Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

VLCEK Remodeling

Founded 1977 • With Angi since September 2007

COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(14) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews
LYNORE P.
5.0
08/30/2018
Remodel went great. Chuck was prompt, efficient and professional. Best of all he was at my home on the date and time he said. Then he did the job in the time allotted at the quoted price. What a pleasant experience, I'd hire him again in a minute.
Description of Work
Bathroom update new cedar planking on walls and new stone vanity top which had to be sized
Category
custom cabinets, contractors, countertops, drywall, handyman service, plastering, home remodeling
LYNORE P.
5.0
11/10/2017
It went great! It took about 4 weeks to get it ready to move in. Another 2 weeks to do the basement remodel. Everything is gorgeous. I had a few unusual requests, but they were able to solve the problems and get the job done. I love this company...no problems and a beautiful result!
Description of Work
I bought a foreclosure in Joliet. Great house, but the interior was trashed. All carpeting had to be removed and I had it replaced with the new vinyl click tiles that look like wood. It needed new light fixtures, blinds, curtain rods. All walls had to be painted. Many general repairs were needed, just a lot of little things. Exterior had to be painted, fence repaired and painted. The entire basement had to be remodeled. I also designed an upstairs laundry room which they built.
Category
contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, decks, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, ceiling fans, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors
Laurel R.
2.0
07/03/2015
I called and Chuck came out for an estimate on updating two bathrooms in my home. He came out that same week and then called me with an estimate. I felt it was fair and we agreed on a mid June start date. He seemed very knowledgeable and pleasant to deal with. He called a few weeks later to say he was going on vacation and the new start date would be a few weeks later. I was fine with the new date. I told him I needed it done by mid July. Then he called and told me he was starting renovations on houses and would have to move my bathrooms back to the last week in August or Sept. I had not paid in advance, but I thought we had an agreement and I had ordered materials he suggested. I was unable to put the projects off until those dates, so I had to find another contractor.
Description of Work
I called and Chuck came out for an estimate on updating two bathrooms in my home. In the end he did not complete the job.
Category
handyman service, remodeling
Nicholas H.
5.0
07/02/2014
They were nice, very honest upfront, they kept the house nice and clean all the time, it was very en joyful experience. The inspector came and looked at it afterwards. He took some pictures of what he did so that he can show other people.
Description of Work
They re modeled my basement.
Category
remodeling
Nicholas H.
5.0
01/14/2014
Vlcek and Sons did a fantastic job finishing my basement. They were very professional, courteous, and honest. Chuck and Dave are great people to deal with. They provided a detailed quote and adhered to it by staying on time and on budget. They really take pride in their work and it shows in the quality of work performed. They kept the work area clean everyday as well which ensured my house did not feel like a construction zone. Even though I already had a floor plan in mind, Chuck and Dave found ways to modify it and maximize my square footage which I thought was wonderful. I could not have dreamed of this project going any smoother. I would recommend Vlcek and Sons for any work needed around your home. These are the honest people you want in your home.
Description of Work
Turned my unfinished basement into a finished family room. This included framing, electrical, ductwork, insulation, drywall, trim and doors.
Category
handyman service
Paul W.
1.0
10/17/2012
I called him several times for an estimate. I finally reached him when I called extra early in the morning. He told me he or one of his employees would be out that day to look at the leak, but he never did. As it turned out, my wife ended up fixing it.
Description of Work
I tried to hire them to fix a plumbing problem. There was a connection that was leaking and we could not get it loose.
Category
handyman service, plumbing
Riis S.
5.0
10/11/2011
My deck was not installed properly from the beginning by the previous owner and the overhead frame was separating from where it was attached to the house. This was very dangerous since the wood used was too large and not properly attached to the house. I called a couple of contractors and Dave was the first to respond and he responded promptly. Dave came out to the house at hours that worked for me and he was able to give me a couple of options of what can be done to make the deck safe and secure. He also was open to ideas and listened to what was important to me, which was safety and cost. After he looked around and listened to my concerns he left to come up with an estimate. A few days to a week later he called me with an estimate. I asked him if he could email me with the estimate that would include materials and cost so that I can compare his estimate with other estimates. He emailed me a day later with the estimate with the details I was looking for. He also stated when he would be able to start the project and how long it would take. He ended up calling me on a Monday to let me know that he has an opening between projects where he could complete this project, which I agreed. He showed up on time the day he started the project and worked very quickly, pausing for the occasional rain shower, and called me when he was done with the project and to arrange to see me for final review and payment. When I met him after work he explained everything he did and tied up any loose ends. The 'B' rating for quality was only because I pointed out a few minor things but the other 'A' ratings are there because he did an exceptional job. Dave was very professional, open to ideas, budget conscious and very responsive. I would recommend him to other people to use for their projects.
