Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

LEADER BUILDERS

Founded 1988 • With Angi since March 2002

4.7

(32) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6327 Dempster St

Morton Grove, IL 60053

Description

Design-build firm and general contractor. Home addition + renovation specialist. Serving Chicagoland for 30+ years. See more projects at leaderbuilders.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/06/2018


Mark M.

Our project consisted of new plumbing, new electrical, new HVAC, gut of kitchen, gut of two bathrooms, and restoring all other rooms in a 115 year old house. Overall a 5-6 month project. We are very happy with the results. There were definitely a few hiccups along the way. But given the scope of the project, the issues we had along the way were understandable. Leader was also very responsive to the issues and made everything right. In the end we got the home we wanted and are happy with the quality of the work.

Description of Work
Major rehab of an old house

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed], you are very kind! Remember that your project is covered with the 'bumper-to-bumper' warranty, so do not hesitate to require the service if the need arises. :)
5.0

04/06/2016


Nora S.

The project went very well. We already had an idea in our head of the addition we wanted to build for our growing family when we contacted Leader Builders and they transformed those ideas into reality. We considered three construction or design build firms and decided to go with Leader and we were glad we did. My wife was pregnant during construction and I think she only lost he mind once, which is pretty good. We had to set some expectations with them and things then went smoothly. Leader was able to deliver a project in one construction season, from when we signed a contract in February, they completed the design in March and had a permit shortly thereafter. Construction was complete by Thanksgiving. Leader was able to work to keep the final design within the project budget and worked with us on some of the owner requested change orders. We were very happy with the quality of work and only had a few minor miscommunications. It was a big project so there were bound to be hiccups, but overall things went well and we are happy. My main recommendation would be for when you are establishing/negotiating the contract scope for the design build scope: do not put off any decisions. If you think you want to do something include the work in the initial contract. Leader gave us some good prices on some work we were considering but we did not add them at the time of the initial contract. When we came back to add them as a change order the price wasn't as good. So know what you want up front and negotiate at the beginning because that is the best price you will get. Another important point is to select all your finishes, windows, appliances, etc as soon as possible because the carpentry work must accommodate these items.

Description of Work
Leader constructed a design build home addition and bathroom remodel

Category drywall,flooring contractor,siding,home builders,woodworking,home remodeling

5.0

02/27/2016


KRISTIN M.

They were on schedule and budget and communicated well throughout. In the planning phase Leader Builders listened to our desire to keep the historic character of our home yet add modern amenities. We wanted the addition to be as discrete as possible from the street view. The architect designed a space that exceeded our expectations--more space and character than we thought was possible within our budget. We lived in the house for most of the construction, having to move out for several weeks at a time for various phases. Even with an 88 year old house, there were no "surprises." Leader communicated deadlines for choosing materials, and provided guidance for quality vendors. They were very responsive to our questions and changes. We have been living in our new space for several weeks now and absolutely love it. We highly recommend Leader Builders for high quality, fair price and professional service.

Description of Work
We hired Leader Builders in the late spring of 2015 to design and build an upstairs addition for our historic Chicago bungalow. We added two bedrooms, a bathroom, a loft space and a master suite with a walk-in closet. Also, on our main floor we installed ducts to add central air conditioning, refinished the hardwood floors and installed drywall ceilings over the original plaster. The entire process took approximately 10 months (including waiting for permits) with 5 months of construction.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/07/2013


Jane D.

So far, great! Pete has answered all my calls promptly and treats our home and plans with a respect and enthusiasm only we can match. He has been very upfront about pricing, no surprises. So while the estimate initially seemed a bit high, I think the final price will be comparable to other quotes without all the stress of last minute negotiating. Their architect Peter came out and listened carefully to what we wanted. He then added his own touches and presented us with a plan that needed no significant changes. They send a designer to work with you, handle the permitting and seem to do things the "right way" as opposed to the easiest or cheapest. Pete seems to be genuinely interested in doing what their slogan says, "Let's build something beautiful together". That being said, we are still at the beginning stages of our project. I'll write an updated review when we're complete.

Description of Work
We are part way through a roof tear-off/addition build (3 bedrooms, one bathroom) and a full kitchen remodel.

Category remodeling,home builders,home remodeling

5.0

08/19/2013


Matthew G.

Quoted on a pending project and would highly consider once funding available

Description of Work
Quoted on a pending project and would highly consider once funding available

Category remodeling

5.0

08/12/2013


Fraser B.

Fantastic experience start to finish. On time, on cost, terrific quality. Extremely responsive and happy to work with you on details. I would absolutely recommend them.

Description of Work
Added master bedroom suite.

Category remodeling

4.0

12/18/2012


Neva F.

first was in 2001 - remodeling my small condo bathroom. they completed everything only 1/2 day over schedule. And no added on costs. the next time, I did a few updates to the living room loft and added track lighting, which never quite work properly. THen I rebuilt my deck on a 2-flat and that become very expensive with city of Chicago requirements and issues that kept coming up, electrical, foundation - big expense items that were not considered or foreseen ahead of time. There were unnessary expenses - such as double paned windows with screens on a partially open deck. I gave them another chance on kitchen remodeling on a house in the suburbs, but the quote was for a much larger, 2+ times the cost of work I didnt want done and the agent and I had a fight about it.

