Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Deck Doctor

Founded 1987 • With Angi since June 2003

4.3

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6609 Mitchell Dr

Woodridge, IL 60517

Description

6 employees. No subs. Cost determined by the job.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Sandy B.
5.0
09/11/2018
I would hire these men again. They called back quickly and had the job completed within a week. The decks look fantastic. I called a few places but this company was the only one that listened to my concerns about stain getting into the pond below the deck. They covered the entire pond while they worked and hand trimmed where necessary. They were top notch!
Description of Work
I had 2 decks power washed and re-stained
Category
deck cleaning, pressure washing
frank B.
5.0
12/08/2015
unknown
Category
pressure washing
Sheila D.
3.0
05/28/2012
This is the second time that I have used the Deck Doctor. When I used the Deck Doctor two years, I was satisfied with the work. This time I was very unhappy with the quaility of the work. The work is poor quaility and not worth the price. I have 2 cedar decks, one very large one and one small one. I have some cedar benches and a teak patio table with four chairs. The work took approximately 1 1/2 days with two workers. It took 1/2 day for the workers to steam clean the decks, benches, and furniture. It took another day for the decks, benches, and furniture to be stained. Unfortuantely, they did a very poor quaility stain job on the main deck. Some areas are not well covered with stain. On the furniture they did a great job. It looks nice. But the deck looks like someone did the work in a hurry. When they stained the patio furniture, they put a tarp/drop cloth on the lawn. They ruined a 4 ft by 8 ft in our lawn. It looks terrible. They also stepped all over a bunch a perinnials that go around the deck. I would not recommend this work crew. They did a poor job and didn't care about the landscape damage they were doing.
Description of Work
Terry (Deck Doctor) is very professional and punctual. This is the second time that I used the Deck Doctor. This time his work crew did poor quaility work for the price I paid. I have two cedar decks, one very large and a small one. I have a number of benches, and a teak patio table with 4 chairs. The job took two workers a day and a half to do the job to steam clean and stain. Unfortuanely they did a poor quaility job of staining. The stain work is very uneven. They did quality work on the patio set, but they did landscape damage. They ruined a section of grass about 4ft by 8ft. they also stepped on many of my perinnial plants. I am dissatisfied with the quality of work and the landscape damage. I would not recommend the work crew of the Deck Doctor.
Category
deck cleaning
CAROL E.
2.0
06/02/2011
unknown
Description of Work
called and set up appt and did not show up. did not call the next day. finally called him at the end of the week to find out why he did not call. he did finally return the call and did apologize. said he was so busy that he must have just "forgot" or we got "misplaced". that was fine with me cause I had already decided that we were not going to use him. I told him that I had recommended him to a friend based on what I saw on angle's list. he had done the work for her. he then called my friend and made "fun" of me, saying that I sounded like "his mother" to him and how surprised he was that I did not call back and ask him to do the work. I will not use anyone that cannot find the time to call back. they obviously do not need my money. but to call a former client and "make fun" of me is unacceptable.
Category
deck cleaning
KAREN G.
1.0
07/10/2010
