Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Universal Carpet Inc

Founded 2000 • With Angi since January 2010

4.9

(81) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

840 Schneider Drive

South Elgin, IL 60177

Description

Universal Carpet provides all types of flooring including hardwood, vinyl, laminate, carpeting, and refinishing of existing hardwood for homeowners in the greater Chicago area and western suburbs for over 30 years. With both in-store or shop at home, we carry 1000's of products from all leading manufacturers. Our excellent Angie's List reviews and our A+ Better Business Bureau rating show our commitment to "100% customer satisfaction"....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/20/2021


JOHN & ANNE C.

Excellent experience overall. Larry in sales was very helpful, Dawn in the office is great at communicating and scheduling. Our installers did an excellent job, you absolutely cannot see any seams or any flaws at all. I would definitely use them again in the future.

Description of Work
New carpet for 5 bedrooms and one TV room

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/25/2021


carolyn K.

It went great. From sales to installation the experience was painless. I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Carpet and vinyl flooring

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

08/14/2020


Lisa B.

Universal was fantastic - they were responsive, open to listening to ideas we had on carpet and were very accommodating. They installed when they said they would and the installers were professional, helpful and had no issues wearing masks while installing on a warm August day. I would use Universal again.

Description of Work
New Carpet in Family Room

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/29/2020


Tim G.

I never write reviews on anything but I feel I needed to share my experience with Universal Carpet. My wife and I shopped all the big box stores for new vinyl plank flooring and found just about the same products everywhere. Prices were all about the same and the products were not substantial at most. I shared my experience with a close friend and he referred me to Universal Carpet. I called and set up an appointment with Mike Larsen. He came by our house and looked over our situation and brought some sample pieces by. We talked for a while and he invited my wife and I to look at samples at his office. My wife is a picky shopper and with Mike's input and suggestions we decided on a COREtec product to install. The cost was a bit higher than big box, but not much more at all. Mike explained that he could sell us a big box item but he didn't think we would be happy. Mike was not pushy at all throughout the sale process and kept us updated on delivery date and time. We received the product and had it installed this week and we are overly pleased with the outcome!! My wife and I give two thumbs up to Universal Carpet and our rep. Mike Larsen.

Description of Work
Vinyl Plank Flooring

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for the kind words. glad you are happy with your purchase. Core Tec is a low maintance durable product. thank you for your business.
5.0

10/31/2019


Eileen W.

My husband was home when the carpet was installed. It went great. The installers worked quickly. The carpet looks great. We are very happy to have our house put back together. The owner Cary was very easy to work with on selecting the carpet and padding. Thank you, Universal Carpet, for a cozy family room once again.

Description of Work
New carpet ordered and installed.

Category carpet installation

5.0

10/15/2019


Anna S.

Excellent job. Staff and crew were very professional. Everyone was extremely responsive to our needs and requests. The job was well done. Minor concerns were addressed promptly--even after the company had all of our money in hand. The price was higher than we were initially expecting, but it had been a long time since we priced flooring! We believe it was good value for high quality product and service. We would definitely use Universal again.

Description of Work
Removing carpeting on the entire second floor and stairway and replacing with wood-look vinyl laminate.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

07/28/2019


Sara W.

Very well! Wonderful and friendly customer service! Did a great job!

Description of Work
Carpet installed

Category carpet installation

5.0

05/24/2019


Steven S.

Larry did a great job showing us flooring samples to choose from of different types. He was friendly, patient, and not pushy. He answered all our questions in a timely fashion. Nash's installation team did excellent work. They were neat, thorough, and they paid attention to small details. The end result was better than we expected. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
We had our old flooring replaced in our whole house. The new flooring was Luxury Vinyl Plank.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

10/06/2018


Sheryl C.

EVERYONE I dealt with was 100% professional and extremely nice and understanding to my needs. Absolutely accommodating and will highly recommend, plus most definitely use again for future projects. Thank you Universal Carpets!!!

Description of Work
Install new carpet, but first repair and replace old hardwood flooring underneath from water damage

Category carpet installation

5.0

10/01/2018


ALAN L.

The work was done promptly and well. Very personable staff. Also provided a recommendation on professional carpet cleaning.

Description of Work
Carpet stretching in two bedrooms.

Category carpet installation

5.0

08/03/2018


Henry S.

