Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

HOUSE OF HEAT

4.8

(236) Verified Reviews

Founded 1955 • With Angi since November 2002

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
8208
Trade License Locale
Oak Park
Trade License Authority
Village of Oak Park
Trade License Expiration
03/31/2017
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Open All Day
Monday
Open All Day
Tuesday
Open All Day
Wednesday
Open All Day
Thursday
Open All Day
Friday
Open All Day
Saturday
Open All Day

Phone Number

Address

336 HARRISON ST

Oak Park, IL 60304

http://www.houseofheat.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Serving Oak Park & surrounding areas since 1955, House of Heat installs & repairs heating & cooling systems. We offer a full line of heating & air conditioning equipment & we service all makes & models. Our friendly & helpful staff has over 200 years of combined experience in the business, making House of Heat the most reliable choice for your heating & cooling needs. With 24-hour emergency service, 365 days per year, you can be sure we'll be there when you need us. Choosing House of Heat means that our experienced & helpful team will provide you with quality work at a competitive price....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(236) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

210

4

13

3

2

2

1

1

10

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (224)water heaters (18)plumbers (7)electrician (5)chimney repair (2)drain cleaning (1)fireplace services (1)chimney cap repair (1)
Showing 1-10 of 236 reviews
5.0

09/13/2019


Isiah S.

They did an excellent job and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They cleaned my furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2018

5.0

07/06/2019


Karen S.

Great — it was all done in one day with little disruption

Description of Work
Central air

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $5,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2019

5.0

02/06/2019


JACKIE G.

Called House of Heat on a Saturday night when furnace quit working. Technician Marty came within the hour. He was able to restart the furnace, but a permanent fix would require at least an expensive circuit board replacement. Since the furnace was old, he recommended replacement. First thing Monday morning House of Heat called. Owner Dave King came just after 9 am. He offered an on the spot reasonable estimate/proposal for a new furnace. After my verbal "yes" he scheduled the installation for noon the same day! The 3 man installer crew came and did an very neat and efficient job. By end of day, all was complete. Everyone involved was professional, polite and friendly. Fantastic service.

Description of Work
Gas furnace repair, replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2019

5.0

09/15/2018


Benjamin D.

All around a fantastic job. I called the main number and the receptionist got me in touch with a technician in no time on a Saturday. Marty did a fantastic job. He was very timely, and professional. He was upfront about the cost of the emergency service, he gave many tips and insights to the problem, and did a very thorough job in getting my A/c fixed up right. I will definitely plan to use this company again in the future.

Description of Work
A/c went out

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $275

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

09/14/2018


Anna-Maria M.

Since 2013, I've called House of Heat whenever my furnace or air conditioner needs servicing. I've been very pleased with their service, over the years. So, when my 26-year-old air conditioner needed to be replaced (refrigerant leak), I shopped around a bit, but decided on House of Heat, based on past experience. I was happy with the installation. Joe and Guillermo cared about their work, and took their time to make sure the job was done right. In fact, I was impressed with the way Joe cut a new opening for the new evaporator coil -- a neat and even rectangle. It wasn't a haphazard arc like the opening created by the company that installed the old air conditioner. The installers didn't seem to mind my partner and me watching them work. They happily answered our questions. Clean up was thorough -- especially in the area in the basement where a hole had to be drilled (through bricks) for new refrigerant pipes. They didn't leave a mess. I'm enjoying my new air conditioner, and the whole process, from estimating through installation, went smoothly. Thanks, House of Heat!

Description of Work
Replace air condtioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2018

5.0

09/04/2018


Chris R.

They came by and inspected our AC. They told me about a part that didn't need to be replaced right away, but would probably need to be done sooner than later. I went ahead and agreed to this and they scheduled a follow-up appointment as soon as the part was in. They came by and replaced it at the agreed price.

Description of Work
AC tune-up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2018

5.0

06/26/2018


Rachel P.

I had to wait a few hours for a callback after my initial call on a Saturday morning, but once Howard called me, everything went quickly and smoothly. He found the issue right away and fixed it within an hour. We will be using House of Heat again!

Description of Work
Air conditioner was blowing warm air.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $260

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2018

5.0

01/28/2018


BRENDA LEE J.

Wonderful service. Trust these guys with everything. Our go-to place for HVAC related needs.

Description of Work
Installation of new furnace, A/C, whole house humidifier

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2017

5.0

01/03/2018


Priya S.

Very responsive and scheduled quickly. The tech did a great job and was very knowledgeable. Price was fair.

Description of Work
replaced a furnace humidifier and repaired a second one

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/06/2017

1.0

12/31/2017


ANNE D.

Called for emergency repair early afternoon. Was told they were busy but to expect a call after 4pm that day. Totally understandable that they were busy. However...did NOT get a callback after 4pm. Did NOT get a callback that day ever. When did they call back? Not until after 10am the next day. Will never call them for service again.

Description of Work
Gas furnace went out during dangerously low frigid temps. Emergency repair needed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Work Completed On 12/30/2017

Services Offered

Installation & repair- air conditioning systems, electric HVAC, high-pressure air conditioning systems, Central & rooftops/packaged heating & cooling units, Univac, duct work, humidifiers, snowmelt systems, furnaces, boilers, hydronics, radiation & in-floor heat, hot water heaters

Services Not Offered

Stoves, fireplaces, plumbing, air duct cleaning, window air conditioners, drain cleaning.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about HOUSE OF HEAT

How is HOUSE OF HEAT overall rated?

HOUSE OF HEAT is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

What days are HOUSE OF HEAT open?

HOUSE OF HEAT is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

What payment options does HOUSE OF HEAT provide

HOUSE OF HEAT accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Does HOUSE OF HEAT offer free estimates?

Yes, HOUSE OF HEAT offers free project estimates.

Does HOUSE OF HEAT offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, HOUSE OF HEAT offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does HOUSE OF HEAT offer emergency services?

Yes, HOUSE OF HEAT offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by HOUSE OF HEAT?

Yes, HOUSE OF HEAT offers warranties.

What services does HOUSE OF HEAT offer?

HOUSE OF HEAT offers the following services: Installation & repair- air conditioning systems, electric HVAC, high-pressure air conditioning systems, Central & rooftops/packaged heating & cooling units, Univac, duct work, humidifiers, snowmelt systems, furnaces, boilers, hydronics, radiation & in-floor heat, hot water heaters

Are there any services HOUSE OF HEAT does not offer?

Stoves, fireplaces, plumbing, air duct cleaning, window air conditioners, drain cleaning.