Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Best Home Renovations Inc

Founded 1997 • With Angi since July 2010

4.9

(150) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

111 Orchard Rd

Wheaton, IL 60189

Description

Since 1997, Steve Best has operated as a master installer. Our mission is to bring his mastery of traditional Italian tile setting skills to a client base that values superior craftsmanship and customer service. Best Home Renovations now manages multiple master level tile setters, skilled carpenters, electricians and plumbers, and has expanded its services to include full bathroom and kitchen remodeling services. Our company continues to be family owned and managed. We invite you to experience our Award Winning service and craftsmanship....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/19/2020


Holly J.

We had our master bath completely reconfigured, which was no small job. Steve and his team of pros did quality work in a timely manner. They were very mindful of protecting our home, and very respectful of our wishes for everyone to follow covid safety protocols. There were the typical hiccups that come with this kind of job, but Steve handled everything professionally, and made everything right. Working with Steve's partner designer, Jennifer worked out well - she has excellent taste, and managed the logistics associated with product ordering and delivery. We are very happy with the end result, and hope to be working with him again soon on our hall bath.

Description of Work
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom

Category home remodeling

5.0

12/07/2020


April R.

My newly installed kitchen cabinets look wonderful! I also had a new floor installed and ceiling work done along with walls painted. Everything looks great. Along with superb craftsmanship in carpentry, painters, electrical work and plumbing there was a respectful and considerate atmosphere while in my home. Steve and Rebecca were always efficient and on top of every detail of my remodeling needs. I highly recommend Best Home Renovations.

Description of Work
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom

Category home remodeling

5.0

11/23/2020


Mark A.

Steve and his team did a great job, very happy to have contracted with him for our master bathroom. Removed tub and installed stand-up shower with inset shelving, reworked plumbing for a larger vanity and toilet re-positioning, and added radiant heat under the floor. I'd highly recommend him for any interior project, straight forward and very personable as well.

Description of Work
Master bath redesign

Category ceramic tile, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

10/13/2020


Michael T.

We hired Best Home Renovations to install a tile backsplash in our kitchen, and we could not have been happier with the project. From the outset, Best Home was communicative and informative, and the information provided by them went a long way in making sure our project was done correctly. Most importantly, the workmanship was excellent. We would absolutely hire Best Home Reno again!

Description of Work
Installed kitchen backsplash

Category ceramic tile

5.0

06/01/2020


Yvonne V.

The whole process went smoothly. Work was done in a timely manner with no issues. Floor looks great.

Description of Work
remove hardwood floor and replaced with tile.

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

We truly enjoyed working with this client and the result was absolutely beautiful. Thank you for trusting us with your remodel!

5.0

02/28/2020


Wendy P.

This was our first remodel in over 20 years. We were very pleased with every aspect of the remodel. Steve and his team were extremely courteous and respectful of being in our home, as my husband works from home. They were very neat and touched based daily before they left. While every home project runs into minor issues, any ones that arose were quickly dealt with. We have contracted with them to start our kitchen renovation and know using Best Home Reno will be the right decision.

Description of Work
Remodeled two bathrooms and installed new basement ceiling and lighting.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the review! We very much look forward to starting your kitchen remodel shortly!

5.0

11/20/2019


CATHERINE D.

Excellent workmanship and timely completion. Steve and Alex were dependable and efficient. But here's what's really impressive: They offered to come back to install our mirror - one that I put off ordering and finally received weeks later. Would they really come back even though we had paid in full? Yes!! I don't know about you, but we've had great difficultly with other companies returning after final payments have been made. Communication is the key, and their Client Service Manager, Rebecca, was excellent in that regard. She also helped us make our tile choices. Overall, a great company.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate you trusting us with your project and are so pleased that you are happy with our service and results. We hope to work with you again in the future!

5.0

10/04/2019


Patrick M.

The renovations went well. A few hiccups as with all projects, and they were handled professionally and promptly. All contractors in my house were professional, and his suggestions when anything came up were both appreciated and helpful. As other projects start to come up in the house, I do plan on giving Best Home Renovations a call to at the very least bid on them.

