A P Builder & General Contractor LLC

About

Founded undefined • With Angi since May 2012

We are a family owned and operated company; with every phase of design, building and community development under the skilled guidance of a family member. At A.P. Builder & General Contractor, our business is more than building. Our business is building a better quality of life for our residents,

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.5

(81) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

52

4

12

3

6

2

4

1

7

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.5

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.5

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

handyman (19)basement remodeling (9)home remodeling (9)home builder (9)plumbers (7)drywall (7)interior painting (6)garage building (4)patio enclosures (3)siding companies (3)HVAC Companies (3)marble & granite (2)
Showing 1-25 of 81 reviews
5.0

01/11/2022


Nina B.

Angelo Pecoraro, the owner of A.P. Builder, was a pleasure to work with from start to finish on our major remodeling project of adding a sunroom to our home. Out of many contractors I called to get an estimate, he was the only one willing to provide options to have the project fit our budget. Once we agreed to move forward, he worked diligently with the architect and village to get the permits finalized (which is a difficult task in my town). Once the work started, he provided almost daily updates of the work that will be completed and any anticipated inspections (which we passed easily). He also reached out himself to finalize details from big items like windows to small ones like the molding. The result was a beautiful sunroom and deck which I receive compliments on regularly. Do yourself a favor and for your next major home remodel/renovation work with Angelo and A.P. Builder!

Description of Work
Sunroom Addition

Category sunrooms

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2022

Images

Review for A P Builder & General Contractor LLC - 2079-A Stonington Ave, Hoffman Estates, IL - 39598876

+3 More

5.0

04/27/2021


Nancy N.

We recently had our two main bathrooms remodeled by A P Builder (Owner is Angelo). We are totally thrilled with the end results of these projects. Angelo was involved in every phase of the project, many times offering valuable suggestions that we had not thought about. The work was done while paying attention to every detail, no matter how large or small. If and when there was a “glitch”, it was dealt with promptly and completely to our satisfaction. I would highly recommend Angelo and his company for future work at our home. Bravo to A.P. Builders and Angelo for a JOB WELL DONE!

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodeling

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2021

5.0

01/19/2021


Raymind A.

Angelo did everything as planned. We walked over the construction plans before construction started. Site drawing detailed how the finished room addition and sun porch would look after the job was completed. Wife and I were completely satisfied with the finished job. Ready for summer 2021 with or without COVID... Construction crew (Framers) did a fantastic job. Always arrived on time and job was completed on time. Will be happy to recommend AP Builders for any residential construction project.

Description of Work
Room Addition and Sun Porch.

Category countertops, sunrooms

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/11/2021

5.0

11/29/2020


Paul L.

The quality of the work was outstanding. There were a few hiccups as we went along, which can always be expected, but they were always resolved. Angelo is a man of his word, which is rare to find these days. We are extremely pleased with how everything worked out.

Description of Work
A room addition for a pool was built.

Category garage builders

Cost $31,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2020

5.0

11/25/2020


Josh M.

We hired Angelo to replace our countertops and add a backsplash. Overall, we are 100% happy with everything! We needed it done quickly and Angelo made it happen. It was refreshing to have someone that was punctual. Even after the job was about done, he made sure the last details were handled with care! We would hire him again in a second and probably will soon. Thanks Angelo!!

Description of Work
Kitchen countertops and backsplash

Category garage builders, home remodeling

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/26/2020

5.0

11/02/2020


joseph A.

i cant say enough good things about this company. angelo and his crew are here on time everyday.the work they did is outstanding.angelo explains every phase of the project in detail. finding ap builders is the best thing we ever did,you wont be dissapointed.thank you angis list.

Description of Work
large room addition

Category drywall, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, siding, garage builders, home builders, interior painters

Cost $57,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2020

5.0

10/15/2019


Chris P.

We have known and been working with AP builders for a couple of years now, doing many different projects on my home including siding, landscaping, hot water heater, painting... you name it, they do it! And for a great price too! The jobs were all done quickly, on budget and professionally. I would recommend them to anyone for any project, big or small! And yes, I'm a REAL customer (not a family member or bot). My name is Chris and I live in the Northwest Suburbs.

Description of Work
Multiple projects

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, landscaping, plumbing, remodeling, siding

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/23/2019

5.0

08/19/2019


Brian L.

They were excellent. There were several large problems they encountered but they worked through it and finished the house beautifully. Even when the job was done, Angelo continued with good service. Even though my son threw rags in the toilet once, they sent out a plumber to fix everything and I wasn't even charged. He is quick to respond to my calls and is very professional. I would highly recommend them and I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
They built a new home for me.

Category home builders

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/30/2019

5.0

02/12/2017


Valerie B.

The construction went very well. It actually was completed before the estimate - it helped that I wasn't living here at the time. The workmanship is stellar and I am very pleased with the final product. They were responsive to my requests for little things to be changed - like the lights were installed upside down from what I wanted or the toilet paper holder needed to be moved. Angelo was friendly and I felt that he was taking care of my house & me like a father. Rose in the office answered every email and question in a timely manner. She's also followed up when I had an issue with my new dishwasher.

Description of Work
Angelo and his crew renovated my mid-century house. That included a complete gut and new lay out for the kitchen, complete gut of one bathroom, 95% gut of another bathroom and flooring and walls in two other rooms.

