Intelligent Service: Plumbing, Heating, Cooling & Drain Cleaning

About

Founded 1982 • With Angi since September 2009

Intelligent Service has spent the last 40+ years building and maintaining a reputation as the premier licensed home mechanical services company in the Northwest Suburbs and Chicagoland area. Our 24/7 one-stop shop offers services in Plumbing, Heating, Cooling and Drain Cleaning. We are committed to providing professional expertise, enthusiastic service and most importantly lasting solutions! As a family business, we certainly understand your home is your greatest investment and Intelligent honors this belief in numerous ways. Whether our technicians are rolling out the red carpet upon entering your household or calling ahead to confirm arrival time, we pride ourselves on the commitment to providing the customer with a WOW service....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

Shower System

+2 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(279) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

242

4

14

3

7

2

8

1

8

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

plumbers (257)drain cleaning (30)water heaters (25)well & water pump repair (19)sewer cleaning (11)basement waterproofing (9)HVAC Companies (4)drain pipe installation (3)appliance repair (3)gas leak repair (2)excavating (2)
Showing 1-25 of 279 reviews
5.0

05/11/2021


christine T.

I've used Intelligent 3 times in the past 6 months. They installed a new hot water heater, replaced A/C and furnace, and did some minor plumbing work. Each time they were professional, clean, knowledgeable, and the work was top quality. I would highly recommend their services. Their office staff is great too.

Description of Work
plumbing, A/C, furnace

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2021

5.0

06/09/2020


Antonio S.

Professional, efficient and quick service

Description of Work
Water heater replacement

Category appliance repair, water heater repair

Cost $2,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/09/2020

5.0

07/30/2019


Greg M.

Our shower handle broke off at the vale stem while the water was still running. We called Intelligent Plumbing, and they sent a plumber within 2 hours. Brent Brown was professional and courteous. He went above and beyond to drill out the broken valve stem and replace the stem without damaging the valve. This saved us a lot of money and hassle.

Description of Work
Shower handle broke off with the water still running.

Category plumbing

Cost $323

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2019

5.0

07/11/2019


charles L.

Very well. I am more than satisfied with the work. Will use again.

Description of Work
repair airconditioning

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2019

4.0

03/13/2019


Lawrence M.

Technician had all the parts with him and replaced flange & gaskets within three(3) hours. Replacement was very satisfactory. My problem was the day after,I called the office to ask them for my senior discount listed in ANGIE's as 10%. Or another discount o their website as $50.00. The COMPANY refused to give me any discount!! I gave them a check for $706.00,so the discount would have helped me.

Description of Work
Toilet was leaking at the base. Replaced Gaskets.

Category plumbing

Cost $706

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/2019

5.0

02/19/2019


Greg N.

Johnny was great, professional and came up with a good solution. He used heat gun to loosen PVC joint to decouple from T connected to rest of plumbing - it came off in pieces, not solid piece, so took a while. He then re-prep’ed and made up a new PVC assembly. Took patience and nearly 5 hrs working in challenging area - did leak check and everything looks to be holding (used one rubber coupling - will check periodically & leave access panel instead of closing wall).

Description of Work
PVC Tub drain P-trap cracked (during near record cold) and only able to access via 20x14 hole in wall (behind wet wall). Replaced in kind (mostly) via a difficult to access work area.

Category plumbing

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2019

5.0

01/06/2019


james Z.

Very professional work.Cost of the job was slightly more than what Amazon services offered on their site.No regrets because of the quality work . Customer provided the faucet.

Description of Work
Replaced a 15 years old faucet which was leaking from under the sink

Category plumbing

Cost $240

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/31/2018

5.0

12/27/2018


Steven R.

Excellent work. Very honest and professional.

Description of Work
Timing was off on the ignition.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/27/2018

1.0

10/13/2018


Michael F.

Would not give a price over the phone. Wanted over $800 to do the job when plumber arrived. refused and paid the $129 service call fee.

Description of Work
Clean a drainline.

Category drain cleaning

Cost $129

Services Performed? Yes

5.0

10/04/2018


Todd M.

Amazing. Tim was professional in every aspect of his service and work. From the moment he showed up I felt comfortable. we had a foul smell coming from the basement. Did alot of work to find out what was going on. long story short Tim and Intelligent Service did a great job with the job. I recommend Intelligent Service, and especially Tim. thanks guys for doing a great job

Description of Work
find a CO2 leak, replace sump pump, battery, inverter, and the water heater

Category plumbing

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

09/15/2018


Katherine K.

