Above & Beyond Construction

About

Founded 1993 • With Angi since January 2010

In business since 1993, specializing in residential & commercial addition, build outs and all types of remodeling: bathrooms, kitchens, etc. References are available upon request and free estimates are always provided..We currently have 11 employees, though when appropriate, we use sub contractors. All tradesmen (carpenters, plumbers, HVAC specialists, electricians) are licensed with the state of Illinois. Welcome to Above & Beyond Construction, where we specialize in custom homes, additions, major renovations and whole house remodeling. Above & Beyond follows in the same core traditions and values since over two decades ago when the company was founded by owner Chester Sulewski. Today, we continue in that same tradition of superior custom design, exceptional quality, alongside a professional and courteous work ethic. Coupled with input and communication from our customers, we are able to meet our main goal: to accommodate your budget and lifestyle. Call today for the best!...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Residential

+26 more images

Remodeling - General Project

Remodeling - General Project

home remodeling
Room addition

Verified Reviews

5.0

(33) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

32

4

1

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (19)interior painting (16)plumbers (14)tile installation (12)roofing (9)basement remodeling (8)woodworking (8)excavating (8)hardwood floors (7)electrician (7)masonry (6)foundation repair (5)
Showing 1-25 of 33 reviews
5.0

10/30/2021


Agnieszka W.

I absolutely love my new room. The job was very well done. The crew is professional and delivered on all my high demands.

Description of Work
Room addition

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2021

Service Provider Response

Mrs [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are so happy to hear that you are enjoying your new space. Please let us know if we can help you with anything further, and thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us this super kind review. Kindly, Chester Sulewski

5.0

08/02/2021


Debbie T.

Experienced skillful professionals completed the job above and beyond my expectations. A pleasure to work with!

Description of Work
Kitchen & Bathroom

Category ceramic tile, electrician, picture framing, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Reviews like yours make our day because it makes all the hard work worthwhile. It's so fantastic that you enjoying your new Kitchen & Bathroom . Thanks again for choosing (Above & Beyond Construction)and we can't wait to see you again! Kindly, Chester Sulewski

5.0

03/08/2021


Barb S.

Above & Beyond Construction lived up to their name yet again! The team was able to quickly help with our project of one complete bathroom gut renovation (tile, plumbing, custom built-ins, painting and installing all new fixtures) and an update to a half bath that included installing a custom vanity, new lighting, replacing the toilet and painting. We threw a lot of curveballs at them with our dated bathrooms, but they were able to incredibly work within two weeks to overhaul both bathrooms. Amazing! The team was very respectful of our family's safety with COVID precautions and minimized any concerns we might have had. I would 100% recommend using Above & Beyond for any projects, big or small. Hopefully we can work with them again in the near future!

Description of Work
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom

Category ceramic tile, picture framing, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/08/2021

5.0

10/28/2020


Jean K.

Awesome. They worked hard and we're very efficient.

Description of Work
Framing, electrical, footings, roofing, decks and porch.

Category decks, electrician, picture framing, roofing, woodworking

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2020

5.0

10/27/2020


Pen H.

Porch/Deck looks great. The team was worked hard and efficiently. They provided updates through out the project. Good job.

Description of Work
Decks & Porches

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2020

5.0

02/02/2020


David J.

We used Above & Beyond Construction to gut and remodel one full and one half bathroom in our 1960-built house. This was our first big home remodeling project and we couldn’t have been happier with the results. Chester and his crew were easy to work and communicate with, kept us updated with timing and progress, and identified additional issues that needed to be addressed (aka some really nasty old corroded cast iron pipes and cracked joists in our basement) to prevent future catastrophes. If we hadn’t fixed them we know we’d have ended up having to rip out the beautiful new bathroom within 6 months due to the failure of the old plumbing! They take pride in their work and take care to protect the rest of the house from dust and dirt, completely clean up the work site at the end of every day, and we had no problem trusting any of them in the house when we couldn’t be home. There were no budget surprises, either; the estimate was right on target. When we get up the nerve to tackle the gut rehab of our old kitchen we will look no further than Above & Beyond Construction!

Description of Work
Total gut and remodel of one half and one full bathroom

Category electrician, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2019

5.0

12/19/2019


Mary P.

