Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Wilson Home Restorations

Founded 1977 • With Angi since November 2001

4.9

(112) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

21212 W Commercial Dr

Mundelein, IL 60060

Description

Wilson has been in the home improvement industry for over 40 years. Over 70% of our business comes from referrals and repeat clients. We stand behind our work with a 10 year labor warranty. Please allow us to consult with you on your next window, door, siding, roofing or other exterior project!

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Bill M.
5.0
12/16/2020
Very satisfied with the all of the work done. Wilson is a very professional company and was a pleasure to work with. The crew was polite and efficient.
Description of Work
Install new soffits on 2 dormers, remove 2 attic/dormer windows and install 2 new windows, install a new front storm door.
Category
decks, siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

it's always great hearing such nice compliments from our customers, and I'm so happy we could lend a hand. Thanks for all the support. If you need us to tackle another project in the future, don't hesitate to reach out.
Patricia N.
5.0
11/12/2020
Great! The workmanship and quality of the gutters are both excellent!
Description of Work
Gutter replacement
Category
gutter repair, woodworking

Service Provider Response

it's always great hearing such nice compliments from our customers, and I'm so happy we could lend a hand. Thanks for all the support. If you need us to tackle another project in the future, don't hesitate to reach out.
Shauna S.
5.0
01/22/2020
Wilson's crews were wonderful to work with. The quality of work was outstanding. We had to wait a little bit because their crews were in high demand. The work they do was worth the wait - especially for cedar siding. They don't cut corners, and they knew how to fix issues with our house. They did a great job with the windows - both staining the windows (and a few sills that needed replacing) to match our existing trim and installing them. We plan to use them again in the future for other projects.
Description of Work
Siding work, window replacement, sliding glass door
Category
siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you so much for taking the time to leave this excellent review. We really appreciate your business. Please let us know what we can do for you in the future.
Andreas S.
5.0
01/22/2020
It was a pleasure to work with Wilson Home Restorations. Jim Wilson provided a quote in a very timely manner, explained in detail the process and answered all our questions. The work done included removal of old siding, installation of new siding, replacement of all windows, replacement of the garage door and 3 other doors, painting of front door and installation of a storm door. The crews that came to perform the work were very professional. The work went smoothly without a lot of inconvenience during the process. The final results were outstanding and even better than I expected. I highly recommend this company and will rehire them for future projects.
Description of Work
Removal of old siding, installation of new siding, replacement of all windows, replacement of the garage door and 3 other doors, painting of front door and installation of a storm door
Category
garage doors, siding, replacement windows, house painters, doors

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Please do not hesitate to call us in the future for any other exterior needs.
Aleksandra L.
5.0
10/23/2019
Gail was quick to get back with any schedule changes, answering questions, excellent customer service. It was a pleasure to have Jim come to do the estimate, answer questions. The installation team was professional and detail oriented. Wonderful to have over. I highly recommend this company!
Description of Work
Windows replaced, installation of storm doors.
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

It was our pleasure to install for you. Thank you for the nice comment on our company. We always try to surpass expectations. Please let us know when you are ready for more Sunrise windows. We think they are the best also. Thanks again, Jim
JAMES H.
5.0
10/16/2019
I've used Wilson Home Restorations twice in the last two years. Jim Wilson was great to work with. In total, they replaced three windows (wood), 7 windows (vinyl), 3 storm doors and a wood exterior french door. I found his pricing to be fair and the quality of install and craftsmanship to be very good. He also did a great job with the exterior wrap and trim work around the windows. His guys do good work. I'd highly recommend if you are looking for window or door replacement work.
Description of Work
Replacement windows & storm doors
Category
replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed], We love the challenge of working on homes built at the turn of the century! Your house has a lot of character. I wish they still built them like they used too. Please let me know how we can be of service in the future. Thanks again for the work! J. Wilson
David L.
1.0
10/05/2019
dont contact this company unless you want to get gouged badly on price. They wanted $1200 to swap out a prehung fire door, that I had ready to go, I got the job done for 1/4th that price!! What a absolute insult!!!
Description of Work
swap out fire door to garage
Category
replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

