Amruss Inc Home Improvement Company

About

Founded 1999 • With Angi since August 2001

Amruss Inc Home Improvement has been in business for more than 20 years. Everybody knows us for our professional window washing and gutter cleaning services. But besides those, we also provide the whole variety of other services like Power Washing, Deck Restoration, Garage Cleaning, Caulking and Grout services. We offer fast, high quality and professional services with affordable pricing. We value every customer and strive to provide the best service possible. Award-winning. Additional DBA - Amruss Inc. Cost is determined by the job....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Minority Owned & OperatedMinority Owned & Operated
LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+18 more images

Verified Reviews

4.6

(4265) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

3201

4

541

3

224

2

126

1

173

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

window cleaning (2511)gutter cleaning (1414)pressure washing (404)handyman (202)window replacement (170)professional organizers (116)gutter repair (85)screen repair (21)roof cleaning (12)leaf removal (12)snow removal (2)skylight installation (1)
Showing 1-25 of 4265 reviews
2.0

08/02/2022


Li L.

Two people took 4.5 hours to complete the whole job, including windows inside and outside, storm windows, screens, and tracks. They did not communicate clearly how they would do the work. They were not careful with furniture and walls. They leaned dirty screens against furniture. The glass cleaning was OK, not very thorough. They left dirt on the storm window frames. They left two cracked windows and did not explain well. Overall I would not recommend this company.

Description of Work
Window cleaning

Category replacement windows

Cost $920

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2022

2.0

05/09/2022


Luke H.

Their agent did about 10 min. of work and charged $154.00..

Description of Work
Gutter Inspection and Cleaning

Category carpet cleaners, gutter cleaning

Cost $154

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/07/2022

5.0

04/05/2022


Joseph M.

Excellent job on a 3000 sq ft home needing gutter cleaning, inside and outside window cleaning, with old storm windows in marginal condition. Crew was on time, worked diligently despite issues with the old storm windows, and meticulously cleaned multiple layered windows, bay windows, and storm windows and screens. Kept to promised estimate (which was very reasonable) despite job taking longer than planned. Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
gutter and window cleaning

Category gutter cleaning, window cleaning

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/04/2022

4.0

02/26/2021


Darlene J.

They were okay, reasonably priced and the service was just okay.

Description of Work
Gutter cleaning and window washing

Category gutter cleaning, window cleaning

Cost $140

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2020

5.0

02/17/2021


Tim C.

I would definitely use them again for this service. They were very professional and did a great job cleaning the roof. They even showed me a picture of the roof afterwards since I couldn't see it from the ground.

Description of Work
Snow and ice removal from roof.

Category carpet cleaners, roof snow removal

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/17/2021

1.0

12/27/2020


Toni S.

This company does not do snow removal in my area.

Description of Work
I wanted to contract for snow removal.

Category snow removal

Work Completed On 12/14/2020

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], We are working for a snow removal service only in limited areas: Buffalo Grove, Lincolnshire, Vernon Hills, Deerfield, Vernon Hills, Riverwoods, Long Grove. It gives us an opportunity to provide high-quality service on time. Any other type of service we are proving everywhere in Chicagoland and Suburbs areas. Unfortunately, we are not able to set up limited areas on this website for snow removal services. But we will be happy to assist you with any other project in the future!
5.0

12/03/2020


GLEN F.

Great. Worker arrived timely had own ladder and blower Took 1/2 hour. Had bag with leaves for disposal Wore a mask and showed me pics of my clean gutters Had 10% off deal was a bargain

Description of Work
Clean 1st and 2nd floor gutters

Category gutter cleaning, air duct cleaning

Cost $90

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/02/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your amazing review. We appreciate your kind words about our company. We work really hard to provide you best service. We will be glad to see you next time. It was a pleasure doing service for you!
1.0

12/01/2020


Gail P.