I have had the BEST experiences with Intelligent Plumbing Services.They really know their stuff and are honest, prompt, thorough, courteous and cost-effective. By far the best plumbing, heating, cooling service provider I’ve ever worked with. I understand why they are #1 rated in the Chicagoland area for almost a decade now. A+++ Sean was absolutely fantastic! Great job.

Description of Work
A/C, plumbing, sewer

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, drain pipe

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2018

5.0

08/09/2018


KEVIN C.

Replaced two (working) toilets with new low-flow units that I purchased elsewhere. Replaced the water shutoff vales and supply lines. Hauled away the old units. Showed up right on time. Although they wouldn't provide a quote over the phone, the guy could provide a quote from the front door. Said he needed to "see" the job before they could quote it (how he could assess the job from the front door is a mystery to me). There was a problem with the new toilets so he had to wait for me to replace them but he was patient. New units work great and the installation is perfect.

Description of Work
Replace two toilets

Category plumbing

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2018

2.0

07/10/2018


MARGARET G.

Desired to get an estimate for work but note that Free Estimates are not given. I consider that below average business practice.

Description of Work
Inspection and diagnosis of external water pressure issue

Category plumbing

Work Completed On 07/10/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We believe in the process of going out to the customer, diagnosing the issue first hand and delivering a set of options is the best practice. We hope you can understand this. Thanks, The Intelligent Service Team

2.0

05/10/2018


Leonard J.

The work initially was completed in a workman like manner. We needed to call them back because the discharged water was remaining in the external hose. Neal came out and offered several suggestions (costing as much as $1,500.00) to remedy the situation. He had left the sump cover off during this visit. When we called him to replace the lid, and said we weren't going to go with any of his suggestions, he became surly and told us it would cost us an additional $129.00 to have someone come out to reinstall it. We refused and had someone else do it.

Description of Work
Sump pump install.

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2018

Service Provider Response

We're sorry to hear you were unhappy with our service. We regret your impression of us wasn't favorable. All the best.

5.0

04/30/2018


Tim M.

Responsive, punctual, professional, job done quickly.

Description of Work
Found water leaking. Pump had failed.

Category wells

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thanks for choosing Intelligent [Member Name Removed]!

1.0

04/07/2018


Chris V.

They never responded to my message.

Description of Work
Needed some plumbing work done

Category plumbing

Work Completed On 04/07/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We apologize for not being able to return your message. Please give us a call if you still need service and we would be glad to remedy the situation.

5.0

12/20/2017


jason G.

Had Sean B come out to my house to spec out my sewer repair. He was super professional, gave me fair and honest options, and the proposal was competitive.

Description of Work
Sewer Repair

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning

Cost $2,800

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2017

5.0

10/25/2017


Laura R.

Great! The problem was found quickly, repair done without issue, and everything was back in place as it was.

Description of Work
We had a suspicion of a leaking upstairs toilet which was confirmed. A seal needed changing.

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/13/2017

5.0

10/12/2017


Kelly L.

Everything went smoothly with Neal, per usual.

Description of Work
Replaced seal on toilet.

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/12/2017

5.0

09/07/2017


Dee C.

They were great a little hire for 1/2 hour of work but I couldn't have done it so it is what it is

Description of Work
They had to rot out the upstairs tub

Category plumbing

Cost $220.76

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/07/2017

5.0

08/30/2017


Betty B.

It went well. The trickling sound did not reappear when we turned the water back on. He re-set the toilet in the powder room immediately above, since that was the most likely culprit for the stains; in the process, we found evidence of a fair amount of leaking around what was apparently a badly deteriorated seal. This could account for the stains, especially if the flush valve were at all leaky (which could account for the trickling sounds.)

Description of Work
Diagnose source of leak stains on downstairs ceiling and sound of trickling water; fix problem.

Category plumbing

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2017

5.0

08/26/2017


John P.

It was an emergency situation. We didn't have any hot water, and it was leaking. It took a couple of days to order the tankless, which is the system what we wanted. They were competent. They had price options. We could go with a better system or they gave us an option for a less expensive system. They gave us the pros and cons. They gave us other information on other issues that we could have in the future. We know about them, but they gave us the options.

Description of Work
They installed a tankless water heater.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2016