Description of Work
Bathroom renovations in (3) bathrooms

Category ceramic tile, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the kind words and we look forward to working with you again in the future!

5.0

07/26/2019


Rick E.

We were extremely satisfied with the bathroom renovation completed by Best Home Renovations. We had an extensive job done with all tile, fixtures, vanity, lighting, exhaust fan, bath & shower, and toilet removed and replaced. It turned out beautiful and exceeded our expectations. Every person who entered our home was professional, courteous. The lead person on our project was Alex. He is the nicest guy, and truly cares about his work. He was meticulous every step of the way. He is knowledgeable about everything and is truly an expert at the many things he does. Rebecca Rohan is the office manager and liaison to the clients. She made sure we were always up to date with scheduling of each phase, and is an excellent communicator. She was very good about answering our questions and always returned calls or emails quickly. Steve Best is the owner and is very honest and trustworthy. He and his crew of experts will not disappoint-and we highly recommend them to anyone interested in a home renovation. We were so happy we plan on having them remodel our master bathroom next.

Description of Work
Hall Bathroom Renovation

Category ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks so very much for being a dream to work with and also for taking the time to post a review! We look forward to working with you again soon and are so pleased that you're happy with your new bathroom.

1.0

07/03/2019


ANITA C.

Didn't hire--he forgot to show up for an appointment for an estimate.

Description of Work
remodeling of laundry/utility room

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are sorry to confirm that we did miss this appointment. We responded immediately when alerted that the estimator didn’t arrive to the appointment as that was truly out of character for him. We offered our sincere apologies and offered to reschedule at the client’s convenience. We also followed up via email a second time and never heard back from the client. Unfortunately, we were not given the opportunity to make things right. We are human and sometimes make mistakes, but we also believe that we can show our true character in handling them with honesty and humility.

5.0

02/26/2019


Mike M.

Very happy, done on time and top quality workmanship.

Description of Work
Master bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Absolutely a pleasure working with you and we hope you enjoy the new bathroom for years to come!

5.0

12/06/2018


Michelle D.

Excellent this was the second time I used Best and it went very smoothly. the install of the floor, cabinets, sink was perfect and their responsiveness to any questions was friendly , helful and timely. I would recommend.

Description of Work
Laundry room Remodel

Category ceramic tile

5.0

11/12/2018


John P.

We just finished a Master Bath renovation in a 1987 constructed home. It was the original bath and was in need of a thorough remodel. I was very pleased with the ease with which the project progressed. Steve was hands-on from the beginning. Steve was easy to work with, easy to talk to and accommodated my in-process design changes without issue. Steve's crew were equally as polite and efficient as Steve. His painter (Paul?) worked minor miracles painting the stained trim white. It looks fantastic. Perhaps the best part of the process was the constant communication with Rebecca! Always informative. Always thorough. Always professional. Always timely. In fact the project went so well, we are planning to have Steve remodel the hall bath. We found Steve Best through researching contractor feedback on Angie's List site. I know you will find Steve Best to be as good as his name suggests!

Description of Work
Master Bath Renovation

Category ceramic tile, electrician, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We so enjoyed working with you and very much look forward to the next project! Thank you.

5.0

10/08/2018


James D.

Steve and his crew did an excellent job. What I thought was most impressive was how important it was to him to listen and do everything possible to please his customer. I would recommend them 100 percent.

Description of Work
Total bathroom renovation

Category ceramic tile, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Your bathroom turned out beautifully and we very much look forward to working with you again soon. Thanks for the continued business and great review!

3.0

09/20/2018


RICHARD S.

