Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Owen Enterprises Inc

Founded 1990 • With Angi since June 2003

When you need a reliable and competent Lombard roofing professional, you can rely on the services from the skilled craftsmen at Owen Enterprises Inc. For nearly 30 years, their certified technicians have provided detailed help for your roof, siding, door, windows, and gutters. The professionals have more than 40 years of experience and can make sure that you are able to receive the best possible quality of services and products. Their dedication to high-quality help for homeowners in the Chicago Land area has allowed for them to be recognized with national awards and an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau. They have earned a multitude of services in order to provide a better level of service to each of their customers. Contact their company to arrange for a free estimate on Lombard roofing services.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
$500
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(78) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 78 reviews
Jennifer C.
5.0
05/25/2020
Our 40 year old home was overdue for windows, new siding, gutters etc.I researched Owen Enterprises and selected them because of their consistently favorable feedback. Scott Owen listened to our needs, gave awesome suggestions on color, trim, and siding options. He gave suggestions on how to improve the curb appeal of our property. They recently finished our job and I can't say enough about the team that came out. Our siding team was led by Luke. They are meticulous, polite, respectful, diligent. The project occurred during Covid so we had plenty of time ( as did the neighbors) to watch the quality of their work. We have a builder doing some work at our house and the builder was highly complementary of the work Owen Enterprises did.
Description of Work
We needed new windows, new siding and new gutters
Category
gutter repair, siding, replacement windows
Bonnie P.
1.0
11/12/2017
What a disaster. The work was sloppy (tools, gloves, and roofing pieces were found in the shrubbery round the property) careless (a large hole was punched through the screening and even though it was repaired, it was a total hassle) lack of integrity (the promised warrantee for the roof was to be delivered after receipt of the final payment and even though that check cleared weeks ago the warrantee has never been delivered. Avoid this company at all cost.
Description of Work
Replace cedar shake roof.
Category
roofing
jim S.
5.0
05/02/2017
All phases went well with all of the craftsmen being very professional and knowledgeable in their work. Suggestions were made as to what we actually needed and all responses to our requests were completed in a professional and timely manner.
Description of Work
A tear off and installation of new roof, siding, and gutters.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding
Michael O.
5.0
10/29/2016
I have worked with Scott before and was extremely happen with his work. When my roofing job came along, Scott and Owen Enterprises was the only company I called. The work was done professionally and on time. Scott took extra time with me going over the best options for what I want to accomplish. I was extremely satisfied with his work.
Description of Work
Replace my roofing
Category
roofing
Ovid V.
5.0
10/24/2016
Sonny build us a beautiful deck for our family. He is Great. We enjoy having him here . We truly recommend anyone who wants a deck he is the man. Thanks again sonny.
Description of Work
Wood Deck and stairs
Category
gutter repair
Shashi N.
1.0
07/26/2016
The company didn't even bother to call back to setup an appt or reply to emails for an estimate request even after 2 weeks. Called multiple times for an estimate. Speaks volumes about the professionalism!!!. Would stay away.
Description of Work
Siding replacement
Category
siding
larry S.
4.0
06/22/2015
The work we had done we were happy with initially. My wife was concerned about me getting on the roof to clean out the gutters which I did twice a year with a leaf blower, so we paid $1500 to have a hard foam pad put in that supposedly would shed debris, allowing the water to run through. It didn't work. Leaves and other debris immediately started to build up on the surface, which I had to go up and blow off, because it forms an impenetrable mat that sheds the water too. There were also gaps in the foam that filled in with debria, making small dams all along the gutter. Those can't be blown out. So I called and emailed to ask that they come back and remove the foam. I am not asking for my money back, I just want the foam gone. I have gotten no response. If you use Owen Enterprises, do not fall for the expensive foam. It is worse than nothing.
Description of Work
covered soffits, windows, new gutters New roof
Category
roofing, siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] we are sorry that the foam product didn't work. The manufacturer's claims weren't accurate. If we had known that, we wouldn't have sold the product. We don't have a record of the call. I am sorry we missed or misplaced your message. You can reach me directly anytime via the cell phone on my card. Please let me know if there if there is any way that I can help you. I am truly sorry about this experience.
Boris S.
5.0
04/06/2015
