GR General Contracting

About

Founded 2004 • With Angi since April 2007

GR General Contracting is a one stop shop for all of your residential remodeling needs. For an immediate response to your remodeling project call Gordon Rudd (Owner) @ (847) 871-7439

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

BeforeAfterBefore

Verified Reviews

4.4

(247) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

165

4

32

3

13

2

18

1

19

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.5

Punctuality

4.5

Quality

4.4

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

handyman (163)decks & porches (50)deck cleaning (46)basement remodeling (35)woodworking (31)interior painting (23)home remodeling (23)drywall (22)door installation (21)house painting (20)electrician (20)general contractors (18)
Showing 1-25 of 247 reviews
5.0

11/02/2022


Patty Z.

GR Contracting, the employees were professional, neat, clean, and timely. Gordon always responded on time with any questions I had and kept me in the loop on scheduling. I would highly and strongly recommend this company looking for any type of remodeling work. They will be doing more work for me in the near future as well

Description of Work
Laundry room expansion/deck build

Category decks, remodeling

Cost $13,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review, it has been a pleasure working with you. We hope you enjoy your new laundry room space, and we are looking forward to transforming your kitchen soon! Kristin GRGC
5.0

06/10/2022


Anthony B.

Process went great! This is my second time using this company and both times the process went smooth and the end result was amazing. I would definitely recommend them for anyone looking to do a remodel!

Description of Work
Basement remodeling

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2022

Service Provider Response

It has been our pleasure to work with you again. We hope you enjoy your new basement in your new house. Thank you as well for the referral, we'll be working on your neighbor's house next. Looking forward to the deck build down the road. -Gordon
5.0

12/27/2021


Becky G.

Gordon was so easy to work with. He responded right away with any questions or concerns we had. His employees were all very pleasant and professional. Our basement looks great!

Description of Work
Basement remodeling

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/01/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you again, it was a pleasure to work with you both and we hope you enjoy your new space. Gordon GRGC
5.0

12/09/2021


Keith A.

My basement turned out amazing! Full bathroom installed, including 3-person sauna. Electrical work, lightening, painting, drywall and matte finish black ceiling all turned out fantastic! Gordan’s crew were all terrific. Professional, hard working, and always cleaned up before leaving for the night. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Basement remodeling

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/09/2021

Service Provider Response

It was great working with you [Member Name Removed]. The sauna turned out awesome and was a very cool spin on a basement bathroom. Thanks again and we look forward to working with you again. G. Rudd GR General Contracting
5.0

06/18/2021


Bill C.

Work was completed quickly and professionally. GR was able to complete the job at a good price while providing excellent work and answering all of our questions and addressing any concerns. I would not hesitate to hire them again, or recommend them to friends and family.

Description of Work
Carpentry

Category electrician, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity. It was a pleasure to work with you both and please let us know if you need anything in the future. GRGC
5.0

03/10/2021


Mario G.

Project was smooth all the way through! Finished product is amazing! Would hire again in a heartbeat!

Description of Work
Plumbing, Heating & A/C, Electrical, Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom, Remodeling - General, Remodeling - Basements, Carpentry - Unfinished, Carpentry - Woodworking

Category contractors, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2021

Service Provider Response

Thanks guys. You have been so easy to work with and we look forward to seeing you in a couple of weeks for the bathroom. Gordon GRGC
5.0

02/10/2021


Michelle H.

Amazing Job!!! Absolutely love my new kitchen and open floor plan! Price was great. Workers were very professional and friendly and did a great job. Will definitely be using them again for future projects. Highly recommend 5 stars!!!

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category electrician, hardwood floor, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you again, its like a completely new house now. Glad we could help. Looking forward to working with you guys again. Gordon GRGC
5.0

01/13/2021


Damon H.

Excellent! The best part was the communication. Gordon's crew was on time every day and performed the work in a professional and efficient manner. The crew respected my home and my family...that was huge. Now that I am moving toward buying rentals and rehabs, Gordon will be called on again.

