Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DSY Construction Inc

Founded 2002 • With Angi since March 2012

4.8

(170) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9312 Luna Ave

Morton Grove, IL 60053

Description

We are a full-service general construction company with a wide range of experience from remodeling to construction, and have been serving Chicagoland area for over 10 years. We can help you with all aspects of home projects from those small handyman projects to home additions and everything else in

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/26/2016


Alexandra & William B.

Peter was very professional and explained everything he was doing. When he first came to provide the quote, he provided options about the best way to go about to replaced the fixtures. His work was high quality and he made sure to minimize any mess that resulted and ensured that the work area was cleaned up properly. Given his knowledge and expertise, we plan on using Peter's company again for future renovation projects.

Description of Work
Installed new shower head and body sprays in master bathroom.

Category drywall, plumbing, home remodeling

5.0

10/16/2016


Jason M.

Peter was always professional and on time and worked around 3 dogs in my apartment.

Description of Work
I had my bathroom totally remodeled and ended up doing that and putting a new backsplash in my kitchen.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, drywall, lighting, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

10/16/2016


Jason M.

he worked around 3 dogs and did a great job and was open to all my HGTV ideas I had every other day!

Description of Work
Peter redid my bathroom.

Category bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

10/12/2016


Steven L.

Peter was recommended by a friend who said he did excellent work. After two meetings to go over the job, Peter sent us a proposal that was within our budget. We agreed to a work schedule and Peter worked steadily until the job was completed on time. He kept the work area as clean as possible and was respectful of our home. He asked a lot of questions before and during the job, and included us in all the judgement calls that come up in a construction project like this and he made thoughtful recommendations when needed. Peter is very experienced and works like a craftsman instead of the contractors who just work as quickly as possible and don't care how their work looks.

Description of Work
Remodel bathroom- Complete tear out and reconstruction, remodeling. Insulation, drywall, plumbing, electrical, carpentry, tile, installation of new fixtures, and painting

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, insulation, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

03/07/2016


Jason L.

It went great. Peter is easy going and professional. As soon as he started working, he was sending me texts almost daily on his status. He kept us updated on possible cost increases and any issues he came across. He also checked in to let us know of how work was going. While he did go over costs, he was still considerably lower than anyone else who did estimates for us. He also did some additional items for us around the house. He was our handyman before this project, and we will continue to use him in that role.

Description of Work
Peter discussed what we wanted to do - remodel our kitchen - and talked about estimates, time frame, and put us in touch with his cabinet guy. After we got the estimate on the cabinets, we were able to find the kind we wanted - white shaker - we planned on when he would come and do the work. Peter began his work in January 25 and was mostly completed by February 15. He completely gutted our kitchen, installed the new cabinets, crown moulding, rearranged the placement of our appliances and installed the new ones. All through the process, he kept in touch with us about the progress. He worked quickly and thoroughly. During the process he discovered some issues that had to do with the age of our house, wiring, and poor drywall work. He worked into the evenings and weekends to get our work done in a timely fashion. He did a great job of improving our kitchen. We still can't believe it's the same room.

Category custom cabinets, drywall, electrician, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

11/30/2015


Romeo M.

Very well! Prompt and very professional.

Description of Work
Repair drywall

Category drywall, handyman service

2.0

10/09/2015


Michael D.

The initial contact was fine. Peter scheduled and appointment. He did call to let me know he couldn't make it because of car trouble. I never heard back.

Description of Work
Nothing. I wanted an estimate for a rehab.

Category handyman service

2.0

09/11/2015


Kimberly S.