Universal did a great job. The installer, Brett Chilo, was very personable but also very efficient and professional. He really knows his stuff. Even though this was a relatively small job everyone at Universal treated it like it was the most important project of the month. Brett not only installed the new items but hauled away the old ones. This is especially helpful. I definitely recommend Universal. I will always look to them for future projects. Thanks for another great job Universal!

Description of Work
New floor, vanity, counter, sink and toilet for small bathroom

Category flooring contractor,home remodeling

5.0

05/23/2018


Nina J.

Got the whole job done in one day, very professional installation, detail-oriented. Looks great.

Description of Work
New flooring in kitchen and sunroom

Category flooring contractor

5.0

04/17/2018


Anita R.

The salesman, Steve, was very agreeable, on-time to measure and got me a quote the same day. Booking and payment was easy, and the crew was professional and did a great job. I will definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
Carpet a 2 bedroom condo with living room and dining room, stairs and hallway.

Category carpet installation

5.0

05/08/2017


Bob G.

very well and they did what they promised to do

Description of Work
stretch carpet from another companies poor installation

Category carpet installation

5.0

04/04/2017


David M.

They were really good. They responded pretty fast. Both the sales person and the installer were there when they said. Their promptness, their attentiveness, they paid attention to detail, they knew exactly what we wanted. Everything was very well.

Description of Work
.

Category carpet installation

5.0

03/28/2017


Kaelin W.

I went into their showroom and indicated my interest in replacing my carpet on our rental property. They did not try to up sell product and gave me a good choice and reasonable pricing for a rental property. Installed on time and looks great.

Description of Work
Replaced carpet on stairs, 2 bedrooms, closets, and foyer in our rental townhouse.

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/10/2017


TINA B.

Ordering was easy, installation was great.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced carpeting in family room and master bedroom and master bedroom closet.

Category carpet installation

5.0

01/23/2017


Kurt B.

Very well done. Estimate was very competitive, work was done faster than I expected (only one day) and the carpet looks beautiful.

Description of Work
Needed carpeting on my 2nd floor and 2 stairwells

Category carpet installation

5.0

09/26/2016


Edward K.

I had gotten into a situation where another provider would not do the work because they believed there to be asbestos underlayment under the existing carpet. After testing, it proved to just be cork. That said, we had already moved most items out and I didn't want to have to do that again. I called Cary and his turn around was excellent. I waited under 5 business days between the order and the completion of the installation. They also beat their competitors price by a long shot. Superior flooring options, excellent work, clean, responsive - I will use them for all of my flooring needs.

Description of Work
Installed new vinyl flooring on second floor. Included removal of carpet, subfloor prep, underlayment, moldings/transitions, and moving around large furniture items so we didn't have to move everything out.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

09/19/2016


Scott S.

We had a great experience. The workers were fast and the new carpet looks great. They had a lot of furniture to work around and they did a good job of moving everything without damage. They weren't the cheapest you could find -- the home improvement stores have better prices -- but we believe you get what you pay for. We wanted good carpet that would last and professional installation. We got both.

Description of Work
Carpet replacement in five bedrooms.

Category carpet installation

5.0

04/22/2016


Mitchell K.

Once my wife and I decided to go with Universal Carpet Inc. we contacted them and got the ball rolling. We were contacted by Dawn and given a start date with our approval. They stated that work should be approx. 5 days. Just as scheduled, the crew of 3 guys (Juan and his 2 helpers) showed up on time and were very polite and explained what they were going to do. They scoped out floor, developed a plan and got right to work. They covered our furniture that we moved in front room. This was a big job for the crew. It was approx 750 sq. ft. of flooring (approx. 150 sq. ft of carpet and the rest was 3/4'' hardwood flooring) to be removed and hauled away. 2 guys worked on removing the floor and the other one was cutting around the cabinets. They moved our stove and refrigerator as well.After each day of work they cleaned up and gave me a run on what they did and what they would do the next day. Once they started to get to friday they told us that they may not be done on Saturday and looking to finish on Monday. Then they asked if they can come Sunday for a couple of hours to attempt to finish. So all in all they worked 8 days to complete the demo of the old floor. and install the new porcelain faux wood 6x36 tiles. This was a lot of work and they busted their butts off to complete it. I did inspect some of the tiles and found one of the tiles that kept popping up. We showed the crew and they got right to work replacing the tile as well as 2 other ones they found. The hard work of the crew definitely paid off and now we have a floor we love. The crew cleaned up everything by cleaning the floor multiple times, did not leave any garage or scarps, power washed our driveway and mopped out our garage where all the tiles and their equipment was. The only thing that I would pass onto to anyone replacing your hardwood floors with tiles is to cover everything in your house. It got really dusty!! Universal Carpet Inc. is a top notch flooring company with great customer service and installation. Thank you Universal Carpet, Inc.

