Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc

Founded 1996 • With Angi since August 2010

4.2

(29) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1930 Indiana Ave

Anderson, IN 46012

Description

Ace Construction & Remodeling, Inc. has 34 employees. We offer financing to qualified customers. One year same as cash. We also do some in house financing as well.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/20/2018


Debbie D.

Great! Fast prompt service. Thank you Todd and Joe for everything!

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback.
5.0

07/19/2018


Mark L.

Very happy with work. Will hire again.

Description of Work
Placed new roof on office building and remodeled office space.

Category drywall

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review [Member Name Removed] we look forward to working with you in the future. Thanks Todd
5.0

08/30/2017


Rex T.

I felt that Ace did a great job! I had hail damage and they stripped off the old roof and replaced it with the new one, all in one day, so I didn't have to worry about a storm coming in with a job half done. They were professional, the roof looks great, and they did a thorough clean up afterwards. My insurance had not approved the roof for my storage shed, but they went up, documented damage, communicated with my insurance and got that added too. Before they began, Todd asked if he could try to "earn" my business. That they did. I would recommend them for people who are looking for a business who will treat them fairly and professionally.

Description of Work
replaced roof due to storm damage

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] We enjoyed working for you And we really enjoy people taking time out of their day to send correspondence for our company . Todd Rench C.E.O
5.0

07/31/2017


Deborah R.

Jason gave the estimate. He was good. He was really good. When he came out there, he gave me the estimate right there. He gave it to me right there. Todd was horrible.

Description of Work
Estimate on roofing.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Mrs [Member Name Removed] we appreciate the A you have given Jason a long term employee of our company, and we apologize for anyone else that did nor represent themselves in a professional manner. Sincerely Joe Dargo
2.0

07/31/2017


Deborah R.

It didn't take long for them to do the roof itself, but the workers had bent my gutter and they had to replace it and just now did that. I was not happy. When they got done with the work, I didn't like the way Ace treated me. When I complained about the gutter, they guy that I originally dealt with came out to give me the estimate, when I told him about the gutter, he said no problem. But then one of the guys that owns the company, when he called me, asked if I was sure they bent the gutter. I told him yes. Then he said he was there before the work got started and the gutter was already bent. I told him it wasn't. I told him he could call Jason, that's the guy that gave me the estimate that I was working with and he can verify that our gutter wasn't already bent. I didn't appreciate the man calling me a liar and trying to insinuate I was trying to get one over on them. I did not appreciate that at all. The contract with them covered me getting new roof fans. The insurance company didn't have that in their estimate, but in the original estimate it was there, so I should get new fans. The same man, one of the owners said that since the insurance didn't cover it, and they don't give us more money, you will have to pay for it. But it was already in the original. I don't like stuff like that. I didn't like that. It was already in the original contract. the insurance company ended up giving me even more money than the original contract I had with them. So why didn't they give me my vent fan? They did the work. I can't say whether it was good or bad. I like my roof, but I don't appreciate the way I was treated. The work was good, but the way they treated me was horrible. Their work was good. the one guy would get an "F" in responsiveness, but the original guy Jason that gave me the quote and worked with me, he was a "B". When Todd got involved, the guy that gave me all the problems, then Jason kinda backed up a little bit and kept referring me to Todd. They give an "F" in professionalism because of Todd. Jason was an A. He was really good..

Description of Work
Roofing.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Im sorry Mrs. [Member Name Removed] has left us a bad grade on Professionalism, however we appreciate all the other grades being a A's and B's. We at Ace Construction & Remodeling Inc will always strive for perfection, however sometimes we fall short of our customers expectations. Thanks for the feedback and we will continue to work on all faucets or our business. Sincerely Joe Dargo
5.0

07/26/2017


Michael B.

Ace did a very nice job on the work and the clean up afterwords. They took the time we needed to help us pick out the style and color of shingle to use. It was a very rainy time and it was difficult to predict when they would be able to start, but they kept us informed on a regular basis.