Description of Work
Dave provided the most cost effective deck repair solution. The deck's overhead frame was separating from the house and a couple of the very heavy boards were almost dropping down. Dave attached the frame to the house properly and provided support in that area with two additional posts. He used metal hanger brackets to reattach the wood beams and metal brackets were also used to secure the wood posts to the frame and deck flooring. He also repaired a rotten deck board free of charge and not in the statement of work. The work was completed within a day and we had a final walk-thru and that's where I found a couple of minor issues where a couple of the boards in the frame were not tightly brought together. Some of the other boards in the frame started to separate because the boards attached to the house were separating. These boards were supposed to be brought back together and secure, which some were not. Once I pointed this out Dave agreed without question and completed the repairs immediately.
Category
decks
Christopher B.
5.0
05/07/2011
Chuck and Dave did a great job for a fair price. The first day they measured, prepped plumbing and hung drywall (green board). The second day they finished hanging the drywall and installed the tub. The next two days were spent prepping the drywall and putting up tile and grouting on the walls and shower area. The next day was installing the floor and toliet. The final day was installing the vanity, fixtures and putting on the door and framing.
Description of Work
Total bathroom remodel after demolition of existing.
Category
drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling
Gail W.
5.0
04/21/2011
They finished the work in the stated amount of time and for the charge that was set. They were very professional. I would use them in the future.
Description of Work
Vlcek & Sons Handyman services installed an accordion door for me. The last time I used their service was about three weeks ago.
Category
doors
M THOMAS S.
5.0
07/24/2010
Exellent...I've used them in the past to remodel my bathroom with the same experience...top notch. What is the best is that they work on your project until completion, so it gets completed in a timely manner. They are very honest and I can leave my house with no worries. They are there when they say they are going to be there, they give great advice/input and act as a laison between other contractors, ie, painter/ counter install. They are like family and I've used them twice...and I'll refer them always and use them in the future. I guarantee you will be TOTALLY SATISFIED and you will receive more than you expect and paid for.
Description of Work
Remodeled entire kitchen from taking out old cabinets, floors, panelling, etc and put in new floor, hung cabinets, managed counter installation, fixed walls from previous tile, hung new lights/fans, helped install appliances, put in new electrical outlets, added to soffit to accommodate new design in cabinets.
Category
custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, ceiling fans, home remodeling
LYNORE P.
5.0
10/06/2009
I like that I can call them up and they will do any kind of work for me. They do carpentry, tile work, everything except the complicated plumbing work. They are excellent. I will continue to use them in the future.
Description of Work
Vlcek & Sons Handyman Services has done all kinds of servicing for me. They most recently came out to install a dishwasher.
Category
handyman service
LYNORE P.
5.0
10/06/2009
They do excellent work. They are always on time and trustworthy. I never mind leaving them in the house alone. They are very good workers. When they say that a job is going to be done it is always done. I thought that the price for the remodel was fair.
Description of Work
Vlcek & Sons Handyman Services remodeled my entire rental unit. They did all of the ceramic tile work, installed new cabinets, new floors, and installed and an entirely new kitchen.
Category
remodeling
Joseph D.
5.0
11/12/2008
It was very good. They were a little slow on the start, but once they got started on it they completed the job in four or five days. It was very satisfactory.
Description of Work
They installed walls, ceiling, flooring, shower stall, medicine cabinet, vanity, and hooked up all the plumbing.
Category
flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling
LYNORE P.
5.0
09/11/2007
There are only two workers, a father and son. They started the job as promised, worked everyday, and completed the job on time and within budget. From talking to them, it appears that they only do one job at a time and work until it is completed. I was impressed because Chuck, the owner, seemed to listen to what I wanted and make suggestions accordingly. Also I felt that he was not necessarily trying to sell me on the most expensive options, but rather the most suitable. One of the best things, besides paying great attention to details and being excellent carpenters, was that they cleaned up after themselves. I did not have to worry about any mess when the job was completed. They did a great job! I would highly recommend this company, and I would be happy to use their services again.
Description of Work
I had a rental property remodeled and updated by Vlcek and Sons. They remodeled the kitchen and bath, replaced the old varnished hollow doors with new white 6 panel, replaced a light fixture and painted everything. The kitchen and bath turned out beautiful. I am so happy with the new cabinets and pantry in the kitchen. They also installed a dishwasher for me. The bathroom is all new ceramic tile and fixtures. They installed a toilet, sink,and medicine cabinet, and ceramic tiled and painted the bathroom. Before painting they did a lot of preparation, including plastering and sanding some walls. They assisted me in choosing materials when I was uncertain of the choices.
Category
ceramic tile, plastering, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Other local Pros in your area