Their ladders were not tall enough to complete the required work

Description of Work
Install Christmas lights on outdoor tree

Category holiday decorators

Work Completed On 12/01/2020

Service Provider Response

We are not providing service in Wisconsin, we are working only in Chicagoland and Suburbs area. We have different ladders sizes up to 48``. You probably had a deal with some other company. Have a wonderful day!
5.0

11/26/2020


David H.

Amruss offered to come the next day - which was the Thanksgiving holiday ! They came and performed the service at 8 am, and got the job done. Invoice sent by email immediately. Their payment web page to pay with my credit card was easy and clear.

Description of Work
gutter cleaning

Category gutter cleaning

Cost $127

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/26/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], it was our pleasure to do a service for you. Thank you very much for your amazing review. We will be more than happy to work with you in the future again.
3.0

11/17/2020


Shamontiel V.

On 9/30/2020: Usually I just tell the truth and go about my day on Yelp, but this one is a bit more disappointing to write because I'd given them a 5-star review. A month after they finished deck repairs, replacing steps, power washing and staining, we have three loose steps with the nail clearly poking through or a gap between the vertical and horizontal areas. Either these brackets were not secured enough in the first place or the brackets were just sprayed without checking how strong they were. Either way, I've waited SIX DAYS to see if someone would respond to fix this issue. I called four times and sent at least three emails. Their warranty apparently doesn't hold any weight. We have no problem with paying for it, but this is far too short of a timeframe for us to be dealing with new stair problems after they were here a month ago. I did not expect to contact them again until 2021 for new power washing and staining. The whole idea of the first job was to make sure ALL of the stairs were in good condition, ALL of the nails were secure and ALL of the brackets were rust-free, in addition to power washing and staining. I'm going to look elsewhere to fix these stairs. Up until this point, I really did think they did a great job. I would've recommended them to anyone. Now? Nope. (One of the reps also came out to fix the downspout. Not exactly the friendliest guy you'll ever meet, but he worked fast. Because I already knew cleanup wasn't their best attribute, I stayed in the parking lot to clean up as he worked. He only needed maybe 10-15 minutes, asked how I was paying and was outta there. No "thank you for your business" or even a "you're welcome" after I said "thank you." So far, so good on the spout though.) Original: I spent more than two months trying to find the right company that could handle deck repairs, power washing, wood step replacement, cement-to-deck post replacements, staining/sealing, and bracket repairs. Originally this job was supposed to be split out between three different companies because it became impossible to find one company who had the manpower and time to do it all, and the prices were mind boggling. After checking one potential directory, this was one of the companies that was a no-show on estimate day. I refused to work with them anymore and turned them down flat for a revisit. But the owner sent such a nice apology email, and then two reps (Vadim and Nik) said they would come over in 30 minutes. I still 100% planned to say "no." But Vadim and Nik were so informative, polite and just all-around nice guys, so it threw me off. My "absolutely not" became "maybe," and then I looked at past reviews. Then my "maybe" talk with the board became a "yes," especially after finding out that they could do ALL the work. These two guys were the lead with a team of six who came in and out as needed, working in their specialty areas. One specialized in posts. Others were good at brackets. Then there were power washers and painters. When sanding/smoothing steps didn't work out, then came with the wood. They worked NONSTOP when they got here, to the point where I had to tell them at 7-8 p.m. that at some point, they would either need a flashlight or need to go home. And they were trying to get the week-long job done in five days. To my delight, we got the city violation off for the deck repairs, and the inspector was even impressed with their work, complimenting quite a bit of it. I couldn't be more relieved. Cons: Because they worked SO hard, I'm burying this at the bottom. Sometimes they had a habit of coming an hour or two later than they originally started. But this was usually due to office visits or home improvement store visits ahead of time. I wouldn't have cared at all if I wasn't directed to get owners/tenants out of the parking lot. That became an extremely annoying job to do, especially when the car owners pointed out that the workers weren't even there yet. They're also not the greatest at cleaning up afterward. We had sawdust everywhere (the power washing on the last two days got rid of most of it), empty boxes, water bottles, two slabs of wood and a bunch of buckets. I too often found brackets laying around, which was risky considering kids live here (and are clumsy). After a bit of nagging, they got better. Because we "paid" for all the supplies, they sat most of the leftovers by the recycling containers. I would've much preferred that they ask if we wanted them to trash it, considering I know what our recycling company will/won't pick up. At least two times, I posted remaining items on Craigslist. I'd rather pay the fee for them to completely get rid of all unneeded items, or at least give us the option, instead of just leaving it there for me to see outside after they were gone. But again, nagging about Caution tape, pointing out extra wood on steps and a few buckets in random spots was enough to make them move it (or for anxious Craigslist people to scoop it up within minutes). FINAL THOUGHTS: But they did SO much work in such a short time, including Vadim working on his birthday and accompanying me across the alley to stand guard against an irate neighbor; Nik working nonstop against wood/angle brackets that took forever to come off; and the owner's son stopping his tasks to help me take something down for a Craigslist user. I would hire them for EVERY single thing they are qualified to do moving forward, even with those minor cons. I really wish I'd have known how they work because I would've hired them for one other upcoming job, but it's too late now because the deposit was already sent. If I have to grumble about leftover trash/recyclables and get Amruss' level of quality for these reasonable prices, hand me the broom. I'll take it!

