Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Aspen Exterior Co

Founded 1978 • With Angi since November 2002

4.4

(72) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1400 E NORTHWEST HWY

Palatine, IL 60074

Description

Aspen Exterior Company is an exterior remodeling company specializing in furnishing and the installation of the finest quality windows, doors, sidings and roofs. Since 1978 we have grown from our first truck to our current 17,000 square foot Design Center, Warehouse and Production Facility. We make your remodeling experience enjoyable. From the first contact, whether by phone or a visit to our showroom, to our final follow-up, our sole focus is on providing you with the solution that best meets your exterior remodeling needs. 10 Year Labor Warranty, 30 Employees...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/06/2017


Frederick C.

It went very well. We are very happy with how everything turned out. The soffit didn't match exactly but I knew it wouldn't. You probably wouldn't really even notice it. They used much better material than we had.

Description of Work
During the wind storm in March, we had the soffit blow off of the south side of our house. I called several siding companies but no one wanted to bother with such a small job. Aspen was the only one willing to help. I was told their hourly rate and that it would take a few hours plus the cost of materials. I normally would have preferred an estimate but I figured they were on Angie's List with an A rating so I could trust them. We had them do a few other repairs on the house too.

Category siding

1.0

12/08/2016


Richard B.

June 20, 2017 one of our glass lites in our doors from Aspen shattered. The experience of customer service related to getting the glass repaired and replaced has been one of complete frustration. The material is warrantied. I didn't think this would be so hard although it took over 7 months for them to get the doors right the first time around! Maybe I should have been prepared for the errors, lack of communication and attempts to get more money out of us. July 25th, the wrong glass was brought out. I was still living with blue painter tape holding my glass in my front door!!! Not safe and not ok. They re-ordered. August 11th - the wrong glass again!! I had them put it in so I could quit living in fear of a broken window in my FRONT door!! We then began the wait for the new glass. It is now December and after many calls that I have had to initiate, I am advised it is in!! June to December!!! AND then I'm told today that the cost to install and paint the trim is mine to pay. A glass lite in the door they sold me and installed shattered under warranty coverage. I wait 6 months for it to be fixed and I get to pay for the fix?!?!. I understand the material/warranty is from the manufacturer but where is Aspen's concern and care for their customers? Six months to fix? Oh well, they say. Customer pays twice for install? Oh well, they say. This entire experience has been a nightmare. DO NOT put yourself in this situation! In order to get my door fixed I have had to wait 6 months, 2 wrong glass lites being brought out and now I’m going to be charged installation again and have to paint it myself to make it right. To simply make right and on what I originally paid over $3,000 for. It is not the way a good company would do business.

Description of Work
Replace two front doors

Category doors

5.0

12/14/2015


Debbie M.

They were willing to help me fix this issue when other companies would not. They were prompt, friendly and did an amazing job. When I go to replace my other windows, I won't be going to anyone else, only them.

Description of Work
I hired Aspen Exteriors to come in and fix a job that another company did extremely poorly. They uninstall 4 exterior doors and installed 4 picture windows for me.

Category replacement windows, doors

2.0

04/30/2015


Jessica C.

Our experience started off pretty rocky when we had to beg the salesman with Aspen to give us a quote on an entry door. After about a week of constant calling we finally received the quote and since the price was good, we decided to proceed with ordering the door because we figured the service would improve once the door was ordered. We could not have been more wrong. We were notified when the door arrived and went through another round of phone tag and unreturned calls to schedule the install. Our installation was cancelled with less than 48 hours notice, so we rescheduled and that date was also cancelled at the last minute. Finally on the 3rd or 4th try at scheduling an installation date, the crew showed up at the appointed time. Thankfully the lead installer checked the new door before beginning demo of the old door and discovered that the new door was the wrong size for our frame. I then began another round of phone tag with our sales associate to determine the cause of the problem. One person with Aspen told me that the wrong measurements were given during the order and someone else told me that Thermatru sent the wrong door. It took several phone calls to get a straight answer out of them regarding the problem. They were able to put a "rush" order in with Thermatru for the correct door and the door was installed a few weeks later. The most frustrating part of the whole experience was when my husband spoke to the owner to express our frustration at the poor service we were receiving. My husband asked the owner "How would you feel if you were the customer and had received the service you have given us?" and the owner responded that he would be okay with it and brushed off our concerns. No one from Aspen ever apologized for the poor communication, unreturned phone calls, incorrect order, or general poor customer service. I am baffled by the lack of pride in their company and lack of motivation to work with a customer to satisfaction. Aspen will never receive our business again and we will not refer Aspen to our friends and coworkers.

