Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Leffler Construction

Founded 2005 • With Angi since January 2013

4.1

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4828 207th St North

PORT BYRON, IL 61275

Description

Leffler Construction is a General Contractor company. We are licensed as General Contractor and do not carry a plumbing or electrical license. We are fully insured and bonded in Illinois. We specialize in Home Improvement Needs.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/09/2017


Rita S.

he never showed up. I ended up getting in a even bigger nightmare with Steve Depaepe .

Description of Work
He said he was going to do my kitchen and then he stooped answering my calls or text. I went and purchased everything moved everything out of the kitchen and he never showed up or called or sent a text. I was so upset.

Category drywall, home remodeling

5.0

10/11/2016


karen G.

Excellent work. Always punctual.

Description of Work
Basement was remodeled

Category bathtub refinishing, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, remodeling

1.0

12/02/2015


Mary H.

We hired Leffler Construction to finish our basement but fired them before the project was complete due to a variety of problems. For starters, Neal Leffler and his partner did the electric themselves, though when Leffler bid the project he told us that a licensed electrician would do it. The last time we had contact with him, Leffler assured us that his electric work was "perfect". A week later we had an electrician double check Leffler's work. The electrician found (and repaired) three code violations in the work Leffler had claimed was perfect. The electrician also found that Leffler had left a live wire hanging loose within a half inch of contact with bare metal. Leffler never warned us about the dangerous live wire. As for Leffler's framing work -- they obviously did not use a level or square when framing our project They framed a closet door one inch wider at the top than the bottom so a door will not fit properly. They framed a window about two inches wider on one side than the other (and also noticeably crooked from top to bottom). And they framed a pony wall a couple inches out of square from top to bottom so it too is noticeably crooked. Leffler also tried to use substandard insulation despite giving us a bid that included code compliant insulation. For example, he tried to use R11 insulation where R15 is minimum code. Along with the insulation, we found him trying to 'nickle and dime us to death' on other issues. When he bid our project he told us that we were paying for mid-range finishes, then he repeatedly tried to use the cheapest products. Leffler and/or his worker's also broke the legs on our utility sink, and instead of telling us about it, they hid the broken legs under a pile of construction supplies. They also broke our water heater. They did not reimburse us for their breakages. Finally, we found Leffler's general conduct to be unprofessional. On a regular basis, he and his workers were either late or didn't show up at all, plus they left drink cans, food wrappers and assorted trash strewn around almost every day they worked. I highly recommend NOT hiring this company.

Description of Work
Partially finished our basement -- they framed, insulated, drywalled and did some plumbing and electric for a basement bedroom, family room, and bath.

Category contractors, drywall, electrician, insulation, remodeling, woodworking, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Electrical: Customer had us leave the job before completing the electrical , I advised the customer to let us finish the electrical that was unfinished to ensure safety for them. They choose not to have us complete, leaving it unfinished at their risk as they stopped us before we could finish. Wall framing was done to customers specs on where they wanted it located. customer had tore out sub-floor and was doing part of the work themselves. Customer Insulated the 2nd floor project themselves and basing their "codes" from "google" . Un educated homeowners on any codes. Our company uses the Illinois Building Codes Book to meet standard codes. Plumbing was replaced in the customers basement and plumber installed new lines to water heater. was left in proper working condition with no issues. Customer's wash sink was not broken , legs were placed so they would not get thrown away. Customer had so much stuff in the basement it got lost in their junk, not construction debris. Customer was aware that in the mornings we would be picking up building supplies from the local lumber yard and times vary when we would arrive. Each stage of the project has delays while sub contractors are in there as well as other jobs we run besides this one, some days we are not able to work at the property due to scheduling which customer was always notified . Customer kept changing their minds from the original estimate , and that comes with a price adjustment. The customers could not agree on one thing together and was always wanting something changed and we were happy to do it but nothing is free as anyone knows. Our Company takes pride in our work and do anything to make the customers happy.
1.0

11/27/2015


Lucas V.

Description of Work
I called and emailed them multiple times and they never contacted me back. For someone like this to be on Angie's list it is a disgrace.

Category drywall, gutter repair, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Customer Called and was given a estimated time we could perform the work. Customer waited months to respond after our contact and our company was too busy to take on any additional work.
5.0

09/30/2015


Hal D.

Great service. Accommodated last minute changes and performed work exactly as described. Very good quality work. Finished room looks like it was original construction.