It was a nightmare. I had requested to schedule the job AFTER my contractor constructed a second handrail for the deck stairs. I explained that my contractor would be out that weekend, and I would call Terry to schedule. His crew came out to seal the deck before the rail was built, and they did not power wash the front stoop. I paid Terry the $275, which he came to collect, and he agreed to send the crew back to seal the rail; he reluctantly agreed to power wash the stoop. My newly sealed stairs are full of ground-in dirt from the contractor, who had to step on them to install the rail. I was advised to wait several weeks to seal the new handrail; the sealant and power wash were completed as promised by the end of June. On July 3, Terry the Deck Doctor came to my door to collect $50.00, for having to send his crew back to finish the job. I stated that we had neither discussed nor agreed to an additional $50. I was taken aback and angry at this ridiculous request, since the crew had to come back because of the owner's mistake! Terry then asked for $25.00 instead, and regrettably, I paid him. Terry the Deck Doctor, I hope the $25 was worth this negative advertisement on Angie's List. Next spring, I will be looking for an honest company to seal my deck and fence.
Description of Work
Power wash and seal deck, rails and stairs, owner offered to power wash small front stoop free during the estimate
Category
deck cleaning, pressure washing
Sheila D.
5.0
04/14/2010
I called the Deck Doctor, Terry Smurawski, on 3/31. He called me back the same day. We sat up an appointment time which he honored. Then the job was started on Apr 12th in the afternoon with a crew of 2 men. They worked Apr 13th, Apr 14th, and did not work on Apr 15th because the weather was bad. Then they worked on Apr 16th. The Deck Doctor came on Apr 19th to collect the check and review the job. I told him that the teak chairs needed to be resprayed with teak oil and that the stain wasn't evenly sprayed on a small section of the deck. His workers came back on Apr 20th and did some touchups that I requested. So I was very happy with the job. The contractor stands by his word. The job was completed in a timely manner and the quality of the workmanship was overall good to excellent. I have never seen my deck look so good.
Description of Work
1) Repaired deck by replacing rotted cedar boards, power washed deck,sanded the deck, applied 1 topcoat of stain 2) Repaired five cedar benches by replacing rotted cedar legs, power washed benches, sanded the benches, applied 1 topcoat of stain 3) power washed teak furniture (table, 4 chairs, & bench) and sprayed them with teak oil
Category
deck cleaning
WILLIAM F.
5.0
12/18/2007
He was very professional and did a very good job. I was very pleased with the whole process.
Description of Work
He stained and refinished my wood deck.
Category
deck cleaning
Patricia C.
4.0
06/26/2007
He came out for the estimate. We set the appointment for the work to be done on Tuesday. They did not show up until we called back. They came out on Thursday to power wash. He came back out last night to inspect the work, and we paid for the service. He kind of a smooth talker, and gives a good sales pitch. He did good job, but you need to stay on top of him. My husband found a few small problems, and he sent someone out to correct them.
Description of Work
Power washed and re-sealed deck.
Category
deck cleaning
MADHAV M.
5.0
07/18/2006
Professional sales rep / owner - could be considered a smooth talker. But the job was done right for the most part. Staining could have been better but the deck was quite old and I just needed temporary fixes to last a couple of years. Workers who came to do the job were professional, clean and good. Price is on the steeper side.
Description of Work
Repaired, power washed and stained the deck.
Category
deck cleaning, pressure washing
JACQUE S.
3.0
10/11/2005
TERRY CAME TO THE HOUSE AND WAS PROMPT AND HAD A VERY POLISHED PROFESSIONAL MANNER. HE CAME TO GIVE AN ESTIMATE ON DECK PRESSURE WASHING, STAINING AND SEALING AND, THOUGH I WAS OUT OF HIS NORMAL SERVICE AREA, AGREED TO DO THE WORK BECAUSE I AM AN ANGIE'S LIST MEMBER. I WAS A LITTLE UNCOMFORTABLE WITH OUR COMMUNICATION. HE WAS GIVING ME A TRADITIONAL HARD SELL, ALA 1950'S DOOR TO DOOR SALESMAN. HE OFFERED UNSOLICITED AND KIND OF INSULTING OPINIONS ABOUT MY LANDSCAPING. HE MADE A SELLING POINT THAT HIS WORKERS "SPEAK ENGLISH", WHICH I DON'T CARE ABOUT, AND ARE ALL IN THEIR 30-40'S BECAUSE HE STATED THAT HE BELIEVES THAT YOUNGER WORKERS LACK THE WORK ETHIC THAT HE REQUIRES. HE MADE AN UNSOLICITED STATEMENT THAT THE CONDITION OF MY PRIVACY FENCE AND CHILDREN'S PLAYSET WERE SUBPAR AND NEEDED REFINISHED. HE ADDED THEM AS LINE ITEMS ON THE ESTIMATE. I JUST FELT UNCOMFORTABLE WITH HIM, PLUS HIS PRICE WAS SIGNIFICANTLY HIGHER THAN OUR OTHER ESTIMATE, SO I HIRED A DIFFERENT COMPANY.