Description of Work
Provide and install Thermatru Door

Category doors

4.0

11/13/2014


Linda H.

There were some delays in getting the right product. Once the product arrived they did a wonderful job matching the wood tones and the finish product turned out great. Their customer service was excellent, but for the billing department that keep sending out bills for a product that was not received.

Description of Work
Installed new front doors.

Category doors

5.0

09/15/2014


MARK S.

I hired Aspen to install a new front door and sidelights. They were very hard-working, professional and the craftsmanship was terrific. Two people worked all day to remove my old door and install the new one. It's a beautiful door and they did a great job. We recently hired them to install a storm door as well.

Description of Work
Installed a new Therma-Tru fiberglass front entry door with side lights.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

05/17/2014


Kathy L.

Project is still undecided.

Description of Work
Gave an estimate for siding

Category siding, replacement windows

5.0

05/16/2014


Lorraine H.

They were great and we were very pleased with them.

Description of Work
They installed new siding on the house.

Category siding

4.0

05/12/2014


Johnathan I.

It went well. It took longer than expected to order the door, around 6 weeks. The front door was not repaired to our liking the first time so we called and they came out and repaired the front door as it should be. They did a good job and we would rehire them in the future.

Description of Work
Installation of new storm door. Repair of front door and bedroom door.

Category replacement windows, doors

5.0

01/22/2014


Erica R.

I found myself in a very strange situation. My renter's boyfriend had knocked the door down to the condominium unit that I own, and previous to that had tried to bust out the lock. Brian came out in the morning to meet me to see if they could help me out. He was very nice, and took some measurements at the unit. I was in contact with some other contractors due to there being no front door on the unit, but most companies gave me an estimate that was too long to wait seeing there was not a door. The last thing I wanted was to have to purchase/install a non fire safe door until I could get the one I needed. Brian called me said they could install next day, and did just that. I pulled up to condo a little before the time expected, and the Aspen Exterior truck was in the lot waiting. VERY NICE. This was definitely a situation that could have been worse if Brian at Aspen did not help me out.

Description of Work
Installed Fire safe door in Condo unit entrance with new locks.

Category replacement windows

4.0

12/18/2013


Oskar S.

There are not many companies to choose from when it comes to skylights so I decided to try Aspen since they are a small, local company and I did not want to go with a nationwide company. I think they have a good product, manufactured locally. However, they are not competitive on price and are unwilling to deal. When I actually asked about getting a better price, as I really wanted to choose them, the salesman came back with a comment that really put me off. It's too bad as we were not too far apart.

Description of Work
Came out for an estimate to replace 2 skylights.

Category skylights

4.0

12/18/2013


Oskar S.

The showroom is nice and from what I read up on their products, they are of pretty good quality, when compared to other windows that I researched. The issue for me was their windows are no bargain and I can get like quality for quite a bit less. The salesman was also not wiling to negotiate on the price, which surprised me, and so I went with someone else.

Description of Work
I went to their showroom and also had them come out for an estimate for several windows.

Category replacement windows

5.0

12/15/2013


Carol B.

I was so happy with the gutter work that I did not shop around for a price on the screen door. I had a screen door I bought from one of the big box stores but that was a mistake - not worth what I paid for it. I am happy with the work Aspen did.

Description of Work
I had them put gutters on my house and a new screen door. These were performed on different dates.

Category gutter repair, doors

2.0

12/11/2013


Tom E.

The salesman ordered the wrong size windows. They tried to modify the frames to get the windows to fit taking longer than planned. A two day job took two weeks to complete. The co did their best to make up for the error.

Description of Work
Purchased 15 windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

11/29/2013


William C.

Installation went well. There was some confusion by installers regarding which deadbolt lock went on which door. One of the locks was keyed on both sides. We also wanted all locks keyed alike. This required a revisit. Quality of doors and storm doors was good.

Description of Work
Installed 3 exterior doors

Category doors

5.0

10/22/2013


g P.

Representatives were great. Professional, prompt ,courteous, and provided a detailed estimate of work plan. They have a nice showroom that provides sample installations of products. (After all, it is nice to see what is being installed.) Overall, I was impressed with their experience and service. Their estimate, however, was (apples to apples) about 20% higher than others. I chose to go with another company that offered the same service and install skills but at the lower price. My reference checks indicated that Aspen does quality work, and is a reliable firm. I just think you can get all of that elsewhere at a much lower price. I'm not going to diss them for their pricing. A company needs to make a profit. My advice...get competitive quotes.

Description of Work
Quote for house reside with Hardie Plank product.

