Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

American Decorators

Founded 1999 • With Angi since May 2012

4.5

(139) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4910 Pyndale Dr

Mchenry, IL 60050

Description

American Decorators is the number one small family owned McHenry and Lake county painting contractor! There are a number of companies able to offer painting services. However, unlike our competitors, we strive to provide quality results and affordable rates to our clients. If you value prompt

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

04/15/2019


tom G.

trying to support a local business unfortunately did work out. business rescheduled 4 times. after that no contact from them. had to get a refund. would not attempt to hire again-

Description of Work
hired for exterior

Category house painters

1.0

09/07/2018


Michael E.

I posted a review last year giving American Decorators and Eric Wood all A ratings. The basic job went well but it was NEVER COMPLETED. There are two sets of porch stairs which were replaced with pressure-treated wood and they were too green to be painted at the end of 2017 painting season. When I contacted Eric Woods in July 2018, he did not remember that I had prepaid for extra paint and extra hours for the new porch steps and porch roof support. We spoke about scheduling the remaining painting. He told me he was busy for the next two weeks and he would call back after that. He never called. So I called him back. Now he refuses to take my calls or answer my text messages. IN FACT, HE BLOCKED MY PHONE NUMBER ON HIS CELL. I want a refund of the $300 I pre-paid to have this painting done. I want Eric Woods to either complete the job as agreed or return my money. I would rather have settled this with Eric but that's not possible if he will not speak with me. I'll start with this review and see if it has any impact. Judging from the recent reviews where customers prepaid and Eric never showed up, I don't see how Eric stays out of jail. You can be sure that I'll follow this up with social media posts, forewarning other potential SUCKERS. I will start checking into small claims court, even though it would take less time to just paint the stairs myself. STAY AWAY FROM AMERICAN DECORATORS AND RUN FAR AWAY FROM ERIC WOODS. HE IS NOT TRUSTWORTHY.

Description of Work
Exterior painting

Category house painters, interior painters

2.0

05/07/2018


ILENE D.

Eric is a nice guy, but after giving him an upfront deposit, he had one problem after another preventing him from starting and completing our job. When he did restart, he needed more money to buy materials as he had gone through the deposit we had given him. Although the project dragged on and disrupted our home and lives for way too long, in the end he did complete it, and did an Ok Job. He tried to make up for the bad start but I think this was a nightmare for both him and for us. One of six matching lights were broken by his crew over our pool table. Although we deducted some money for this, the cost to rectify is turning out to be three times what we deducted. I think he is a nice guy and if I were to hire him again, it would be payment only after satisfactory completion.

Description of Work
We hired American Decorators to paint the exterior of our house, and guest house and paint one interior room

Category house painters

1.0

04/26/2018


CATHY S.

Eric promised to show up on 3 different occasions and never showed up never called. When trying to schedule an appointment he had his wife and or girlfriend call using the excuse that he was in the hospital for a week. He is a liar he is a thief and you should never ever use him I will be filing a complaint against him with the Better Business Bureau.

Description of Work
Painting of the living room and the dining room

Category interior painters

1.0

02/12/2018


Sharon M.

Things do not go very well. They sent me an email right away and when I contacted them they mentioned that they had asked Angies List to remove the deal but whatever, they would honor it. We then tried to set up several appts. and either they cancelled or they were inconvenient. The last time I heard from the company was around the first of the year. They were going to contact me with available dates for an estimate. Still..... waiting. 2/12/2018. Deposit down the drain.

Description of Work
1 Room of Interior Painting

Category house painters

1.0

01/20/2018


Ann N.

He called once and never called back. I'm the one always calling him. He is VERY Unprofessional, liar and irresponsible ! We picked a day (3 weeks ahead of time) for him to paint the rooms, he never called to confirm so I text him to make sure that he is coming that day but he did not call nor text me, so I called him twice and he told me that he will call me back for sure and until now, he never did! He wasted my time. If he can't do the job, just let me know and I'll be fine because I can find another painter. I think my patience was long enough and gave him a LOT of chances but talking to him...you will not be happy too if you were in my place. I cannot believe he's under Angie's List. I need my refund too please, it's not much but I will NEVER, NEVER recommend him to any of my friends!