Description of Work
cstructed four season room and concrete patio

Category concrete repair, drywall, patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your continued business with our company. !
5.0

09/12/2015


Brian L.

They did a quick and professional job. Had it all done in roughly 3 days. We had rain on the first day which slowed things down a little, but they did prep work for the next day. I only have one small complaint, because I had to pick up water bottles, Gator-ade bottles and a pop can after the cement contractor was done. This was not Leffler Construction who did this but a contractor who works with them on cement work. The cement contractor did an excellent job otherwise.

Description of Work
Tore out half wall and supports for carport and replaced with 6X6 posts covered in aluminum. Poured new slab for carport plus new driveway.

Category concrete repair, concrete driveways, drywall, garage builders

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business Brian, We look forward to future projects with you!
5.0

08/12/2015


Barbara C.

Description of Work
Replaced porch railings,spindles,skirting and posts

Category drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, home remodeling, doors, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business Barbara! We hope you enjoy your new porch!
5.0

07/07/2015


karen G.

Workers were always punctual and worked very hard. We are very pleased. They put drywall, insulation, painted, added doors, and updated ceiling. Will use them again.

Description of Work
Basement renovation.

Category drywall, insulation, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business, we loved completing your project.
2.0

05/28/2015


Mary Jo E.

Description of Work
Hung new doors x3 Told me he would be back on a certain day at a certain time. No showed no calls. Paid cash as requested when finished. Came to fix x3 and still leak with rain and lock crooked on front door. You can see it too why did he not see it.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, doors, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Customer purchased door through store that came with the lock strike plates mis-aligned causing deadbolt not to lock when handle was latched. customer has home made roof over both doors that are not water tight causing excessive water to downpour on top of new doors as well as the exisiting siding was not properly installed causing water to enter. Customer knew of the existing condition of her home that needed addition repairs. Work was stopped due to check customer wrote that did not clear the bank.
4.0

05/16/2015


Cathie C.

They did an excellent job you would never know there was a door there. **UPDATE 7/9/2015** They were supposed to come back to seal the door off. I called them three weeks later and left a message but did not receive a response so I called them another time two weeks after that. The service provider ensured me that he would send people out to finish the job and seal the door/ make everything flush so all I would have to do it paint. I should have also received a 10% senior discount ($50 on the $500 bill) which I never received. He said that Angie's List was supposed to pay me the discount which is not true. I felt that was poor professionalism and poor business. In the end, he didn't finish the job and it doesn't look like he plans to finish the job.

Description of Work
Removed door and installed sheet rock, drywall and insulation

Category insulation, woodworking, doors

Service Provider Response

Customer Was quoted to remove existing door and install exterior siding to cover old opening as well as insulate opening and hang new drywall on interior of new framing. Customer advised that she would cover the new drywall with wallpaper and only wanted the new drywall hung.
5.0

03/29/2015


Mary H.

We did a DIY replacement of our living room drywall. We also taped and mudded the joints ourselves. Our DIY tape job almost immediately started cracking, peeling, and popping out of the dried mud. So we hired Leffler's to repair the bad drywall joints. They replaced all the joint tape and re-mudded it. They also filled holes and repaired torn drywall paper throughout the room. It now has a professional finish that looks drastically better than our DIY job. Leffler's also skim coated over an old 1980's textured wall surface in our bedroom. Their drywall finisher did an outstanding job. He coated over the old texture to a perfectly smooth finish, leveled big lumps that were on most of the ceiling's drywall joints, and leveled big bumps that were around the light switch and outlets. Our light switch and outlet covers now sit flush against the wall for the first time. Highly recommend Leffler's skim coating to anybody who wants to smooth out and level a textured wall surface. Price was for a 23 X 13 foot living room and 11 X 11 foot bedroom.

Description of Work
Repaired drywall joints from a DIY job gone bad. Skim coated a textured wall surface into a smooth surface.

Category drywall, electrician, excavators, handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the Great review, we enjoyed completing your 1st floor project!
5.0

02/06/2015


Ava B.

Top Quality professional workmanship , On time every day , Clean up everyday, All workers all very polite , professional and Neat appearance, Left Entire Job spotless clean cannot rave enough on the Compliments I have received on all work that was totally completed in the timely manner that was promised , Very happy with the price of entire workmanship of the entire Job .Would recommend to every one that needs any Construction done .

