Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Handyman Pros

4.8

(833) Verified Reviews

Founded 1990 • With Angi since May 2003

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

Northwest Suburbs

Northwest Suburbs, IL 60060

http://handymanproservices.com
COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

ONE CALL CAN SOLVE ALL YOUR HOUSE PROBLEMS Professional Handyman Services, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Plumbing, Electrical, Carpentry, Tiling, Flooring Insured Bonded Guaranteed LIVE PHONE HELP Mon-Fri 8-5 email chat after hours... Chicago Home Repair License #2209943...

Deals

Verified Reviews

4.8

(833) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

731

4

50

3

21

2

16

1

15

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

handyman (633)plumbers (139)electrician (91)home remodeling (83)woodworking (82)drywall (76)tile installation (66)door installation (63)lighting (55)interior painting (51)ceiling fan installation (34)house painting (22)
Showing 1-25 of 833 reviews
5.0

05/10/2022


Barbara E.

Very well. Job was done thoroughly.

Description of Work
Window trim

Category siding,chimney caps

Cost $238.5

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2022

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review for our company, we appreciate your business and looking forward ro serve you again in the future. Have a Great Day! Handyman pros
5.0

04/19/2022


Laura A.

The worker did a wonderful job, was efficient, and quick!

Description of Work
We needed about 10 curtain rods installed.

Category window treatments

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/05/2022

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you for taking the time to respond to our quality control survey, we glad you are happy with our work and looking forward to serve you again in the future Sincerely Nick at Handyman pros
5.0

04/01/2022


Sharon D.

This is my second time using Gary for handyman services. This time was for two hours. He is efficient and easy to communicate with. This time he hung the top hang track for a shelving system, changed out my bathroom sink drain for a new type, hung a coat hook rack on a wall making sure to drill an extra hole in the rack so that it would hit a stud, and cut out a couple of sections of quarter round that laid on top of a baseboard cast iron radiator so that I could fit standard sized power outlet wallplates there. He had a tool so he could cut the quarter round in place without having to remove it from atop the baseboard radiator. Like last time, I had all my little projects lined up and ready to go so minimal time was spent on set up and going over what needed to be done. I would definitely use Gary again. I just keep a running list of things that need to be done and when I get enough things on the list, I make the call.

Description of Work
Hanging shelving, changing bathroom sink drain, etc.

Category handyman service,plumbing

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2022

Service Provider Response

Dear member: Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback in our quality control survey, we are glad you are happy with the work, we appreciate your business and looking forward to serve you again in the future Have a Great Weekend Handyman pros team
5.0

11/23/2021


LARRY P.

Nick identified what needed to be repaired and what needed to be replaced. Dan did a great job on the carpentry and repainting and also made some clever and cost saving recommendations that will avoid future weather related damage. Overall: an outstanding job done quickly, thoroughly and professionally....5 stars all the way. Notice on the 2 photos below: Dan suggested I go from spruce on the gable to vinyl siding that matched the rest of my house. This substitution looks great and saved me a bundle.

Description of Work
Time, weather, and carpenter ants had taken their toll on my screened in back porch.

Category decks,handyman service,siding,woodworking,house painters

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2021

Images

Review for Handyman Pros - Northwest Suburbs, Northwest Suburbs, IL - 39552578

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Dear member: Thank you for taking the time and write this wonderful review for our company, we appreciate your business and looking forward to serve you again in the future Have a Great Weekend Handyman pros team
5.0

10/15/2021


Tina Y.

The gentelmen replaced my leaking kitchen faucet. My faucet sets in a very narrow space, therefore the job is not easy. He worked hard to get the job done well. Afterwards, he cleaned the area and made sure there were no leaking everywhere. I appreciated his help much.

Description of Work
Kitchen faucet replacement

Category handyman service,plumbing

Cost $152.66

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2021

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you so much for taking the time to write this wonderful review for our company, we appreciate your business and looking forward to serve you again in the future Have a Great weekend Nick at Handyman pros
5.0

09/28/2021


Mike W.