Category siding, doors

1.0

08/12/2013


Jeff J.

The salesman was on time. It was hot out and after walking around the house and some discussion he suggested that he return the next day and take some pictures. He said he would put them into a program he had at the office and he would show me what the house would look like with different colors, siding and roofing. He said to call him on Sat. and i could stop in a see them then. i called and he was not in. i called the next week and left a message for him that i called and that he should call me. i waited a week and i never heard from him or from someone else from the company. i gave him "A" on punctuality because he did show up on time.

Description of Work
They were to provide an estimate for roofing and siding.

Category roofing, siding

5.0

06/25/2013


Nancy M.

I've used them for years. They have done everything you could possibly do on a house. Their service and quality stand out. Their prices are very reasonable.

Description of Work
I used Aspen Exterior for a new roof.

Category roofing

5.0

06/03/2013


Raymond E.

They are 60% completed and every thing is going very well. They do what they say they will do. Their work is quality, their price is fair and they are responsive and good citizens on the job site.

Description of Work
Replaced my siding

Category siding, replacement windows

5.0

03/02/2013


Sarah R.

After researching vinyl window brands and styles, we decided to use Soft-Lite Imperial LS vinyl windows to replace our original leaky windows. We obtained quotes from several contractors, but ultimately chose Aspen Exteriors to complete the job. Aspen removed 17 windows, including a large picture window and a glass block bathroom window, in our 1950s ranch house, and replaced them with 18 windows. Aspen replaced the picture window with two smaller, double-hung windows; replaced the glass block bathroom window with an awning-style window; and re-sized two kitchen windows to raise them above counter-height, in anticipation of a future kitchen remodeling project. The resizing project included tastefully finishing the resulting gap in our exterior masonry with aluminum flashing, per our request, instead of attempting to color match 1950s brick (windows are in the rear of the home). We were pleased with the price quoted by Aspen. Their installers were extremely courteous and professional throughout the job, which took approximately one week to complete. We appreciated their attention to detail, and the fact that they consulted with us before completing the interior trim work, to assure that it met with our style preferences. The Aspen installers cleaned up after themselves every day, inside and out, which was important to us, since our baby was 10-months-old and mobile at the time of the installation. The also protected our floors and furniture throughout the job. We highly recommend Aspen Exteriors, and will definitely consider them for future exterior improvements, including siding and gutters. We are also pleased with the windows we selected, and are glad to be rid of the cold areas in our home that were caused by our old, leaky windows with rotting exterior trim. We had to call Aspen to come back and finish some forgotten trim under the kitchen windows. They responded promptly and completed the job without question or additional charge, despite the fact that we put off calling them for several weeks.

Description of Work
Remove and replace 17 original windows with 18 vinyl windows, including replacing a large picture window with two smaller double-hung windows, and resizing two kitchen windows.

Category replacement windows

4.0

02/03/2013


Rosemary B.

Job (cedar siding) was started by the contractor's "A" team. Crew was responsive to installation suggestions, and results were very good. Midway through the job, another team came in to complete the job. They were not as quality conscious. So, we requested the original crew to finish the job and to address defects. Finally, Aspen came through with the expected workmanship at a competitive price. I am currently considering Aspen for a window replacement.

Description of Work
Good company committed to customer satisfaction

Category siding

5.0

01/14/2013


Marianne L.

Aspen Exterior Co. had a competitive price with the other estimates I had. Their price was slightly higher, but they removed all old siding and completely insulated under the new siding. Other companies were going to remove only uneven siding, not remove all siding. I wanted all the old siding removed. Also, Aspen considered future installation of windows and allowed for that when installing the siding. The design consultant Harry answered all my questions and provided information which helped me to make the decision to do this project. The installers Ziggy and David were every professional and careful in their work. They were always on time and cleaned up at the end of the day. The project included new insulation, taped Tyvek, new siding, soffit, fascia, trim, shutters, gable vent, gutters, and Raindrop Gutter Guards. I am very pleased with how the house looks now.

Description of Work
Aspen Exterior Co. provided an accurate estimate and provided drawings which projected how the house might look. All old siding was removed and 1/2" Dow insulation underlayment was installed and Tyvek was wrapped and taped. Other installation included: siding, soffit, fascia, trim, shutters, octagon gable vent on garage, gutters, cap on garage door frame, and Raindrop Gutter Guards.

Category gutter repair, siding

4.0

10/22/2012


Gail S.

It was pretty good. We are still waiting for them to finish a few things.

Description of Work
They replaced a big window for us.

Category replacement windows

3.0

10/15/2012


Pete J.

