Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Redwood Builders

Founded 2000 • With Angi since June 2012

5.0

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5 Primrose Ln

Sycamore, IL 60178

Description

Redwood builders is a small company, based in the western suburbs and servicing all of the west Chicago suburbs... we specialize in kitchen and bathroom remodeling, custom tile work, basement finishing, and all other forms of remodeling. give us a email or call today for a free estimate!!

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/27/2017


Brian A.

Jared and team worked with us on design and implemented it in professional and timely manner. Quality of workmanship was outstanding

Description of Work
Complete gut and replace master bathroom. install heated floor, custom shower

Category ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, home builders, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

12/05/2016


Matthew G.

I did the typical homeowner thing where I anticipate being able to handle a project and quickly found I was in a bit over my head. I was hoping to do some finish work on my basement and thought everything would be simple. It proved to be a bit beyond my understanding and I went to Angie's list and a few other places for help. I ended up finding Redwood Builders (Jared) on Angie's list. He was semi local to me which was nice and made it easy for him to stop by one morning before I left for work. I had two other people out to look at the possible work as well. I ended up going with Redwood Builders for the job because I felt most comfortable with Jared compared to the others I had talked with. Overall it worked out very well. He was very open in communicating what was going to be done when and on what day. Overall everything has stayed relatively on time to what we discussed. The overall cost was higher than I had wanted to spend, but that is more to do with what I believe was my poor estimating on what real work costs. Compared to the other people I talked to he was right in line with them as far as costs go. On the costs, what I have appreciated is his openness to adjustments as we go. Initially we discussed a baseline cost for the project. He has stuck with that, but because of my request for an additional thing here or an additional item there the cost did increase. He never really said no to anything and just explained that might be an additional cost, gave me a rough idea of the cost, and we ended up going forward. In my work, I work with a lot of different contractor types in different industries and frankly I wish all were as personable and easy going as Jared. He did a good portion of the work himself. He did sub out some portions of the work, but the items he subbed out were done well by people that were professional and worked well and quickly. I know he had some personal issues pop up during the tail end of our job. Short of letting me know he really did not miss a beat. I fully would have understood any delays but he was very professional and very set on finishing what he had agreed to. I would gladly use Jared again on any possible future job and would recommend him to anyone looking.

Description of Work
Finish Basement/Basement Remodel

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home builders, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

5.0

10/10/2016


Matthew C.

Jared did a wonderful job working on this basement renovation. The quality of work was great. But, even better was the fact that Jared kept in constant contact with myself and my wife during the process. I would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Remodel and finishing of basement.

Category remodeling, home builders, basement remodeling

5.0

08/15/2016


Craig M.

Service was punctual and professional, while also being very accommodating with a personal touch. Demo and removal went smooth...when i asked to save my old cabinets to put in my garage, they even left the mounting screws in place so install was a breeze...details matter...and they were on top of it... Came back later for a timely drywall fix to keep us on schedule...walls were perfect and mudded to perfection ready for us to prime and paint in no time at all. I would recommend these guys for any job in the future for sure...quality all around...

Description of Work
Demo / Removal for first floor renovation Dry Wall Repair

Category contractors, drywall, remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

05/04/2016


White W.

Category electrician, handyman service, home builders, interior painters, doors

5.0

04/30/2016


Dave M.

If anyone knows Sycamore, pumpkin fest is a major holiday. Jared laid the tile Saturday and grouted Sunday before the parade to keep our remodel on time. I will not disclose the price, but I will tell you everyone has a positive comment about the how awesome the tile floor looks. Thank you Jared.

Description of Work
Laid porcelain tile floor

Category home builders

5.0

04/19/2016


Maria T.

Jared Freeman was professional and very knowledgeable. He paid attention to detail and was meticulous with his work. For example, I was very happy with the tile work he did. I was keeping the same tiles that I had on my kitchen floor which was done about 6 years ago. However, since part of the remodeling was to remove the peninsula and replace it with an island, there were some tiles that had to be removed in order to correctly follow the pattern of my existing floor. The existing tiles were discontinued and I only had very limited leftover tiles from 6 years ago. Jared was very careful with making sure that none of the existing tiles were broken and he expertly installed tiles to cover up where the peninsula used to be. The remodeling had to be put on hold for a week because we had to wait for the fabrication and installation of my countertops. Jared was very accommodating and immediately resumed work once the countertops were installed. The farm sink that I bought was quite heavy. I am very happy that he put extra support underneath the sink. Sometimes, when remodeling a kitchen, you will face hurdles along the way as you do the actual work. Jared was always able to find a solution or a workaround to remove the hurdles and make things right. I would like to make special mention of one of his crew, named Dave. Dave was always focused, worked quickly and efficiently. I am grateful for the hard work that Jared and his crew put in my kitchen. He managed the project well, accommodated all my requests and worked within my budget.