We tore down a deck and concrete stairs to install a patio and needed to repair the siding that had been hidden. I needed work done quickly for inspection approval and not hold up the patio. Nick was out the same day to give me a quote and Dane was out the next day to start work. He found some rot behind the siding and we needed to do a bit more extensive repairs than planned. Dane (who was using only one hand due to surgery) was somehow able to do the structural repair and the siding in just 2 days. He did a great job and the new siding looks great with the new patio. I have used Handyman Pros several times and will call them again when I need some work done!

Description of Work
Repair cedar siding

Category siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2021

Images

Review for Handyman Pros - Northwest Suburbs, Northwest Suburbs, IL - 39489798

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you for taking the time to respond to our quality control survey, we appreciate the detailed review, we are glad you liked our service and looking forward to serve you again in the future - Have a Great Day form Handyman Pros Team
5.0

08/23/2021


Barry B.

Gary did very well with a tricky installation

Description of Work
Install double doors

Category woodworking

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/21/2021

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review for Gary, we appreciate you comments and looking forward to serve you again in the future
5.0

07/14/2021


Mercirosa C.

The estimate was detailed and concise. Everything wasin writing. Liability insurance given up front. Gary came on time and was professional and respectful of my property. He worked efficiently and the work was done very neatly. I definitely recommend them and will use them in the future.

Description of Work
I had ceiling fan removed and replace with new light. Also had two other light fixtures changed.

Category electrician,lighting,chimney caps,ceiling fans

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2021

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you so much for taking the time and write this review for our company, we are glad you liked all aspects of our service and we are looking forward to serve you again in the future, we also really appreciate recommending us to your sister for her handyman work needs Have a Great Day!! Nick at Handyman pros
5.0

06/02/2021


annette D.

Gary did a beautiful job. There were some challenging accessibility and wiring issues and Gary handled them adeptly.

Description of Work
Installation of ceiling fan and lighting fixtures.

Category electrician,lighting,ceiling fans

Cost $825

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2021

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you for taking the time to write this review for our company, Gary appreciate you helping when dropping a screw on the floor, we are glad you were happy with the work and looking forward to serve you again in the future. Have a Great Sunday Handyman pros
5.0

03/14/2021


Caren H.

I've used this service several times and have always had a good experience.

Description of Work
Install smoke and carbon monoxide detectors and make other small repairs

Category electrician,handyman service

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2021

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you for taking the time to answer our quality control survey, we appreciate you comments and looking forward to serve you again in the future Have a Great day Sincerely Handyman pros
5.0

03/09/2021


Carol W.

Excellent. Gary was prompt and efficient with his time. He repaired the drywall and painted over the area with the paint provided. The area looks like new again. Very happy with the results.

Description of Work
Repair a hole in drywall, 2 hrs of painting

Category drywall,interior painters

Cost $155

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/10/2021

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about the job we did for you the other day, I am glad that you liked our service and looking forward to serve you again in the future Have a Great day! Nick Handyman pros
5.0

01/18/2021


SUSAN K.

It was very easy and fast to schedule. The handyman, Gary, was on time and very pleasant to work with. He fixed all the doors that were broken. He also fixed some small miscellaneous things I needed fixing.

Description of Work
Replace hinges on closet doors, fix broken hinges, miscellaneous

Category handyman service,chimney caps

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/18/2021

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review for our company, we appreciate your business and looking forward to serve you again in the future Have a Great day! Nick at handyman pros
2.0

12/31/2020


Michael F.

Contractor not interested in the work - suggested I contact an HVAC contractor. I had a local plumber replace the leaking PVC pipe & will replace the bathroom exhaust fan myself. Apparently this contractor, while getting great reviews, has too much work right now.

Description of Work
Repair to leaking PVC vent stack in attic, replacement of bathroom exhaust fan, vent duct from exhaust fan.

Category handyman service,plumbing,chimney caps

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: I respectfully disagree with your characterization of the interaction I had with you and I never said we had too much work right now per your comment above, what I said was on our phone conversation that your job scope description (explained in your own words) simply didn't fit the services we offer and in my professional opinion your job called for HVAC contractor and so I spent time on the phone explaining it and steered you to the correct contractor which apparently got it done exactly per my recommendation and I am happy that I was able to help, but the question I have for you thought is, was it necessary for you to take your valuable time and try to blemish my otherwise stellar reputation with a "D" rating review just because I didn't fit your job scope? In an analogy of this will be if a member calls me for moving furniture or doing yard work or snow shoveling off the roof etc. and I decline the job because I don’t do that kind of work will that mean that I am not interested in the job and deserve a “D” Rating review? At best I find your response kind of vindictive at these difficult times that our country going through - Thank you and Happy New Year.
5.0

12/19/2020


Carol W.

