Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Menting Masonry & Waterproofing Inc

Founded 1948 • With Angi since August 2010

Serving the area for since 1948, Family operated, Free estimates, member of BBB, no subcontractors, Servicing the Quad Cities and outlying areas.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(20) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-20 of 20 reviews
Linda R.
5.0
03/17/2018
The work took two days. The price was almost 1/3 less than a competitor bid. They installed a French drain system and a sump pump. The other bid was for the glue on drain system which is actually not allowed in some areas and is not the better solution. There is a very good warranty on their work. The workers were very professional and skilled. I would highly recommend this company!
Description of Work
Partial basement waterproof and sump pump installation
Category
basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed], It was a pleasure working with you. Please keep us in mind for any future projects!
Susan B.
5.0
09/15/2017
The job went very well. When we contacted the company initially, a representative came to our house and explained what was needed, how the problem would be addressed, and answered all our questions. On the day of the job, the workers who came were polite and professional, worked hard and finished in a timely fashion, and cleaned the worksite so thoroughly that, except for the new concrete poured, you wouldn't have known they were there. We can't recommend this company and its employees highly enough.
Description of Work
We needed to have a drain installed in the basement floor along a wall to prevent rainwater from seeping through the wall and to carry rainwater out to the street.
Category
basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]! We are so happy we were able to help you with your basement and like to make sure the process as pleasant as possible. If you need assistance in the future don't hesitate to contact us. Again thank you!
Rachelle M.
5.0
10/17/2016
We were very happy with the work that Menting Masonry completed for us. Our first contact with this company was ten years ago. We asked them for a bid on basement waterproofing. They gave us the bid as requested, but also did a thorough examination of the outside of the home. They recommended we get new gutters and supplied us with a name - Superior Gutters. They did a fantastic job at a great price, and it did cut down on the trouble we were having frequently getting wet in the basement as well as flooding our sidewalk. The drain spout was relocated to the opposite side of the house and it greatly alleviated our issue of the sidewalk filling up and channeling into our basement. We still got water in our basement occasionally on very heavy rains so I called them back for another estimate. The original sump pump was dumping into the house drain - a big "No" and completely useless when heavy rains back up the sewer drain lines. The bid was reasonable, but more than we could afford at the time. We started working on saving up to do the work. I called back in a couple of years when we had the cash to do the project. The friendly,organized, professional office manager, Shawn, still had the original bids, and put us on the schedule 6 months out. An unexpected financial emergency had us in a pinch and I called to reschedule. Shawn again accommodated us by putting us on the first available opening - 11 months out. This was just enough time for us to reach our savings goals again and I was very impressed by her forethought to put us on the schedule right away. I had planned on just calling back when we had the cash saved up again - that would have delayed us another several months to a year! Their services are in high demand because they do quality work at a good price. Along with pointing out the incorrectly draining of our sump pump to the floor drain, Marlin, the project bidder, also pointed out that our utility bathroom and wash machine dumped to the floor drain. This is against code also and would create problems selling the home in the future. He recommended that we get bids from a plumber to do the floor drain piping at the time of breaking up concrete for the trenches. He also noted that we had a condensate line from the air conditioner on the furnace unit snaked across the basement floor to the floor drain and offered a thought that they could channel an underground route to the outer trench leading to the sump pump. All of this forethought and overall project ownership from the time of bid! This allowed us to save up and have cash on hand and preferred contractors at time of demolition/construction. As for the exterior of the house, he noted that we had tied the gutter downspouts underground into pop-up drains. He noted that he is not a fan of those and that there was a large potential for future issues and reccomended to tie the drains spouts into the sump pump discharge. Throughout the project, the work crew showed up early, were friendly, and professional, and did their best to keep the dirty job to a minimal mess. Make no mistake - it is messy and the