We are sorry you feel insulted, [Member Name Removed]. However, we generally do not install owner provided doors or windows. We are happy that you were able to get your install taken care of.
VICTORIA K.
5.0
07/02/2019
After replacing steps from patio door, trim under patio door needed to be replaced. Even though this was a small job, Jim Wilson was prompt in responding to my request and saw that the work was completed within a week.
Description of Work
replace patio door kickplate
Category
siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We're here to make your life as easy as possible, so it's great to hear we could help you out. Let us know if we can help you out again in the future.
Jon S.
5.0
06/05/2019
This is the third major project Wilson has done for us. I could not have asked for anything to go smoother or better. The quality of work is exceptional. Jim and his team are the best I have ever worked with.
Description of Work
New Windows
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
Gordon G.
5.0
06/04/2019
Wilson Restorations gets very high marks from me. I'm personally in the shopping center development business, with emphasis on design and construction. As such, I know the business and how it works. While they may not be the least expensive, they make up for it in the quality of work provided. Their workers treated my home as if it were their own, attending to both the large and smallest of details (i.e. beveling the cap end of gutters, customizing interior molding around new windows, etc.). And the last act of any job is that what you remember. Clean-up at job's end is spotless. If you want quality work and products installed on schedule at a reasonable price, call Wilson Restorations.
Description of Work
I've used Wilson Restorations on numerous projects: New windows; new siding; new gutters/downspouts.
Category
gutter repair, insulation, siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
Patti Y.
5.0
05/16/2019
Jim's crew did an excellent job! The house looks great
Description of Work
Replacing stucco siding on entire second story and replace all gutters.
Category
gutter repair, siding

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
John L.
5.0
04/11/2019
At various times over the past 15 years we have had all the windows and the patio doors of our home replaced by Wilson. The quality of the work was excellent and was always done on time. Recently a 10 year old window was damaged. It would not stay open and the latching mechanism was broken. Scott came out and repaired the window and replaced the latch at no cost to me. I recommend Wilson for quality work and outstanding customer service.
Description of Work
Window and door replacement
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We're here to make your life as easy as possible, so it's great to hear we could help you out. Let us know if we can help you out again in the future.
Gino P.
5.0
03/18/2019
Jim came over and fully explained our options. His price was very competitive. The installation crew was courteous, clean and meticulous. They did a great job - old school craftsmanship. Over the years, he has also replaced my roof and residing my house with the same with the same results.
Description of Work
Installed new windows through out the house
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
Lori B.
5.0
03/18/2019
I worked with Jim and his crew over a couple of years to replace all the windows, exterior doors, and gutters in my home. Budget and other remodeling projects limited the work I was able to have done at one time, but Jim was very patient and accommodating working around my schedule. His installers were always prompt and very professional, and let the work space cleaner than before they started. The windows and doors were better than expected and made a huge difference in the energy efficiency of my house. I would strongly recommend Jim and his team!!
Description of Work
Window & Door Replacements
Category
gutter repair, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
John G.
5.0
03/13/2019
Very pleased with the work performed and the responsiveness. They have installed all new windows, soffits, siding and an attic fan. I will use them again for any future needs and have referred them to friends and neighbors.
Description of Work
Windows, Soffits, Siding
Category
siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
B D.
5.0
03/13/2019
Wilson Home Restorations was OUTSTANDING to work with on this project. Jim Wilson and his team came highly recommended to us. We don't like high-pressure salesmen and we don't like gimmicks and fluff. That's why meeting Jim was so refreshing. He was EXTREMELY knowledgeable, understood our needs, provided an array of excellent options, and offered objective advice. He kept us informed on the manufacturing progress of our custom order, and his installation team was skilled, professional, courteous, and fastidious in their clean-up. We could not have been more pleased. Six months later, one of the windows required some service due what turned out to be a minor flaw in the manufacturing process. Jim was on-site the next day, diagnosed the problem, re-ordered a new custom window, and then returned to personally install it. All at no cost. Up front, on time, on budget, and thoroughly professional. We would rehire Wilson Home Restoration in a minute.
Description of Work
The purchase and installation of 29 replacement windows in our home.
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
Shannon R.
5.0
03/12/2019
They were responsive and professional. I would hire again. Thanks Jim!
Description of Work
Removed and replace 3 casement windows.
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
Connie S.
5.0
03/05/2019
Great job! Have used Wilson Home restorations for years and the quality and workmanship is outstanding.
Description of Work
Roof, gutters
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
Bob W.
5.0
03/01/2019
I contacted Wilson Home Restorations after two other contractors (including a big box home store) were unable to understand how to custom order the front door with non-standard transom and sidelites. Wilson sent seasoned professionals to custom measure and order exactly the correct components. Installation was professional, clean and on time. As part of the same project, I replaced two other doors and had no issues. Very happy with the outcome.
Description of Work
Front entry door replaced.
Category
woodworking, doors

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
MICHAEL V.
5.0
02/27/2019
Excellent we have been working with Wilson Restorations for over 30 years! They stand behind their work and have a good warranty! The workers are highly skilled craftsmen, polite and very neat as they clean up throughly and haul away all debris! First class operation!
Description of Work
New windows Pella Designer and Architect Series, 3 panel Pella sliding door Architect Series, Front entrance and storm door. Vinyl siding, aluminum facia and gutters.
Category
garage doors, gutter cleaning, gutter repair, insulation, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, doors