Description of Work
Power washing, staining, sealing, deck repair

Category decks, deck cleaning, pressure washing

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2020

Images

Review for Amruss Inc Home Improvement Company	 - 1040 S Milwaukee Ave, Wheeling, IL - 39031255

+2 More

5.0

10/01/2020


Marge T.

2 workers showed up on time and did an excellent job

Description of Work
Window washing- inside and out

Category window cleaning, air duct cleaning

Cost $225

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2020

5.0

08/13/2020


KAREN H.

Amruss does fine work. They are professional and prompt. Their prices are reasonable.

Description of Work
Many small projects

Category gutter cleaning, handyman service, window cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/13/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your amazing review. We appreciate your kind words about our company. We work really hard to provide you best service. We will be glad to see you next time. It was a pleasure doing service for you
1.0

06/24/2020


Annette S.

stains did not go away. Too much power on pressure wash damaged roof

Description of Work
Removal of roof stains

Category roofing, air duct cleaning, pressure washing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for leaving a review for our company. We came to your house and we fixed that mistake. But we apologize for any inconvenience.
5.0

06/22/2020


Michelle W.

Contacted me within 24 hours to arrange gutter cleaning on my mom's home in Mount Prospect, IL. Since my mom is elderly, I didn't realize she had screens on her gutters. The service technicians were able to work around this and did a great job cleaning out her gutters. Mom was impressed with the service she received. I told her I've always had a great experience with Amruss.

Description of Work
Gutter Cleaning

Category gutter cleaning

Cost $80

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for a great review of our service! We greatly appreciate it and look forward to work with you again in the near future.
5.0

05/28/2020


Marianne G.

Perfectly! Windows were clean with no streaks. Both the office and the washer are efficient and courteous.

Description of Work
Wash outside windows

Category window cleaning, air duct cleaning

Cost $92

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/19/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for a great review of our service! We greatly appreciate it and look forward to work with you again in the near future.
5.0

03/05/2020


Mark P.

Constantine and Alex arrived exactly as scheduled. My home’s windows are a bit odd -- the screens are screwed into frames, and the lower half of the windows tilt inward. So it’s not easy to remove the screens and clean the outside of the windows in a typical manner. Once I explained all this to Constantine and Alex, they got to work. Alex and Constantine split up the work and got all the windows and screens looking great! They were quite filthy because of construction behind our home. Now I have a clear view of the outside. I ask Amruss in Wheeling every year (even twice a year when I can) to clean my windows and screens. They always do a great job. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
My windows and screens needed cleaning.

Category window cleaning

Cost $85

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for such a great review of our service. Our goal is your satisfaction! We try very hard to deliver the best service and experience to our customers. Thank you again and we are looking forward to servicing you again in the near future!
5.0

12/09/2019


Charlene K.

They arrived on time and did whatever I asked. He was very friendly and professional. It was a small job but I still felt my business was appreciated.

