Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc.

Founded 1984 • With Angi since November 2006

4.9

(68) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10028 S Mandel St

Plainfield, IL 60585

Description

Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc., in Plainfield, IL, has provided local and long distance moving and storage services to residential and commercial customers for more than 30 years. We enjoy a high level of customer satisfaction in all of the services we provide. We pride ourselves on the reliability, honest and customer service that we are committed to providing our local and long distance customers, specifically serving Wheaton, Naperville and St. Charles, IL. We also have climate controlled, onsite storage. Call for a free estimate on your next move....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/11/2021


SUSAN H.

I am so pleased with the tenure relationship I have with Amenity Moving & Storage. On February 10, 2021 Mike, Patrick and Eagle were strong and perfect gentlemen to bring my early 1900's Antique furniture and Wooden Bookcases to my new address. The quality storage was evident given the dust-free and well-kept surfaces of every piece. I am deeply indebted to the service and care Amenity has demonstrated. In future, I will be glad to recommend them and to personally rely on them again. To all who read this, please consider an equally satisfying experience.

Description of Work
After nearly 7 years of storage, I requested my Antique furniture be delivered to my new address.

Category moving companies,storage units

1.0

06/29/2020


Abul F.

simple, short distance moving with typical furniture

Description of Work
Would not recommend for any moving services. Highly overpriced and over-charged for minimal amount of furniture and items. 4 individuals came, but only 2 worked at a time. They worked very slowly, taking one light box at a time even though they had 2 carts available to them. I was then charged extra for more time. They also dented drywalls in multiple places. They didn’t pay for the damage or fix it. Avoid, many other reasonable priced movers available. Do not recommend.

Category moving companies

Service Provider Response

This is a false review with malicious intent. First off he says we moved him 1/7/1970 Amenity Moving & Storage was not in business until 1985. We have no record [Member Name Removed] ever being moved by Amenity Moving & Storage. We want this false review taken off our Angie's List reviews.
5.0

12/11/2019


Denise H.

I just moved and I HIGHLY recommend Amenity Moving & Storage! I found them through great reviews on my neighborhood Facebook page. They are family owned and the people were great! Big Mike, the owner, helped us move and his wife, Sandy, quoted the job and helped me pack. They were reasonably priced and they and their staff were not only a pleasure to work with, but they also did an excellent job. I can't say enough good things about my experience with Amenity and their staff!

Description of Work
Move out of my home, store belongings for 3 weeks, move into new home.

Category moving companies

5.0

12/17/2018


Kathleen G.

Amenity was recommended to me by a trusted friend, and after seeing all positive reviews online, I gave them a call. They were extremely responsive, provided very helpful information, and a prompt estimate. Every part of the process went smoothly. Everyone I encountered was competent, responsible, hard-working, efficient, and friendly. There were two small things that came up during the move, which were both handled the next day with not a second's hesitation. I just hope that Amenity is available for my next move - I cannot imagine it going any easier.

Description of Work
move from house to storage and apartment

Category moving companies

5.0

01/01/2018


Kenneth P.

Amenity was great. Estimator showed up on time. Price quote was very modest and beat closest competitor by nearly $1,000. Charged less per mile and per mover. Also didn't start charging until arrived at house. I was leery because quote was so low but final cost was within $50 of estimate. Moving crew showed up exactly on time both days (we moved out on a wednesday and moved in on a friday due to back-to-back closings on thursday) and were very professional and friendly. Nothing was damaged. Even put 30 boxes of Christmas decorations in the garage rafters for us without complaining. Definitely would use again.

Description of Work
Moved household boxes and furniture to new house

Category moving companies

5.0

11/29/2017


Robert S.

The 3 man crew (eventually 4) showed up 30 minutes early. A 4 hour move was under $700. You can email them ahead of time for a quote. I will call on them again to move my parent's house.

Description of Work
We needed about 30 boxes and some furniture moved locally.

Category moving companies

5.0

06/14/2017


Amy F.

We were very pleased with the care these movers took with our belongings as well as with walls, trim, flooring, etc. as items were moved. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Moved two semis of our belongings to our new home.

Category moving companies,piano moving

5.0

05/15/2017


roger S.