Bee Painting, Inc.

Bee Painting, Inc. is one of the best and most reliable painting and interior remodeling contractors in Yorkville, IL and surrounding areas. Our wide array of services ensures that we have everything you need for your home improvement or business remodeling projects, always setting the bar in quality. At Bee Painting, Inc., we take pride at our more than 16 years in the industry, which have allowed us to be the preferred partner for countless customers throughout the area. We always use the finest materials and methods to guarantee fantastic finishes for your home and business interiors. Our team at Bee Painting, Inc. is known for its expertise and sense for aesthetic beauty. For this reason, we are very detailed to make sure that any exterior or interior painting job, as well as any interior wall installation is performed with commitment to deliver fantastic results. Get in touch with our team today!  

Angi Certified

Castle Painting

**Please call or email us directly. Please do not message us** rick@castlepaintingusa.com Castle Painting is one of the areas premier painting companies. For 24 years, we have been providing excellent service and quality to local residents and businesses. We do NOT use subcontractors. All of our work is completed by well trained employees. No deposit needed in most cases. Payment upon completion. Additional charge for credit card payments. $100 Angie's List discount (projects over $1,200.00). You will be satisfied!!  

Angi Certified

Metanoia Construction Inc

Give your surfaces the finish that they deserve. For Twenty Years and counting, Metanoia Construction, Inc. has served Illinois with first class wall finish solutions. Our family owned and operated business was founded over values of commitment, hard work, and dedication. As a team, we have a proven record of customer satisfaction. Testimony of our hard work and excellence is found in the referrals provided by our customers. Metanoia Construction, Inc. works towards customer satisfaction and we are successful in achieving the customers’ demands. As we stay up to date with what is trending in the industry, we have the ability to offer our clients the finest solutions available. Metanoia Construction, Inc. focuses on the client from beginning to end, establishing communication always. Contact Metanoia Construction, Inc. today.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

1328 E WELLWOOD DR

Lockport, IL 60441

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

VLCEK Remodeling is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

VLCEK Remodeling is open:

Sunday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

VLCEK Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, VLCEK Remodeling offers free project estimates.

No, VLCEK Remodeling does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, VLCEK Remodeling does not offer a senior discount.

No, VLCEK Remodeling does not offer warranties.

VLCEK Remodeling offers the following services: KITCHEN, BASEMENT, BATHROOM REMODELING, DOORS, DECKS, CABINET INSTALLATION, CABINET REMOVAL, INTERIOR AND EXTERIOR PAINTING, CERANIC TILE, COUNTER TOP INSTALLATION & HOME REPAIR SERVICE.