Description of Work
ESTIMATE GIVEN ON DECK PRESSURE WASH, STAIN, SEALING
Category
deck cleaning
LISA R.
1.0
10/04/2005
TERRY MADE AN APPOINTMENT TO GIVE AN ESTIMATE, THEN CALLED JUST BEFORE THE APPOINTMENT AND CANCELED WITHOUT EXPLANATION. HE SHOWED UP TO THE 2ND APPOINTMENT BUT PROCEEDED TO TELL ME THAT I NEEDED TO GET A 2ND JOB OR A RICH BOYFRIEND WHEN I TOLD HIM COST WAS A CONCERN. UNBELIEVABLE. AND HIS PRICE WAS 20% HIGHER FOR LESS WORK AND LESSER QUALITY MATERIALS THAN THE COMPANY I HIRED. THE COMPANY THAT PERFORMED THE WORK CLEANED THE DECK TWICE AND USED A 4 YEAR WARRANTY PRODUCT (CABOT'S SPF) THAT THEY HAND APPLIED WITH BRUSHES.
Description of Work
CLEAN, STAIN AND SEAL DECK.
Category
deck cleaning
KATHLEEN R.
4.0
09/29/2005
THE PRESSURE WASH DID A GREAT JOB IN RESTORING THE COLOR TO THE WOOD. THE DECK SEALER DID NOT FILL IN ANY OF THE WOOD, SO WHILE IT IS SEALED, IT DOES NOT APPEAR RESTORED PER SE. I AM DOUBTFUL IT WILL LAST THE TWO YEARS PROMISED. WHEN ASKED ABOUT THE GREASE SPOT ON THE DECK POST CLEANING, I WAS ADVISED THAT IT COULD NOT BE CLEANED AND WOULD REQUIRE BOARD REPLACEMENT. HE LEFT A BAD IMPRESSION REGARDING PAYMENT. WHEN I WAS NOT AVAILABLE, HE MADE A BIG DEAL ABOUT IT AND GAVE MY 13 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER A HARD TIME.
Description of Work
THEY PRESSURE WASHED THE DECK WITH WATER, AND THEN SEALED IT WITH A PRESERVATIVE.
Category
deck cleaning
Wendy T.
5.0
08/11/2005
COMPANY OWNER WAS PUNCTUAL, COURTEOUS AND GAVE AN ESTIMATE. HE THEN PROCEEDED TO EXPLAIN THE STEPS THAT WILL BE TAKEN AND A BIT ABOUT HIS COMPANY AND POLICIES. HE ALSO SHOWED ME HIS INSURANCE POLICY. EMPLOYEES SHOWED UP ON TIME AND DID A TERRIFIC JOB CLEANING A DECK THAT WAS JUST ''CLEANED'' BY ANOTHER COMPANY THAT DID A POOR JOB. HE ALSO THREW IN CLEANING A BENCH FOR FREE! THEY CAME BACK TWO DAYS LATER AND SEALED IT PERFECTLY. THE OWNER PERSONALLY CAME TO INSPECT THE WORK. PRICE WAS 15% LESS THAN COMPETITION AND QUALITY 100% BETTER!
Description of Work
DECK CLEANING AND SEALING.
Category
deck cleaning
Imran Q.
4.0
07/05/2005
WHILE TERRY DID PROMISE THAT NOT ALL STAINS COULD BE REMOVED, I WAS NOT DELIGHTED WITH THE RESULTS. THERE WERE STILL STAINS. IN ADDITION, THE CLEAN-UP WAS NOT GOOD. (SPLASH MARKS ON THE FRONT DOOR AND SIDES OF GARAGE WALL.) I POINTED THIS OUT, AND WHILE AN ATTEMPT WAS MADE TO CLEAN THIS UP, IT WAS NOT GREAT. TERRY MENTIONED DURING THE SALES PROCESS THAT FOLLOWING SEALING, THE DRIVEWAY WOULD BE LESS PRONE TO TIRE MARKS. I HAVE NOT NOTICED MUCH OF A DIFFERENCE. THE GARAGE FLOOR IS BETTER THAN THE DRIVEWAY, AND OVERALL, I'M PLEASED WITH THE GARAGE FLOOR. THEY RAN OUT OF POLYEURETHANE FOR THE INSIDE OF THE GARAGE DOOR AND HAD TO RESCHEDULE TWICE TO COMPLETE THE JOB. (THIS, AFTER RESCHEDULING THE ORIGINAL APPOINTMENT TWICE.)
Description of Work
POWERWASHED DRIVEWAY, SIDEWALK, AND GARAGE FLOOR. SEALED AFTER POWERWASH, APPLIED POLYEURETHANE INSIDE GARAGE DOOR.
Category
concrete driveways, pressure washing
Imran Q.
4.0
07/05/2005
THERE WERE SCHEDULING PROBLEMS DUE TO HIS CREW BEING UNAVAILABLE AND A MISUNDERSTANDING ON THE RE-SCHEDULED TIME. EVENTUALLY THE WORK WAS DONE. THE QUALITY OF THE WORK WAS OK. JIM, WHO COMPLETED THE WORK, WAS HARD-WORKING, PARTICULARLY GIVEN THE HEAT WAVE. UPON INSPECTION AFTER THE WORK WAS COMPLETED, I NOTICE A FEW BOARDS WERE CHIPPED OR SPLINTERED BUT CANNOT SAY FOR SURE WHETHER THAT WAS DUE TO THE PRESSURE WASHING (MAKE SURE YOU CAREFULLY CHECK OVER THE DECK BEFORE THE WORK IS DONE AND NOTE ANY IMPERFECTIONS). ALSO, THE CLEAN-UP WAS OK, BUT NOT GREAT (THE SCREEN DOOR HAD BITS OF WOOD ON IT AND THE OUTSIDE OF THE DECK HAD BITS OF WOOD STUCK TO IT (THAT COULD BE FLAKED-OFF).