There were a couple of issues with the way they were putting up the siding according to the building department here, they weren't staggering it right, but they took care of it. Other than that it seemed to be okay. The only thing I didn't like about it were the materials. My mom had put up aluminium siding which dented up and I put the vinyl siding up which doesn't hold up in winter, especially with kids. It has chipped and cracked and weed whacked and that has taken its toll over the years. We had a car fire next door which melted some of it. Then the product was unavailable, they stopped making it. But other than that they seem to do alright. We did have them come back to do the back window and the sliding door and somewhere along the line they forgot to mention that the residing on the outside wasn't part of the original contract. It was something that was missed and they never said anything. I just assumed I was going to get a complete job done. If you take siding down and do something you would think they would put it back up. I think their pricing was average. We've lived with it for this long and you wonder why they did things a certain way, but nothing too major. When it was first done it did seem to be okay. I'm not sure if I would use them again or not, I would look in to see what kind of reviews they are receiving.

Description of Work
We used Aspen Exterior Company about ten or fifteen years ago for siding.

Category siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

In response to the footnote, The contract clearly states, "Replacement of rotted fascia board at additional $4.32 per ln. ft." There was extensive rot on the house that could not be seen until the work was being done. Most of the work we do has no extras, but when there is extensive extra work we must charge for it. The installers always show the homeowner any extras before starting. In this case they thought the extras were included, which were clearly not, as stated in the contract.
5.0

09/16/2012


Kristen B.

We are very pleased with our experience working with Aspen Exteriors. The sales staff that we worked with was professional and knowledgeable. They helped us through the process of purchasing these new items for our house. For high quality items and work, this is a good company to use.

Description of Work
Replaced entry door and installed new storm door

Category doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    GMART Inc

    6 emploees, VSI Certified Siding Installation , EPA Certified Lead Free Contractor Hail Damage Insurance Claims Free Service Free Hail Inspection  

    Home Build - Windows, Doors & Siding

    Home Build specializes in installations or replacement windows, doors, and siding. Home Build is a locally owned and operated home improvement contractor. At Home Build, every project is owner sold, supervised and approved. We’ve been providing superior products and customer-focused service for Chicago northwestern suburbs homeowners since 1997. We understand that we are only as good as the quality of the products we offer, which is why we have aligned with trusted manufacturers such as Pella, Alside, Marvin, Simpson, Therma-Tru, James Hardie, and other industry leaders. We offer something to fit every budget and many of our products are backed by lifetime warranties to give our customers added peace of mind.  

    Accurate Contracting Service

    Accurate Contracting Services, Inc. is a family owned and operated, BBB accredited business with an A+ rating, that has been serving the community since 1998. Our owner, Ronald Peterson, is a General Contractor with 40+ years of ground up, hands on structural experience. With Ron's knowledge and experience, he has helped homeowners with design, layout and product decisions that can be a difficult and sometimes frustrating process. We pride ourselves on delivering superior products and services at rates that are more than competitive. Accurate Contracting Services has implemented a policy of promoting environmentally safe products and recycling shingles, which frees landfills of a product that never decomposes. Whether you're looking to enhance the look of your house, improve energy efficiency or increase your home's resale value, Accurate Contracting Services will help you decide the best option to fit your needs and budget.  

    General Remodeling
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Exterior Remodeling, Siding contractor, Window & Door Contractor, Window Replacement, Vinyl Window, Wood Windows, Doublehung, Casement & Bay Windows. Fiberglass Entry & Patio Doors, Skylights. Gutters & Downspouts. Vinyl, Aluminum & Fiber Cement Siding, Fascia & Soffit, Roofing. Residential Remodeling. Decks, Railings, Porticos.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Aspen Exterior Co

    How is Aspen Exterior Co overall rated?

    Aspen Exterior Co is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Aspen Exterior Co open?

    Aspen Exterior Co is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Aspen Exterior Co provide

    Aspen Exterior Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does Aspen Exterior Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Aspen Exterior Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Aspen Exterior Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Aspen Exterior Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Aspen Exterior Co?

    Yes, Aspen Exterior Co offers warranties.

    What services does Aspen Exterior Co offer?

    Aspen Exterior Co offers the following services: Exterior Remodeling, Siding contractor, Window & Door Contractor, Window Replacement, Vinyl Window, Wood Windows, Doublehung, Casement & Bay Windows. Fiberglass Entry & Patio Doors, Skylights. Gutters & Downspouts. Vinyl, Aluminum & Fiber Cement Siding, Fascia & Soffit, Roofing. Residential Remodeling. Decks, Railings, Porticos.