Quality and craftsmanship was excellent. I trusted Chester, the project manager completely. Our house was over 90 years old and he went literally "above and beyond" to help us when unrelated issues happened to come up with our boiler. He employs very talented subcontractors that he has worked with for years and who helped contribute to the smooth completion of our project. He has excellent taste and was extremely helpful in offering his opinion when we decided to make some changes. We were very happy with the look and finish of our garage- we re-used brick from the demolition and he was able to make the exterior match our existing house perfectly. He is attentive and available to answer questions and personally inspected all of the work as it was completed

Description of Work
Garage demolition and rebuild; new roof entire house; interior remodel with dormer and extrerior masonry

Category concrete driveways, electrician, excavators, heating & air conditioning/hvac, masonry, remodeling, roofing, interior painters, basement remodeling

Cost $130,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2019

5.0

09/16/2019


Bethany E.

Great! Had a creepy 100 year old basement that flooded and needed tons of work. A big project but we could not be happier with how it turned out!

Description of Work
Remodeling - General

Category ceramic tile, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, interior painters, foundation repair, basement remodeling

Cost $100,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/20/2019

5.0

09/16/2019


Dennis B.

Chester and his crew built an addition to our home which included a bedroom and an ada spec bathroom and they were great. I am disabled and he constantly went the extra mile to make sure what they were doing at each step of the project would work for me. Quality work, first class all the way. The best experience I have ever had with a contractor.

Description of Work
Remodeling - General

Category ceramic tile, concrete driveways, excavators, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, drain cleaning, foundation repair, basement remodeling

Cost $220,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2019

5.0

09/16/2019


Girish G.

Above and Beyond was great. Their attention to detail was fantastic and they finished the project ahead of schedule.

Description of Work
Remodeling - General

Category plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2019

5.0

09/16/2019


Roy P.

Above & Beyond did a fantastic job, they had a courteous crew maintained exceptional quality control and delivered the project on time

Description of Work
Remodeling - General

Category remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2019

5.0

11/21/2018


Greg F.

Our project was significant because it involved a very large and heavy steel beam. Chester solved the problem of getting it into the house and installing in a relatively tight space. His team performed well and with no damage to rest of house. His price for this work was very competitive and I would go to him for other remodeling needs.

Description of Work
Installation of beam to replace bearing wall

Category masonry, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/17/2018

Images

Review for Above & Beyond Construction - 2141 W Crescent Ave, Park Ridge, IL - 37565858
5.0

10/28/2018


catherine & john O.

Chester and his men did an excellent job. During the remodeling they were careful not to disturb the rest of our living quarters. They cleaned up every day and were very thoughtful through out the project. He was helpful with every detail. He took great lengths to match our brick work and was very patience with our decision making.

Description of Work
Removed old family room and completely built a new addition.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, excavators, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/09/2016

5.0

10/28/2018


catherine & john O.

The project went very well and Above and Beyond Construction was very easy to work with. We were very pleased with the quality of the work done. We were given good choices and suggestions in terms of windows, railings, flooring, bathroom fixtures and all other materials used. They were very responsive if we had questions and were flexible if we wanted to make changes while construction was going on. Our home is an older brick Spanish revival home and the owner of ABC went out of his way to find architectural materials for the addition that matched the style of our home. The crew was courteous, conscientious, pleasant, professional and very easy to have in our home. They were very neat and cleaned up every day before going home. We highly recommend Above and Beyond Construction and would use them again on any other projects in our home.

Description of Work
Family room, mud room, bathroom, bedroom, closet, basement addition and stone patio and pergola addition to home

Category ceramic tile, concrete driveways, electrician, excavators, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, drain cleaning, foundation repair, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

10/25/2018


Greg S.

All went good and on time and on budget.

Description of Work
Replaced concrete in a two bay dock and the apron to the dock.

Category concrete driveways, excavators, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2018

5.0

09/06/2018


Mario V.

Above and Beyond has completed several projects for us at our corporate office and they have done a great job with everything. We will continue to work with them in the future if we have any other projects come up. They accommodated our office schedule and worked around our times to minimize any disturbance to our staff during a specialized renovation project. They did an amazing job with all the work and handled a custom renovation project well. They do quality work and can handle any size job and go the extra mile to make their customers happy.

Description of Work
Specialized Office Renovation and build out.

Category ceramic tile, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, home builders, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/06/2018

Images

Review for Above & Beyond Construction - 2141 W Crescent Ave, Park Ridge, IL - 37390110
5.0

04/02/2018


Robert M.