We had Best Home Renovations update our large (15’ X 15’) master bath earlier this year. All old fixtures were removed and replaced. All old tiles were taken out. The shower was removed and enlarged and a new soaker tub replaced the old jetted tub. There were new vanities and sinks installed, new toilet, tiles etc. I have to be honest and say that a few weeks into the renovation we wondered if maybe the job was too big for the Best team. Or maybe they were busy and in a hurry. They are a very nice, personable group but we were disappointed with the workmanship. After a few weeks I think they thought we were being too picky and we felt their work wasn’t up to par. We realize that major renovations are stressful but our project seemed more stressful than it needed to be. We had to ask that several shower wall and floor tiles be removed and replaced because a row of wall tiles were caved in around one area and some corners of the small floor tiles in the shower stuck up. They were sharp and I couldn’t imagine being barefoot on those tiles. After we started using the shower, we noticed a low spot behind the drain where water accumulates and doesn’t run to the drain. We decided just to use a squeegee in that area where the water stands rather than have several tiles removed to fix the problem that would perhaps compromise the water proof barrier underneath the tiles. For the main floor we used quality 12” x 24” tiles that had straight edges and needed to be laid evenly and with care. We had to ask that several of those tiles be replaced. A number of them were not level with adjacent tiles and the sharp corners stuck up because they were placed higher than the tile next to it. Some tiles are sunken and some are raised. All of our old tile had been removed at the start of the project and Best put down cement board over the entire floor so they should have had an even floor to work with. Also, we saw just a few spacers used when the bathroom floor and shower tile was set. After the tiling was finished in the shower floor, a section of the floor by the drain squeaked when walked on. I needed to complain to have that problem fixed. I don’t think the Best carpenter was able to patch the subfloor well enough after the plumber put in the drain. The shower floor was flexing when walked on and made the P-trap below rub against the floor joist. The P-trap (installed by the plumber, not Best) was too close to the joist but it seems like the floor shouldn’t have flexed enough to cause the movement and rubbing in the first place. The ceiling on the first floor below the shower had to be cut open and Best trimmed around the P-trap so it wouldn’t touch the floor joist. Alex and Steve were about to close up the hole in the ceiling when I asked them to stop. I told them that the floor was still going to flex and so the original problem wasn’t solved. I asked them to add more support to the underside of the shower floor while it was exposed from below. That would not have been fixed if I wasn’t there. Best supported the area and later patched and painted the ceiling below the shower so that issue was eventually solved. Best installed a wall exhaust fan but after we began using the fan it made a loud clicking sound. We couldn’t figure out why. I eventually found the installation instructions for the fan and it said, in capital letters, NOT to install the fan in a wall. Best replaced it with an appropriate fan made to go in a wall. I think we expected more care and precision in their work. The reviews on Angie’s List were very positive and the major reason we chose Best for our project. Our feeling is that the new bathroom is pretty as long as you don’t look too closely at the work. We give Best credit for re-doing the work that we asked them to do. It would have been much better though if the jobs were done right the first time.

Description of Work
Master bath renovation

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

While we appreciate the time the client took to write this detailed review, we respectfully disagree with his representation of the quality of the work. All work was done to code by licensed plumbers, electricians, carpenters, and tile setters and passed inspection accordingly. We have been back to the home repeatedly after the job was finished to reset tiles at the client's request. We're so sorry to hear that the client is not fully satisfied as we went above and beyond to address any and all concerns. The end result is quite beautiful and we wish the homeowner could enjoy the space.

5.0

07/30/2018


Margie F.

The project consisted of removal of a big old whirlpool tub, installing new tile throughout the bathroom and closets, installing a freestanding soaker tub, and replacing the drywall where the old whirlpool had been. Rebecca was super responsive in updating us on the scheduling of the job. The entire process went smoothly with the exception of a slight delay caused by a supplier, not the remodeler. Steve and Alex were were prompt, professional and polite. We are extremely happy with the quality of the work they did and will surely recommend them.

Description of Work
Update Master Bathroom

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the great review and we are so happy to hear that you love your new bathroom!

5.0

12/05/2017


Aileen G.

Each step of the way, they checked with us to be sure we were satisfied with how the work progressed. The bathroom looks terrific! I highly recommend them!

Description of Work
I can't say enough good things about this company. We contacted Best Home Renovations, Inc. when we had problems with a 7 year old bath renovation done by another contractor. Steve responded promptly, evaluated the problem and proposed a plan for correcting it without hesitation. He discussed what the problems and pitfalls might be and how he would address each. When work started, his crew was timely, neat and efficient. Though they had to take down the glass shower enclosure and later put it back up, tear out the shower tile and shower pan and rebuild it, you would never know the final work was not original. They were also able to replace the poorly installed vanity cabinet and still use the counter top and vessel sink which they had removed without any damage.