Description of Work
2nd floor lights put up

Category window cleaning, holiday decorators

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/14/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for a great review of our service! We greatly appreciate it and look forward to work with you again in the near future.
1.0

11/17/2019


Donna S.

I was told a technician would come on Sat. Nov. 2 to give a quote. The technician arrived on time and I walked him around to the back to point out algae that was on the North side of the building. I asked if he could remove it. He said it would be no problem. I asked if he used chemicals and he said he used only water. He indicated he would charge $250 to clean the building and $130 to clean the deck. I thought the charge to do the deck was too high and negotiated with the office to reduce it to $100. I agreed to pay $350 when the job was completed. Although it was only 40 degrees and windy, the technician offered to do the job that day. I observed that he used a ladder to get onto the deck, and stood on the deck to wash the upper most parts of the building. Later, when I went to check on his progress in the back, I observed he was using his pressure wand to clean the pavers on my yard patio. I stopped him and asked him why he was cleaning the patio. He said he thought he was supposed to clean the back deck too. I told him that he was only supposed to be cleaning the vinyl siding. In retrospect I think he must have included the cleaning of the pavers in the back which explained why the charge to clean the deck was so high. I observed that he used a ladder in the back to reach the uppermost parts of the back of the building. By the time he was finished, the office was closed so I indicated I would pay after I talked to the office. I sent a text message to the office to let them know I had some concerns. Olga called me on Sunday and I told her that the technician had mistakenly started to clean the pavers in the back yard and having 1/4 of the pavers clean and the rest dirty looked terrible. Additionally, I observed several areas on the north side that still had algae and spots he missed on near the top of the trim on the south side. I sent pictures to show the problems. Olga indicated she needed to talk to the owner and would get back to me. She called the next day to say she would send a technician to clean the rest of the patio and clean the spots the tech missed on the house. She indicated that this would be dependent on the weather which would have to be above freezing. A technician came on Sat. Nov. 16. He asked me to point out the places he missed on the building. I showed him the places that still had algae and he said it would be impossible to clean now. He said it was too cold and if he washed the building, the water would spray him and he would freeze. He said he would need a ladder to reach some spots and he could not use a ladder on the snow. I understood this and I asked what they would do about these spots and he said I should call the office to get a discount for the parts he could not clean. Then I showed him the front of the building and pointed out the spots that were still dirty. He said that the dirty spots were shadows not dirt and he cleaned it the best he could. I told him that the building looked worse now because before he cleaned it, at least it looked uniform. Now the dirty spots stood out. He became defensive and said the spots I referred to were shadows and he could not clean shadows. He agreed to clean the pavers in the back so that they would be a uniform color. When he finished I said the pavers looked much better but I pointed out that there was a lot of dirt that had splashed up onto the garage and I asked him to rinse it off. He indicated he would. He then called his office and spoke to someone in a foreign language and then handed his phone to me. I told the man on the phone that the technician indicated it was not safe to get on a ladder to clean the building so I was requesting a discount since the building had not been cleaned properly. At this time the technician started his pressure washer but the wand was lying on the patio and pointed at me. It began whipping around uncontrollably and I had to jump out of the way. The technician tried to grab the hose but suddenly shouted out in pain. He managed to shut the machine off but he was clutching his hand and running back and forth groaning and clearly in pain. I asked if I should call 911. He said he though his bones were broken and he opened his hand. His palm had a gash across it. I told him I’d get something to clean it. I brought him in to the utility sink and gave him a wound cleaning solution and dressed his wound with gauze and tape. I insisted he leave to see a doctor because I thought he might need a Tetnus shot, antibiotic and perhaps stitches. I told him to forget about rinsing off the garage. He insisted on finishing. I gave him a Nitrile glove to wear to keep the dressing dry. Only by luck was I able to avoid being slashed by the pressure washer. To make matters worse when I texted the office to let them know that they should encourage him to get medical treatment, Olga called me and told me not to worry about it and that I owed them the full amount of $350 because the spots on the building were shadows and not possible to clean. She said they washed my pavers for free so there was no discount. She said if I wanted a discount, she would charge me $600 for washing the building, deck and pavers and give me a $100 discount. She asked, “How would you like to pay $500 instead of $350?” She talked (shouted) over me when I explained the pavers were cleaned to correct a mistake they made and cleaning my pavers cost me money since I now had to purchase and apply paving sand that was removed by the pressure washing. Olga shouted at me that if I did not pay the entire $350 she would charge me with theft of service. If you are considering using Amruss for any service consider their attention to safety and customer service and determine if it’s worth it. I still need the algae cleaned off the building and now I will have to wait until Spring to have the service performed correctly.

