Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bayer Builders

Founded 1991 • With Angi since April 2011

4.8

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4356 Prescott Avenue

Lyons, IL 60534

Description

Bayer Builders has 30 years of experience in providing handyman, home remodel, home repair, construction, and property management services in the Chicagoland area. The company is licensed and insured.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/24/2018


Emily H.

They did phenomenal work. Their communication through the whole process is impeccable and they do a fantastic job of clean up when the job is done. Their work is fairly priced and I was very pleased with the work they did. I will definitely be working with Bayer Builders again and would very highly recommend them.

Description of Work
We had John and his team work on an attic project for us, including wiring and installing outlets and light fixtures, framing out knee walls, putting down subfloor, and installing a dropdown attic ladder.

Category electrician, picture framing, lighting, remodeling

1.0

06/25/2017


Roland G.

Very disappointing.

Description of Work
John came out to provide an estimate for a deck expansion and refinishing. We had a great discussion about the work to be performed. He committed to providing detailed pricing within a few days. We never heard back from him despite several reach outs from us.

Category decks

5.0

06/05/2017


Greg B.

Could not be happier with he work. Low key professional workmanship. Spent the time making sure everything was,perfect. It was.

Description of Work
Pergola over deck

Category decks

1.0

05/03/2017


Cindy R.

John seemed like he would be great to work with. We outlined the project and he said he would get back to use with an estimate. We were impressed with him until we never heard back. Over a month - no estimate. He did not respond to emails, phone calls or left messages. Does not speak to the overall reliability. I would have hated to start a project with him and have them 'disappear'. Worse if we would have provided the deposit. Proceed with caution......

Description of Work
We had John out to provide an estimate to build a deck.

Category decks

5.0

10/13/2016


KC C.

Bayer Builders was a great experience for our family. The easiest contractor experience one could have. I called John, a day later he came out and gave me a bid. It was reasonable. He asked relevant questions, made insightful suggestions and understood the scope of the project. The crew didn't have to be managed and did really nice work. The construction started on a handshake...how's that for old school? They had another project delay, so they did ours right away. Having him bid something additional right away. Thanks.

Description of Work
Demo of partial bathroom and rehab of 2nd floor bedroom. Some electrical and plumbing in same room. Drywall in same room as well as 1st floor office ceiling. Drywall repair in dining room.

Category contractors, drywall, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, doors

2.0

09/19/2016


Loretta S.

It took a month to receive a quote, so we did not consider this company.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodeling

Category home remodeling

5.0

04/11/2016


David D.

John, owner, of Bayer Builders was responsive to our online inquiry. He came out and measured the fireplace and gave us a quote and timeline for the project. The mason, Alex, and the carpenter, Seth, both came out on day one to remove the trim and mantle. They also prepped the surface with sheetrock and wire mesh. Alex came early everyday and stayed late. he called if he was running late but always told us what time to expect him the next morning. He did a very nice job applying the real stone veneer and took a lot of time to make the colors and sizes of the various stones look random. A few stone placements or alignments were off and we asked them to be redone. He did this immediately and without complaint. He cleaned up every night before he left. At the end of the project he mopped the floors and cleaned the built-ins on either side of the fireplace. Alex did a great job with the stone and we are completely satisfied. Seth came back when it was time to hang the reclaimed wood mantle. He did a great job of connecting the wood mantle to the crumbling fireplace brick that was under the previous concrete mantle without having to drill anchors. He also came in at the end of the project to apply some wood trim to create a finished look along a portion of the built-ins that could not be covered by stone. He used some of the previously removed wood trim and cut it down. The color of the trim matched well with the built-ins and fits perfectly allowing for fun functioning of the cabinet doors on the built-ins. John came out a few times during the project to deliver materials as well as check-up on progress. He consistently asked if we had any concerns about how the project was going. Overall, I would recommend this company for future work. They do general remodeling as well as smaller jobs such as ours.