Excellent, they made it as easy as it could be made.

Description of Work
Local household move

Category moving companies

3.0

02/03/2017


Tim S.

No quote provided despite 2 requests.

Description of Work
Requested quote for move.

Category moving companies

5.0

01/04/2017


Richard T.

Amenity loaded us up one day and unloaded the boxes the second day. They were on time and careful with our belongings. All the workers were very friendly and professional. The quote was accurate and competitive.

Description of Work
We used Amenity for a move within the same state. We did our own boxing.

Category moving companies

5.0

08/09/2016


Hugh C.

They were amazing!! Arrived right on time, stuck to the price they quoted me, and were extremely friendly and careful with our belongings.

Description of Work
They moved the contents of our 4 bedroom house.

Category moving companies

5.0

05/22/2016


Bonna M.

Mike and his crew arrived on time and did a great job! I would recommend Amenity Moving and Storage.

Description of Work
Moved us from a 4 bedroom home to another 4 bedroom home 2 miles away.

Category moving companies

5.0

03/19/2016


Kathleen F.

It went extremely well. They arrived on time and took care not to scratch the hardwood or damage the piano. They set up the piano and gave us tips on how to protect the floor. I would recommend them to anyone moving a piano.

Description of Work
They moved an antique piano, very heavy, from one house to another.

Category moving companies,piano moving

5.0

02/27/2016


Charles T.

Extremely well. Great team, hard working, and very professional.

Description of Work
They packed dishes and breakables and moved us about 65 miles.

Category moving companies

5.0

01/03/2016


JOE G.

Because they were so busy over the holidays it took them a few days to get to my job. They told me they would be available on Saturday afternoon. They called in the morning to confirm and showed up on time. They moved sofas, a loveseat, chairs, tables and a rug from one floor to another and arranged them per our direction. They were up to the challenge of moving a large, heavy and expensive sofa up to the second floor loft via a turning stairway. They thought out the move in advance and accomplished it without damage to furniture or walls.

Description of Work
Moved furniture within my house.

Category moving companies

5.0

03/28/2015


Carol F.

The Amenity crew arrived on time and began moving my belongings immediately. They were professional, always asking about any item they were unsure of for whatever reason. They were careful and wrapped items in padded blankets if appropriate. There were no complaints or grumbling from the crew, which sometimes happens with movers or other tradesmen. They were most accommodating in terms of disassembling two beds, then reassembling them at the duplex and always asked first where and how I wanted furniture placed, as well as offering to rearrange if I changed my mind after seeing the furniture in place. They completed the move within a few dollars of the estimate, and about an hour longer than estimated, but that was due to a problem beyond their control regarding a desk that would not fit through any doorway. I highly recommend Amenity and would hire them again if needed.

Description of Work
Moved furniture and already-boxed belongings from condo in Glen Ellyn to duplex in Shorewood, IL.

Category moving companies

5.0

03/20/2015


Kate S.

Everything went really well. The team showed up on time, were courteous and aware of the amount we wanted to spend and got it done at that price for us. At our new house, everyone showed up at once (construction, movers, and furniture delivery). A VERY annoying situation due to living on a busy street with no driveway parking, the movers handled it well, did not take their frustration out on me or our things. Obviously, they were compensated for wait time. Overall, VERY happy, would recommend them, and would use them again!

Description of Work
We had a 2 bedroom condo move from Naperville to Tinley Park.

Category moving companies

5.0

01/20/2015


Kevin B.

Amenity was very prompt and professional and was able to routinely handle the task without any issues. The willingness to provide quick service on a small task was appreciated.

Description of Work
Amenity moved a large table down into the basement.

Category moving companies

5.0

12/01/2014


Frank S.

We wanted to use them, but the didn't have good days for us to move. The only day they could move us was after thanksgiving, while we wanted to be there before thanksgiving. Their price was a little lower than the other company, and they were going to move us on the same day. The woman who came out was also great, it was really just the availability.

Description of Work
I got an estimate from Amenity Moving & Storage.

Category moving companies

5.0

11/12/2014


Kunal A.