Description of Work
Remodeled my kitchen by managing and performing the following: (1) Removed existing cabinets, countertops, soffit, and appliances. (2) Removed only necessary ceiling to install canned lights and pendant lights. (3) Lowered existing drain for my new farm sink. Install new faucet, garbage disposal. Install and connect new dishwasher, stove. (4) Remove existing tile around old cabinets. Install new tiles. (5) Install new vent for range hood. (6) Installed back splash. (7) Supplied and installed drywall for kitchen ceiling, mud and taped all joints. (8) Install all new cabinets, island, wine fridge, crown, base and toe-kick.

Category flooring contractor, home remodeling

5.0

03/27/2016


ZHOU L.

He come on time and is very nice. He taken the two days and help me to setup the flooring for my new home. And, he is professional guy to do this job. I recommend him to do the hardwood job if I have a friend who need to this kind of job.

Description of Work
He setup the hardwood flooring for my dinning room and living room.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

02/02/2016


KEVIN M.

He just doesn't let me down....ever. I called Jared three weeks ago and asked when he thought he could fit me in for a floor install, he said if we could get our ducks in a row he was free in two weeks! He delivered on his promise, within time and budget. Like another customer, he forgot to add in the cost for a few things, but stood by his estimate. The quality of his work rivals that of much higher-cost contractors, if not better. And I have to give a shout-out to Dave, one of his employees that does exemplary work! What I enjoy most is that he is a family man that understands homeowners. Again, as with others, he is in tune with his customers' budget, needs and comfort-level. He does it right, but he doesn't make the project more than it needs to be. This was the third project that Jared completed for me and I fully intend that if I have other work to be done, I will be calling him first! I recommend him to all my friends!

Description of Work
Demo of carpet & linoleum on main floor, installation of hardwood floating floor.

Category home builders

5.0

01/22/2016


Benjamin F.

The owner, bid us a large project finishing the basement and re-structuring our downstairs bathroom. He worked with us to get it down to a manageable and do-able project. We ended up patching a large section of drywall in the corner and ripped up part of the floor (removing sink and toilet and replacing after floor was replaced). The service we received was timely, professional and affordable. The best thing about the project, aside from the end result, was that Jared did not give up on us. He worked within our budget until we came up with a solution to fit our needs. He stood by his original price quote, even though the job was a bit more involved than he guessed. I am very satisfied with the work that was done. Redwood will be our first call for all of our future projects. I would (and have) recommend them to my friends and family.

Description of Work
Patched a large corner section of drywall that was removed during foundation repair. Removed and replaced a section of the basement's Bathroom floor

Category drywall, plumbing, remodeling, home builders, basement remodeling

5.0

09/01/2015


Zachary J.

Redwood Builders/Jared Freeman were recommended by a previous client who had used him in the past and spoke highly of him. Jared not only responded quickly but remained in communication between the time we first talked and when the project got underway. Overall a positive (nearly painless) experience and the finished product is better than I had hoped. Jared worked with me throughout the process, offering advice when needed but ensuring that I'd be satisfied with the results. His price estimate was extremely competitive - not the highest nor the lowest but fair and reasonable for the amount and complexity of the job. I was extremely pleased with the craftsmanship, attention to detail and commitment to the schedule. I'll definitely use him again and would recommend, without hesitation, to family and friends.

Description of Work
Renovated Master Bath, Guest Bath, Powderroom and Kitchen Backsplash.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

5.0

08/23/2015


Mary O.

They did a great, great job! Communication was prompt and they were willing to work around my crazy schedule. They even picked up the tile we purchased from the store for us for a nominal fee and also moved our stove and refrigerator. They scheduled the work to minimize disruption in our house and had it all done in 2 and half days (underlayment, tile, grout, and garage). The floors look fantastic and they laid the tile to create a beautiful design. I was also impressed by their clean up -- no mess! I expected drywall powder in the garage, but it was minimal to none. Jared is very responsive and great to deal with. Also, given the amount of work and the amount of time it took, the cost was very reasonable. Jared also insures all his work :) Would hire them again in a second!

