Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Green City Gardens

4.8

(101) Verified Reviews

Founded 2006 • With Angi since April 2008

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

1142 Jeffrey Ct W

Northbrook, IL 60062

http://www.greencitygardens.com

Description

Since 2006, Green City Gardens has been beautifying Chicagoland, one yard at a time. Our enthusiasm and dedication are evident in the creativity of our designs and the quality of our work. Since every landscape in different, "cookie cutter" solutions won't do. Green City Gardens personalizes every design according to our clients' needs and desires. We won't show up and dictate what you need...we'll listen to you and give you what you want. From complete landscape design & installation to simple garden makeovers to beautiful flower pots, Green City Gardens can improve your quality of life....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(101) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

90

4

5

3

3

2

0

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (96)hardscaping (33)lawn care (12)stone & gravel (7)Patios (3)snow removal (1)tree service (10)mulch delivering (10)lawn treatment (6)irrigation system (2)gutter cleaning (2)
Showing 1-10 of 101 reviews
5.0

11/13/2021


Robert P.

J.D. came out and helped us decide on the number and what type of arborvitae we wanted for our project. They were extremely helpful, had great ideas and it looks beautiful. We’ll definitely be contacting them in the future for projects! Great work!!

Description of Work
Tree planting

Category tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2021

Service Provider Response

Glad you like the trees, and thank you for the review!
5.0

10/23/2020


Doug P.

JD and his crew were great. He helped suggest ideas to accomplish the aesthetic goals we had in mind for our yard, and his prices were very reasonable. He involved us all along the way to make sure they were planting everything exactly where we wanted it. The crew doing the work was very friendly, polite and energetic. They actually seemed like they were having fun! We are very pleased with how everything turned out.

Description of Work
We added some arbor vita along the eastern border of our backyard and planted some hydrangeas along the northern border

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2020

5.0

08/26/2020


Michelle B.

Really well. This as a very busy summer for them, but they were very pro, and the results are fantastic.

Description of Work
Planned and relandscaped a large, inventive garden with paths, gates and fences, planting boxes, fruit trees etc.

Category landscaping,lawn service,lawn treatment,pavers, gravel,hardscaping

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2020

Images

Review for Green City Gardens - 1142 Jeffrey Ct W, Northbrook, IL - 38829043

+3 More

5.0

08/12/2020


Leslie D A.

Wonderful. I got a lot more for my money compared to other contractors. Great service, great ideas! JD, the owner, was on site and working with the crew. He was flexible with regards to tweaking the plan. My yard and house have been renewed. Very, very happy with the results. Definitely recommend.

Description of Work
New garden areas

Category landscaping

Cost $10,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2020

5.0

05/13/2020


Louis W.

I can’t praise JD Mathein and his amazing crew high enough. I wish there was an A++ category. JD is creative, knowledgeable and extremely easy to work with. He is prompt, responsive to questions and does extraordinary work! He and his crew transformed our front and back yards into beautiful landscapes that look exactly as we hoped. He also took into account our needs for easy care plants when suggesting options that would keep the maintenance low and the beauty high. Green City Gardens is our definite go-to for our yard and garden.

Description of Work
We have had trees, shrubs, flowering plants, hard scrapes and a large trellis/arbor installed over several seasons

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2020

Service Provider Response

Thanks! It has been a pleasure working for you!
5.0

10/11/2019


Barbara F.

Loved working with J.D a most pleasant person , and I was most appreciative of his formal presentation of the many evergreens available to me; along with their attributes and drawbacks. No other landscaper took the time to do this. During the project I decided to add two more evergreens and he made it happen that same day. I’ve worked with several professional landscapers, he is the best and I look forward to working with him again. Barb F. Northbrook

Description of Work
Planting of evergreens

Category landscaping,hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2019

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working for you. I look forward to our next project together. Enjoy!
5.0

07/23/2019


Tim G.

The design and selection of plants, shrubs and a tree was different and aesthetically pleasing. The project took place in May, 2018. They included a 1-year warranty on the plants and due to the harsh winter, 6 of the shrubs did not do very well. In May of 2019, I asked that 3 of the shrubs be replaced and to wait on the other 3 to see if they recovered. They quickly responded and replaced all 6 shrubs in mid June and the entire installation is looking very good now (7/21/19).

Description of Work
After a flood control project, the landscaping in front of my 2-flat had to be redone.

Category landscaping

Cost $3,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2018

5.0

06/07/2019


Margaret D.

absolutely beautiful year after year.

Description of Work
A variety of sizes and locations of Flower pots

Category landscaping,lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2019

5.0

11/02/2018


Sashini D.

It was a pleasure working with JD from green city gardens. He did a great job on our front and side yards which needed work from scratch.

Description of Work
Landscaping work in front yard

Category landscaping

Cost $5,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2018

5.0

09/03/2018


Louis W.

J D Mathein was an absolute delight to work with. He was, and has been, responsive to every question and came up with a design that reflected our needs and wishes. The results are spectacular and have enhanced the look and value of our home. The crew of gardeners who prepared and installed the plantings and hardscape were also top notch. We were consulted for accuracy of placement before anything went into the ground. We installed about 80 new trees, shrubs and perennial plants as well as paving stones. J D gave us very specific care instructions and followed up with answers to questions immediately. We will continue to use Green City Gardens for any additions we make to the gardens going forward. Couldn’t be happier.

Description of Work
We completely relandscaped our property, front and back.

Category landscaping,hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/25/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the delightful review! It was a pleasure working for you. I look forward to seeing your new plantings grow and thrive. Enjoy!

Services Offered

Complete garden design & installation, landscape makeovers, patios, walks & retaining walls, flower beds, vegetable gardens and raised beds, seasonal flower pots, sod, snow plowing and shoveling.

Services Not Offered

Large tree removal, tree disease diagnosis, lawn care & weekly lawn maintenance.

General Information
Free Estimates
No
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
No
Warranties
No

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Green City Gardens

How is Green City Gardens overall rated?

Green City Gardens is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

What days are Green City Gardens open?

Green City Gardens is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

What payment options does Green City Gardens provide

Green City Gardens accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Does Green City Gardens offer free estimates?

No, Green City Gardens does not offer free project estimates.

Does Green City Gardens offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, Green City Gardens does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Green City Gardens offer a senior discount?

No, Green City Gardens does not offer a senior discount.

Are warranties offered by Green City Gardens?

No, Green City Gardens does not offer warranties.

What services does Green City Gardens offer?

Green City Gardens offers the following services: Complete garden design & installation, landscape makeovers, patios, walks & retaining walls, flower beds, vegetable gardens and raised beds, seasonal flower pots, sod, snow plowing and shoveling.

Are there any services Green City Gardens does not offer?

Large tree removal, tree disease diagnosis, lawn care & weekly lawn maintenance.