Description of Work
Complete strip and replacement of the roof shingles.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Member Name Removed] for the great review, nothing is more important than customer feedback. We look forward providing you with estimates for your remaining work. Sincerely Joe Dargo
5.0

08/24/2016


Todd D.

I am very pleased with the end result with all the work Ace completed. Ace showed up and explained the process, and I had a lot of questions, however I never felt pressured throughout the process. I called 5 contractors 2 were no shows and the two other contractors provided me with estimates but in the end I felt more comfortable with Jason. ( He was the estimator ) The roof, siding and gutters all look beautiful. Thanks again!

Description of Work
I needed a new roof, vinyl siding and gutter.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

5.0

04/12/2016


Thomas T.

.

Description of Work
Jason Christie managed our project and extremely happy with the outcome of our kitchen remodel and fired pit with pergola.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We are glad to hear that you are pleased with your project and look forward to working with you in the future. Thanks [Member Name Removed]
5.0

03/19/2016


Tamara W.

The entire job went very well. They were able to install everything we asked for in less than a week and they worked with us on the price. The roofers were fast and knew what they were doing. The cleanup was very impressive. They were able to get the roof completed late in the year instead of putting us off until the spring. This was exactly what we wanted. We would use them in the future if we need other work done. Todd Craven was our contact person. He was very friendly and really easy to work with.

Description of Work
installed new gutters, downspouts, gutter covers, roof and removal of everything.

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

Mrs [Member Name Removed], I truly appreciate that you took the time to describe your overall experience with Ace Construction & Remodeling Inc. Our reputation means everything to us, and we look forward to working with you again in the future. Sincerely Joe Dargo
5.0

03/18/2016


Cynthia P.

Work was done in a timely manner with no disruption of my life. Cleanup of roofing materials was excellent. Workers on site were always polite.

Description of Work
Roof and attic insulation

Category insulation, roofing

Service Provider Response

Mrs. [Member Name Removed], I want to offer my personal gratitude Mrs [Member Name Removed] for taking time out to express your experience with our company. Ace Construction & Remodeling Inc. was established in 1996 and we are still going strong. People like you make our job rewarding. Thanks again Joe Dargo
1.0

02/08/2016


Kellie S.

Description of Work
Replace a flat roof over garage. Replaced roof but left a 5 gallon bucket on roof overnight causing a ring from bucket indentation of about 3 inches. They repaired by patching the area and cutting out the wood under it with no replacement wood. To date, still not repaired so we have withheld the remaining balance owed until something is done. They are insisting on payment and we are insisting that the wood be replaced with a new rubber roof put on. They refused.

Category drywall, roofing

Service Provider Response

This roof was installed in November of 2013. I have dealt with the husband throughout this process, but for some reason the wife has gotten involved and her statements are incorrect. This is proven by her statement and I quote ' They repaired by patching the area and cutting out the wood under it with no replacement wood" So customer is stating we cut out the bad wood and left a hole then patched with rubber. This is not even physically possible. We did in fact cut out the bad wood, installed new wood, and then re-seamed the area. So now it has a seam in the rubber roof. 99 percent of rubber roofs have seams, however this wife is insisting we install a complete new rubber roof because the roof we installed has a small 3 foot seam. ( Of course the roof has a seam because we cut out the bad wood and installed new wood then installed new rubber over this spot ) The estimate does not state a seamless roof. There is nothing wrong with a seam, proven by the fact this roof has been installed for going on 3 years without a single drip. This customer will never return our calls because they have only paid $1,626.00 on the total contract price of $4,878.00 leaving a balance of $3,252.00. NO this customer is quite happy as long as she does not have to pay her balance. Not one single complaint from this customer in nearly 3 years, and the reason is because she basically has received a free Firestone EPDM rubber roof. This customer gives me bad reviews nearly 3 years after her roof has been completed.If a contractor installed such a bad roof for me I would be calling them daily until the problem was fixed. I would not wait nearly 3 years to file a complaint. I would have already replaced it and recouped my money from the contractor The truth is this customer will never demand a new roof because she is quite happy with the price and quality of the roof Ace installed. While I appreciate Angies List it would be nice if they offered some type of remediation instead of just providing a forum for good and bad reviews. Sincerely Joe Dargo
1.0

10/07/2015


Pamela L.