You won't find better service anywhere else. Mike and his crew are outstanding - extremely patient and very careful with large heavy furniture. Honestly I was expecting some minor damage to walls, doorways, etc, but Amenity moved everything without a trace. The guys actually care about your belongings and your home. Their pleasant attitude is also a huge plus. Scheduling was very easy and pricing is reasonable.

Description of Work
Moved furniture from our first floor into storage so we could have the floors replaced.

Category moving companies

5.0

09/28/2014


SUSAN H.

Laurie, from Amenity Moving and Storage contacted me a week in advance of the move to confirm my location, driving instructions and to review the supplies they would bring. She asked if I needed anything additional for the move. Tony Galati, Joe Kuehn, Mike Mallaney arrived on time and Tony took time to review the move and answered my questions while Joe and Mike got started. They were very careful with my possessions as well as taking apart my bed and putting it together at my new residence. They worked well with each other and knew what to do to minimize time and expense. Additionally, Tony reviewed the itemized bill and helped me understand the charges. It was very convenient to work with a company that moved me and also provided climate-controlled storage. A real plus for me.

Description of Work
Amenity Moving and Storage relocated my possessions to permanent storage and also new residence. My sister has hired this company regularly for the last 20 years and I felt so privileged to meet them and receive their service.

Category moving companies

5.0

09/16/2014


William P.

Generally service was very good. The moving crew were very polite, patient and helpful. Took care with our items, so far as we can tell nothing was damaged and everything made it to the new house safely. The only complaint we have is that the estimate was for a 4 or 5 man crew, and they arrived with only 3 men. A fourth joined only in the late afternoon. As a result the move seemed to take much longer than it otherwise might have been. The rate was reduced by $20 for the period when there were only three guys, but I'm guessing a fourth or fifth guy would have saved us more by cutting time off.

Description of Work
Local move in Winfield, 4 bedroom house.

Category moving companies

5.0

08/20/2014


Jonathan K.

The Amenity team was fantastic - we moved inside the same sub-division, and our 5 man crew was unstoppable - having Vern in the industry I was very impressed with the level of effort and professionalism - I highly recommend the amenity team.

Description of Work
Local move done right

Category moving companies

5.0

08/02/2014


Pamela H.

Everything went exceedingly well. They arrived on time and had the truck unloaded and furniture placed within four hours of their arrival. This crew consisted of three men this time, including two who were on the loading end also. They had taken apart at the "old" house and put back together at the "new" house all the furniture that could be disassembled. There were a few instances where I asked them to change where something had been placed (my own change of mind) and they willingly did so. As with removing all my belongings from the former house, they were extremely careful with placing all my belongings in the new house---including multiple trips to the basement, that the former house did not have. Again, there was not a scratch nor dent on any of the walls nor door frames. The crew was friendly and more than helpful. When I initially began the research for local moving companies, I'd narrowed the list to 3 (all listed on Angie's List). After meeting with Sandy, the co-owner and estimator who came to the house, I decided to look no further and cancelled the other two estimators so as to not waste their time. Obviously moving is a stressful time, but Sandy calmly and precisely explained the process, their policies and the estimate. Due to a glitch nailing down a closing date, the job had to be postponed. Amenity is an extremely busy company but they were still able to accommodate my needs by safely holding all my belongings for five days when they could next unload me. Sandy was spot-on regarding the estimate for the move---the only increase was due to the change in dates, and having to store my items for a longer period of time. Amenity also has a great assortment of boxes for odd sized items and I utilized that service. The office staff was very helpful in making suggestions about packing needs and the best way to do so for odd shaped/sized items. This company and its great staff is phenomenal!

Description of Work
My entire house was loaded, garage and all, onto one of their trucks in less than 3 1/2 hours. Everything was painstakingly stacked tightly but not crushed into place for the haul. The loading crew consisted of 5 men who were extremely careful, with both the several boxes they hauled to the large pieces of furniture that that needed to be taken out of the house. There was not a scratch nor dent on any of the walls, including coming down the stairs from the second floor. While moving is never a fun time, Amenity Movers made it a very positive experience.

Category moving companies

5.0

07/09/2014


Darrell W.

