R & G Almanza Landscape Inc

About

Founded 1999 • With Angi since December 2004

At R & G Almanza Landscape Inc. we pride ourselves on reliability, great communication, integrity and quality work. We strongly believe in performing our absolute best in all the work we perform and to always keep you educated about the work process. Our team is dedicated to staying on the leading

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Minority Owned & OperatedMinority Owned & Operated
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Verified Reviews

4.6

(249) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

181

4

19

3

8

2

13

1

28

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

lawn care (172)lawn & landscaping (101)hardscaping (41)tree service (21)mulch delivering (21)lawn treatment (20)snow removal (8)stone & gravel (8)fence company (7)gutter cleaning (6)leaf removal (5)Patios (3)
Showing 1-25 of 249 reviews
5.0

04/15/2022


Vincent W.

The charged a fair price, came when they said they would be there and worked diligently. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend R&G Almanza to anyone.

Description of Work
Raul and his crew replaced the overgrown hedges in front of our house, planted new trees and shrubs, pruned two large trees, and shaped the very tall hedges on either side of our yard. They also re-seeded our lawn where the previous owners had let the grass die out.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2022

1.0

10/31/2020


Dan F.

Raul came out quickly after I called from Angie's list. Said he would give me quote the next day. I've heard nothing. Left text, 2 voicemails....nothing.

Description of Work
drainage from downspouts, patio bricks, plant bed

Category drain pipe

Work Completed On 10/30/2020

5.0

06/14/2019


Melita I.

So great! They were so fast and so cheap! Our dog had dug up parts of our back yard and we even had a tree stump. Now looks amazing. We now spend more time in the backyard in 1 week than we have the 3 years prior COMBINED

Description of Work
Backyard paving

Category landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/06/2019

Images

Review for R & G Almanza Landscape Inc - 7322 N Kedzie Ave, Skokie, IL - 37930960
2.0

03/29/2019


Brian P.

Employee was nice. Unfortunately, never got me my estimate as promised. It’s now been over 17 days without the promised estimate and I’ve called, texted and emails without a single reply. I was very motivated to get this project going as soon as weather permits. Will now not go with them as I have no confidence in their timeliness based on their lack of reply to my many communications.

Description of Work
I had an appointment for an estimate on a full backyard regrading, hardscaping, deck removal, and drains.

Category landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping, patios

1.0

11/10/2018


Katelyn V.

THey were quick to come out and offered to have the bid ready, later that day. Never received the bid. I called several times and emailed and they never replied to my messages. Why bother coming out if you are interested in doing the job? Very unprofessional!

Description of Work
Front yard landscape

Category lawn service

Work Completed On 10/31/2018

5.0

07/04/2018


SUSAN and Lawrence D.

They were great! What a labor intensive job in the heat of summer! They removed the old grass and weeds and brought in new dirt and leveled the whole thing, including the parkway. They moved some plants and stepping stones where I wanted them. Then they put down beautiful blue grass sod under the sod they sprinkled fertilizer and grub killer. It looks beautiful!.

Description of Work
Replacement of the front lawn with sod

Category landscaping, lawn service

Cost $1,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2018

2.0

06/09/2018


Gina L.

I received a prompt call-back from my initial message. Someone came out to talk about a job (grading the back yard for better drainage). He seemed confident that they could handle the work and took a few measurements. Said he'd send me an estimate the next day and I never heard from him again! I emailed him once and left two voicemails. If you're too busy, just tell me, and I'll call someone else.

Description of Work
landscaping estimate

Category lawn service

Work Completed On 06/09/2018

2.0

04/25/2018


Erika M.

Service started out ok and they did a good job at first but then went downhill as time went on. I was charged for a fall cleanup that I did not ask for and the "cleanup" was done so poorly that I had to cleanup the yard after this so called "cleanup". For example, they trimmed our pine tree and left all the branches on the ground. It was a complete mess and if I left it, it would have killed the grass. It would have been better to just leave the branches on the tree. When I called, I could not get a hold of anyone and they never call back. I refused to pay for this terrible service that I never wanted to begin with. The following year, I received another bill from them saying I never paid for the cleanup. I again called and left a message for someone to call me but never got a call back so I'm guessing I will get another bill next year saying I am 2 years overdue. I would never hire this company again. Terrible communication and can never get anyone to call me back.

Description of Work
Grass cutting

Category lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2017

5.0

03/04/2018


Nancy W.

Almanza is the best in the area, I've learned the hard way. Had them as regulars for landscaping a few years back. They were great for the most part - Raul was excellent at doing extra jobs (paving, tree-cutting) fast and prompt at very reasonable prices. The yard looked great. However, when fall cleanup came, the crew left a lot of debris behind. During the summer, they also trimmed stuff I asked them not to trim and didn't trim what I wanted them to. I chalked it up to the crew though. Raul has always been great and I complained to him about it, noting I couldn't renew the contract with the same weekly crew. Not hearing from him about a different crew, I too hastily terminated the contract. BIG mistake. Subsequent lawn care and landscape specialists have been totally abysmal compared. I've learned that the weekly crews of any company are not as honest, hardworking, scrupulous, etc. as the owners but you have to put up with that stuff. It's just part of the game apparently. Looking back, aul's crew wasn't perfect, but they were a lot better than any others I've had. If you have him as a landscaper, keep him. A good dude. I've regretted my action more every year.

Description of Work
Landscaping, lawn care, paving cutting up a felled tree

Category gutter cleaning, lawn service, lawn treatment, leaf removal, mulch, tree service, hardscaping

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2015

4.0

11/09/2017


Adam G.

The work was good and the team was dedicated and efficient. but company communication was unresponsive. Scheduling took 3-4 calls to book and the crew came on a day that was never agreed to.