Called Ace to do some minor repairs on roof and siding, bathroom ceiling. Came promptly to look over tasks and give a quote. Returned to have me sign an agreement for work and that is the last we saw of this company. Jason told me they would get to us in a couple of weeks, that was over a month ago? Called last week to check in and was told that they would get to us that week? They were a no show again. Called again and was told that Jason himself would call with an update? Yeah, you get it by now no call. Find the company's inability to place a simple phone call both unprofessional and disrespectful. Cannot recommend them!

Description of Work
Nothing

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

As a company we strive to provide the highest quality work along with on time service. In construction we constantly deal with variables that affect our scheduling. Weather, unforeseen additional work not initially quoted, and conflicting scheduling just to name a few. I would be remiss to say we sometimes in the hectic schedule of day to day operations miss a return phone call or mistakenly double schedule our employees. None of this is an excuse the customer was patient and we missed out on an opportunity to further our great reputation as a reputable company. I have personally contacted the customer and apologized for our mistake. We have also issued company wide memo to help insure this does not occur again in the future. Again our most sincere apologies to [member's name removed] Sincerely, Todd Rench ( Owner )
5.0

06/26/2015


Danny H.

All went very well. Very professional, quick repair. Very courteous

Description of Work
Repaired leak in roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member name removed] ,Todd Rench Ace Construction Inc Glad you are a member of Angie,s list . Your replies are very helpful for our company ,and we are very glad we could help you in time of need . Todd Rench (owner ) Ace Construction & Remodeling Inc
5.0

01/28/2015


Ric B.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

(Member name removed) Thanks for for taking the time out of your day to set a review for my company . We appreciate all of our clients ,and hope we can be of any help to you and your family in the future . Todd Rench Ace Construction & Remodeling Inc.
5.0

09/12/2014


Lee W.

Construction went well One crew did roof tear-off, the next crew immediately began putting new felt and shingles downRoof being replaced due to hail damage which happened 4-22-201 Our business was conducted with Joe Dargo, co-owner, of ACE Construction. He contacted the insurance adjuster directly when needed. That insured that the additional information requiring additional funding was explained correctly to the adjuster. The crews arrived on time and stayed the appropriate time each day. Since the work was performed during weeks of sunny 90 degree weather, the crews arrived about 7a.m.,stopped about 11a.m. then returned about 2:30 or 3p.m. and continued until 7p.m. They also brought a huge insulated container of iced water to keep the guys well hydrated. This seemed a good way for roofing crews to work and keep safe during extreme heat. And when they left, they cleaned up behind themselves! The yard, the shrubs, and the driveway were all checked for roofing debris and nails. We only found one nail that had been overlooked.

Description of Work
Replaced roof on our home

Category insulation, roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], I found it to be a pleasure working with you and [name removed]. I also appreciate that you took the time to review our company. On a personal level our conversations were entertaining and always interesting. Again I am glad you are pleased with our work, and thanks again. Joe Dargo
4.0

05/31/2014


Gilbert & Brenda L.

Showed up in a timely manner.did the job as requested and cleanup after.But when I called them up for another job.The man came and took measurements and never came back to give the estimate.This was last month.

Description of Work
Roofing

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Mr. [member name removed] we greatly appreciate your review. We are very happy that you are satisfied with our company it means a lot to us when we have another happy customer. Jason was the assigned estimator on your project and the future project you were contemplating. Jason had come to your house to get the measurements on your next project. Jason was involved in a auto accident and during this time he had two or three projects he was working on. I spoke with Jason today and he relayed to me that he did not pass the info for this estimate on to us during his recovery. I sincerely apologize for this oversight on our part for which we assume 100 percent responsibility. I would like to extend a discount to you on this project ( if it has not been completed ) or any future projects you are considering. Again we do apologize for this oversight. Sincerely Joe Dargo ( Owner )
4.0

01/05/2014


Dana W.

clean up was not what they said it would be.