Peter gave me a great estimate -- he walked through the spaces, asked good questions, inspected everything, and discussed scheduling options. I was really excited to be able to move forward with a good contractor. But the minor communication problems that we'd started with immediately became horrible. Peter would go weeks without contacting me, first to give me the estimate, and then to actually schedule the work. Emails and messages were ignored, and I only got a call-back once, my last contact. Peter assured me at that time he was still interested in doing my job, he was just really busy, and we agreed he would contact me by the following Tuesday with a schedule for the job. Almost a month later, I still haven't heard from him. I can't speak to Peter's skills, but his communication and reliability appear to be non-existent. I wouldn't suggest trying to hire DSY unless you have a lot of time to wait around for contact, and a back-up in the wings.

Description of Work
Gave me an estimate for a variety of work on my bathroom and kitchen.

Category handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

04/30/2015


Jason L.

Peter is great. He's easy to talk to and get a no b.s. estimate or idea of the cost and type of work to get done. He's also pretty easy to get a hold of and have him come back for more work. He is pretty flexible with his schedule. My wife and I both work and have two kids under two so it's not easy to meet with someone during regular hours. I highly recommend his work.

Description of Work
Peter did some small jobs around the house: repairing a closet door, installing a fan, installing a front porch light, and he also talked honestly without how much other work would cost and if we should get it done immediately.

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting, doors

5.0

01/03/2015


A C.

This service was fantastic. I have been compiling this list of handyman items for years. With this service these were all done within a few hours. The service was punctual, flexible and knew what they were doing. I've referred them to others.

Description of Work
Improved door to garage door. hung ikea wall panels. replaced knobs on old dresser

Category handyman service

5.0

12/02/2014


Tom M.

Started on time - finished on schedule. Crew was friendly and professional.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling

4.0

11/21/2014


Terri B.

Construction was good, painting has to be redone. Some repairs and patching needed and no response. Hired a handy man to do the fixes.

Description of Work
construction, painting

Category handyman service

5.0

10/30/2014


Silvi P.

Excellent - fair price, prompt and professional. I will call them again for other jobs!

Description of Work
Dug up and replaced 4x4 wooden fence posts that were rotting away.

Category excavators, fencing, handyman service

5.0

10/29/2014


Gail P.

The original reason why we called them is because they offered an Angie's List deal. They got back to us with an estimate very quickly and they're very professional.

Description of Work
Yes. They did bathroom remodeling.

Category home remodeling

1.0

10/26/2014


JONATHAN N.

Failed to provide proposal despite repeated follow-ups and promises. If they aren't interested or available they should simple state that and be done.

Description of Work
Failed to provide proposal despite repeated follow-ups and promises. If they aren't interested or available they should simple state that and be done.

Category handyman service

5.0

09/18/2014


Nancy R.

Went pretty smoothly. Some delays due to materials being on order & scheduling an electrician, but overall we're very pleased. Worked cleanly, removed debris daily. He worked with us when we realized the original light fixture for the bathroom would not work, came back to install the new one. Responsive to our concerns and helped us find solutions. The bathroom turned out great. Peter was great & I would absolutely hire him again.

Description of Work
Complete 2nd floor bathroom remodel - demo'd old bathroom from the 60s, painted, put in new floor tile, Swanstone surround, shower doors, new sink/vanity, new toilet, added a fan to vent outside, installed a jetted tub/heater, replaced an old glass block window with newer privacy glass window. Repaired ceiling of 1st floor bathroom (directly below 2nd floor bathroom remodel) - had been damaged by leaks from the tub. Also installed exhaust fan Installed new electrical panel, upgraded to 200 amp service

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

3.0

08/12/2014


katherine I.

I wanted tile back splash but they did not do that. I wanted drywall holes repaired but said that would take multiple visits because paste dries and I would have to pay additional visits. He had said he would call me back to tell me when he would be available but did not call back. He said he had many jobs due to Angie's list specials at that time. He seemed like a very nice guy but he couldn't do the projects I needed done.

Description of Work
.

Category handyman service

5.0

06/27/2014


Mina Y.

The expereience was fine, the work was nothing stellar but it was done.

Description of Work
Handymen work.