Description of Work
Removal of wood trim and concrete mantle from existing fireplace and refacing of the fireplace with real stone veneer

Category remodeling

5.0

09/17/2015


Nicholas B.

Their attention to detail was amazing. From the second they started working you could tell they really cared about the work. They put up plastic and put down boards to keep my house as clean as possible. When any issue came up, as they certainly do in projects like this, everything was carefully explained and their solution was beyond what I would have instructed them to do, which kept me knowing that they cared. They came on time and finished on budget. I couldn't recommend them higher, i wish i could do 6 stars.

Description of Work
Remove a load bearing wall between the kitchen and living room.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

08/15/2015


Paulette H.

Art performed all the plumbing work on this job. He was fantastic. Great communication, showed up when he said he would, did the work he said he was going to do as well as some extra things not in the original scope of work. He took pictures of the work, while i was at away at work and sent them to me. Just a great experience all around. Art really knows a lot about everything, and with our home being build in 1915, his expertise was very valuable. We will be giving Art and Bayer Builders a call when we decide to update our bathroom. A first rate experience.

Description of Work
Replaced a cracked plumbing stack. Added washing machine hookup and replaced some incorrect plumbing under the kitchen sink.

Category home remodeling

5.0

04/24/2014


Joan D.

We were getting our parent's home ready for sale, and there was much updating and repair to be done. I had worked with Art many years ago on a prior home project so I contacted him. Most of the work was coordinated by Art's son, Aaron, but Art was available to advise on the bigger problems such as plumbing and electrical. There was so much to be done, as is always the case with older homes tearing apart one thing opened up a can of worms on another, but were were able to work through the issues. Aaron was good at coming up with solutions to keep costs down, such as reglazing the tubs and sinks rather than replacing them, etc. The project took much longer than any of us anticipated but that's the world of rehabbing I guess. For a small additional charge they hauled away any construction garbage plus anything else in the house we needed to get rid of, which was greatly helpful in cleaning out the house and getting it ready for the market. There were some small details that I had to hound them to finish, and at times I wasn't sure who to contact since the faces changed a bit throughout the process. But at the end Aaron coordinated everything and was very responsive whenever I contacted him. All in all we were happy with the results. I would highly recommend them, especially if you need a hodgepodge of things done - they are pretty much able to handle it all.

Description of Work
1 complete bathroom remodel, 1 bathroom update, repairs to plaster, refinishing floors, replacement of molding, trim and doors, plaster repair, general updates and repairs.

Category bathtub refinishing, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, hauling services, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, chimney repair, garage builders, woodworking, home remodeling, cabinet refacing, doors

5.0

04/23/2014


Joan D.

Of course with an old house there are always bumps and unexpected problems. That being said, there were little details that took a bit longer to finish than I would have hoped. But eventually we worked through it and I was happy with the results. Our job was mainly managed by Arts son Aaron, but Art was always available for consultation on some of the more difficult issues such as plumbing and wiring. Aaron was only a text away and was very responsive to my questions. All in all it was a good experience and I would recommend them for projects such as mine.

Description of Work
We were updating our parents home to get it ready for sale. One bathroom had to completely gutted and they came in with a great price. Once they had removed the walls a structural problem was discovered which they handled well and without a lot added to the cost. Our parents home had plaster walls and they subbed with a great plasterer who made it look In the first floor bathroom they replaced the floor, installed a new vanity and had the tub deglazed. Living room and dining room had floors refinished, new baseboard and trim installed, and plaster walls repaired. We were happy with the work. I also liked that they would work with you to figure out solutions to keep the costs down (I.e. Reglazing tubs and sinks instead of replacing, etc) For a minimal extra fee they hauled away whatever garbage we requested, which was greatly helpful when clearing out 60 years worth of accumulation.

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/15/2013


Donald L.

