoped it to make sure that it was in good condition to be used this winter.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Dear Valued Customer, We appreciate your review and hope to gain your continued business. Thank you,
5.0

12/10/2013


Jessica C.

Was early but called ahead of time. Employee took off shoes inside home and used large blanket under tools to avoid mess. Did work efficiently and explained issues well.

Description of Work
Thoroughly cleaned gas fireplace. Started pilot and got it to stay lit. Replaced batteries free of charge.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Dear Valued Customer, We appreciate your review and your continued service. Thank you,
5.0

11/27/2013


Dan C.

Alex arrived earlier after phoning to see if early was ok. He came in and did a very thorough cleaning.

Description of Work
Cleaned the stove (wood) and chimney.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Dear Valued Customer, We appreciate your review and your continued business. Thank you,
5.0

11/26/2013


janel R.

Workman called beforehand and arrived on time. Took fireplace apart, thoroughly cleaned and inspected it. Explained what was wrong and what he did to fix it. Very helpful and professional.

Description of Work
Everything went smoothly.

Category chimney sweep, masonry, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Dear Valued Customer, We appreciate your review and your continued business. Thank you,
4.0

11/25/2013


Richard A.

On time, offered pricing options showed pictures of results, frigidly.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection.

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Dear Valued Customer, We appreciate your review and your continued business. Thank you,
5.0

11/22/2013


Ellen J.

They spent a long time and everything was so clean!! :)

Description of Work
Chimney cleaned.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Dear Valued Customer, We appreciate your review and your continued business. Thank you,
5.0

11/14/2013


Pamela D.

Alex was on time, called with the ETA and honest regarding the chimney not safe. He explained options and approximate costs for me and make an informed decision.

Description of Work
Check chimney for future use.

Category chimney repair, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Dear Valued Customer, We appreciate your review and your continued business. Thank you,

    Other local Pros in your area

    Acculevel Inc

    Acculevel is your foundation repair expert, serving Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky, and Ohio and been in business since 1996. Most of our repairs come with a life of the structure warranty. Acculevel begins by evaluating your entire foundation system, checking your property for the signs and causes of foundation failure. From foundation & crawlspace repair to waterproofing & encapsulation systems, Acculevel can help you protect your home-- possibly the most valuable investment you'll ever make. A dry home is a healthy home. Acculevel is committed to providing the most technologically advanced repairs to help keep your home dry and on a safe foundation. A strong foundation protects your home's structure, lowers utility bills and maintains the value of your property. Check our pictures for the signs & symptoms of foundation & water damage, and then call Acculevel for your free visual inspection. 1-866-669-3349  

    Offers by Acculevel Inc on Angi
    Stay Dry Basement Waterproofing Inc

    As a multi year Super Service Award winner with over 100 years of combined experience, StayDry is the standard-bearer for basement waterproofing, crawl space waterproofing, foundation repair, and similar services for homeowners and businesses. Our expert contractors take pride in their workmanship, and they’ll educate you on the different approaches to eliminate leaks in your foundation and keep your basement safe from water damage. We’re so confident in our abilities that we’ll offer you a fully transferable, lifetime warranty on many of our services. No fine print, no questions asked. We’ll work with you to make sure you get the service you need by identifying the problem and providing you the best solution. And if it turns out that basement waterproofing isn’t what you need—if new ground-level windows would serve you better, for instance—we’ll point you in the right direction. Additional phones - (877) 821-4675, (616) 975-0635, (517) 879-2008, (269) 978-6895. Please call us directly or e-mail us directly at info@staydryinc.com. Award Winning.  

    C King Construction Llc

    We are a family owned and operated company that takes great pride in a job well done. We have been fixing foundations for three generations.  

    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Chimney sweeping. Chimney inspections. Chimney Masonry repairs, Repointing, Restoration & Rebuilds. New chimney construction. Chimney relining. Sell Service and Install Wood Gas and Pellet Fireplaces, Gas Logs,

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney

    How is Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney overall rated?

    Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney provide

    Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney offer free estimates?

    Yes, Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney offers free project estimates.

    Does Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney offer a senior discount?

    No, Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney?

    No, Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney does not offer warranties.

    What services does Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney offer?

    Old Smokey's Fireplace & Chimney offers the following services: Chimney sweeping. Chimney inspections. Chimney Masonry repairs, Repointing, Restoration & Rebuilds. New chimney construction. Chimney relining. Sell Service and Install Wood Gas and Pellet Fireplaces, Gas Logs,