Description of Work
Redwood Builders installed a tile floor in our kitchen and foyer. A subfloor was installed first, as well. Additionally, they repaired a panel of drywall in our garage ceiling that had fallen in.

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, home builders

5.0

01/29/2015


Erin L.

Master bath - Tear out vanity and top, flat wall mirror, toilet, shower doors, light, towel bars. Repair and patch walls, then paint. Laid porcelain tiles (12X24). Suggested a staggered pattern which turned out really neat. Replaced 1/4 round with new and painted for a clean fresh look. Installed vanity and 2 framed mirrors. Put up 2 new lights over mirrors, towel bar and toilet paper holder. Installed new toilet. Every piece has a nice line, centered, provides great quality look. Guest bath - Tear out vanity and top, flat wall mirror, light and towel bars. Installed vanity and top, framed mirror a towel shelf and new light over mirror. We had never remodeled, but felt comfortable with all the proceedings. Job went very smoothly, no horror stories. Took care to protect surroundings, no extra dings or accidents. Very professional work, done on a timely basis.

Description of Work
Remodel 2 bathrooms (Master and Guest)

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, home builders, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

4.0

05/16/2014


Abbie S.

They're a great company. He's good, he's on time and he's prompt but he never returned with the quote. He didn't even follow-up on the project.

Description of Work
Redwood builders provided me a deck & porch service.

Category decks

5.0

05/09/2014


Thomas G.

They did a great job. He did a really good of explaining what needed to be done and why it needed to be done. I had some other people take a look at the job and he actually came through and told me the truth about everything and I thought his price was very competitive. It wasn't the lowest bid but it was definitely the best value. He is somebody you can rely on to do a good job.

Description of Work
I used Redwood Builders to install flooring to replace a kitchen floor and ripping out some vinyl type flooring and some under lament and putting down a new under lament and then ceramic tiles.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor

5.0

12/21/2013


Keith B.

Very knowledgeable, professional, guaranteed work. In and out in two days, even when we added additional work at the last minute.

Description of Work
Installed bathroom ceramic tile flooring and bath.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling

5.0

10/24/2013


Thomas G.

Jered Freeman gave me a thorough explanation of the work that need to be done to complete the project. The kitchen had two layers of vinyl flooring and a layer of sub-flooring. I had previously received a quote from Lowe's, where I purchased the materials, and they would not remove the old flooring. They would only add the tile over the vinyl, which I thought was a very bad idea. Jered confirmed that this was a bad idea and removed all old flooring before installing a new sub-floor and the tiles. The kitchen looks great now. Jered also helped me out by installing a new range hood. All debris was hauled away and the place was left neat and clean. I highly recommend this company for floor tile installation.

Description of Work
Installation of porcelain tiles on kitchen floor.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/15/2013


Pradeep M.

Jared was very professional and courteous. He and Dave came on time and completed the work as promised and within the budget. Quality of the work is outstanding. I would definitely recommend Redwood builders to any one.

Description of Work
Framing of the Basement.

Category home builders, basement remodeling

5.0

07/03/2013


KEVIN M.

To say Jared was responsive, affordable, friendly and professional would be selling him short. From the first conversation it was clear he was listening to our needs and working to meet them every step of the way. He was thorough and honest about costs. Not a single surprise along the way during the 5 week project. He gave suggestions on where to save and where to spend. He paid attention to every finishing detail. He has a great relationship with his contractors, which meant they were on time and provided quality work. Every inspection was passed without the need for any changes. When I asked my husband what else he would say, the laundry list included; answered questions, listened to our opinions, educated us, gave insight from prior jobs and dealt expertly with an overly-particular wife (me)! Go ahead, give him a call, you won't regret it!

Description of Work
Acted as general contractor to finish approx 1,000 sq ft basement.

Category home builders, basement remodeling

5.0

03/15/2013


Brad R.

The service provided by Redwood Builders was excellent. I had purchased porcelain tile, more than a year ago, to install in my master bathroom shower and tub surround. I had planned on installing this myself, but due to limited time and my limited tile experience, I hired Redwood builders to install the tile for me. I could not have been more pleased with the final product and the entire experience. Jared contacted me within an hour after I requested contact via Angie's List. I was gathering estimates and Redwood Builders was the second of 3 that I received. This company is local to me and Jared stopped by the same day and provided a very reasonable estimate and the original estimate was the final price. Honestly his estimate was a little higher than the others I received but the reason I made my decision to go with Redwood Builders was because Jared took the time to look the project over in detail, spent some time talking with me to find out what I wanted and then provided some guidance and suggestions on tile layout patterns that could be applied to the project. That suggestion paid off because it turned out great. My wife and I love the end product. The install was not simple, my bathroom walls were not exactly square and consistent (due to some settling in a newer house) but again the result was absolutely great. I had a general idea of what I wanted but Jared helped tie my general ideas with a few other suggestions including putting a diamond type of pattern on the ceiling and it added a great visual element to the shower too. It was not exactly simple to fit the pieces in to accomplish the great look but he really made it look simple. Again we could not be happier with the results. Redwood Builders also provides a 5 year warranty on the work, nother great feature to consider. I would definitely hire Redwood Builders again in the future. Great quality work at competitive prices, you really can’t beat that combination.