Since parts of the house are over 100 years old, I knew that I would need a lot of new decking under the roof. I also needed drip edge material installed to prevent ice dam problems that I had been experiencing. I also needed trim repair and gutters. Everything turned out great. The timing was great as well. that got it done in 3 days working dawn to dusk just before the cold weather set in. The acid test was the one stretch in January where we got at least 18 inches of snow without a thaw. I had the ice dams as usual but no leaks this time. This outfit is very professional and is a real bargain if your looking for top quality workmanship. I would not hesitate to use them again for any type of general contracting work that you might need. I found out about Above and Beyond with my own 2 eyes. I was really impressed with some projects he was doing for my neighbor. I found out that my neighbor had been using them for years on a variety of projects. The outcome for my project was equally good. This outfit is very professional and is a real bargain if your looking for top quality workmanship. I would not hesitate to recommend using them for any type of general contracting work that you might need. You won't be disappointed.

Description of Work
New roof, New gutters, trim repair as needed.

Category remodeling, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2017

5.0

07/21/2017


Cynthia A.

Very well. The project was completed within a very fair range of the original budget. Contractor gave us product options that spanned quality and price. It was also completed pretty much within the established time frame too.

Description of Work
Major renovation of a 1927 6-flat condo in Lakeview East neighborhood of Chicago. Project included remove/replace kitchen floor, plaster demo, framing and sheetrock, electrical - recessed lights in great room and hallway, plumbing (2 new bathrooms). Kitchen work required removing and replacement of appliances and cabinetry.

Category ceramic tile, hardwood floor, masonry, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $109

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2017

Images

Review for Above & Beyond Construction - 2141 W Crescent Ave, Park Ridge, IL - 35876132

+1 More

5.0

05/20/2017


Lawrence B.

Outstanding craftsmanship, attention to detail, Outstanding execution of detail marble work. Treat job as if it was his own house. Very responsive, hard working. Cant say enough what a great job they did. As a registered architect, I would recommend him to all my clients.

Description of Work
Creation of completely new bathroom. Complete gut of existing dressing room. New plumbing, blown insulation, electrical, detailed wood trim, ceramic and marble tile.

Category ceramic tile, excavators, hardwood floor, remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2017

5.0

11/23/2016


Sal L.

Chester is the epitome of honest, fair and thoroughly professional. He stands by his work and when unrelated crisis occurred donthe the aging infrastructure in our village - think raw sewage flowing into our newly redone basement ... three times - Chester responded each and every time literally saving us; working with our insurance company and thencoming up with a creative, safe and economical solution to protect us FROM the village system. We cannot say enough positive things about him, his stable workforce who we have known for over a decade, and the careful manner in which he listens to his client, helps work within a budget, and is reliable. The big question - is it possible to love your contractor? My husband and I respond enthusiastically "YES"!

Description of Work
We have had this contractor work on our home for over sixteen years. From re-roofing a large home with cedar shingle; stucco work; exterior woodworking and painter; sanding and sealing old floors; major kitchen updating complete with moving walls and redesigning four adjacent rooms; finishing a 100 year old plus raw basement -- the list and variety are endless.

Category ceramic tile, excavators, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, home remodeling, interior painters, foundation repair, basement remodeling

Cost $16,150,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/23/2016

5.0

09/12/2016


Thad T.

It went very well. The job was done right done right, on time, at a fair price. We have had Czeslaw (Chester) do two projects for us (building a large multi-story home addition as well as doing a master bath gut rehab at another house) and we couldn't be much happier. He does quality work, at very reasonable prices, and most importantly, seems to care about doing a good job and having happy customers. He answers your calls, his guys show up for the job, and those workers do very high quality work (craftsmanship). No, he isn't perfect and doesn't walk on water, but if there are problems, he solves them quickly and to your satisfaction. He is smart, knowledgeable, and has lots of experience. Above and Beyond is capable of doing a very wide range of projects and I strongly recommend you hire them.

Description of Work
Large 2nd and 3rd floor addition. Master bath at another house.

Category ceramic tile, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $250,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/05/2016

5.0

08/25/2016


keith J.

The project was Great!! His efforts exemplified a true professional with great workmanship, prompt responses and fair pricing.

Description of Work
Chester and Above & Beyond Construction installed a new roof on my home which included a complete tear off of the existing shingles.

Category remodeling, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2016