Scott Owen was the only contractor who was able to answer all questions we had during the estimating process. He backed everything up by performing the installation as promised and exactly how we wanted it. The job took longer than planned due to a few unexpected events, partially due to the uniqueness of the property. Whatever the reason, Scott made sure that our expectations were met. The siding crew was extremely knowledgeable and friendly as well as was the roofing crew. The job was very complicated. Our house is a California ranch with a courtyard with a large footprint and a lot of exterior wall surface. Close to 2000 sqft of flat roof was not an easy task to perform. A perfect drainage grade was achieved by the use of insulation boards of ever-decreasing thickness, going towards the downspouts. We chose Sierra 8 vertical Hardie boards for our siding. The seams between the boards were more visible than expected. Scott ordered tearing six 4x10 boards in order to attempt facilitating closer contact between the boards. He was very open minded in search for the solution to the problem and provided Hardie battens (two per board) free of charge. The result was absolutely stunning! Overall, we are very happy with the job quality that Owen Enterprises performed. Highly recommended, especially for people who value good workmanship and a contractor who stands by his word.
Description of Work
Hardie siding, tapered flat roof, pitched roof.
Category
roofing, siding
Nicole O.
5.0
10/29/2014
Everything was done as promised! Top Quality! I couldn't be happier with the work that was done! I highly recommend them!
Description of Work
Replaced my roof, siding, windows, skylights, doors, gutters & downpouts and insulation.
Category
gutter repair, insulation, roofing, siding, replacement windows, skylights, doors
JAMES F.
5.0
10/11/2014
Scott Owen came to our home to make his proposal and describe in detail what the work would entail and how long the job would take. He spent time describing his company and the training his crew had and why his company was a preferred James Hardie installer. Scott spent time with us to help in color selection and siding types. He suggested using shingle siding on the gables in addition to the regular plank siding. The shingle siding adds an exciting visual interest to our home. Scott went through the costs for each aspect of the job. He explained the various options available and the costs associated with each. The contract contained everything we discussed, and the costs were consistent with our conversations. Scott kept us informed regarding the exact start date, which was very thoughtful. With all the rain we have had this season the timing of the job was dependent on the weather. Scott kept us up to date and our job started as planned. The crew worked in a professional manner, with consideration for our landscaping and our neighbors. All the old siding was removed and hauled away. Insulation and the weather barrier were installed. I checked the Hardie web site to see what steps were required for proper installation. It was evident to me the crew was very experienced with the installation methods. I watched the crew work and took photos as the job progressed. The crew would tell me what was going to happen each day and what they were doing and the reasons for doing it. Whenever I had a question, the crew responded by showing me what they were doing. The crew installed new outside lights, door bells, address numbers, and moved an underground gutter drain pipe to accommodate the relocated garage downspout. The gutters went in as planned along with the gutter guards. During the project the crew found a structural issue with our porch roof. This required that two support posts be installed. The outcome to the front of our house (both the cost and the appearance) was very pleasing. The clean up went well. The job was completed within two weeks as Scott said it would. The resulting change to our home was more than we had expected. Neighbors and friends have complemented us on how wonderful our house looks. It really turned out better than we had hoped. We appreciated the good communication throughout the process. Most of all we are very pleased with the way our house looks.
Description of Work
Removed old siding and installed James Hardie siding, insulation, window trim, new gutters, and gutter guards. Scott Owen assisted us in selecting colors for the house and the types of shingles and siding.
Category
gutter repair, insulation, roofing, siding, woodworking, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review [member name removed]. It was a pleasure working for you! We are pleased that you are happy with your transformed home! Please let me know if we can be of assistance in the future!
Janice N.
5.0
10/07/2014
This company did a beautiful job! They completed the work in a timely and professional manner. I would definitely recommend them.
Description of Work
Architectural roofing, vinyl siding, trim, gutters, soffits and fascia.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure working for you! Please let me know if we can be of assistance in the future!
Madelyn K.
4.0
08/14/2014
The only thing that bothered us about them was we consulted with them I think it was April or May and then we had to keep calling them to see when they were going to come over. According to them they were going to start shortly, but then they kept putting it off and saying, "Oh we have this big project and we have these things we have to do". But once they started, they did a great job. We were pleased with the product, we just didn't like being put off. I was happy with the workers.
Description of Work
We did use them.
Category
insulation