Description of Work
Good -

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry for anything that we may have missed on our clean up.Ace strives to make all projects as simple as we can ,as we all know somethings are missed on clean up procedures .We do have several numbers to be reached at ,and 6 months later we have still yet to here from you for additional clean-up . We would be glad to take care of our oversights ,all it takes is a simple phone call. Todd Rench (Owner )Ace Construction & Remodeling Inc.
5.0

01/03/2014


Pamela G.

Our experience with Ace Construction and Remodeling was very pleasant and smooth from the onset. I went into the office at 1930 Indiana Ave., Anderson, Indiana and talked to the office manager about the work I needed to have done. I received a call the same day from a representative from their company who agreed to come out the next day to get measurements and discuss all the details. He promptly returned the next day to inspect our home and apartment which are both located on the same property. He accurately measured our home and apartment. It was extremely easy to communicate our needs to him and he was very knowledgeable and precise with the type of work that needed to be done. We discussed what our needs were with him and he communicated well with us. He wrote up a detailed estimate of the work and any additional work that we may need done. He was quick to make suggestions that may "Save" us money also. They acquired all permits and approvals from the proper sources and communicated with our insurance company about our claim. They scheduled a large dumpster to be delivered on site for proper disposal of materials. They gave us an idea of when they would begin construction, dependent upon their busy schedules and ours. The process began very promptly and efficiently as planned. The fellows that came out to do our roof repairs and replacements were very friendly and easy to talk to. They began tearing off the old roofs and checking the decking to see if any additional repairs may be needed. If they saw something that needed to be corrected, they quickly communicated that with us to make sure we knew and understood what was needed. They always kept "quality" of work in mind. It took them 3 days to complete the tear off of both roofs and clean up the debris. I must say these guys worked hard, everyday. They did not mess around!! They were always very proficient in their work. At the end of the day, everyday, they made sure that all of the mess was cleaned up around our home and a magnet used to retrieve any loose nails or screws that may have fallen to the ground. After the tear off process was completed, they began installing the new roofs. It took them another 3 days to install both of those. Next, they tore off the roofing on the porches and began the replacement of those. They replaced both porches with all new "rubber roofs" to stop the leaks we had been experiencing. It was approximately another 3 days with these due to inclement weather we were having in the area. We were very happy at this time with their progress. They maintained their very friendly and polite attitudes, despite the weather we were experiencing at the time. Once the work on the porches was completed they began the removal of our "aluminum siding" and insulation. They managed to get this all done promptly too. They were still fighting "Old Man Winter's" onset, but they proceeded forward. They kept the aluminum torn off, well maintained for quick recycling also. We were very pleased with this process. Next, they installed new "insulation" wrap on our home before they could move onto replacing the new "vinyl" siding. It looks "Amazing!" We are very happy at this point with everything they have done. Now, we have moved into sub zero temperatures and all that has to be completed are gutters and new shutters. When the weather broke and they were able to get here, they came and finished up all of the gutters on both homes and completed the job by installing all of the pre-existing shutters with the new ones we ordered. I would like to tell you that we are "Extremely Satisfied" with everyone's knowledge of their jobs and the very "Friendly and Courteous" work we received from Ace Construction and Remodeling. We would "Highly" recommend them for any job you may need done at your home. I would definitely call them again in the future, should I need any more home improvements. We are very grateful and very thankful for your abilities!! We appreciate a job well done :) For the price it cost, we are very pleased with everything. We feel everyone put forth their best efforts. "Quality" and "Courtesy" was of utmost importance at all times. That is very hard to find these days!! Pam Guenther and Dillon Richards Homeowners Anderson, Indiana 46012

Description of Work
They professionally installed: 1. A new roof and two new porch roofs on our main residence 2. A new roof on apartment in back of main residence 3. New vinyl siding on our main residence 4. New gutters and shutters on main residence 5. New gutters and shutters on apartment in back of main residence 6. New ceiling on front porch of main residence All work started November 13, 2013 and was all completed by December 20, 2013

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your response ,it seems these days that sometimes people are quick to judge on anything they feel is not correct . So we always go out of our way to ensure things are to the best of our ability . I personally thank you again for your kind remarks ,and look forward to working with you on any further needs that may arise . Todd Rench (owner) Ace Construction & Remodeling Inc.
5.0

12/02/2013


Paula P.