We are so happy that we selected Bayer Builders to update our kitchen. Art Arrived as promised and we re-reviewed what was to be done. Art then explained what he was going to do the first day. He and his helper Jimmy began working. They were very professional, talented, efficient and friendly. We felt completely comfortable with them in the house. Their work ethics were fantastic. Before they left the house they completely vacuumed the work area and put away their tools. Art does not finish a job until he is satisfied with his work AND he made certain that his work met our expectations...often times they exceeded our expectations. We were very lucky to have had At and Jimmy do our work. We would definitely call Art again any time we need professional work done on our house. Art would receive an A+ rating from us if you offered that rating. We are completely satisfied with the great remodeling job. Our kitchen looks beautiful.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodeling; cabinets, lighting, painting, etc.

Category lighting, chimney repair, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

06/22/2013


scott C.

Overall was a very good experience. Wanted them to touch up some spots and they came out with no hassle as I am very anal. All went as scheduled also. They were here when they said, and gone as predicted. I have other projects planned and would not hesitate to call them as they said, and quot;WE WILL NOT EXCEPT FINAL PAYMENT UNTILL YOU ARE HAPPY''

Description of Work
Ceramic tile

Category ceramic tile, chimney repair

5.0

11/25/2011


Ronald W.

Outside of a weather delay on the day the work was to be done, (hard to do this job in the rain) everything worked out fine on the rescheduled time. Because of the lateness of the day the staining had to be done on another day. Overall, I was very satisfied.

Description of Work
The person who services my fireplace thought that the wood chase around my fireplace chimney needed to be replaced. I obtained three estimates to have this work done. I decided to go with Art Bayer and was well satisfied with the work that was done. This work also included minor roof repair and staining the new wood chase and also a utility pole on the roof. The roof repair wasn't included in the original estimate but I've included it in the price I listed.

Category chimney repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    General Masonry Restoration

    We are a small company that focuses on customer satisfaction. Over 15 years of experience. We are honest people and guarantee quality work.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bald Eagle Masonry

    For over a decade, Bald Eagle Construction has been widely known as the go-to expert for a wide variety of construction projects in Chicago and the Chicagoland area. We’re also proud to be the leader in handling City of Chicago building code violations. From taking care of fixing the issues straight through to dealing with the paperwork. For you that means you not only get the job done to our exacting specifications – you’ll also be assured that any project we start will comply fully with all Chicago Building Department regulations. 11 employees. Uses subs for specialty work. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Ask about Angie's list discount. Award winning.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    AAA-1 Masonry & Tuckpointing Inc

    Specialists in masonry restoration and building preservation since 1954. Licensed masons. Thousands of references. Fully Insured. Free written quotation for work in writing. Extensive knowledge of all aspects of masonry restoration work: mortar repair; parapet wall rebuilding; lintel replacement; chimneys; cleaning, caulking and sealing; and terra cotta/GFRC work. We are just as comfortable fixing your landmarked 100-year-old home as we are grinding, tuckpointing and sealing your 50-unit condominium building. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No extra charge for after-hours service. 65 years of continuous service. Preferred mason contractor of architects and structural engineers. Very informative website found at www.AAA1Masonry.com. Send all inquiries to Info@AAA1Masonry or Robert@AAA1Masonry.com  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Remodeling, fine carpentry, furniture, trim, cabinets countertops, masonry, plumbing, electrical, repair, renovation, construction, emergency repairs, handyman services, deck building

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bayer Builders

    How is Bayer Builders overall rated?

    Bayer Builders is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Bayer Builders provide

    Bayer Builders accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Bayer Builders offer free estimates?

    Yes, Bayer Builders offers free project estimates.

    Does Bayer Builders offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Bayer Builders does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bayer Builders offer a senior discount?

    No, Bayer Builders does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Bayer Builders offer emergency services?

    Yes, Bayer Builders offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Bayer Builders?

    No, Bayer Builders does not offer warranties.

    What services does Bayer Builders offer?

    Bayer Builders offers the following services: Remodeling, fine carpentry, furniture, trim, cabinets countertops, masonry, plumbing, electrical, repair, renovation, construction, emergency repairs, handyman services, deck building