Description of Work
Spring cleanup

Category lawn service

Cost $225

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2017

2.0

09/13/2017


Urmi S.

Described work and asked them if they would do the work (within their listed services) and if they could come out and provide an estimate. Never heard back. This seems to be the new norm for Angies list messages - this has been my experience with 60-70% of the messages I send to specific providers on AL.

Description of Work
Cleaning and planting a garden

Category lawn service

Work Completed On 09/13/2017

5.0

09/11/2017


Margaret M.

We were referred to R & G Almanza Landscaping by our tree service. After a less-than-pleasant experience with another local fencing contractor (who did a terrible job repairing a shared fence that had blown down in spring windstorms), working with R&G was a fantastic experience. Although R & G is more well known locally for their yard maintenance work, the high-quality job they did installing my fence was exceptional. Their price was very reasonable, they were clean, fast, responsive and cared about the details. They even went above and beyond what I expected and really weeded and cleaned up the ground surrounding the fence. I plan on using them again next season for more landscaping work and even am considering them for weekly yard maintenance because of this experience. I highly recommend!

Description of Work
Installation of two fences (approximately 20 ft each) and two gates in a rear yard.

Category fencing, landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/11/2017

5.0

09/11/2017


Adrien B.

I had called on them a couple of years ago for emergency lawn service and was very impressed with how they helped me at that time. When I decided to do this project, they were first on my list and am not disappointed that I called them again to assist with this work. Would highly recommend their company and intend to use them again on future projects. Having done this type of yard labor myself for many, many years, I can only say it was worth every penny. Every member of their team, starting with Raul, was a pleasure to work with and in light of all that had to be done, the cost was on the mark.

Description of Work
Raul and his crew cleared two large front yard flower beds, removed four bushes and laid new sod in each area. In addition, they leveled out the parkway areas that had sunk from heavy snow deposits and dead tree roots and laid new sod in those spots.

Category lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/11/2017

5.0

08/17/2017


Cheryl S.

I would absolutely recommend R & G Almanza Landscape. Raul recently planted 3 trees in my yard, installed a french drain system, repaired a flagstone walkway, and placed new mulch and sod. Raul offered good suggestions regarding the drainage problem and his crew did a beautiful job completing the project. Very reasonably priced

Description of Work
3 trees planted, drainage system installed, walkway repair, and new sod

Category landscaping, lawn service, tree service, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2017

5.0

08/01/2017


Nicholas M.

They are my regular guys. I got them off of Angie's list. It's an ongoing contract, bi weekly in the summer. They do it when I'm not home. They aren't great at returning phone calls. I use them. Don't expect a lot of phone calls from them. I mean its gardening. So basically, everything looks neat and clean. They don't trample on things. I guess attention to detail. They can return phone calls. the thing is, they also provide a snow service. And I asked them about it and I had questions but hey never got back to me to answer my questions. Once you set them up, they do a wonderful job.

Description of Work
They provide lawn care maintenance.

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2016

5.0

08/01/2017


Nicholas M.

They are my regular guys. I got them off Angie's List and they are great. It's an ongoing contract and they come bi weekly in the summer. They are not great at returning phone calls, but they do everything you ask. It always gets done. I would tell people to use them. Don't expect a lot of phone calls. What sticks out to me is that it's gardening, so basically everything looks neat, clean, they don't trample on things, it's just attention to detail. They could return phone calls better. They also provide a snow service and I asked them about it and I had some questions because I was interested, but they never got back to me to answer my questions, so I never used their snow service. Once you set them up, they do a wonderful job.

Description of Work
Landscaping.

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2017

1.0

07/11/2017


Lynne G.

I contacted R&G and Raul came out to give me an estimate. He was on time and professional. However, that's where the good service ended. Raul said that he would get back to me the next day with a proposal. He never did. I called back and left a message to inquire about when I would receive the proposal. No one answered/returned my call. It was a waste of my time to have arranged my work schedule to be home while Raul came to inspect the job and not to have any follow-up from them whatsoever. I would not recommend them.

Description of Work
telework for patio and screened in porch

Category lawn service, hardscaping

Work Completed On 07/06/2017

2.0

07/11/2017


Sterling W.

It didn't go. They never responded. I submitted an inquiry through Angie's List on Friday at approximately 6:30 PM. It's now 7:30 PM on the following Tuesday. If their customer service is this bad, I can only assume that their provided services aren't much better.

Description of Work
New sod in front of our house.

Category lawn service

Work Completed On 07/07/2017

5.0

06/08/2017


BENNETT K.

They did a good job, and refrained from using salt, as I had requested.

Description of Work
They cleaned with snow from my drive and walkways on Thfive occasions last winter.

Category snow removal

Cost $40

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/31/2016

5.0

05/06/2017


Diana A.

They did an amazing job. The day they started it was raining and that didn't stop them. They were very professional and punctual. We will hire them again for future jobs.

Description of Work
We had them lay a patio in our backyard and along our fence.

Category landscaping, patios

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/06/2017

1.0

04/18/2017


juan H.

He never got back to me on a price or returned my phone call.

Description of Work
I called Raul and he came over to give me a quote on laying down a new lawn or repairing what I had.

Category landscaping, lawn service

Work Completed On 03/28/2017

1.0

04/11/2017


Melissa C.

I would have loved to use them but not if it's so hard to get a hold of them.

Description of Work
I contaced R&G to do some landscaping work. They came by, we had a great meeting and they promptly sent me an estimate. After that, I called (twice) and sent an email to discuss the estimate and get started on work and I received no response.

Category landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, hardscaping

Work Completed On 04/11/2017