Work was completed efficiently. All construction debris was cleaned up and removed from my yard. I was kept informed as to when construction workers would be working at my home. Any changes to my original estimate were discussed with me in advance. Sales representative was very knowledgeable about materials and options. Progress of workers was monitored regularly. Very satisfied with workmanship and attention to detail. All work was completed as outlined in the proposal. Looks great! Has totally changed the appearance of my property and will increase the resale value. Love the no-maintenance vinyl materials. No more painting! I would definitely use this company again. In fact, they are going to repair recent storm damage to my roof, gutters, and fence when a tree fell on my house while they were completing the other work. Sales representative has been very helpful matching guttering and shingles, as well as selecting replacement fence panels. He also was in contact with my insurance company to expedite the repair process. Excellent communication. Great to work with. Job well done!

Description of Work
Vinyl siding was installed over existing wood siding on double-car detached garage, fireplace chimney on house, and front of house around picture window and front door. Vinyl soffit and fascia was also added to garage with porch overhang. Guttering was added to garage as well.

Category siding

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your kind words ,it is very hard in this day in age to be perfect and never make mistakes .So when our customers are so kind to show their gratitude and take time out of their day to praise us for the good work we do . We cannot thank you enough. Todd Rench (Owner ) Ace Construction & Remodeling
2.0

11/29/2013


Kay W.

I called Ace Roofing on November 21, 2013. There had been a storm that had blown off a piece of wood that was attached to the roof., gutter attached to the wood piece and the gutter was still in good shape. The only thing that needed to be done was to nail the wood back up to the rafters. I called Ace to come out and give an estimate on what it would cost to take care of that. A guy called me back that evening and asked what the job was and when I told him it was a small job and what needed to be done, I asked what it might cost for him to come out and nail the wood back, he said it would be about $150. I thought it was expensive but said ok because he said he would have to send two guys out here but I also thought it wouldn't take them more than 30 minutes to do it. I said the next day we would be gone since it was Friday and we had plans to go out of town for the weekend and he said he would call me back on Monday to set up a time to come out. This is the 29th of November and he has not called. These people who want to make a fortune off of every job, I predict will go out of business in the near future. When you take a small job and do it well and charge a fair price for it, people will remember this and call you back when they need something bigger done that is worth more money.

Description of Work
Called Ace Roofing to nail back wood that is attached to roof with gutter. Nothing wrong with the gutter, wood piece came off during storm, gutter went with it. Simple job, nail the wood back up.

Category roofing

2.0

11/15/2013


Cecilia B.

My contract with Ace Construction in 2012 included removal of existing shingles, install new 7/16" OSB wood sheeting, felt, a ridge-vent/with cap and new shingles to house and garage. Also to construct and install knee walls in the attic of the house to support the rafters. All this was to remedy the cracked attic rafters and sinking areas to the roof. This summer (2013) I noticed the roof still had sinking areas. I hired a home inspector to check the attic and he confirmed there was only a fraction of the the knee walls specified in the contract and the walls were not supported on the load-bearing walls within the house. Additionally the sheathing that was added on top of the existing sheathing increased weight to weak rafters. The crew finished the job and left without informing me that they had decided not to install the knee walls. After the home inspector's evaluation and a home visit from Ace Construction's owner, I requested Ace to reimburse me for the work not done. We agreed on the amount six weeks ago but I have not yet received the reimbursement. The re-roofing job was finished on a Friday and the crew left the trailer of construction debris sitting in my driveway. I called the owner Saturday morning and he said he would remove it that day. It stayed in my driveway until Monday. I had to park my car on the street all weekend. UPDATE 11/26/2013: In my discussion with Todd Rench of Ace Construction on 11/19/2013 he claimed he never received my letter accepting his terms of reimbursement. I concede they may have misplaced the letter as the postal service did not return it to me as misaddressed. I disagree with the owner's response to my review. They did not offer a refund for work not done until I wrote them a year later. The home inspector is licensed and was helpful in confirming what work should have been done and cited the appropriate state construction code for roofing. I received their refund check today.