Description of Work
Porcelain Tile installation in master bath shower and tub surroound area and one wall to tie it together very nicely.

Category home builders

5.0

02/12/2013


Jane H.

It went well. They completed the job as promised. They cleaned up each day before they left. They asked for our input on several items. Very professional.

Description of Work
Jared remodeled a bathroom for us. He was very professional and thorough. Excellent workmanship. Was prompt and finished when promised. Cleaned up every day before leaving. Will have him again for another bathroom. i

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/13/2012


Joe M.

I can honestly say that I have a hard house to work on. Nothing seems to ever work out like it should. I have had several bad carpenters work on my house and I was never satisfied. But when I started using Redwood builders I was shocked at how much they actually cared. They were always on time and stayed late to work around our schedule. From the first time I met Jared I knew he was very confident in his work and showed me pictures and walked me through projects that he was currently working on and houses he had built in the past. They were always on time and had a plan as to what needed to get done that day. They were very clean and tarped off the areas they were working in. Jared has done several projects for me and each one my wife and I are highly satisfied with. Their attention to detail is amazing and the craftsmanship is great.

Description of Work
Complete Kitchen remodel, complete bathroom remodel, laundry room remodel, finished basement including adding bathroom, trim work and crown moulding, installed cabinets, wall and floor tiling, installed tile back splash, installed cork and porcelain flooring, painting, drywall, custom built bar. Recently tore bar out and installed new flooring, baseboard and painted to make more room in basement. Installed fireplace with gas line and tile surround. Total spent for all jobs is hard to tell cause they have been done over years.

Category contractors, ceramic tile, decks, drywall, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling, fireplaces, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Elite Finishes

    Elite Finishes specializes in interior/exterior painting and staining. We have served Geneva, St. Charles, Batavia, Naperville, South Elgin, and their surrounding communities since 1998. We have 10 professional painters who are used year in/year out, throughout all seasons. We are fully licensed and insured. Each customer receives a certificate of insurance before we start any work, and local references with your free estimate. We never sub-contract our work out to other companies. We feel there is no other company out there that will treat your home as we will, and give you the highest quality of service and professional results..  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Nicholas James Painting, Inc.

    Interior painting contractor, 30 years experience, Cabinet painting, drywall repair, wallpaper removal. Fully insured.  

    Angi Certified

    MH Pro Painting

    Painting-exterior and interior. MH Pro Painting is a small family business that works to satisfy and help customers accomplish there projects.  

    Angi Certified

    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    remodeling kitchen & bathroom, basements, windows, siding, garages, new construction, additions, ceramic tile, marble, hardwood flooring, flooring, custom tile showers, mill work, custom bars, cabinets, electrical, plumbing, general contracting, carpentry, finish carpentry, porches, painting, drywall, sun rooms & sun screen porches.

    Services Not Offered

    Concrete, excavating & hauling.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Redwood Builders

    How is Redwood Builders overall rated?

    Redwood Builders is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Redwood Builders open?

    Redwood Builders is open:

    Sunday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Redwood Builders provide

    Redwood Builders accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does Redwood Builders offer free estimates?

    Yes, Redwood Builders offers free project estimates.

    Does Redwood Builders offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Redwood Builders does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Redwood Builders offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Redwood Builders offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Redwood Builders?

    Yes, Redwood Builders offers warranties.

    What services does Redwood Builders offer?

    Redwood Builders offers the following services: remodeling kitchen & bathroom, basements, windows, siding, garages, new construction, additions, ceramic tile, marble, hardwood flooring, flooring, custom tile showers, mill work, custom bars, cabinets, electrical, plumbing, general contracting, carpentry, finish carpentry, porches, painting, drywall, sun rooms & sun screen porches.

    Are there any services Redwood Builders does not offer?

    Concrete, excavating & hauling.