Description of Work
I used this company several times a bathroom remodel carpentry and electrical work 2-flat deck rebuild

Category decks,remodeling,home remodeling

5.0

06/07/2012


Mari L.

They have high ratings on Angie’s list. The price came in a little bit higher than what it was because when they opened up a wall the city made it rewired. We were not in the city when they did the job and they let us know about everything that happened. The quality of their job was very good. They were outstanding.

Description of Work
I used Leader Builders Corp for bathroom renovation.

Category remodeling,home remodeling

5.0

01/26/2012


Fraser B.

We called for an estimate when we decided to add/remodel a master suite. Pete Antonow came to the house to get details of what we wanted to to then (a few days later) provided a very clear, non-pressurized, detailed estimate for our project. I liked the friendly approach as well as the fact that he seemed to feel it was important that we be ready whenever it took us to feel comfortable with his company. There was never high-pressure sales nonsense..... in fact, that went a long way to the final decision to use Leader Builders. An example: I asked him (upon viewing the estimate) how much he expected the final number to change at the end of the project. He said, "It won't change... this IS the price." I loved knowing our budget and the knowledge that it "was what it was" allowed us the freedom to upgrade a few things as we went along. In other words, we spent a bit more because WE wanted to.. not because Leader changed the numbers as we progressed. Leader offers a ONE stop shop approach (if you want it) and that worked for us. They provided the architect, a job supervisor for the length of the project, and all workers. They also picked up all supplies -- even if we had ordered them ourselves when we found things we liked. We are new to the area and did not know where to find the components we needed to choose (tile, vanities, shower bases/tubs, etc.) and they offered LOADS of support -- both recommendations of where to look as well as lots of hand-holding while we worked through the process of balancing the architect specifications with available product choices. As to the quality of the work and professionalism: we COULD NOT BE HAPPIER. In fact, the project was completed on time, on budget and exceeded our expectations on quality. This was the first large scale job we have had done and I am afraid we may have been spoiled for life! The guys they have working for them (both employees and some professional subs) were polite, excellent at their jobs, and a dream to work with. I cannot stress enough how successful this job was. The tilework in the master bath was first rate and was as good a job as I have ever seen. They did a simply beautiful job. In addition, all work was cleaned up EVERY day ... and tools and supplies were stored out of our way. If there was a day where more things needed to be left overnight, they always asked if it was all right to do so before leaving. We had heard horror stories about builders, and were expecting some drama along the way. It never happened. Any concerns were addressed instantly, and to our complete satisfaction. Leader really does care about doing things right. In fact, we added a few more small jobs while they were on site and each was estimated and carefully thought out. There was no pressure to actually have the job done after the estimate. We chose to have that work done as well (adding some doors in the basement storage areas, removing a wall oven and building a microwave cabinet in its place). All exceeded our imagined results. I absolutely recommend these guys. They are honest, capable, and conscientious. We have more work to do around here and they will be our first choice! I actually miss having them around.

Description of Work
A remodel of an existing open space over a garage. We added a master bedroom, a master bath, and a walk-in closet.

Category ceramic tile,remodeling

5.0

01/21/2012


LISA Z.

I did not choose Leader only because I decided to work with a firm who was familiar with my condo building since we have extensive remodel rules to abide by. I would certainly consider Leader for remodel work to be done on my house.

Description of Work
I contacted Leader Builders for an estimate on kitchen and bath remodel project for a 1 br condo unit. The folks were extremely responsive and very professional. Wally was our sales rep and could not have been nicer and more thorough. The estimate he provided was extremely detailed and all indications were that the work would be of high quality.

Category remodeling,home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Katz

    Katz

    N/A

     

    DSY Construction Inc

    We are a full-service general construction company with a wide range of experience from remodeling to construction, and have been serving Chicagoland area for over 10 years. We can help you with all aspects of home projects from those small handyman projects to home additions and everything else in between, whatever it might be. Whether it’s, electrical, plumbing, carpentry, custom cabinets, tilling or HVAC repair or installation, we can even help you with design and blue prints of your new space. Give us a call or send us an email with your request.  

    HD, Pro Painters

    We are a new company formed with painters and workers with years of experience in the field and years working in the business in Chicago Il. And we are committed to helping our clients and giving them the security and confidence of putting something as important as their homes or businesses in our hands  

    Offers by HD, Pro Painters on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Second story additions - Kitchen and master suite additions - Attic conversions and dormer additions - Open floor plan remodeling - Historically sensitive renovations

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about LEADER BUILDERS

    How is LEADER BUILDERS overall rated?

    LEADER BUILDERS is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are LEADER BUILDERS open?

    LEADER BUILDERS is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does LEADER BUILDERS provide

    LEADER BUILDERS accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does LEADER BUILDERS offer free estimates?

    No, LEADER BUILDERS does not offer free project estimates.

    Does LEADER BUILDERS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, LEADER BUILDERS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does LEADER BUILDERS offer a senior discount?

    Yes, LEADER BUILDERS offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by LEADER BUILDERS?

    No, LEADER BUILDERS does not offer warranties.

    What services does LEADER BUILDERS offer?

    LEADER BUILDERS offers the following services: Second story additions - Kitchen and master suite additions - Attic conversions and dormer additions - Open floor plan remodeling - Historically sensitive renovations

    Are there any services LEADER BUILDERS does not offer?

    Ask for details