work site is not cleaned off entirely every day. However, they do stack the tools neatly to the side at the end of the day. They also removed our floor mats, hung them on the fence, and put down plastic sheet to collect some of the dirt. They warned us ahead of time that it would be messy and recommended that we cover anything in plastic sheeting that we couldn't just wipe down. The biggest benefit was that the project lead for Menting Masonry, Marlin Schaub, took it upon himself to really manage the overall project in our absence as we were at work during their labor. Not only did he know that it would be beneficial to include additional projects to save cost, time, and energy at the time of bid, but he also had a good, working knowledge of the overall scope of the project during execution - when things really come up! He saved us three times on the plumbing aspects of the project: 1. He noticed that the drain pipe from the kitchen sink had a hairline fracture. At the time of breaking out the concrete around that piping, my husband was home and had just drained the sink from washing the dishes. He noticed a few soapy bubbles and a slight dampness in the area. The drain pipe was original black iron pipe to the 1930's house. There was no signs of damage above ground. That could have been a real issue later on - especially since we would have had to break up the brand new floor and walls to repair it. Not to mention that it would be quite wet and a real issue before we would have noticed a slow drip underground. He even took it upon himself to communicate that with the plumber, who quickly agreed to replace it while he was there to work on the bathroom drain pipe. 2. The original floor drain was deep set and in the way of his floor trench straight line. He bought the floor drain and worked it out with the plumber to have that replaced as well after okaying it with us. The overall result is a much more functional space with no large hole in the center of the room - as well as again eliminating a probable future leak in the corroded original floor pipe. We also now have the recommended check valve in the floor drain that the original piping lacked. 3. The plumber miss-measured the dimensions for the bathroom fixture drain piping and they were set up 1-1/4" too high. I would have never known that by eye and was not knowledgeable enough to know that the result of that would have been an uneven lump in the newly poured concrete floor. Marlin noticed it, brought it to my husbands' attention, asked his preferred route, and then even called and communicated the error and the necessary changes and the timeline to the plumber. It was fixed, inspected and poured nice and level by the end. This is especially important because we plan on mounting a floating vanity in there. A bumpy, wavy floor would not have been the point of gutting the utility bathroom and upgrading it for functionality and aesthetics. There is no value I can place on having a good, knowledgeable, consciousness contractor watching over the project as the work proceeds. These small nuances, which were barely a blip on our radar could have been major headaches, hassles, and frustrations for years to come. It truly is invaluable. Marlin had a good working rapport with his staff and with his clients. Shawn runs the books, scheduling, and communications in the office. Her organizational skills are exceptional. Marlin had her call to communicate an issue that they had on site to let us know before we even got home that they had run into an issue with the concrete finishing and there wasn't enough time in the day to correct it because they needed to mix more concrete - but not to worry - they knew there was an issue and they would fix it in the morning. I really appreciated the preemptive communication. There is nothing worse than coming home and thinking - "They aren't going to do it like THAT?! are they?" and then having to stew about it all night. The crew finished up the outside drain tiling on the last day, Friday. By noon, they had communicated with us that they would be working late to finish up the project. They had to work late into the evening, but kept on it until it was finished. I am not sure what time they wrapped up, but we left the house at 6:00pm and when we got home at 9:00 the job was finished and they had cleaned up their tools, and swept and hosed down the outside area. We did the majority of the sweeping, wiping and mopping to clean the interior, but we had expected that because of the messy nature of the job. In addition, Marlin also recommended additional contractors to help us with ongoing projects in the future. Very happy with the overall result.
Description of Work
Basement Waterproofing - trench and install 4" perforated drain tile around entire perimeter of basement Weep holes drilled in all block cavities to drain to tile, PVC flashing to cover weep holes relocated sump pump install provision to condensation line from Air Conditioner on furnace unit outside drainage improvements - Install 4" PVC from downspouts to drywell, tie in sump pump discharge
Category
basement waterproofing, drain pipe