Service Provider Response

We had several material and weather issues that delayed our start on your job. I wish that we could have responded faster. I am happy that you are satisfied with the finished product. We appreciate your faith in our company over the years.
James R W.
4.0
07/01/2014
I had contacted Owen about getting an estimate on investigating and repairing a small leak around the chimney into our closet. They mentioned that they would charge to come and investigate. Apparently, if they had found something they could easily fix, they would have done so right then & there. We were told that our roof was out of warranty. They had re-roofed our house sometime in 1997 or so. We were not seeking to have warranty repair work done. We just wanted a free estimate so that we could compare prices on getting things fixed. We were offered no free estimate, so we opted to go elsewhere.
Description of Work
We talked on the phone but no work was done.
Category
roofing
Heidi B.
4.0
06/23/2014
It was very good. They were very professional. They did a good job.
Description of Work
Owen Enterprises Inc. did the new roof.
Category
roofing
JAN H.
5.0
06/11/2014
Scott Owens knows the business of installing cedar shake roofing. Others which we contacted did not. I studied the internet website of the Cedar Shake and Shingle Bureau and he was the only one that was right on. He was the only one who proposed manual nailing of the shakes, which is what the Bureau requires. He was very professional and explained everything very well in advance. He and his crew were punctual and did a professional job which turned out great. His proposed and actual cost was significantly less the other contractor which we considered seriously.
Description of Work
Removed old cedar shake roof, vents, and copper flashing and replaced with new.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us! We are very happy that you are satisfied with your new Cedar Shake Roof System. Please let us know if you need siding or windows in the future. We would definitely like to work for you again!
Charles V.
5.0
06/03/2014
A little expensive, but roof quality was top notch. Love the windows.
Description of Work
New front window, complete roof replacement, new soffits and gutters.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, replacement windows
Robert J.
2.0
04/13/2014
I was extremely disappointed with the responsiveness of Owen Enterprises. I initially contacted them through the messaging feature of this site to arrange an estimate. Both of the other contractors I contacted got back to me within two days, I eventually called Owen after waiting five days thinking that maybe they're not using this feature of the site. I speak with someone in the office who apologizes and says somebody will contact me ASAP. Another five days go by and nothing. By this time I've already received estimates from the other two contractors. Again, I call Owen to see what's going on. Again, hear that they're sorry and they will get right back to me. That was four days ago. I'm shocked to see this company with such high referrals. I have given up on Owen because I refuse to deal with contractors who can't exhibit even the slightest sense of responsiveness - can't imagine what it would be like trying to get these guys back on site if there was an issue with the work performed.
Description of Work
nothing, that's problem
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

