Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Geek Squad - Best Buy

Founded 1994 • With Angi since February 2005

Local Expert Geek Squad Agents are here to install, set up, and repair your Appliance or TV. We repair most major Appliance and TV brands regardless of where they were purchased. Work is guaranteed for 90 days. We also offer a variety of computer & repair services. Check us out online, by phone, or at over 1,100 Best Buy stores.

Amenities

Free Estimates
no
Warranties
90 days
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

3.7

(10) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews
Logan F.
5.0
11/07/2016
Very well, the second team addressed and corrected my concerns.
Description of Work
Readjust the new TV and Stand I purchased in spring
Category
tv repair, computer repair
Michael M.
5.0
02/04/2015
.
Description of Work
Replaced our TV under Black Tie warranty.
Category
tv repair
Phyllis B.
1.0
10/08/2014
unknown
Category
computer sales
George V.
1.0
07/29/2014
I am still waiting on my computer this is ridiculous. I keep calling and trying to find someone who will do something, but all I do is get run around. Yesterday I was told that the person who needs to now sign off on this is on vacation until Wednesday. I can't / don't believe that it is up to one person.
Description of Work
I brought in my computer to replace the power supply. In the process they wiped out my hard drive without backing it up. When I asked why they indicated it was a technician error and tried to shift the blame to me saying that I should be backing up my computer regularly. When I indicated that all I brought my computer in was for a power supply they again said I could have bought the backup service there for $150. When I said all I brought my computer in was for a power supply they again tried to indicate that things happen. After hours of going back and forth they agreed to work on the computer, but that it would have to be sent to their team in Kentucky. It has been since. Every time I call (store, tech support, customer service, HQ) they run me around, transfer me to numbers where I'm on hold for over 30 minutes, give me to people who don't know anything, tell me I don't know anything, and in the end come back and say it's the stores fault and they will get to it. It is almost 3 weeks later and my hard drive is sitting somewhere in Kentucky waiting for someone at the store to give the necessary approval, but every time I call or go there I get run around again. This is the worst retail experience I have ever had. I am encouraging people not to shop Best Buy, not there stores, not on line. This organization is the worst. I even tried their corporate HQ and got no where. I guess when your like their CEO and make over $13 million a year you don't have to worry to much about someone whose computer has over 1000 hours of hard work and a lot of valuable data and programs on it.
Category
computer repair
Carol T.
5.0
08/01/2012
They are excellent. Various people have come to perform work and they have all been great.
Description of Work
I have used their services for several years. They have done installation and repairs on televisions, my sling box, and DVDs. Really anything and everything pertaining to my entertainment system.
Category
tv repair, electronic repair
ALLEN M.
1.0
06/28/2009
It went poorly. About one day after I dropped it off I started getting messages on my email and message box on my cellphone saying the computer is ready for pickup. But, no one talkded to me and no one was ever available to talk to. When I got home from my vacation, I went to pickup my computer. I was told that the hardware was all fine, but it was full of viruses and stuff and needed to be cleaned out. I asked why they did not call and ask me to authorize that work. They told me they were forbidden by "corporate policy". The system is totally automated and I had to come in and talk about the next step. I felt ripped off. Not by the price of the diagnosis - $65, but by their "policies". I wanted to come home to a working computer, not to a sales pitch for the work they wanted to do. Again, if they would have called while I was on vacation, I would have authorized the work. As it was, I ranted at them and took my computer home.
Description of Work
My computer was 1) running slow and 2) DVD/CD drives would not write (could read but not write). I dropped it off at Geek Squad the day before I left for a one week vacation. I told them the problem and told them I would be available by cell phone to discuss repairs.
Category
computer repair
LISA P.
5.0
03/15/2006
They were very timely, professional, knowledgeable and helpful. They had the entire system set-up and hooked up to the internet and a printer within an hour.
Description of Work
New computer set-up.
Category
computer repair
DR SUSAN L.
5.0
10/12/2005
THEY CAME OUT. MADE APPOINTMENT. SHOWED UP ON TIME. DRESSED IN WHITE SHIRT, TIE AND BLACK PANTS. HE KNEW EXACTLY WHAT HE WAS DOING. CLEANED UP EVERYTHING. RECOMMENDED SPYWARE. IT WORKS WONDERFULLY. HAD HIM LOOK AT ANOTHER COMPUTER. WITHIN SECONDS HE DETERMINED WHAT WAS WRONG. FOLLOWED UP WITH PHONE CALL. IT'S BEEN A COUPLE OF MONTHS AND EVERYTHING IS WORKING WONDERFULLY. I WOULD DEFINITELY CALL THEM AGAIN IF I HAD PROBLEMS.
Description of Work
COMPUTER WAS SLOW. WOULDN'T ACCESS SOME OF THE SOFTWARE.
Category
computer repair
RENEE S.
3.0
05/09/2005
THEY SEEMED VERY HELPFUL ON THE PHONE. THE TECHNICIAN TALKED ME THROUGH VARIOUS SCREENS AND SETTINGS. THE MAIN PROBLEM WAS THAT WITH PHONE HELP, THEY ONLY GIVE A 5 DAY WARRANTY. I ACTUALLY DID TALK TO SEVERAL DIFFERENT TECHNICIANS AS THE PROBLEM WOULD RE-OCCUR AND I WOULD CALL BACK AND GET SOMEONE ELSE. IN THE END, THE COMPUTER DID WORK BETTER FOR A SHORT TIME, BUT I ENDED UP TAKING IT IN TO ANOTHER REPAIR SHOP. THEIR FEE FOR IN-HOME REPAIR, I BELIEVE, WOULD HAVE BEEN $220 TO START, SO I ENDED UP TAKING IT IN TO A DIFFERENT REPAIR SHOP. THE GOOD THING ABOUT THIS SERVICE PROVIDER WAS THAT IT WAS EASY TO TALK TO THEM ON THE PHONE WITH MINIMAL WAITING TIME, AND IN A CRUNCH THEY DID HELP OUT TEMPORARILY.
Description of Work
MY COMPUTER WOULD FREEZE SO I COULDN'T USE THE MOUSE OR THE KEYBOARD AND HAD TO TURN IT OFF AND ON. THIS WOULD HAPPEN FREQUENTLY, LIKE WITH ONLY 5 MINUTES OF USE. I CALLED THE GEEK SQUAD TO HELP ME RE-SET THE COMPUTER TO CLEAR UP THIS PROBLEM.
Category
computer repair
E. S.
5.0
02/12/2005
GEEK SQUAD CAME TO MY HOME AND WAS ABLE TO CLEAN THEM UP NICELY. I HAVE USED THEM TWICE, AND BOTH REPRESENTATIVES (OR AGENTS, AS THEY CALL THEM) WERE VERY FRIENDLY, GLADLY GAVE HELPFUL HINTS AND WERE EFFICIENT. ALTHOUGH THE COST WAS PRICEY, I FELT IT WORTHWHILE TO HAVE THEM COME TO MY HOME AND CLEAN UP A BIG MESS. THE AMOUNT PAID NOTED ABOVE COVERS TWO VISITS (FOR UNRELATED PROBLEMS).
Description of Work
GEEK SQUAD IS PART OF BEST BUY. MY COMPUTER WAS INFESTED WITH SPYWARE AND VIRUSES (DESPITE MY EFFORTS TO COMBAT THEM).
Category
computer repair