Description of Work
paint 2 bedrooms

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

hello [Member Name Removed], I was out of town I just got back in. I am sorry there was some huge personal emergencies and a few things with my business I had to handle. Please call me so we can make this right if you could just give me one more opportunity to prove to you that I'm a man of my word and I work is Top Notch quality. please this is how I feed my family this is how I get all my work. And if you look at my reviews this is not a common occurrence. Please call me 815-528-0987 thank you, Eric
5.0

01/15/2018


laurie C.

Very amazing . On time and thorough

Description of Work
My house was painted interior

Category house painters, interior painters

2.0

01/01/2018


Barb B.

Purchased an Angie’s list deal. Very difficult to reach to schedule. I left a couple of messages and when I did get a hold of him, he said he would call back. I had to contact again. He kept changing time and day to show up. We were waiting for him to confirm times and day. Had various excuses as to why he was late or not able to make it. When he did arrive the first day, we thought he was going to prep (this is what he originally told us) didn’t and came back until next day. Took all day and had to come back another day. When spackled walls from holes from screws or nails, did not do a good job. The holes were not sanded down properly. Some of the walls had unrolled spots. We are touching up on our own.

Description of Work
Interior painting and border removal

Category interior painters

1.0

12/06/2017


Wagdy O.

Collected $6500 as 50% down and did not show up. In addition, I purchased an Angie's List deal a while ago and that work was never performed as well. Gave them at least 4 chances to show up and actually do the work. First he was ill with appendicitis, then had an ER visit about a month later and didn't show, then has since promised to show on at least 2 other occasions and has not. Today being the last day, I have called and texted and we would just like our money back at this stage.

Description of Work
Interior Painting

Category house painters

5.0

12/04/2017


Steve H.

Great, the guys did a great job in a reasonable time at a great price.

Description of Work
I needed a tricky three story room painted.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

12/04/2017


Johnathan K.

They did a great job. Communicated some issues that led to him being unavailable due to health reasons. That is understandable for a local business professional. The work that they did was great. They were very responsive and nice guys.

Description of Work
Painting Basement

Category interior painters

1.0

12/01/2017


Robert H.

On first contact, the painter said he would call back in a couple of hours to schedule a time to drop by and see the job. He didn't call back. We called him again the next day and set up a time for him to come by the house. He didn't come and he didn't call to say he wasn't coming. It's been 10 days since then and he has made no attempt to get in touch. Can't work with someone who won't talk and won't make appointments.

Description of Work
We had bedrooms which needed painting.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I am sorry you felt the things went down that way. we had no scheduled time to meet to look after the job my understanding was you were going to call me to schedule a date to do the job. there would be no reason for me to come out and look at a one-room coupon. thank you, Eric
5.0

11/15/2017


Tim B.

Eric, the owner, did a great job describing our options. He and his crew did a perfect job patching and painting. Went over and above to remedy problem areas with my drywall and previously painted surfaces. I highly recommend this local business that goes the extra mile.

Description of Work
Had several rooms, Hallways, and ceilings painted.

Category interior painters

5.0

11/10/2017


Craig R.

Eric and team did a great job. High quality painting while working at a good pace and completing the job on time.

Description of Work
Bedroom Painting

Category interior painters

5.0

11/06/2017


Marianne B.

The guys wereprofessional, prompt and thoroughly explained how the painting would go throughout the day. I've hired several painters, but these guys were by far the best!

Description of Work
Painting hallway, foyer, kitchen and family room.

Category interior painters

1.0

10/22/2017


Doreen K.

He took our money 1600.00 and never did the work. It's been almost 3 months , still waiting for my money to be returned . Excuse on top of excuse . Do not give money until job is done!!! Buyer BEWARE!!!!!