Category handyman service

5.0

06/09/2014


Eric G.

They were good to work with. They provided general handyman services involving light plumbing and fixing a door.

Description of Work
I purchased a big deal for $99 for Three Hours of Handyman Services.

Category handyman service, plumbing

3.0

05/20/2014


Santanu D.

We were impressed by the good reviews we read about the DSY construction and purchased coupon for 2 hours of handy man service (refer Angie’s List Big Deal offer). Peter took four hours to replace the sink. So I had to pay $ 120 dollar more for the extra 2 hour service. After installation the water force from the faucet got noticeably reduced. Peter felt that spout “O”ring is missing so we ordered that from the company and he promised to fix it when part would arrive. Unfortunately, after one day we noticed lot of water below the sink. We found that water was coming from the sink where it was connected to the garbage disposal. We had to put a big bowl below the garbage disposal to collect water which we were emptying 3-4 times a day. We mentioned this to Peter when he came after a week to put “O” ring in the faucet. I was shocked when he told me that he could not do much about this problem because the garbage disposal is very close to a pipe, he told me that I have to hire a plumber to fix it. I was not very happy to hear that. When he came to see the new sink and compare with the old one, week before he started the work, he told me everything looked fine and he would be able to change the sink probably in 2 hours or less. He did not express any concern. Had he told us any such potential problem we would not have gone to change the sink. Our sink was old but there was no problem. While we were arguing about whose fault was this. My wife was looking under the sink using a flash light and found a spot where the water was leaking. She requested him to open and reconnect those two again. She was right. Leakage stopped when he did this again. Although water force in the faucet still remained weak we do not have any leakage problem.

Description of Work
Replace old porcelain sink with a stainless steel sink in our kitchen.

Category handyman service, plumbing

5.0

04/05/2014


Leo and Demetra S.

We were very pleased with DSY Construction. The results were beyond our expectations. Peter was very responsive and kept us in the loop daily as the project progressed. Our basement upgrade involved a variety of creative solutions as our's is an older home. Peter's suggestions worked out great and the result is very modern improvement that is all in keeping with the older home feel. Recommend highly.

Description of Work
Peter taped and patched recently installed drywall in the entire basement, built out a new closet, and installed vinyl plank flooring starting from the back door entryway and throughout the basement. On the 2nd floor, he built out a new closet and installed recessed lighting.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, lighting

5.0

03/17/2014


Rosalie L.

.I think I detailed it all above. The work came out really well. My son, who isn't into home improvement for his own place, was really impressed by the beadboard entryway, and loved the glass tile backsplashes. I am very satisfied, and Peter does know what he's doing. He measures carefully, and he cleaned up well after he was done with each project.

Description of Work
Several things. 1. Painted newly re-walled basement and stairwell leading to basement, including patching some messy areas on stair treads and the walls/sanding/priming and painting, plus removing a railing not secured properly to wall, drilling in a 2 x4 to the wall (and painting it) then securing the railing to that wood slat. Plus repairing/replaceing some broken floor tiles in the basement. 2. covered two walls (2/3 up)in my side entry which were in bad shape for years and didn't respond years ago to sanding/priming/painting by a painter. Peter made several suggestions, I chose some MDF beadboard, and he expertly secured them, with careful measuring and cutting, to the wall, capped them with trim, primed, painting (sanded down 1st coat to smooth it) and capped off corners with plastic guards which he secured. I cannot tell you how dramatically different that entryway looks, for the first time in our 28 years of living here. He took my idea, improved on it, and carried it out. He also fixed a nearby laundry shoot door which my grandkids have banged to death and came up with a way for it to stay closed-magnets. Very clever. 3. He replaced a heat damaged corian backsplash piece by my cooktop with glass tiles I found online that coordinated with the same corian countertop, and it looks terrific and adds a bit of color, texture, and variation. He also did the same treatment to a water damaged piece of veneer on an appliance garage near my sink, carefully matching the existing height of the laminate backsplash that it ends into. And a few small repairs on doors that didn't quite close, etc.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, interior painters

5.0

03/14/2014


MARYANN C.