Service Provider Response

We are pleased that we were able to help you! Thank you for the great feedback. We always try to make sure the process goes as smooth as possible and like to be able to help out along the way. Don't hesitate to call with any questions and enjoy your dry basement.
Jenny L.
5.0
07/15/2016
The initial consultation was great! They came highly recommended by a number of people. We dealt with water problems for over 25 years and were certain we would never be able to enjoy a dry basement again but they proved us wrong!! They waterproofed our basement, braced the walls and gave us recommendation on trenching our yard and putting on larger gutters to prevent any overflow problems. The guys were a joy to work with and we looked forward to seeing them every day and missed them when the work was done! We are now enjoying a dry basement and are able to have a family room with no problems!!! We will definitely recommend them to everyone!!
Description of Work
Waterproofing, bracing bowed walls in our basement
Category
basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you and I am so happy that everything is working well for you! We appreciate hearing feedback from our customers. The guys always work to make sure you are satisfied every step of the way.
Jim O.
5.0
08/31/2015
Mike was very professional and offered some good tips to us in regards to how to alleviate future water leaks in our basement. He went outdoors with us and showed us some specific things we could do to keep the basement from leaking. He took this extra time with us even though he knew that we would not be using his services. I would definitely recommend this company to anyone who may be in need of assistance with basement waterproofing!
Description of Work
Mike from Menting Masonry and Waterproofing came out as I thought there may have been a leak in our basement. He was very upfront with us and said he couldn't sell us anything, as he thought the water was coming from the furnace/air conditioner unit. Sure enough, we had the AC repairman come out and the problem was definitely with this unit.
Category
masonry, basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [removed member name]. We are happy to help out anytime. If you need help in the future don't hesitate to call as there are other services we provide. And as always we do free estimates.
Helen L.
5.0
08/23/2015
Great! Lived here for 37 years with ongoing water issues. Not worried about water anymore. Obviously, I wish I had discovered these guys years ago. They absolutely know what they are doing. Could not recommend them highly enough. The crew were wonderful.....they approached things as not just another job to do but as a problem to solve. They came again in July to dig a trench to alleviate runoff from the house above as well. No more standing water in the yard anymore!
Description of Work
Dug up back area where water was coming in from the outside. They worked under very bad conditions.....very, very muddy because of continuing rains. Kept at it for five days. They patched 3 foundation cracks (had to dig several feet down in very wet, muddy conditions) and put in catch basin, drainage pipes, tied in two downspouts, and drained everything to the side yard away from the house. Instead of all kinds of different tiling around the area, they tied everything into one larger drainage pipe so it looked clean and neat - nothing above ground anymore.
Category
basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you [removed member name]. June and July were definitely wet with record rains! We're happy to help and if there is anything we can do or if you have any issues do not hesitate to contact us.
Dennis K.
5.0
12/23/2014
Did an outstanding job and did an excellent job of matching new brick to old. Had another bid for the job that was more than twice as expensive and would have taken 3 days compared to the 1 day using 3 people. Very satisfied. Have used them previously for chimney brickwork and was also very satisfied. Only downside was a 2 and a half month wait due to their volume of work load.
Description of Work
Removed, cleaned and replaced loose brick and mortar surrounding a 70 year old porch support. Some new brick had to be used due to breakage.
Category
masonry, basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