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
Roger P.
5.0
02/26/2019
Excellent work and very timely. I get comments from other professionals I know who say what a great quality job the Wilson’s did.
Description of Work
Reside house with new sidings.
Category
gutter repair, siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
Debbie S.
5.0
02/26/2019
Excellent service, quality of materials and new products (Sunrise windows, Provia doors & Azec railings) have added much value to our home! We have used Wilson Home Restorations on three different occasions over the past five years and each project was a huge success!
Description of Work
Windows & multiple door replacement, front porch column, railing & baluster replacement.
Category
decks, replacement windows, woodworking, doors

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
Nancy P.
5.0
02/07/2019
Jim Wilson, the owner, has always been helpful, considerate and dependable. The workmen have been courteous, punctual and professional. They worked carefully and left everything in perfect shape. Our home looks great! We have used them over a period of 35 years and will definitely use them for future projects. We highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Siding, windows, gutters, downspouts, exterior doors and storm doors.
Category
gutter repair, siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
M N.
5.0
02/05/2019
All jobs went well. On one occasion when our roof was replaced there was a small problem and it was addressed immediately. P.S. Wilson built us a fantastic 150-sq.ft. tool shed in our backyard that was constructed like a house, concrete floor & shingled roof, etc. We love it.
Description of Work
everything! patio sliding doors,cedar siding, gutters/downspouts, windows throughout house, entry way and front door, etc. etc.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding, replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!
Susan K.
5.0
10/06/2018
Four years ago I was looking for Sunrise windows but couldn't find an installer that I liked. This year, I called up the manufacturer and they gave me Wilson Home Restorations name and location. I called them. Jim Wilson, the owner, was great, and the installers were very good also. There was a little work that needed to be completed, after their installation and within a week Jim Wilson had the painter out to finish, and he brought a couple of screens that needed work. He wouldn't even let me pay the remaining balance until all the work was completed. I feel like I can trust him. Before I purchased Jim gave me a three page list of people who had purchased the same Sunrise brand of windows in the past year from him. He gave me some phone numbers of his customers and they gave him glowing reviews. One homeowner even invited me to come out and see their windows and doors that his company installed. I would have him do other work for me, if he can. I'd recommend him to other people looking for windows, since he carries several manufacturers. His company also re-designs the exteriors of homes including siding and roofing.
Description of Work
I purchased and had installed 5 triple windows and a triple sliding door.
Category
replacement windows, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words, [Member Name Removed]. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. We count ourselves lucky for customers like you. We look forward to working with you again in the future!

    Other local Pros in your area

    General Masonry Restoration

    We are a small company that focuses on customer satisfaction. Over 15 years of experience. We are honest people and guarantee quality work.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    RICE MASONRY CONST CO INC

    Owner operated with 39 yrs of restoration and new construction experience. I personally oversee all projects,no subcontractors. We perform outstanding quality work, we are OSHA safety certified. and have the best guarantee in the industry. Rice masonry is a fully licensed and insured masonry and tuckpointing company with 10 highly skilled employees  

    Angi Certified

    North Shore Garage Doors

    Welcome to Garage Door Group Chicago, your resource for reliable, reputable garage door repair and installation. We are dedicated to offering the entire Chicagoland area with the highest level of customer service in our industry. With four locations and each with its own offices, website, Service Department, and Experienced Technicians, the Garage Door Group is here to serve. The Group is put together by: North Shore Garage Door located in Glenview. West Suburban Garage Doors is located in Oak Brook. Woodfield Garage Doors is dedicated to serving the Northwest Suburbs and is conveniently located in Schaumburg. South Suburban Garage Doors is located in Tinley Park. The Group is dedicated to offering your EXPERT LOCAL DOOR SERVICE. We guarantee same-day service if you call us before 3pm (Mon-Fri only) Our competitive pricing policy means you will receive the best price we will not be beat in terms of value and service. With over 25 Years in the remodeling business, you will be delighted with our services. Call Garage Door Group Chicago today and one of our very own experienced techs will be proud to serve you and your family.  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    2%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Windows, siding (including the James Hardie brand), entry doors, patio doors, roofing, guttering, custom trim work, fascia & soffit, interior mill work and decking.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Wilson Home Restorations

    How is Wilson Home Restorations overall rated?

    Wilson Home Restorations is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Wilson Home Restorations open?

    Wilson Home Restorations is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Wilson Home Restorations provide

    Wilson Home Restorations accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Wilson Home Restorations offer free estimates?

    Yes, Wilson Home Restorations offers free project estimates.

    Does Wilson Home Restorations offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Wilson Home Restorations offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Wilson Home Restorations offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Wilson Home Restorations offers a 2% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Wilson Home Restorations?

    Yes, Wilson Home Restorations offers warranties.

    What services does Wilson Home Restorations offer?

    Wilson Home Restorations offers the following services: Windows, siding (including the James Hardie brand), entry doors, patio doors, roofing, guttering, custom trim work, fascia & soffit, interior mill work and decking.