Description of Work
POWER WASHED DECK & SIDE PORCH AND APPLIED PRESERVATIVE.
Category
deck cleaning
GEORGE & PATRICIA S.
5.0
05/25/2005
WORK WAS DONE FAST AND EFFICIENTLY. ONE AREA ON DECK BY POOL DIDN'T MATCH OTHER 1/2 OF DECK. I TOLD THEM ABOUT IT AND THEY WERE TO COME BACK THE NEXT DAY TO FIX IT. THEY CAME BACK THE SAME NIGHT AND IT WAS ALL FINISHED AND MATCHED PERFECTLY. THEY CORRECTED A SLIGHT PROBLEM FASTER THAN I COULD HAVE EXPECTED. HOORAY FOR THEM. THEIR PRICE WAS IN LINE WITH ONE OTHER BIDDER, AND 50% LESS THAN ANOTHER FIRM, THAT BID ON THE JOB.
Description of Work
PRESSURE WASHED TWO LARGE DECKS, OUR WOODEN FENCE AND PRESSURE WASHED OUR HOUSE.(ALUMINUM SIDING PORTION)
Category
pressure washing
DENISE T.
4.0
05/24/2005
TERRY, FROM THE DECK DOCTOR, WAS VERY RESPONSIVE VIA PHONE, TO SET UP AN APPOINTMENT FOR A FREE ESTIMATE. HE CAME OUT AND PERSONALLY MET WITH ME. HE GAVE AN ESTIMATE TO POWER WASH AND RESTAIN OUR BACKYARD DECK. UNFORTUNATELY, COMPARED TO THE 3 OTHER ESTIMATES I RECEIVED REGARDING OUR DECK, HIS WAS THE HIGHEST PRICE. HE ALSO RUNS A HANDYMAN SERVICE.
Description of Work
ESTIMATE ONLY.
Category
deck cleaning
PAIGE P.
5.0
05/12/2005
TERRY, THE OWNER, MET WITH US AND WENT OVER THE WORK TO BE DONE. HE WAS PROMPT AND PERSONABLE. THE WORKER(S) TOOK CARE OF MOVING ALL OF OUR DECK FURNITURE OFF THE DECK PRIOR TO WASHING (THIS WAS INCLUDED IN THE PRICE), SO WE DIDN'T HAVE TO BOTHER WITH ANY PREP WORK. THE WASHING AND SEALING WERE DONE VERY THOROUGHLY AND CAREFULLY; NO PIECES OF LATTICE WERE BROKEN. TERRY'S COMPANY DOESN'T USE CHEMICALS; HE IS VERY COGNIZANT OF KEEPING PLANTS, GRASS, AND ANIMALS SAFE. THE WORK ON THE PAVERS WAS ALSO DONE WELL.
Description of Work
WE HAD OUR WOOD DECK AND LATTICE POWER WASHED AND SEALED. ALSO, THE PAVER BRICKS OF OUR FRONT WALKWAY WERE POWER WASHED, AND THE GAPS BETWEEN THE PAVERS WERE FILLED WITH SAND.
Category
deck cleaning, pressure washing
KENT T.
5.0
08/27/2004
EVEN THOUGH HE DOES NOT SERVICE MY AREA, HE TOOK THE TIME TO EXPLAIN MY OPTIONS, PROVIDE RECOMMENDATIONS, AND GIVE ME A GOOD EDUCATION ABOUT DECK REPAIRS SO THAT I WOULD BE MORE KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT THE WHOLE PROCESS. I FELT THAT HE WAS VERY GENEROUS TO SPEND 10 MINUTES ON THE PHONE HELPING ME EVEN THOUGH HE WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO DO THE WORK FOR ME.
Description of Work
I CALLED FOR AN ESTIMATE, BUT THEY DO NOT SERVICE MY AREA. I LIVE TOO FAR FROM THEIR OFFICES.
Category
deck cleaning
Kat L.
4.0
08/08/2004
WE HAD A SMALL PROBLEM WITH THE JOB NOT BEING DONE CORRECTLY THE FIRST TIME AND THEY NEEDED TO COME BACK. THEY ALSO BROKE A FEW LATTICE BOARDS ON THE SIDE OF THE POOL DECK, THAT WERE NOT REPAIRED.
Description of Work
PRESSURE WASHED AND DID MINOR REPAIR TO DECK, PLAY SET AND CEMENT.
Category
deck cleaning
MICHAEL H.
5.0
10/01/2003
TERRY, THE OWNER, MET WITH US AND PROMISED THAT HIS MEN COULD RESTORE OUR DECK TO IT'S ORIGINAL CONDITION. AS PROMISED, HIS CREW DID A MARVELOUS JOB IN RAISING AND LEVELING THE DECK, REPAIRING AND REPLACING THE BOARDS, AND APPLYING 2-COATS OF STAIN. THEY WERE ALSO VERY CAREFUL OF OUR LANDSCAPING. IT WAS A PLEASURE WORKING WITH TERRY AND HIS CREW.
Description of Work
OUR LARGE, 20 YR. OLD, DECK NEEDED RE-STAINING AND HAD SUNK IN SEVERAL PLACES CAUSING THE FLOORING TO BE UNEVEN AND UNSIGHTLY. ALSO, SEVERAL BOARDS NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED OR REPLACED.
Category
deck cleaning
JOHN K.
5.0
06/04/2003
I CALLED A COUPLE OF THE COMPANIES FROM THE COUPON BOOKS, BUT THEY WERE HIGHER IN PRICE AND I JUST HAD THE FEELING I WOULD BE SCAMMED. TERRY WAS WELL VERSED IN THE 'SALES PITCH' BUT THE WORK WAS WELL DONE AND THOROUGH. I ACTUALLY HAD THEM DO SOME WORK AT MY PARENTS HOUSE TOO.
Description of Work
WE HAVE A VERY LARGE MULTI LEVEL DECK THAT WAS ABOUT 3 YEARS OVER DUE FOR CLEANING & STAINING. THEY POWERWASHED & STAINED THE DECK AND OUR MATCHING CEDAR SIDING ON THE HOUSE.
Category
deck cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    S&YPOWERCLEANING

