Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

GR General Contracting

4.4

(246) Verified Reviews

Founded 2004 • With Angi since April 2007

Licensed
Trade License Number
1311927
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Company Contact

2726 Barney Ct

Mchenry, IL 60051

Description

*** 2 locations, Illinois and Wisconsin***. G R General Contracting began from a personal passion for construction, wood working, home improvement & design. We deliver unbridled service at a fair price. If you need a basement frame out, a kitchen/bathroom remodel, have a rental that needs some TLC or you just need a handy man to tackle that Hunny Do List. We can help; GR General Contracting is the Parent Company of PHS Professional Home Services. Services Include: Interior and exterior remodeling, Roofing and Siding, Basement Build Outs and Remodels, Kitchen and Bath Remodels, Interior and Exterior Door and Window Installation, Interior and Exterior Painting, Drywall and Flooring, Molding including crown, Custom Decks and Patios, Fencing Installation and Repairs, Drywall/Plaster Repair, Wood and Tile Floors, Granite Counter Tops, Deck Cleaning and Sealing, Wood Rot, Miscellaneous Repairs, fire, flood and storm repairs, Water Damage Repairs and rebuilds, Fire Cleanup, Shingle and Siding Repair, handy man services. No job is too small. See www.ProHomeServe.com or www.grgeneralcontracting.com....

Verified Reviews

4.4

(246) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

164

4

32

3

13

2

18

1

19

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.5

Punctuality

4.5

Quality

4.4

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

handyman (163)decks & porches (49)deck cleaning (46)basement remodeling (36)woodworking (32)interior painting (24)home remodeling (23)drywall (23)door installation (22)house painting (20)electrician (20)general contractors (18)
Showing 1-10 of 246 reviews
5.0

01/10/2022


Leah O.

Gordon was pleasant and responsive. He was professional and treated us with respect. He saw the importance of getting the work in a timely manner and completed the project in the timeline we expected (especially given COVID, pulling permits, winter, and holidays!). GR General Contracting was recommended to us by a friend who had a good experience, and we would absolutely recommend him to others as well. Additionally, they had the best price for the work compared to other contractors.

Description of Work
basement remodeling

Category drywall,electrician,heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,interior painters,doors,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/10/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words, we look forward to working with you both again. Gordon Rudd GR General Contracting LLC
5.0

12/27/2021


Becky G.

Gordon was so easy to work with. He responded right away with any questions or concerns we had. His employees were all very pleasant and professional. Our basement looks great!

Description of Work
Basement remodeling

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,remodeling,interior painters,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/01/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you again, it was a pleasure to work with you both and we hope you enjoy your new space. Gordon GRGC
5.0

12/09/2021


Keith A.

My basement turned out amazing! Full bathroom installed, including 3-person sauna. Electrical work, lightening, painting, drywall and matte finish black ceiling all turned out fantastic! Gordan’s crew were all terrific. Professional, hard working, and always cleaned up before leaving for the night. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Basement remodeling

Category ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,hardwood floor,insulation,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,replacement windows,interior painters,doors,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/09/2021

Service Provider Response

It was great working with you [Member Name Removed]. The sauna turned out awesome and was a very cool spin on a basement bathroom. Thanks again and we look forward to working with you again. G. Rudd GR General Contracting
5.0

06/18/2021


Bill C.

Work was completed quickly and professionally. GR was able to complete the job at a good price while providing excellent work and answering all of our questions and addressing any concerns. I would not hesitate to hire them again, or recommend them to friends and family.

Description of Work
Carpentry

Category electrician,remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity. It was a pleasure to work with you both and please let us know if you need anything in the future. GRGC
5.0

03/10/2021


Mario G.

Project was smooth all the way through! Finished product is amazing! Would hire again in a heartbeat!

Description of Work
Plumbing, Heating & A/C, Electrical, Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom, Remodeling - General, Remodeling - Basements, Carpentry - Unfinished, Carpentry - Woodworking

Category contractors,electrician,heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2021

Service Provider Response

Thanks guys. You have been so easy to work with and we look forward to seeing you in a couple of weeks for the bathroom. Gordon GRGC
5.0

02/10/2021


Michelle H.

Amazing Job!!! Absolutely love my new kitchen and open floor plan! Price was great. Workers were very professional and friendly and did a great job. Will definitely be using them again for future projects. Highly recommend 5 stars!!!

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category electrician,hardwood floor,remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you again, its like a completely new house now. Glad we could help. Looking forward to working with you guys again. Gordon GRGC
5.0

01/13/2021


Damon H.

Excellent! The best part was the communication. Gordon's crew was on time every day and performed the work in a professional and efficient manner. The crew respected my home and my family...that was huge. Now that I am moving toward buying rentals and rehabs, Gordon will be called on again.

Description of Work
Basement remodeling

Category countertops,drywall,flooring contractor,heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,remodeling,replacement windows,interior painters,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/27/2021

Service Provider Response

I'm glad we could get this done in the time frame needed to open your home. We look forward to working with you on your next purchase. Morgan Customer Service Representative GR General Contracting
5.0

11/23/2020


Angie R.

We were completely satisfied with all work in our bathroom! No detail was left out.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile,electrician,plumbing,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2021

Service Provider Response

This was a unique project and we enjoyed working on something a little out of the box. Please let us know if you need anything down the road. Gordon Rudd GR General Contracting
5.0

09/16/2020


Dennis V.

With a minor wrinkle of not enough paint initially being ordered, Gordon ironed out the issue, allowing for the job's completion. His crew was detailed, meticulous, and thorough. The final result is a fabulously refurbished deck, meeting expectations.

Description of Work
Deck refinishing: powerwashing and painting.

Category deck cleaning

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/14/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you again for the opportunity. We hope you enjoy the deck for the fall season. Let us know if you need anything in the future. Morgan, GRGC
5.0

09/14/2020


Sarah H.

GR General Contracting installed a beautiful full bathroom in our basement. Gordon and his crew did a great job. They are very professional, communicate well, show up on time, leave the area clean, and care about the work they do. The quality work performed by GR General Contracting is obvious in the finished product and was evident at each step in the process. I would work with GR Contracting again in the future.

Description of Work
Install a basement bathroom

Category home remodeling

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2020

Images

Review for GR General Contracting - 2726 Barney Ct, Mchenry, IL - 38873685

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and easiness to work with on this build. We look forward to working with you again. Sincerely, Gordon GRGC

Services Offered

Interior & exterior remodeling. Roofing. Siding. Basement build outs & remodels. Kitchen & bathroom remodeling. Door & window installation. Interior & exterior painting. Drywall. Flooring. Molding. Custom decks & patios. Fencing installation & repairs. Plaster repair. Wood & tile floors. Granite counter tops. Deck cleaning. Wood & gas fireplace installation.

Services Not Offered

N/A

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
MasterCard, Discover, Visa, Check
Senior Discount
Warranties
Yes