Description of Work
Painting and siding

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

This is not an Angie's List member nor is this a customer of ours. we do not do siding we are a painting company sorry you have the wrong company. This F will be removed!
5.0

09/18/2017


Lisa S.

The crew arrived onsite and were ready to work. They had all of the tools they needed and they kept going until the job was complete. They were friendly and answered my questions. All in all, they did an excellent job and I am very happy with the finished product. I would definitely hire this company again for all my future painting needs.

Description of Work
Exterior house painting for replaced siding panels

Category house painters

5.0

09/12/2017


Erin M.

Great quality. Trouble with scheduling, overall good.

Description of Work
Kitchen painted

Category interior painters

2.0

09/02/2017


Allison B.

1. The painters cancled on me for the first attempt 2. The painters never showed for the second scheduled date because their truck broke down 3. Multiple furniture items have paint splatter on them including stair spindles, a television soundbar, and a standing water dispenser 4. There are large portions of unpainted areas, some as big as my hand 5. The kitchen wall has paint on it, but is not supposed to 6. They forgot I was in the house and were swearing while using their phones and complaining about my paint choice They were very apologetic about missing the 2 dates, helpful, and personable.

Description of Work
Interior painting

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] , I am sorry that that is your perception on our service! yes we cancelled because of weather and a vehicle issue. But we got out there immediately, and did an excellent job! I sent you my best to guys and I know their work is far better than a D grade. but again sorry if you see otherwise good luck to you and your new family in the future thank you, Eric Woods
5.0

08/23/2017


Gary C.

Eric and team did the best they could to work around the constant rains we've had this summer. Once they could perform the work, it was done well. No marks or spilled paint anywhere.

Description of Work
Painted a fence and railing outside and a wall inside.

Category house painters, interior painters

5.0

07/25/2017


David D.

Extremely well. House was power washed, scraped, deteriorated wood replaced, caulked, and painted. The house is almost120 years old and a challenge. This company exceeded our expectations

Description of Work
House scraped painted boards replaced

Category pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

4.0

07/17/2017


Dawn T.

Clean, professional and polite, painting looks great

Description of Work
Painting 2 Bedrooms and Trim Painting 1 Bathroom

Category interior painters

5.0

07/08/2017


Marla O.

All went well Eric told me the best paint to buy And let me use his discount for a better price on paint

Description of Work
Paint master bedroom

Category interior painters

5.0

06/29/2017


Gerald R.

Despite awful and rainy spring weather, we were able to reschedule to get work done. Eric communicated via text to make sure we were on schedule

Description of Work
Paint exterior trim and caulk as required

Category house painters

5.0

06/29/2017


Mark K.

House looks great, Eric and his guys did a great job! Very satisfied.

Description of Work
Exterior house and deck power wash and painting.

Category house painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    TD Burrell D&S

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime once you see our quality work. We're passionate about delivering an exceptional experience. When you hire us, you're hiring a team of professionals who are trained and skilled to deliver lasting value to your home. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Brushwerks Painting

    Craig Frey, owner of Brushwerks Painting has been in business for 30 years. Proudly using Sherwin Williams Products. Offering services such as whole house pressure washing, deck and fence staining, interior and exterior painting and cabinet painting.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Mr. Handyman of Grayslake

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Interior & exterior painting & staining. Complete deck restoration & staining. Log cabin staining. Faux texture painting. Drywall repair. Power washing. Wood replacement. Carpentry.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about American Decorators

    How is American Decorators overall rated?

    American Decorators is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are American Decorators open?

    American Decorators is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does American Decorators provide

    American Decorators accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

    Does American Decorators offer free estimates?

    Yes, American Decorators offers free project estimates.

    Does American Decorators offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, American Decorators offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does American Decorators offer a senior discount?

    No, American Decorators does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by American Decorators?

    Yes, American Decorators offers warranties.

    What services does American Decorators offer?

    American Decorators offers the following services: Interior & exterior painting & staining. Complete deck restoration & staining. Log cabin staining. Faux texture painting. Drywall repair. Power washing. Wood replacement. Carpentry.