Description of Work
I used ACE CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING INC.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

I am sorry [Member Name Removed] that you are un happy with the knee walls that were built in your attic. Unfortunately you are mis informing the public about what exactly happened on this particular project. We did in fact install knee walls in the attic system, however [Member Name Removed] was told from the beginning that we could not get all the sag out of the roof without installing new rafters to the entire home. She was not interested in completing this work. We did in fact offer a refund to [Member Name Removed] because we try to make all our customers happy. She was mailed paperwork to sign 4 weeks ago to sign off on but she never sent it back to the office. I must have signed paperwork because I have no idea when she might hire another fly by night inspector to come by and give an opinion before they realize that the entire new rafter system was declined prior to completing work. So we completed the work according to the contract and the roof looks 90 percent better. I cannot make a project look perfect unless we install an entire new rafter system. Furthermore we have completed other projects for [Member Name Removed] and she hired us again!! But once again we are sorry that [Member Name Removed] is unhappy. If [Member Name Removed] signs the paperwork we will stand behind our word and our work.Sincerely Joe Dargo ( Owner )
1.0

09/21/2013


Marcie F.

The entire experience was a living nightmare. Our first red flag should have been the sales rep pressuring us into a "fast start program." We supposedly got a discount (I think it was purported to be 25%) if we chose a type of shingle that was in stock in their existing inventory and give them a check for 25% of the estimate we were provided as a deposit. I don't know why we fell for it, but we did--Hook, line and s(t)inker. Ace tried to squeeze us in a break they had between jobs, which was fine with us; however, it rained a lot during this period, which obviously was not their fault--You can't control the weather. During that time our roof was torn off over our master bath, and because the work crew (it was mostly one man and one woman--there was a crew of four or five during the tear off phase) didn't properly cover it with a tarp, it quite literally rained in our bathroom. I had to call the sales rep to complain, left a voice mail for him, then called the office and told the man who answered the phone (I think it was one of the owners), who in turn, sent the crew back out. The crew leader showed up by himself. Turns out the 'tarp' that was used to cover our bathroom was too small and tattered--My husband had to lend him *two* of our own tarps to cover our roof! Actually, I had to call the company office on a couple of occasions and tell them rather emphatically what they were going to come back to our house and do ASAP because the man on the other end of the line wasn't listening when I used my nice, polite, "voice of reason." Then to add insult to injury, the work was subpar, and the crew tried to leave some things unfinished. My husband had to get up on the roof and show these people how to do their job! So shingles got removed and new ones put down correctly in several spots over the entire roof. He had to remind them they were to put new boots on the roof. He had to make sure the rubber roofing was properly installed and trimmed. I'm sure there is more, but I don't recall at this moment, but the entire point of hiring a construction/roofing company for us is because my husband has no business being up on a roof anymore--His health simply doesn't allow him; otherwise, he would have done the job himself (he has an extensive background in home construction/remodeling, as well in industrial construction and building maintenance). But I digress ... When it appeared that all of the work was completed from his view from the ground, my husband got back on the roof with the crew leader to do a final inspection before he agreed the job was done to his satisfaction. Lastly, when Ace called to ask when the check could picked up for the balance of the job, the man on the phone tried to charge us several hundred dollars for items that weren't warranted. I had to tell him, rather frankly and succinctly, that I would pay the balance of the original estimate and not a penny more. The guy on the phone (again, I think he was one of the owners) finally relented. About five minutes later (if it was even that long), the sales rep was at our door to pick up the check. My husband gave him the check, and then he had a discussion with the sales rep because the sales rep was telling my husband how Ace lost money on this job. ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? <rolling my eyes> Can you imagine if I had been a single woman or a widow and had hired this company to replace my roof? Pardon my bluntness, but I would have been royally screwed. Since hindsight is 20/20, we should have chosen the other contractor (Mourdock Construction) who has a good reputation in the Anderson area and whose bid was less than 50% less than what we paid Ace. Lesson learned. At least this roof is supposed to last 30 years, according to Corning, the shingle manufacturer.