We are happy you are pleased with the completed work. Menting Masonry and Waterproofing is a small family owned and operated company that employs a small staff of highly trained individuals. While our employees adhere to a demanding schedule our emphasis is quality over quantity of work at a reasonable cost.
Charles H.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Repaired skim coating on outdoor access to my basement.
Category
basement waterproofing
Laurel H.
5.0
09/23/2014
Everything was installed properly and I have had no problems....
Description of Work
This provider has done several jobs for me over the past 3 years... I bought an older without realizing it had a lot of water problems.... Menting Masonry has installed a french drainage system with underground drainage going from my downspouts to the french drain.... they also assisted in installing a rain barrel .... last summer they waterproofed a portion of my basement using a drainage system with a sump pump.... All the work they have done as been very beneficial and excellent....
Category
basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you (member name removed). It's always great to hear back from our customers and we enjoy working with you always. We'll see you next year too!
John C.
5.0
04/21/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Replaced broken bricks on my chimney. Project went well. You need to schedule this company several months in advance to get on their schedule.
Category
masonry, basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you and we are happy you are pleased with the work we have done for you.
Wanda L.
5.0
04/16/2014
They were very prompt in responding for my request for an estimate. They are going to repair the brickwork on three sides of a screened porch. He was very professional and friendly. He even told me what caused the problem and how to prevent it in the future. He said they were booked out months in advance, but the person in the office found a time in mid-June for me. So far I am very pleased with this faze of the project. I thought the estimate was reasonable. I will leave another review when the work is completed.
Description of Work
Gave an estimate. I have hired them to do the project, but it is scheduled for June. I will leave a review then.
Category
masonry, basement waterproofing
Norma M.
5.0
03/12/2014
Good.
Description of Work
Waterproof basement.
Category
basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] and we are looking forward to working with you on your next project!
Heather S.
5.0
03/01/2014
They dug a pit in the backyard for the drainage from sump pump. They were wonderful and very helpful throughout the entire process.
Description of Work
They installed a sump pump with backup battery.
Category
basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you and we are glad you're happy with your waterproofed basement. Don't hesitate to contact us with any questions you may have. It was a pleasure working with you.
Lisa N.
5.0
01/29/2014
Menting came to our rescue in April 2013. Our sump pump failed after a big flood. (In actuality the pump had been installed incorrectly by WRS - but this is another story). Menting installed a new pump within an hour or two of my call despite a very busy day. We had used them for tuck pointing the previous year - so I suspect our previous relationship helped. My impression is that this company takes care of it's customers. After the chaos settled I asked Menting to come in again to assess other problems that had existed since WRS waterproofed our basement in 2010. Our house was built in 1928, so I wasn't sure that complete waterproofing was possible. WRS felt I was asking too much when I wanted the storage area under our sun porch to remain dry in all types of weather. Their attempt at waterproofing resulted in puddles of water in our basement after large downpours and moist floors after lighter rain. I asked Menting for a second opinion and I am very happy with the job they did. Mike Menting, the owner, is practical and direct. He is very knowledgeable and his first comment was that he would have used a different system entirely. (I don't know enough about different systems to give more details. I point out this detail only to say he knows his business). He then gave some practical tips to try before he did any work on the house. This included redirecting water away in a couple of spots with downspouts - a nice FREE suggestion. This helped, but didn't take care of the problem. Therefore, I asked him to do what he felt was needed to correct the problem. Drainage tile was installed under an interior cinder block wall that attached to the exterior wall. He also corrected the point at which the sump pump water drained from the house. The outlet was too small and located below the drainpipe that took water away from the house. (Did I mention that WRS installed that sump pump?). It was a one day intervention and the problem was solved. The waterproofing was done in summer 2013 and despite a couple of huge downpours our basement remains bone dry. I wish we had used Menting when we initially took on waterproofing our basement. - it would have saved us thousands of dollars. The break down of cost is as follows: Sump pump replacement: $250 Drain Tile: $100 Fix where the pump drains out: $100 (I can't find my receipt - so please excuse my lack of technical terms!)
Description of Work
Replaced sump pump and completed basement waterproofing which was done incorrectly by another company.
Category
basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