Description of Work
New Roof , Removal of old roof , New 5 inch gutters , New Sheet rock and Painting of Basement , Electrical work , Hanging of New lighting , New ceramic Tile in Lower level , Installation of New front Door ,Installation of hardwood flooring in Living room , New Outside attached Deck to house

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, gutter repair, hardwood floor, roofing, interior painters, doors

2.0

07/28/2014


Gaelane R.

Description of Work
A deck. Used low grade materials. Boards are warping and Deck isn't even 1 mo old.

Category ceramic tile, decks, drywall, roofing, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Deck products were standard quality products. Installation was correct. Manufacture defective materials are the cause of this. Customer is un educated in facts about treated lumber and construction process
5.0

01/26/2014


Jeremy S.

Neal and his partner showed up on time, did a good job installing and wrapping the windows, and then made sure they cleaned up after themselves. The quality of work was very good and a very professional crew. I will be contacting Neal for more of my construction needs!

Description of Work
Installed 3 windows.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] For your review. Thank you for the continued business.
5.0

10/22/2013


Terry J.

Everything went great. Project was completed according to the schedule they laid out. They provided all services to complete the project from framing to flooring to hanging interior doors. Overall I am more than satisfied with the outcome and the price was very reasonable. All of his crew were very professional and good at what they do. We provided the bathroom fixtures, flooring and cieling fans and they installed the stuff we provided and they provided the rest of the materials to complete the project. You can check out Leffler Contructions Facebook page and see pictures of the finished basement project. I am glad that I found them on Angies List or I may have never been able to get this project competed. They provided the best bang for the buck by far.

Description of Work
I had a basement with cement walls and had them turn it into a bedroom, 3/4 bathroom and family room. Included framing around the furnace and water heater and creating a storage area under the steps and off the family room. Only did about half of the basement. Plan on someday having them back to finish off the rest of the basement.

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, remodeling, woodworking, ceiling fans, home remodeling, doors, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for the review and the business. We loved completing your basement project!
5.0

05/15/2013


Ava B.

Perfect in every way Professional Work in all areas and all the clean up was done

Description of Work
New roof - New decking - Basement Drywall - Repairs in Household.

Category decks, drywall, handyman service, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for the review and your business over the years, we look forward to the future projects with you!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Granted Solutions LLC

    Do you not have enough time, with the never-ending task, of keeping your home clean? Allow Granted Solutions to take over this burden for you, meanwhile you can focus on the more important priorities in your life. We are focused on providing top quality service at an affordable price!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Rockin Roll Painting

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in painting services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Riverside Solutions

    We are painters focused on finishing your interior walls and exterior buildings. We love working on houses, garages, and with small business owners. You can trust in our years of experience as the painting team you will be provided. We do high-quality and clean work that is orderly and timely. Very experienced painters for your exterior and interior needs. We are also experienced with apartment cleanouts for landlords to get units ready for rent at the beginning of the month. We power wash for several property management companies. Let us empty and gut your units to be ready for renting next month and up to code. Consider us for your home computer needs and tech support as well. We install wireless security cameras and doorbells that connect to your wi-fi. Ask us about any of your technology needs and advice today. Call to schedule your free quote on your project today. Willing to work with any budget within your needs and constraints. Experienced, timely, and professional. Riverside Solutions, Painting+. Reach out to us today to get started with your free and affordable estimate.  

    Angi Certified

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    General Construction. Windows, Siding, Roofing, Doors, Decks, Remodels, Painting, Staining, Garages, Sheds, Room Additions, Framing, Drywall Hanging & Finishing, Carpentry. Insulation. Cleaning Services. Concrete Services.

    Services Not Offered

    Appliance Work

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Leffler Construction

    How is Leffler Construction overall rated?

    Leffler Construction is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Leffler Construction open?

    Leffler Construction is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Leffler Construction provide

    Leffler Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Leffler Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, Leffler Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does Leffler Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Leffler Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Leffler Construction offer a senior discount?

    No, Leffler Construction does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Leffler Construction?

    Yes, Leffler Construction offers warranties.

    What services does Leffler Construction offer?

    Leffler Construction offers the following services: General Construction. Windows, Siding, Roofing, Doors, Decks, Remodels, Painting, Staining, Garages, Sheds, Room Additions, Framing, Drywall Hanging & Finishing, Carpentry. Insulation. Cleaning Services. Concrete Services.

    Are there any services Leffler Construction does not offer?

    Appliance Work