Category ceramic tile, plumbing, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you! You were a pleasure to work with!

5.0

08/21/2017


Michael W.

Another fantastic job! I can not recommend Steve enough. He pays attention to the little things, the workmanship is amazing and the cleanup is perfect. Great people to work with!

Description of Work
Had Steve back to tile my mud room.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the kind words! We look forward to working with you again.

5.0

06/03/2017


Michael W.

This guys did a great job updating my Kitchen and 3-bathrooms. They showed up on time, went over the planned work to the day and completed the work when then said they would. While reinstalling a toilet, they noticed an old shut off value was leaking. They replaced the value. These guys do solid work on time and the outcome was actually better than I thought it would be. I will use them again.

Description of Work
Kitchen and 3-batrooms re-tiled.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! We look forward to working with you again soon.

5.0

05/30/2017


Ken T.

At the end of 2016 I contacted Steve at Best Home Renov. for a quote about having my bathroom remodeled. The bathrooom is a full bath that needed everything (except a tub and toilet). Steve was professional and assured me and the wife that type of job was his bread and butter and could knock it out quickly as it was our only bathroom. (Condo). The price was the best we received and I felt the most comfortable with his knowledge/reviews here. We ended up contracting him to start the project the second week of May '17. Due to some crew issues, Steve was not able to start till 2 days later. I'm not going to gig him on this...stuff happens....and his office stayed in touch to advise us of what was going on. Steve, Bob, and Alex all showed up on time everyday and our bathroom was finished in 5 work days with 1 day set aside for painting. Here is my only "knock" on Best Home Renovations.....their painter....no good. The painting is subcontracted out and is no reflection on Steve's crew. The painter came in and simply just painted the walls and ceiling without any repair work/sanding/plaster...nada. The bathroom was demo-Ed and paint just rolled on. The majority of flaws are hidden behind a mirror/vanity but when you're a little OCD like myself...I stare at them as soon as I walk in. I contacted BHR and they were more than willing to have their painter come back out and correct it the best he could. They came out and brought it back to "good enough". I would without a doubt hire BHR again, BUT I'd be using my own painter.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciated your no nonsense approach and patience as we worked through the painting issues. We absolutely look forward to working with you again!

5.0

05/17/2017


Danny C.

Highly recommend Steve and his crew! They accurately predicted the start and end date of the project. They worked every day all day to complete the remodel on schedule. They were professional, courteous and very skilled in all aspects of the remodel. Very high quality work. Couldn't be happier!

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, electrician, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Sincere thanks for the opportunity to work with you and for taking a moment to write such a nice review. We hope to work with you again in the future!

5.0

04/26/2017


Christopher G.

Highly recommend! Our master bathroom was very dated. Best Home Renovations gave us the most competitive out of 3 quotes. They started the project quickly and were on schedule the entire time. Steve and his team were very friendly and professional. The bathroom is beautiful and the experience was great. Currently, we are using them again to gut and remodel our hallway bathroom.

Description of Work
Master bath remodel.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much. We truly strive to make each client happy and absolutely love to have repeat clients as nice as you!

5.0

04/20/2017


Kathryn C.

Steve and his crew were wonderful to work with and have completed high quality work. Steve has relieved a lot of stress from our lives with his "can do" attitude and problem solving. We had a vision for our master bathroom and Steve made it come to life and quickly. Due to a few other items needing to be completed in the bathroom prior to the tile work being completed, we had a take a pause in the project and Steve was very willing to accommodate our schedules. Even better, the tile work looks fantastic and we are so excited to have our bathroom completed.

Description of Work
We were in the midst of a master bathroom renovation when we called Steve. My husband had planned to DIY all of the work and then realized that he may have bit off a bit too much and that the tile work would take a long time. We called Best Home Renovations and a few other companies for estimates to complete the tile work (floor tile, shower floor tile, shower wall tile, tub surround tile, vanity backsplash tile).