We are very happy. The Handyman Pro "Gary" was great. He performed the job quickly, efficiently, and professionally. The installed sump pumps work well without any problems.

Description of Work
Replacement of two sump pumps and check valves

Category plumbing,wells

Cost $424

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/02/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you for responding to our quality control survey, happy to hear that you liked our service and looking forward to serve you again in the future- Have a Great Monday! - Nick at Handyman pros
5.0

12/17/2020


DEBRA F.

Responded quickly with a fair price. Work was performed when scheduled.

Description of Work
Reattached flashing that blew off in a storm along roof on second story.

Category handyman service

Cost $280

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/27/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you for taking the time and responded to our quality control questionnaire, we glad you were happy with the job we did to you and looking forward to serve you again in the future - Have a Great Monday! - Nick at Handyman pros
5.0

12/12/2020


Janice G.

Gary was great! He assessed each job and remedied the problems. I was totally satisfied and then had a door problem a few days later. I called, Gary was back, and all is well.

Description of Work
He blocked a hole that mice may have been getting into the house through, installed a grab bar in a bathroom, removed old screening on louvers in the attic and generally cleaned the louvers and attic, alerted me to another problem with the louvers, replaced a lightbulb fixture in the basement, and told me about a product to use for another minor spot.

Category electrician,handyman service,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you for taking the time to answer our quality control survey, we are glad you liked our service and looking forward to serve you gain in the future - Have a Great Monday - Nick at Handyman pros
5.0

12/04/2020


Bob E.

Everything went smoothly from the beginning to the end. They arrived promptly and began work immediately. Part of the soffit on the second floor had come loose. They did a great job. Both men were courteous and professional. I highly recommend Handyman Pro.

Description of Work
Exterior and interior repairs.

Category bathtub refinishing,handyman service,roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you for taking the time to fill out our quality control survey, we appreciate you nice comments and your continued patronage of the years, we are looking forward to serve you again in the future - Have a Great day! Nick at Handyman pros
5.0

12/03/2020


Marsha S.

I apologize for giving a fair review. I was mistaken and the work was done by someone else.

Description of Work
general repairs

Category bathtub refinishing,electrician

Work Completed On 12/03/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear member: Thank you very much - Nick at Handyman pros
4.0

11/13/2020


LeighAnn F.

Overall good. The one area I wish were different is that pencil marks were placed on the wall to mark positions which I understand however they were erased and it left dirty eraser marks on the white wall which is very noticeable.

Description of Work
Hanging Pictures in 2nd story stairwell

Category bathtub refinishing

Cost $268

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/13/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear Member: Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us, the pencil marks was the result because of your decision not to install the last fourth wall object after handyman marked the position on the wall, Gary cleaned the pencil mark and it looked clean when it was wet but it probably blead through after it got dried up and Gary was gone already, if you had called us handyman could have come back and touch it up for you with paint, if you still like Gary to come back out and touch it up plz call our office. I also noticed that you rated our price as "C" are you comparing the price with a competitor or is your own conclusion, we had to objections from you at all about the price when you hired us, your wall objects installation location were high on 2nd floor and tall ladder had to be set up and so on, also high altitude jobs are way more expensive to cover by workman's comp insurance, we are looking forward again in the future - Have a Great Weekend!! - Nick at Handyman Pros
5.0

11/04/2020


Victoria A.

Fantastic. This is a dream company. They contacted me immediately after my request for services, they came as scheduled, they went above and beyond to do thoughtful, skilled, quality work, and a couple of weeks later when there was a very minor problem (not anything they did, more weather-related), they came out immediately to touch it up. I recommend them HIGHLY. I was so so pleased.

Description of Work
Build a small "bridge" from outside stoop to hot tub; also install decorative wood shingles in laundry room, install trim, paint

Category bathtub refinishing,handyman service,woodworking

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/04/2020