We got estimates from Amenity and two other moving companies that are well rated on Angie's List. I picked Amenity because they were the smallest company and seemed to be the most personable to deal with. Their estimate was also the lowest of the three, by a significant amount. Amenity's actual charges were slightly below the estimate, so their original estimate was an honest estimate, not a low ball.. We had a four bedroom house in Naperville with a lot of lawn and garden equipment in the garage, as well as a lot of family goods that were stored in the basement. They sent three packers to pack our goods, which took about 1 and a half days. Amenity arrived as scheduled at 8:30 am on the move out day, and completed loading the truck with 4 men by about 6 pm. The truck, which was a big one, was loaded to capacity. We then moved into the new house four days later. Amenity arrived with 5 men about 8 am and finished just before 4 pm. The packers and movers were friendly and did everything we asked them to. We had no significant issues with damage to any of our goods other than a few minor dings that we could fix. I had a couple of unusual things to move. I had a treadmill in the basement, that was too big to move up the stairs. That I had disassembled by a fitness equipment company, and Amenity moved it. The fitness company then reassembled it. I also had a lawn tractor with a hydraulic drive, which had to be driven onto the truck. The tractor's controls can be tricky if you are not experienced with them. Other companies didn't know how to deal with the tractor. Amenity allowed me to drive it on the truck with only a small quantity of gas in the tank, and then we ran the gas out of it. Because flammables are not allowed on the truck. Overall we were satisfied with the move, and we would use Amenity again.

Description of Work
Amenity moved us from a two story home in Naperville to a ranch home in Elgin. They also packed everything. Our goods were stored on the truck for four days.

Category moving companies

    Other local Pros in your area

    Trinity Movers

    You can call us when moving and the lifting gets heavy! My team is here to help! We have years of experience moving all different types of objects! From pianos, to grandfather clocks, to everything in between. We are an owner operated company and are ready to settle you into your new home!  

    MicroShip Inc

    When you need a small move company in Chicago, you don’t want to pay big move prices. That’s why MicroShip is your best choice for moving items that won’t fill a van line truck. We’ve been doing it for over 20 years. Whether you’re moving a riding lawn mower, relocating an office, delivering goods, distributing an estate, staging things in storage, changing apartments or helping a senior downsize, you need a small move company that delivers big move professionalism and service - a company where less actually costs less. Welcome to MicroShip - the Midwest’s biggest small move company. Our prices are up to 50% less than van line prices on out of state moves. Experts in estate moves. We have no weight minimum for out of state shipping or moves.  

    Offers by MicroShip Inc on Angi
    Reebie Storage & Moving Co- Allied Vanlines

    Reebie Storage & Moving Co is the Oldest and Most Respected Moving Co in Chicago. Serving the Chicagoland area since 1880. While we continue to move forward with new technologies and innovations, our mission remains unchanged: "Respect and protect our client's belongings." it's our promise to you, a promise we've been keeping for well over a centry. Additional DBAs - Rebbie Storage & Moving, Reebie Storage & Moving Co., Reebie/Allied Van Lines Agent.  

    Licensed
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Local and Long Distance Moving Services, Relocations, Packing and Crating, Hot Tub Moving, Office and Warehouse Moving, Senior Citizen Moving, Piano Moving, Gun Safe Moving, Free Estimates, Storage Facilities: Full-Service Storage, Security, Climate Control, Safe and Clean, Family Owned and Operated, Residential Movers, Movers and Storage Facility, Piano and Organ Moving, Gun Safe Moving, Hot Tub Moving.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc.

    How is Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. overall rated?

    Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. open?

    Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. provide

    Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. offer a senior discount?

    No, Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc.?

    No, Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. does not offer warranties.

    What services does Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. offer?

    Amenity Moving & Storage, Inc. offers the following services: Local and Long Distance Moving Services, Relocations, Packing and Crating, Hot Tub Moving, Office and Warehouse Moving, Senior Citizen Moving, Piano Moving, Gun Safe Moving, Free Estimates, Storage Facilities: Full-Service Storage, Security, Climate Control, Safe and Clean, Family Owned and Operated, Residential Movers, Movers and Storage Facility, Piano and Organ Moving, Gun Safe Moving, Hot Tub Moving.