Description of Work
My wife and I first saw Universal Carpet, Inc. at a home show as we were looking for flooring companies. We were unable to talk to them since there were multiple people asking questions and our limited time. So we grabbed their card and the following week we went into their store on Saturday. We were met by Cary who was more than helpful and patient with us looking at all the tiles and answering all of our questions without hesitation. We finally saw some tiles we liked. We asked Cary if we can schedule a free estimate by him. We got it scheduled and Cary had us pick out the tiles we liked so he could get them ordered and sent to our house for us to look at and actually put them down on our floor to see how they would look. We got all of our samples within 3 days before Cary came out for a free estimate. Cary showed up on time and got right to work on the estimate as well as answering some more questions we had. Cary went over what they would do if we decided to go with them. Cary said he would have the estimate later that day. Within a few hours he sent us the estimate. We did get 3 more estimates from other flooring companies and even though Universal was not the cheapest we still decided to go with Universal because of how Cary treated us, answered our questions, was on time and did what he said, and they had the best tile we liked.

Category flooring contractor

5.0

12/03/2015


BETH S.

Cary was great to work with as were the techs. Very professional. Work went well and clean-up was A+. Would definitely recommended and use again.

Description of Work
We had carpet put down over our hardwood stairs.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

10/29/2015


Laura M.

Terrific from start to finish.

Description of Work
Basement Carpeting.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

10/15/2015


Jennifer M.

Cary explained the brands of carpet and what would work well in a basement. Had a good selection. Let me bring home samples to see how they looked in the room. Made purchasing easy and install easy. Had additional effort to move around a pool table which was not an issue. Only thing I would want more help with is more "design" opinion on what is popular but has longevity since I had not bought carpet in awhile. But that was a minor thing!

Description of Work
Installed a new carpet and pad in a remodeled basement. Included stairs.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

5.0

09/30/2015


Margaret A.

I dealt with Larry in sales and he was a pleasure to work with. His was honest about what I could expect and lived up to his promises. The installation team was the best and finished in one day instead of the expected two. I would highly recommend them to friends. I will be using them again in the near future for another residence.

Description of Work
They replaced carpeting throughout the whole house.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Zudor Flooring

    With our expertise in residential and commercial flooring (we refinish, install and repair hardwood floors), Zudor Flooring continues to deliver the highest quality of service in the industry. Based on the belief that our costumers' needs come first, our entire team is committed to meeting and exceeding your expectations, and delivering the best quality and service.  

    Danny Flooring Inc.

    We are a custom wood flooring company specializing in hardwood floor refinishing with over 10 years experience. In Illinois, Floors By Danny is the perfect choice for all your wood flooring needs. - Installation all types of hardwood: prefinished, laminate, pergo - Sanding and refinishing old and new wood floors only with top quality materials. We are specializing in residential, commercial, rent apartments, schools, sport and dance floors. With our top quality line of sanding equipment, we guarantee that our flooring can be professionally sanded and refinished. We also do custom staining colors. Our quality work is guaranteed at affordable prices. Hardwood Flooring Chicago - Sanding And Refinishing. Please visit us on Google to read more reviews. 5 Star-Rating and 115 Reviews on Google. http://dannyflooring.com/  

    Offers by Danny Flooring Inc. on Angi
    Monroy Hardwood Flooring

    Locally owned and operated company with over 30 years of experience. Owner onsite for every project from start to finish. We want to make all your flooring dreams come true. Do not hesitate to call or text for services.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Monroy Hardwood Flooring on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Check, Financing Available, Visa
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Sales of carpet, tile, wood, laminate, vinyl, and area rugs as well as installation of all materials.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Universal Carpet Inc

    How is Universal Carpet Inc overall rated?

    Universal Carpet Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Universal Carpet Inc open?

    Universal Carpet Inc is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Universal Carpet Inc provide

    Universal Carpet Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Financing Available, Visa

    Does Universal Carpet Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Universal Carpet Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Universal Carpet Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Universal Carpet Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Universal Carpet Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Universal Carpet Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Universal Carpet Inc?

    Yes, Universal Carpet Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Universal Carpet Inc offer?

    Universal Carpet Inc offers the following services: Sales of carpet, tile, wood, laminate, vinyl, and area rugs as well as installation of all materials.