We're happy to help whenever we can and are especially happy that your basement is dry. If you need anything in the future don't hesitate to contact us.
Laurel H.
5.0
08/25/2013
The crew worked steadily - would stop & answer questions if I had them. Cleaned up when finished. Work was done in 1 day.
Description of Work
Installed new sump pump - removed existing water-proof system. Installed 4" perforated drain tile & drilled "weep" holes in all block cavities. Installed PVC flashing along base of wall. Replaced old pump w/ new. Tied Radon system to drain. Poured concrete.
Category
masonry, basement waterproofing, drain pipe, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] and it's always a pleasure working with you.
Carol C.
5.0
07/31/2013
The first company that came out really frightened me, but I trust Menting and am going with their analysis of my foundation. They have done a great job for me both times I've used them and I will continue to use them in the future if I need to.
Description of Work
He came to give me an estimate and analysis for my foundation. The first time they came out they dug into a drain underground and kept the water from my house.
Category
basement waterproofing, drain pipe, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] and we're happy to help any time. Do not hesitate to call in the future with any questions.
Fred T.
5.0
07/24/2013
They arrived on time and immediately began preparing the area they were to start working in. The owner explained everything they were to do right down to the most minute detail. They answered every question I asked in detail. I can honestly say they the workers and the owner were the most professional and courtious people I have ever had the pleasure to deal with. By Tuesday, they had completed 2/3 rds of the job which amazed me. They took their breaks and lunch, but when it came to work they worked and worked hard. By Wednesday at noon, they were waiting on the city inspector to arrive so they could complete the work. They completed the job before the estimated time of Thursday afternoon. I would not hesitate to recommend them and would do so proudly.
Description of Work
Waterproofed basement
Category
basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words and your hospitality. It was a pleasure to meet and work with you. We hope this helps you enjoy your new home even more. Sincerely, Menting Masonry and Waterproofing, INC.
Beate K.
5.0
05/05/2013
Met all of our expectations. We are very satisfied.
Description of Work
Menting suggested that we replace our 4" gutters with 6" gutters with a 4" down spout prior to installing the outside drainage tiles. They hand dug the trench for the tiles and the retaining pit. Our project was installed in an all-day down pour which continued for a few days. We have not had any water in the basement. When the project was completed you couldn't tell they were here.
Category
basement waterproofing, drain pipe

Service Provider Response

Thank you. It was a pleasure working with you and if you have any questions don't hesitate to contact us.
Laura E.
5.0
11/12/2012
Couldn't be happier with the experience. Very knowledgable team, estimate was right on the money. Most importantly, the exterior changes mean no more water in my basement. Plus, when I asked for odd an end fixes (patching of masonry columns on the front porch as well as in areas of the basement) they were more than accommodating and did a great job. And did I mention, my new patio looks great. Great crew, true to their estimate and wonderful work. What more can I say?
Description of Work
Complete exterior drainage system, removal of sagging concrete walkway, installation of patio, and masonry repair.
Category
masonry, basement waterproofing, drain pipe, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you. We take pride in our work and want to make sure our customers are satisfied. It was a pleasure working with you.
Carla D.
5.0
04/25/2012
It was as if nothing ever happened. My basement is quiet and dry. It is a great sump pump. The yard looks like nothing ever was isntalled. They did work for my parents 20 years ago also and everything they did is still working. I can't say enough about them.
Description of Work
They installed a sump pump.
Category
basement waterproofing, drain pipe

Other local Pros in your area

Absolutely Dry Basement Waterproofing

Absolutely Dry basement Waterproofing, Inc. Is a family owned, basement specialty company. We service Eastern Iowa, and Western IL. We provide waterproofing services, inside or outside. We also repair bowed, or cracked walls. Walls can be replaced as well if need be. Egress windows can also be installed. We provide free estimates/ consultations, and travel up to 2 hours away from the Quad City area. Call us today to discuss your home's needs. Reclaim your wet basement!  

Angi Certified

R & B Remodeling

Specializing in remodels! We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Angi Certified

Colestruction LLC

We pride our company on reliability, great communication, integrity, and quality work. We are experts in our trade and will do our best to keep you as educated as we can on your particular task or project. We look forward to earning your business. Thank you and god bless! #Colestruction #moregooder #sawdustismanglitter #onemanband  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

P.O. Box 218

Moline, IL 61266

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Menting Masonry & Waterproofing Inc is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Menting Masonry & Waterproofing Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Menting Masonry & Waterproofing Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Menting Masonry & Waterproofing Inc offers free project estimates.

No, Menting Masonry & Waterproofing Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Menting Masonry & Waterproofing Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Menting Masonry & Waterproofing Inc offers warranties.

Menting Masonry & Waterproofing Inc offers the following services: Basement waterproofing, sump pump installation, outside drainage improvements, masonry including chimney rebuild and repair, tuckpointing foundations and chimneys, patios, retainaing walls, I-Beam installation.