I apologize that we didn't give you a quote. Our call volume was 5 times higher than usual and we were couldn't respond to all of the calls in a timely manner. I hope that you received a quality installation Robert!
Dan and Kathy F.
5.0
12/04/2013
The did a very good job. They are very thorough, professional, and did a great cleanup after they were finished. We had a leak in one of the windows and they were very prompt in getting out to fix it. They didn't give us any kind of hassle.
Description of Work
Replaced our roof and the rotten plywood underneath. Several years later we had them replace windows in the house.
Category
roofing, siding, replacement windows
Mark P.
5.0
10/31/2013
This was the easiest part of my home remodel project, requiring no oversight on my part. Once scheduled, the work was completed in a day. I was initially leery of vinyl siding, but this is a quality product and the installation crew did a fantastic job. The detail work around ducts, outlets, etc., is amazing.
Description of Work
Installed CertainTeed Monogram 46 horizontal siding plus Cedar Impressions shingles for accent on the front gable.
Category
siding
Steve D.
5.0
10/30/2013
We bought a house that needed a ton of work and we didn't know where to start. The roof was leaking in through into the Family Room and kitchen and the siding was in BAD SHAPE. My biggest fear was what was under the shingles as well as the exterior walls behind the siding. Scott let me know my best options. I was hesitant at first because of a bad experience I had with another roofing contractor in my old house that did some bad work and cut and run on me. Being on defense as a client, I asked tons of questions about their history and work they did in the area. Scott was patient with me and understood my disposition. Scott never used any scare tactics or high pressure sales to lead me in an uncomfortable position. I gave the OK on the roof, siding and gutters. It turned out better than expected. Fast and thorough! I needed a few sheets of plywood replaced on the roof. I was told this might be the case. They even installed a sky light and it looks like it was always there. A few weeks later, I had them come back and put a new front door on. They went above and beyond professionalism and are great to work with.
Description of Work
Installed new gutters, siding, new roof and doors
Category
gutter repair, insulation, roofing, siding, replacement windows, skylights, doors
James F.
5.0
10/30/2013
I did a lot of research on fiber cement siding, and was convinced James Hardie had a good product from other jobs I had seen completed. It's so much resembles cedar siding that it's nearly impossible to tell the difference. The installation team arrived on time. The materials were delivered in advance of the installation date, and the dumpster to hold all the siding that was being taken down arrived on the morning the installation team arrived and was taken away the same day the job was completed. So the timing and coordination of all the supporting steps needed to replace my siding was handled efficiently. The installation crew was very professional and was careful around the new landscaping we had just installed. I could tell from their demeanor that they understood this was a significant investment for me in my house, and that understanding was reflected in the deliberate approach they took to completing the job. I am very pleased with the results, and I look forward to not having to paint the exterior of the second story of my house again.
Description of Work
We had James Hardie fiber cement vertical siding installed to replace the existing siding we had. We also had window and garage door trim installed.
Category
siding
Vernita M.
5.0
10/30/2013
The siding on my house had sustained hail damage and I filed a claim with my insurance company to pay for it. Because it was to be big job, I sought estimates from three well-respected companies (#1: the company that others on my street had used, #2: the company that had left flyers in my door and called periodically and #3: the company that had re-roofed my house, years ago, but also specialized in siding). The first company looked over my insurance offer and assured me they could do the job within the scope of the estimate. That was fine but when I didn't sign on that day, I didn't receive any written estimate of the services they would provide. I would have like some documentation to compare with the other companies. The second company warned me, when I called to make the appointment, that they offered the "cadillac" of siding products and wanted to know if I was willing to pay more than what the insurance company offered, before they even knew what the insurance company had estimated (red flag). Their presentation concentrated on their most expensive (insulated) siding, which was twice what I was willing to pay (and the written estimate was presented, hurriedly, on yellow notebook paper). The third company was Owen Enterprises. Scott Owen gave a very impressive and knowledgeable presentation on the services his company offered. He had prepared a folder containing pamphlets describing the products he would be using, a sample of the weather barrier he would use and a step-by-step proposal of the work that would be done (which included a menu of additional items we could choose from, such as the leafproof gutter-guard system and the cedar impression vinyl siding on the garage gable). He offered his services/products at fair and reasonable prices and wasn't concerned with what the insurance company had estimated (and, btw, his costs were right on target with the insurance company's estimate). It is a testament to the company that Scott took such effort in preparing his presentation. I expected no less because, after reviewing three proposals, eleven years ago, to replace our roof, we were so impressed with Scott Owens professionalism that we selected his company to do the work at that time. Because of their busy schedule, Owen Enterprises could not begin work sooner than five weeks. But it was worth the wait because I knew the job would be done right. The three workers were friendly and very professional and they worked tirelessly for two full days, half a day on Saturday and finished up Monday morning. Their attention to detail, such as installing vinyl fixture plates at lights, spigots, electric and dryer fixtures gives the siding a polished look. I am very pleased with the quality of the work and the high level of service. The house looks fresh and I love the new aluminum frame around my garage door (no more exposed wood). The cedar impressions siding on the garage gable and the gutter guard give the house a different look and I really like it. I highly recommend Owen Enterprises and plan to use the company again.
Description of Work
Owen Enterprises removed existing siding on entire house, installed insulation and weatherproofing underlayment on the entire house, installed Certainteed vinyl siding on entire house, installed vinyl fixture plates around cut openings (spigots, electric fixtures, etc.), installed leafproof gutter guard system on gutters, installed aluminum exterior frames on garage and service door.
Category
siding
Michael M.
5.0
10/21/2013
Owen Enterprises did a very professional high quality job and their prices were competitive with other bids we received. It took a while before they could start the work (4 weeks) but that was stated up front at contract signing so there were no surprises. They spent 3.5 days installing the new roof while other houses in the neighborhood have had roofs replaced in half that time. To me, that is an indication that they are more interested in doing the job right rather than seeing how many roofs they can knock out in a week.
Description of Work
New roof and gutters
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Michael B.
5.0
10/12/2013
Scott was very detailed in his explanation of the issues for my roof including attic venting, flashing, ice & water shield options, etc. The job went exactly as Scott promised. His crews were very professional. I would not hesitate to use Owen Enterprises again or recommend them.
Description of Work
Removed and replaced the old roof, gutters and downspouts. Installed Leafproof Gutter Guard System.
Category
gutter repair, roofing
Ken B.
5.0
10/07/2013
Had to wait a couple of weeks but roof was completed in one day as promised. Very professional crew. Mr Owens was also direct and very professional.
Description of Work
Tear off and new roof
Category
roofing