Description of Work
Basement remodeling

Category countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, interior painters, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/27/2021

Service Provider Response

I'm glad we could get this done in the time frame needed to open your home. We look forward to working with you on your next purchase. Morgan Customer Service Representative GR General Contracting
5.0

11/23/2020


Angie R.

We were completely satisfied with all work in our bathroom! No detail was left out.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, electrician, plumbing, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2021

Service Provider Response

This was a unique project and we enjoyed working on something a little out of the box. Please let us know if you need anything down the road. Gordon Rudd GR General Contracting
5.0

09/16/2020


Dennis V.

With a minor wrinkle of not enough paint initially being ordered, Gordon ironed out the issue, allowing for the job's completion. His crew was detailed, meticulous, and thorough. The final result is a fabulously refurbished deck, meeting expectations.

Description of Work
Deck refinishing: powerwashing and painting.

Category deck cleaning

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/14/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you again for the opportunity. We hope you enjoy the deck for the fall season. Let us know if you need anything in the future. Morgan, GRGC
5.0

09/14/2020


Sarah H.

GR General Contracting installed a beautiful full bathroom in our basement. Gordon and his crew did a great job. They are very professional, communicate well, show up on time, leave the area clean, and care about the work they do. The quality work performed by GR General Contracting is obvious in the finished product and was evident at each step in the process. I would work with GR Contracting again in the future.

Description of Work
Install a basement bathroom

Category home remodeling

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2020

Images

Review for GR General Contracting - 2726 Barney Ct., Mchenry, IL - 38873685

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and easiness to work with on this build. We look forward to working with you again. Sincerely, Gordon GRGC
5.0

07/15/2020


Leah K.

Gordon and his team were top notch, I would definitely reach out to them for all future projects. The basement project was completed on time and within budget and the results exceeded our expectations. The team is very thorough and respectful and did quality work. We are so excited to begin to enjoy our beautiful new space. Kudos to the GR Contracting team!!!

Description of Work
General Basement Remodel

Category drywall, electrician, handyman service, insulation, lighting, woodworking, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Cost $23,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2020

Service Provider Response

You guys were so easy to work with and I'm glad we could get this completed before the baby was due. We hope you enjoy your new space and addition to the family. We look forward to working with you in the future. GRGC
5.0

04/17/2020


Phil K.

Excellent. GR quoted the project at a fair price. Suggested changes to the new composite deck that was an improvement over the wood deck. The two men (Shane/Brian) did the entire project in a week. Everyday they made sure to update what was completed. Gordon Rudd contacted me throughout the project to make sure that I was happy and updated me on status. This project was completed in trying times and this company was outstanding. I recommend G&R.

Description of Work
Composite Deck tear down and remove old wood deck, railing, and steps.

Category decks, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/08/2020

Service Provider Response

You both were great to work with and the deck looks great. We look forward to helping you on your exterior projects in the next few weeks. Thanks again, Gordon GRGC
5.0

10/09/2019


Hannah G.

Great price, overall positive experience, would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Bedroom enclosure

Category closet systems, drywall, insulation, remodeling, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/11/2019

5.0

09/20/2019


Donald J.

Gordon’s team did a really good job remodeling my bathroom and my unfinished basement. Their new drywall & flooring installation work great and they did a good job with the plumbing & electrical adjustments I needed done. They cleaned up the mess they made daily and tried to keep the rest of the house clean and dust free. Total cost for both basement & bathroom remodel was $23900. There were some additional remodeling costs that I didn’t budget for initially but Gordon was willing to work with me on making payments for the additional features that were added to the remodel. Overall they are a good company and I’m happy with the work they did.

Description of Work
Basement & Bathroom Remodel

Category handyman service, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $23,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/20/2019

Images

Review for GR General Contracting - 2726 Barney Ct., Mchenry, IL - 38122509

+2 More

5.0

09/16/2019


Kimberly K.

