Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Swanwater Painting

4.8

(75) Verified Reviews

Founded 2008 • With Angi since June 2008

Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

Company Contact

4619 Olde Lyme Dr

Rockford, IL 61114

Description

Owner-operated. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No service fee. May contact through e-mail. Free estimates. EPA renovation, repair and painting certified (now required by state law for painting contractors)....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(75) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

65

4

3

3

1

2

1

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

interior painting (61)house painting (27)drywall (13)wallpaper removal (5)pressure washing (4)deck cleaning (2)decks & porches (2)cabinet refacing (1)plastering (1)
Showing 1-10 of 75 reviews
5.0

05/28/2019

JJ was professional, punctual, talented, well informed and he goes the extra mile. He totally took the stress off our shoulders with hurrying to paint rooms in a time crunch before we moved in. He rearranged his schedule (more than once) and even showed us how to do a lot of fix ups around the house. I’m hoping to book him later this week to do more!

Description of Work
Three rooms painted and I’m hiring him for more!

Category interior painters

Cost $680

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/23/2019

5.0

08/28/2018

We are very pleased with the project! JJ did an excellent job on the textured ceiling in the living room/hallway. The paint job was very good! His quote was also quite reasonable (living room is 18' x 20'). He finished a day early and did not leave a mess. I plan to hire him again to paint the kitchen in the spring.

Description of Work
We had slight water damage to a section of wall in the living room due to a large tree limb falling on the roof. Also a small ****** in the ceiling in one of the bedrooms. Job would include some dry wall and painting the living room, small hallway and bedroom (ceilings included). **Insurance claim**

Category plastering,interior painters

Cost $1,990

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2018

5.0

07/05/2018

JJ from Swanwater Painting is an outstanding contractor. He has excellent customer service. He worked with my wife and I throughout the estimate process to really iron out details and develop a written bid that he would honor after the projects's completion. So, he is willing to work with you to get what you want and need with professional insight, and he's willing to go the extra mile to make sure everything's clear up front. Additionally, JJ is a true craftsman. He shows an aptitude for attention to detail along with the ability to think creatively to solve problems and exceed his customers' expectations. My wife and I were interested in painting our home so it would be more marketable to potential home buyers. While other contractors offered to paint the home the same color to reduce pricing, JJ gave us that option, but he also encouraged us to use different colors for the same price on his bid (which was lower than other contractors in the first place). Because he has multiple years experience in the industry, his ideas would have increased the overall attractiveness and appeal of our home. Although he hasn't performed the service he was contracted for because of scheduling issues, I trust that he would exceed our expectation based on his demonstrated expertise, other reviews on this site, and the quality of work he did to prepare the estimate. If we do complete the project with him in the future, I would not hesitate to work with JJ.

Description of Work
Exterior Painting

Category decks,deck cleaning,pressure washing,house painters,interior painters

Cost $4,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/05/2018

5.0

07/01/2018

VERY good job. JJ was very professional and everything was done to our satisfaction. The next stain or paint project we do, he will be the contractor we call.

Description of Work
stained and sealed with poly a screen room

Category decks,house painters,interior painters

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2018

3.0

07/04/2017

Payment in full was required upon job completion. Drywall was repaired. They we're supposed to come back and paint the drywall but never did. To their defense the weather turned against them but then they had the audacity to ask for full payment when the work wasn't completed. Partial payment was sent. They never came back to finish the job. The repaired drywall is still not painted.

Description of Work
Repair and paint portion of drywall in the garage.

Category drywall,interior painters

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2014

5.0

01/20/2017

Excellent, and they were about 1/2 the cost of another quote.

Description of Work
Painted Great Room, Hallways and Kitchen

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2016

5.0

11/15/2016

The job was bigger than any of us realized. The oak trim was old, so it absorbed the primer and paint and needed several more coats than we planned. JJ stuck it out though, and stayed, painting some areas 5 or 6 times, and went over every inch of the house and fixed anything he didn't think was perfect. The job took a lot longer than he thought but he stayed with it and finished it to perfection. Everyone on his crew was polite and professional and friendly. I felt very comfortable with them in my home. I sincerely appreciate JJ's integrity and worth ethic. He stayed and finished the job when most would've walked away. He totally transformed my house. We will have them back.

Description of Work
Paint oak trim, doors, window frames, stair risers, walls and remove wall paper.

Category wallpaper removal,interior painters

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2016

5.0

09/22/2016

JJ and his crew are warm, professional & very easy to work with. We Love what they were able to do- transform a tired, slightly worn looking house into a fresh, updated home we are excited to spend time in. I Highly recommend SwanWater Painting.

Description of Work
JJ Swanson provided a very helpful color consultation before beginning our large indoor painting project. He repaired a portion of our family room's high ceiling & repaired all nail holes and wall blemishes before painting. He and his crew painted our very very high ceilings, then painted our entry, great room, kitchen, dining room, family room & loft office walls. It was a custom paint job done beautifully and for a reasonable cost.

Category interior painters

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/22/2016

5.0

09/19/2016

It went very well. JJ gave a fair estimate and the gentlemen doing the painting were very professional. The job required wallpaper removal and the walls looked excellent after that process. I would highly recommend Swanwater Painting.

Description of Work
Painting an entire house.

Category drywall,wallpaper removal,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/19/2016

5.0

04/29/2016

What a pleasant experience. Very professional. He protected our furniture and rugs very well. The job took 2 days. Always promptly on time, very pleasant. Cleaned up both days so the house didn't look like a construction site. Can't say enough.

Description of Work
Interior painting of cathedral ceilings in living room and entry way

Category interior painters

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/08/2016

Services Offered

Residential & commercial interior, exterior painting, staining, pressure washing, wallpaper removal & drywall, custom faux finishing, murals and fine art, drywall/plastering repairs

Services Not Offered

WALLPAPER HANGING.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
Senior Discount
10%
Warranties
Satisfaction