It went quite well. He did a fine job making sure that I approved of the use of screws to attach the magnet to the back of the door. Everything was cleaned up.

Description of Work
Provider installed a Cabidor cabinet on back of basement door.

Category custom cabinets, handyman service

5.0

03/09/2014


Mark L.

He arrived on-time, determined what I wanted and provided the serive in an efficient and excellent manner using materials to code and good hardware. He determined the best source for electricity to the new switch based on the position of the light and of the intended switch. He installed conduit and wired the switch. I was impressed with the professionalism and the end result.

Description of Work
The installer set up a new switch for a ceiling light in my basement.

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting

1.0

02/18/2014


Kenneth M.

The service was not used as scheduling so far in advance was not workable.

Description of Work
Nothing. When I contacted the provider I was told I need to schedule the work weeks in advance. Since I travel a great deal, often on short notice, this has proved unworkable. Next time I'll know to ask in advance of a ccepting a deal about availability.

Category handyman service

    Other local Pros in your area

    DSY Construction Inc

    We are a full-service general construction company with a wide range of experience from remodeling to construction, and have been serving Chicagoland area for over 10 years. We can help you with all aspects of home projects from those small handyman projects to home additions and everything else in between, whatever it might be. Whether it’s, electrical, plumbing, carpentry, custom cabinets, tilling or HVAC repair or installation, we can even help you with design and blue prints of your new space. Give us a call or send us an email with your request.  

    Lawrence E Gustafson Roofing

    Super Service Award Winner for 2016. Family owned & operated. Please call Larry at (847) 404-1687! I'd love to speak with you about your contracting needs!  

    Bald Eagle Masonry

    For over a decade, Bald Eagle Construction has been widely known as the go-to expert for a wide variety of construction projects in Chicago and the Chicagoland area. We’re also proud to be the leader in handling City of Chicago building code violations. From taking care of fixing the issues straight through to dealing with the paperwork. For you that means you not only get the job done to our exacting specifications – you’ll also be assured that any project we start will comply fully with all Chicago Building Department regulations. 11 employees. Uses subs for specialty work. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Ask about Angie's list discount. Award winning.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    TGC030726
    Trade License Locale
    Chicago,Illinois,cook
    Trade License Authority
    City of Chicago Department of Buildings
    Trade License Expiration
    10/03/2017
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Remodeling- Basement, Bathroom & Kitchen, Handyman Service, Plumbing, Basement, Carpenter, Counter tops, Custom Cabinets, Drain Cleaning, Drywall, Egress Windows installation, Electrician, Energy Audit, Excavation, Flooring, Foundation Repair, Hardwood Floor Repair, Home Builder, Home Inspection, Insulation, Interior & Exterior painting, Masonry, Pressure Washing, Screen Repair,

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about DSY Construction Inc

    How is DSY Construction Inc overall rated?

    DSY Construction Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are DSY Construction Inc open?

    DSY Construction Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does DSY Construction Inc provide

    DSY Construction Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does DSY Construction Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, DSY Construction Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does DSY Construction Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, DSY Construction Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does DSY Construction Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, DSY Construction Inc offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by DSY Construction Inc?

    Yes, DSY Construction Inc offers warranties.

    What services does DSY Construction Inc offer?

    DSY Construction Inc offers the following services: Remodeling- Basement, Bathroom & Kitchen, Handyman Service, Plumbing, Basement, Carpenter, Counter tops, Custom Cabinets, Drain Cleaning, Drywall, Egress Windows installation, Electrician, Energy Audit, Excavation, Flooring, Foundation Repair, Hardwood Floor Repair, Home Builder, Home Inspection, Insulation, Interior & Exterior painting, Masonry, Pressure Washing, Screen Repair,