Phone

Address

146 Eisenhower Ln N

Lombard, IL 60148

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Roofing, shingles, DaVinci Slate, DaVinci Shake, cedar shakes, slate, tile, skylights, gutters, downspouts and gutter covers, siding, James Hardie, soffits, fascia & replacement windows. CertainTeed, IKO, GAF, Atlas, Tamko, Owen's Corning.

Payment options

Check
Financing Available

FAQ

Owen Enterprises Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Owen Enterprises Inc is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Owen Enterprises Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

Yes, Owen Enterprises Inc offers free project estimates.

Yes, Owen Enterprises Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Owen Enterprises Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Owen Enterprises Inc offers warranties.

Owen Enterprises Inc offers the following services: Roofing, shingles, DaVinci Slate, DaVinci Shake, cedar shakes, slate, tile, skylights, gutters, downspouts and gutter covers, siding, James Hardie, soffits, fascia & replacement windows. CertainTeed, IKO, GAF, Atlas, Tamko, Owen's Corning.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Next Door & Window

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Next Door & Window

Here at Next Door and Window, we a ready to bring you the best options for your new window and home door project. Next Door and Window has the best windows by Marvin, Integrity, Marvin Infinity and Sunrise. Wood Clad, Vinyl and Fiberglass Windows and Entry and Patio Doors by Albany and Provia. Next Door and Window will have one of their highly trained professionals meet with you and discuss all the possible options for your window and door project, they will then provide you with a FREE NO OBLIGATION quote for your project. Best of all, Next Door and Window will paint or stain your window and trim to match any color you need with our paint match program. Most others leave the project for you to finish with paint or stain, but, at Next Door and Window we do that for you! Next Door and Window also provides the best installation procedures and materials to make certain your project is done right and we back it with the industries best warranties. We have a full team of installation and service professionals to answer your questions…fast! If a visit is necessary to your home we will work around your schedule within a half-hour window of time to handle your issue quickly, often within 24 hours. We have over 25 trucks in the field to serve you fast. We are there when you need us. Additional DBA - Wolt Window & Door. Additional showroom addresses: 815 E. Ogden Ave, Naperville, IL 60563, & 718 E Rand Rd Arlington Heights, IL 60004.  

Century City Windows

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

Century City Windows

From bay and bow to casement, sliding and picture windows, we can install any window you want for your home. Financing is available.  

EcoChamp Windows and Siding

5.0

(48)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

EcoChamp Windows and Siding

2017 - 2018 - 2019 -2020 SUPER SERVICE AWARD WINNER! EcoChamp Windows and Siding prides itself on being the premier window, siding and roofing company in Cook, Lake, McHenry, Kane and DuPage Counties. We have provided exceptional service to both residential and commercial properties for many years. We have built an excellent reputation for customer satisfaction by providing quick and FREE estimates. With great attention to detail and competitive pricing, our products come with the best warranties in the industry. We pride ourselves in working with proven and leading manufactures, so our customers will have the most efficient, cutting edge products in the industry. Our business is driven on delighting our customers with great service, products, and highly trained expert installers with over 30 years experience. EcoChamp has been awarded numerous customer service awards, because of our hands-on, no pressure approach. We are screened and approved professionals, giving you the peace of mind you need. References gladly provided.