It was a pleasure working with Gordan and his team. I needed some deck repairs/staining for a rental property. The work needed to be done rather quickly due to putting the house on the market. Great communication throughout, and they were able to do everything in a timely manner. Quality of work was great! I look forward to working with his team in the future.

Description of Work
Deck repair

Category decks, handyman service, deck cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2019

Service Provider Response

I'm glad we could help you get the house listed on time. Please let us know when your ready for the remodeling on your new home. GRGC
2.0

09/12/2019


Jimmy C.

Bathroom and kitchen backsplash turned out good. The individual that did both of those projects did a good job. The painting of the house did not go very well. Very sloppy work overall. Paint spills left on my floor with out any communication of the event, huge mess left behind my refrigerator, spots missed, wall paint spilled on trim, paint left on window glass (no taping was done prior to painting), and paint dropped on new cabinets. Particularly dissatisfying was the fact that room wall paint needed to be touched up after the crew already had taken all their equipment and the extra paint out of house. They had new paint mixed which did not match the original wall color. I was asked what happened to the extra paint, to which I explained it was not left behind, only to be asked at least two more times about paint that was not left behind. Felt like they did not believe me which as a customer is very dissatisfying.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel, kitchen backsplash install and painting of walls, ceiling, and all trim throughout the house.

Category handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/03/2019

Images

Review for GR General Contracting - 2726 Barney Ct., Mchenry, IL - 38104359

+4 More

Service Provider Response

Frist we want to thank you again for contacting us. I am however confused on the review. We did have a couple of paint spills, brought them to attention and they were cleaned up. That happens on occasion, espcially when the homeowner leaves personal belongings all over the house for trip points. The paint was left at the job site and when we discovered it was missing repainted the entrie room at no charge. There were a couple of touch ups needed (3) and we addressed them that day. So, all concerns were taken care of, additional work was done without charge and you and I did a final walk through with no outstanding corrections needed. You can see our reason for confusion.
5.0

08/12/2019


Charles H.

Gordon and his team were a pleasure to work with. Gordon replaced our wood decking with Trex and repainted the railing. Gordon was very helpful evaluating our options for the project. His price was very fair and the quality of the work was good. Having a contractor that you can trust is very important and Gordon earned that trust.

Description of Work
Deck Repair

Category decks, handyman service, deck cleaning

Cost $5,375

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you both again and I'm glad we could make the needed repairs without doing a total rebuild. We look forward to working with you again. GRGC
5.0

02/19/2019


Doug M.

Went very well! Had a number of trials and tribulations as the house was built in 1928! GR Contracting was able to get our projects done to our satisfaction! Liked all the subs! The owner Gordon Rudd is easy to work with and is very conscientious.

Description of Work
False beams, shiplap, drywall, create furnace room, create laundry room, insulation, painting, staining, skim coating, molding and electrical and plumbing for laundry room.

Category ceramic tile, closet systems, drywall, electrician, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Overall this was a fun and unique project. I'm soo glad your happy with the outcome and now can look forward to fun on the water with you family. Hope you enjoy your new vacation spot. Gordon GR General Contracting LLC
5.0

02/18/2019


Maribel C.

I will definitely be using GR General Contracting for future projects. They did such an amazing job with finishing up my basement, they went above & beyond! They were friendly, professional & efficient, i couldn't be happier.

Description of Work
Basement remodeling

Category electrician, lighting, remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/18/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we really enjoyed working with you and your family. We look forward to working with you this summer on the new deck build. Thank you again for everything. Gordon GRGC
5.0

11/06/2018


James H.

The work we had done exceeded our expectations..... very punctual and extremely experienced excellent quality.

Description of Work
We had a complete basement remodel dealt withGordon he was very professional

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/12/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review. You both were extremely easy to work with and please keep us in mind for any future projects. Hope the kids enjoy the extra space! Gordon
5.0

10/15/2018


James S.

The estimate was double other contractors. At $53,000 and others estimate where $27,000

Description of Work
Add a third 10 ft by 25 ft garage to my 2 car

Category contractors, drywall, electrician, handyman service