Description of Work
I requested a quote to pressure wash the north and south sides of my vinyl sided two flat and a separate quote to pressure wash a small Trex deck on the south side of the second floor.

Category pressure washing

Cost $350

Work Completed On 11/02/2019

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Information Removed], Thank you very much for such a detailed review. We understand that you wanted to express your dissatisfaction with our service, but some of the information in your review is not fully correct and accurate. Our office staff and technician communicated with you multiple times about those spots on your siding. We tried our best to explain that some of the spots, are impossible to remove with power washing and other spots which appear darker, are shadows under fascia and soffit of your roof and those always will appear darker. In addition to multiple, long and detailed conversations with you, to make it right and make you happy, we power washed your patio plus walk to the patio for free ($300 worth service). Summarizing everything, we did services worth $680 for you, we always stayed in touch, addressed all of your requests, issues, and concerns, but you still refuse to pay the amount you originally agreed to pay over the phone, which is $350 and demand a discount which cannot be and will not be granted. We provided you a discount of $30 for service even before starting a job and did additional services for free. We believe that it’s more than fair to pay for the labor of our technician who spent a lot of hours throughout 2 days working very hard at your house and did everything possible to make your house look better. We also hoped you would have a little bit more realistic expectations and understanding that power washing is not a uniform treatment that can remove all stains from siding including rust or old stains. We would greatly appreciate it if you could pay the agreed amount of $350 as soon as possible and in the future maybe you should consider using a different company who would be a better fit for you and your specific needs. Thank you again for letting us know about your concerns in all possible forms and, please, let us know if you need any help with the payment process, or have any questions besides those about spots.
5.0

11/04/2019


Juan M.

Fast!! They reached out within an hour or two on a Saturday, and the job was done before noon the following Monday! They also provided an estimate for installing gutter screens. Olga was very nice, easy to talk to, and quick to follow up on everything. Very impressed!

Description of Work
Gutter cleaning

Category gutter cleaning

Cost $114

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/04/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for a great review of our service! We greatly appreciate it and look forward to work with you again in a near future.
4.0

09/21/2019


Marty E.

One worker was sent out to my home. He worked quickly and did all that I asked. He could not complete both gutter cleaning and window washing in the 1 hour allotted, and he seemed in a rush, especially when I added on the garage gutters that I thought I had ordered but of which he was unaware. A little cleaning up was required of me for debris dropped outside the bucket. Otherwise, the work was done satisfactorily. and he was polite and accommodating.

Description of Work
Gutter cleaning Window washing

Category gutter cleaning, window cleaning

Cost $204

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that it seemed our tech was in a rush. We usually schedule every order with plenty of time for completion, and the tech had more than 1 hour open for you, so gutter cleaning on a garage should not be a problem at all. However, If the garage is detached usually gutter cleaning on a garage is a separate service and is charged separately because garage is not a part of a house gutter line and not all separate garages have gutters on them. Sorry for the misunderstanding and we appreciate your time.
5.0

08/29/2019


Thomas L.

They came out and did a great job. They were great.

Description of Work
Gutters

Category gutter cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for A rating of our services. We look forward to working with you again in the near future.
5.0

08/23/2019


Lawrence H.

Great guys, thorough, all went well.

Description of Work
Cleaning gutters

Category gutter cleaning

Services Performed? Yes