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We enjoyed working with you and your husband.

5.0

03/30/2017


Zachary C.

Working with Steve and Alex was great. They were timely, clean and did a wonderful job on both my fireplace and bathroom floor. They updated my fireplace by installing tile on the face and hearth of the fireplace and installing my new mantle. They both had good design suggestions on how to trim out the fireplace on the sides and front of the hearth. They removed the bathroom floor tile, prepared the sub floor properly and installed our ceramic tile in a diamond pattern as we requested. Steve also suggested the appropriate grout colors to give us the best final results on our project. Steve even suggested I not have him install a certain shower curtain rob that would require drilling into glass tile in the shower because he knew it would ruin the glass tile. Steve purchased and installed a proper tension rod for our shower curtain. Planning and setup of the work to be performed was communicated through Rebecca who was friendly and responsive to questions and concerns. All in all, The Best Home Renovations (Steve, Alex & Rebecca) did a great job with our project. We are very pleased and would highly recommend to anyone looking for tile job or other home renovations.

Description of Work
Removal of Fireplace Mantle, Prep brick fireplace for tile, Tile of Fireplace to ceiling, Tile of Fireplace Hearth, Removal of Bathroom floor tile and sub floor, Prep of sub floor and tiling of bathroom floor.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, fireplaces, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Your fireplace looks fantastic and we're so happy to hear that you're happy with the work! Thanks so much for choosing us and we hope to have the opportunity to work with you again.

2.0

03/27/2017


Patricia M.

Did not get past the quote phase. Contractor was late showing up. Ran in and in a hurry through out a number. Didn't bother to measure. Told us to go to a certain store to purchase the tile we wanted (we had the exact manufacturer and tile we knew we wanted.) Wild goose chase. Drove over to the tile store, waiting 30 minutes to talk to a designer to learn they don't carry that brand of tile. We used someone else who was $1000.00 less.

Description of Work
Kitchen backsplash.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

We strive to provide the best service for our clients and getting a response like this is upsetting. We made every effort to accommodate your schedule and provided a free written proposal. Steve measures every job for square footage and your project was no exception.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Floorscape Design

    Here at Floorscape Design we specialize in hardwood floor installation and hardwood floor refinishing (resanding). We are a family own business and offer nothing but the best.  

    Hardwood Floor Masters

    Established in 1984, family owned/operated, & a 2017 Super Service Award winner-- Gerry specializes in hardwood flooring services in the Chicagoland and has provided great customer satisfaction for years. The Hardwood Floor Masters give prompt, professional service for both residential and commercial business customers. Since we were established, we’ve handled every type of hardwood floor challenge you can imagine-- from simple hardwood floor installations; to more complex repairs, to floor sanding, refinishing, and restoration of damaged hardwood floors. If you need a new hardwood floor, we will bring samples right to your home, so you can easily find the type of hardwood floor that will fit your home and lifestyle. If you have an existing hardwood floor that needs to be refinished or repaired, we will make it look like new, guaranteed. Gerry offers FREE in home consultations so give The Hardwood Floor Masters a call today!  

    Monroy Hardwood Flooring

    Locally owned and operated company with over 30 years of experience. Owner onsite for every project from start to finish. We want to make all your flooring dreams come true. Do not hesitate to call or text for services.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Monroy Hardwood Flooring on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Remodeling. Flooring. Tile. Mosaics. Maintenance. Repairs. Marble & granite. Electrical.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Best Home Renovations Inc

    How is Best Home Renovations Inc overall rated?

    Best Home Renovations Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Best Home Renovations Inc open?

    Best Home Renovations Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Best Home Renovations Inc provide

    Best Home Renovations Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Best Home Renovations Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Best Home Renovations Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Best Home Renovations Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Best Home Renovations Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Best Home Renovations Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Best Home Renovations Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Best Home Renovations Inc?

    Yes, Best Home Renovations Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Best Home Renovations Inc offer?

    Best Home Renovations Inc offers the following services: Remodeling. Flooring. Tile. Mosaics. Maintenance. Repairs. Marble & granite. Electrical.