    Welcome to S&Y's pressure washing business! We specialize in providing high-quality pressure washing services for commercial and residential properties. We offer a wide range of pressure washing service, including exterior building washing, concrete, pavement, driveway, and more. If you're looking for a reliable and efficient professional pressure washing service, look no further than us. Contact us for a free quote today!  

    Angi Certified

    Dixons Dirt Stoppers

    At Dixon's Dirt Stoppers, we believe that you work too hard to worry about a job done right. Let our IICRC certified trained technicians take a weight off your shoulders by restoring your home and maintaining it in optimal condition. Every service comes with our satisfaction guarantee. Offering Carpet Cleaning, Upholstery Cleaning, Natural Stone and Tile Cleaning, and Pressure Washing. We are serving Cook County, Orland Park, Tinley Park, Lagrange, Lagrange Park, Hickory Hills, Palos Hills, Palos Park, Oak Lawn, Western Spring and Hinsdale  

    Angi Certified

    F and A Window Cleaning

    When you call F & A Window Cleaning, Alex or Federico will be the ones answering the phone and going to your home to ensure everything is done right. With a combined experience of over 30 years servicing all of Chicagoland area, we can handle any job from window cleaning, gutter cleaning and pressure washing. We take pride in what we do! F and A Window Cleaning provides the best residential home services at the most competitive price. Our goal is to make each customer a raving fan and to earn not only their business, but that of their friends, neighbors and relatives.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    Ask for details
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Satisfication

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial power washing of decks, fences, concrete & home exteriors, deck maintenance, building & carpentry repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Deck Doctor

    How is Deck Doctor overall rated?

    Deck Doctor is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Deck Doctor open?

    Deck Doctor is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does Deck Doctor provide

    Deck Doctor accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Deck Doctor offer free estimates?

    Yes, Deck Doctor offers free project estimates.

    Does Deck Doctor offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Deck Doctor does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Deck Doctor offer a senior discount?

    No, Deck Doctor does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Deck Doctor offer emergency services?

    Yes, Deck Doctor offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Deck Doctor?

    No, Deck Doctor does not offer warranties.

    What services does Deck Doctor offer?

    Deck Doctor offers the following services: Residential & commercial power washing of decks, fences, concrete & home exteriors, deck maintenance, building & carpentry repairs.