Description of Work
Roof tear off; replaced boards as needed, installed new asphalt shingle roof and rubber roofing on flat part of roof over the front porch.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Yes we do have a women on some crews,we do not discriminate of any sort .We are very sorry for any problems .on the other hand we do all that we can do to correct issues with your home .We simply did a roof install and there are many other issues with your home that cannot be fixed from installing a roof .There was a considerable amount of wood that was replaced ,that your husband was aware of .This was not payed for by customer,i was argued with and just told to leave property (so i did) . As for business programs and terms (everyone uses them ) . Your warranty is still good with our company for our terms,even after product was not paid for . (simple contract) we cannot see wood damage but it has to be repaired,we allot for some in our contract and the rest is customers responsibility to pay for (customer was told ).
5.0

09/11/2013


Aline D.

He was nice and we had no problems. He was very professional. We went with a different company for the work who offered a lower price. I would recommend him to others.

Description of Work
They provided us with an estimate for a new roof.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

I appreciate your time to write a review. it is very unfortunate that most customers in general only write a review if they are un happy about about a phase of the project and it seems to be that 90 percent of the time the mis-informed. I am very happy that you took time out of your day to express your gratitude. Too often in Todays society people are quick to judge before they have all the facts. Ace has been in business for almost 18 years so if I we were not doing something right then we would not have lasted going on a decade. I only wish Angie's list modeled themselves after the BBB where you get to correspond with the customer before a customer gets to go on your home page and slam your business or blame your comp;any for things that are out of their control. So again thanks for the review. Sincerely Joe Dargo ( Owner )
3.0

11/01/2012


Max H.

I'd been in the dwelling for less than 4 years and in addition to the shingle wear, I had 3 skylights which were very iffy. While Ace was prompt, the workers were quite happy to use the basketball goal in the cul-de-sac where my home is located during their breaks and long lunches. My family was about to leave on vacation when our job came up on "their list" but they had 3 days to complete the job before our departure. Our roof is a very simple gable over a '60's Ranch Style home...no valleys or other difficult areas aside from the skylights. After the tear-off was completed, I was informed that our roof decking was only 3/8" plywood which is not thick enough, so 7/16" OSB sheeting was ordered and laid over the entire roof. I chose architectural shingles for the replacement and the job proceeded...slowly. When our vacation departure arrived, the roof was not complete so we had to leave with an unfinished roof. Upon return, the roof was completed but there was a problem. When they laid the new decking, they of course had to cut out openings for the new skylights. They unfortunately did not cut the OSB properly. They cut out the openings such that the raw OSB edges were protruding into the skylight space. I called them out to look at it and they wanted to attempt a fix from the inside. I had to badger them a bit to get them to do the fix and when they finally arrived to make the attempt with a small "Dremel" type tool, they quickly (within 5 minutes) realized that it was not going to work. In the end, they removed the skylights and trimmed the OSB from the outside. This was done while I was at work and when I returned, I was dismayed to see that they still had not cut the opening back as much as it should have been. I let them off the hook. In addition, I spoke with my neighbors about what happened while we were gone on vacation and they informed me that "much basketball was played" and it took them an additional 3 days to complete the job. That's 5 or 6 days for a very simple roof which is ridiculous. Page forward to August, 2012. We received a huge rainstorm (2 1/2" in just a few hours). The largest skylight (2' X 4') poured water into the house. We had never had a leak in the 9 years we had the Ace Construction roof on our house but that night made up for lost time. I filed an insurance claim for the water damage. The insurance adjuster looked at the skylight and pointed out that it was incorrectly installed (as were the other two which were not leaking...yet). I found the installation information online and the adjuster was correct...not installed per manufacturer's instructions. While the adjuster was on the roof, he noted hail damage. The more he looked, the more he found until he finally suggested I file a claim to have the roof replaced. I've had 3 estimates and each contractor has commented on the improper installation of the skylights. I should have a new roof with new skylights before mid-November, 2012 and I've done MY homework on skylight installation. I will watch to be certain they are done correctly this time but I believe my new contractor knows what he is doing. Additionally, he is going to correct the openings and finish out the skylights on the inside! Bottom line, this simple roofing job was poorly done by a company which should know better. I'm fortunate that Mother Nature bailed me out of a bad situation.