Phone

Address

1334 WINSTON PLZ

Melrose Park, IL 60160

Service Categories

TV Repair
Electronic Gadget Repair
Computer Sales
TV Sales

Other Information

Services offered

Appliance and TV repair, major brands, whether purchased at Best Buy or anywhere else. Delivery and Installation services available for your appliance and HT purchased at Best Buy. Appliances: Refrigerators, Washer/Dryers, Ranges (gas or electric), Dishwashers, Microwaves. TVs: LEDs, LCDs, Plasma, Flat-Panel, Smart TVs, including older TV models. Computer & Repair Services, most brands, whether purchased at Best Buy or anywhere else.

Payment options

American Express
Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa
Financing Available

FAQ

Geek Squad - Best Buy is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

Geek Squad - Best Buy accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available

No, Geek Squad - Best Buy does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Geek Squad - Best Buy offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Geek Squad - Best Buy does not offer warranties.

Geek Squad - Best Buy offers the following services: Appliance and TV repair, major brands, whether purchased at Best Buy or anywhere else. Delivery and Installation services available for your appliance and HT purchased at Best Buy. Appliances: Refrigerators, Washer/Dryers, Ranges (gas or electric), Dishwashers, Microwaves. TVs: LEDs, LCDs, Plasma, Flat-Panel, Smart TVs, including older TV models. Computer & Repair Services, most brands, whether purchased at Best Buy or anywhere else.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Evolution IT

5.0

(6)

Angi Certified

Evolution IT

Evolution IT is a locally owned and operated company offering pick up and delivery with all services or onsite service if necessary. We are licensed and insured and can handle all of your IT projects. We tailor build computers for residential and businesses for all applications including; gaming, AutoCad, streaming, video editing, audio editing, browsing and more. We diagnose and repair all model computers, printers, servers and networks. Computer slow? Printer won't print? Network connection issue? Need help budgeting or planning your next IT project? Save your time and reach out to the experts that value honesty and integrity above all else. We service the Chicago metro area also. Call or send a text to (847) 242-1162 or email us at help@evolutionitsol.com. Check out our website at www.evolutionitsol.com. Like and follow us on our Facebook page @EvolutionITSolutions2021. Follow us on Instagram.  

PC Network Pros

5.0

(3)

Angi Certified

PC Network Pros

Need computer help or computer repair? With PC Network Pros, you can stop thinking about IT issues, so you can focus on bringing your business to the next level. Our expert staff will monitor and maintain your IT infrastructure for you 24x7 to keep your business running. We can be there in a few hours or connect in a few minutes to meet your needs. We take great pride in our experience, expertise, quality, and customer service that we provide to meet the consumer needs. It is our mission to provide excellent workmanship and complete customer satisfaction from start to completion of a project. In order to understand the needs and expectations of our customers, we take great care to work and communicate with every customer in a professional manner. Our reputation is based on service, safety, and quality, regardless of how large or small the job. How We Got Started I chose to work in this industry because I enjoy making things work and helping people. We started in this industry 35 years ago. Our business is Family owned and operated  

My Computer Works

Angi Certified

My Computer Works

When your P.C. , Tablet or Cell Phone has you stumped you need an American based tech team on speed dial: Call Now: 877-378-9258. Remote, online, and in home support from the good old USA. In need of a performance improving tune-up? Have a virus or spyware issue? We have you covered. Have questions about a program, your printer, importing photos, working with websites, working with your computer, or just needing advice on what to buy? My Computer Works membership gives you go to access to the IT support you need, a data-back up solution second to none, and training all in one place.