Description of Work
Ace Construction performed a complete tear-off and re-roof job.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

{Member name removed} is correct in the fact that we did install his roof system, and new wood decking to his entire home, and finally we installed new skylights. 1) The roof was suppose to take approximately 3 days, however when it was discovered that the roof needed new wood decking that of course made the job a considerably bigger project. This was explained to {Member name removed} and he had no issues with this at the time of the project. 2) The skylights were installed while {Member name removed} was on vacation so we could not see the trim inside the home around the skylight perimeter. When{Member name removed} returned home we explained this and attempted to trim the lights out from the inside upon discovering this was not working we pulled the skylights out and cut out the opening wider. The client had no problem with the work until now 9 years later. 3) I understand {Member name removed} frustration with a leaking skylight, but he is pointing the blame in the wrong direction. I find it laughable that an adjuster representing the insurance company can make a diagnosis as to a skylight installation without first pulling the flashing out around the perimeter of the skylight. I have 18 years experience and I myself could not make this diagnosis without un-installing the skylight as for the contractor he has his own motivation because he is competing for the job. In Indiana we average over 40" of precipitation a year so that is over 360" of rain that has fallen on the roof since it was installed, a hail storm, and a labor warranty that has been outdated for 5 years. The insurance is responsible to pay for any damage the skylight or the flashing around the skylight suffered during the hail storm. I find it coincidental the skylight started leaking after the HAIL STORM. I want to add all the skylights were installed the same so the others are not leaking just one? 5) As for the guys playing basketball during breaks I have never been informed of this. I find it astonishing to bring this up after 9 years. I cant even address this because I have no way of confirming second hand information from a neighbor. I think what is far more plausible is the job took an extra time because the house had to have new wood installed, and for a 3500 square foot roof with all new wood decking, and 3 skylights 5 days is not unreasonable! In closing here at Ace we strive to make ALL our customers happy and we appreciate all your feedback but when 9 years elapsed and I get blamed for a leaking skylight that is simply not accurate. I have no problem with {Member name removed} however as an owner if I am not informed of a customers misgivings I have no remedy to offer. Finally if my customers call me after 5 years ( our standard labor warranty ) and are experiencing problems I always fix it at no charge! Sincerely Joe Dargo
5.0

09/07/2012


Dennis M.

We were very happy with the work. They were very punctual and had a reasonable estimate without a long wait before the job could start. The crew that came out was quick, knew what they were doing and did excellent work.

Description of Work
ACE Construction put a new roof, downspouts, and a whole new drainage system on my home. They also put on gutter guards.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review. I find it amazing that we give all our customers the same great quality work but when other opinions get int the way of our professional work that is usually when customers write a negative review. Again thanks for the review it was a pleasure doing business with [Member name removed], but M[Member name removed] knows a little about construction so he recognizes great work when he sees it. Sincerely Joe Dargo

    Other local Pros in your area

    Danny's Pro Painters LLC

    Since 1990, Danny's Pro Painters has provided exceptional service to our customers. Originally started in Indianapolis and surrounding areas. We carry workers comp. General liability insurance. 45 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service charges. May contact through email, but please include your phone number. Award winning.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Nasser Painting Services

    My name is Nasser, I've worked in construction for more than 10 years. I do pretty much did everything, building, painting, flooring, and some plumbing, I enjoy doing this and I am a very active person feel to reach out for me if you need more information  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Rivera Pro Paint

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Ace is a total home remodeling company with a focus on roofing, siding, and windows.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc

    How is ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc overall rated?

    ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc open?

    ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc provide

    ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc?

    No, ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc offer?

    ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc offers the following services: Ace is a total home remodeling company with a focus on roofing, siding, and windows.

    Are there any services ACE Construction & Remodeling Inc does not offer?

    ask for details