Category drywall, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for the review! We are so happy that you are pleased with your new home renovation. Working with you was a true pleasure and hope you contact us should you have any other future building needs. We wish you the very best in your new space!!! Warm Regards, Rose Rose Lucchese Office Manager A.P. Builder & G.C.
5.0

02/03/2017


Julie N.

Once again, we couldn't be happier with the outcome of the project. We have everything we wanted in our new laundry room and more. Angelo has great ideas and vision on what would complete and enhance the project. We would HIGHLY recommend anyone to work with Angelo. You will not be disappointed, but instead, extremely impressed with his work!

Description of Work
We hired Angelo at AP Builders for a second time to renovate our laundry room. We had him here about 18 months ago to completely finish our basement. We didn't even look elsewhere other than AP Builders because we were so pleased with his work, attention to detail, timeliness and professionalism.

Category remodeling

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/12/2016

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We truly appreciate that you entrusted us with this new mudroom project. We always enjoy working with you and are so happy that you pleased with the result. I will be in touch soon to come by and take a few "after" pictures! We wish you and your family many memories in your new mudroom, Warm Regards, Rose Rose Lucchese Office Manager A.P. Builder & G.C.
4.0

01/05/2017


Stuart C.

Reasonably well, couple hiccups. Ended up looking good.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel, (2) bath remodel, Chimney repair, drywall patch/paint, floors refinished

Category drywall, remodeling, screen repair, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/05/2017

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] & [Member name removed], We truly appreciate the time you took to leave us a few words about our recent project with you. We hope you are enjoying your newly remodeled spaces and kitchen. It was a pleasure working with you both and do hope you contact us again should you have any additional building needs. Best of luck to you both in 2017! Regards, Rose Lucchese Office Manager A.P. Builder & G.C.
5.0

01/04/2016


Kevin K.

There were the usual hiccups with any building project. This being our first house remodel, we had no clue what to expect. Angelo and his company did not fail us, though, giving us a beautiful kitchen and sunroom.

Description of Work
Contracted to upgrade kitchen and build addition. Had to do a lot of electrical and plumbing upgrades also since house is 90 years old.

Category plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $165,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2015

5.0

04/30/2015


Julie N.

We recently used Angelo at AP Builders to finish our basement. We must say that we were beyond impressed with his ideas, craftsmanship, professionalism and overall project management. We sought out a few different bids for our basement but were most impressed with his blueprints. Rose, who also works at AP Builders, was extremely prompt with all communication regarding the proposal and follow up. Angelo manages his projects like a well oiled machine. The project moved along smooth as silk and continually ahead of schedule. Every day there was so much completed and Angelo was present each and every day to make sure every detail was perfect. We had some minor changes in the blueprints that we wanted done at the beginning and those were done immediately and without any push back to work that was already completed. His communication each day about progress and our thoughts, suggestions and ideas were listened to with a keen ear. The house was always kept clean both upstairs where the traffic would come in each day and downstairs in the work area. Each day it was cleaned up. Their pricing was very reasonable - and their work was very thorough. Rose was very quick with all correspondence via email and telephone. Everything was very well documented and accurate for back end paperwork. We are in love with our new space that Angelo has created for us and imagine spending many, many years to come enjoying our new living space. We would recommend Angelo, Rose and AP Builders to anyone looking to have the most interactive, professional, detail-oriented, high quality job done. We can't say enough about how happy we are to have chosen AP Builders for our project!

Description of Work
Finished our basement

Category remodeling

Cost $80,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2015

Service Provider Response

Hi (member name removed), Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. You and your husband were a pleasure to work with. We do hope you contact us in the future should you have any other projects to complete. We wish you the very best and hope you make wonderful memories in your new basement. Kind Regards, Angelo Pecoraro
5.0

02/23/2015


Anthony A.

Angelo and his crew were WONDERFUL. Every promise that AP Builder / Angelo made was met and exceeded. 1. Angelo gave me a anticipated completion date for the construction job: he finished before the completion date. I even allocated additional time in the contract in order for his company to finish the job, but he didn't need it. He kept to his schedule and his promise. 2. Angelo gave me a cost estimate: he kept his promise on cost exactly. The only additional amounts of money spent were because I modified and changed a couple of construction points. 3. Angelo assured me that I would be happy with the workmanship: his promises were exceeded. The law office building addition turned out wonderful. 4. Communication with Angelo during construction: Angelo and his office was exceedingly responsive to my questions and requests. I always knew that when I called that I would either speak with him directly, receive a punctual call back from him, and he would agree to meet me at the construction site at an agreed time. 5. Angelo exceeded all of my expectations at a very reasonable cost. His company provides top quality work for a bargain price. As a side note, Angelo caught and fixed a structural problem before it happened. The architect had under-estimated the strength needed for a main load beam, Angelo pointed out the flaw, and we fixed the problem before it was built into the structure. He saved me from a HUGE problem down the road (when the roof would have buckled and bent). Angelo's decades of experience cannot be understated. I read another review of AP Builder wherein the author suggested that this company was a bit expensive. I strongly disagree. I would suggest instead that some people may have unrealistic expectations and want to cut corners and prices when instead they should be investing in quality work. If Angelo will accept your job, you should seriously consider using this guy.

Description of Work
Addition to commercial building (law office)

Category remodeling

Cost $88,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2015

Service Provider Response

Hello Anthony, We are so happy to hear how pleased you are with your project. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we do hope you contact us in the future for any other building needs! Kind Regards, Angelo Pecoraro
4.0

02/05/2015


William H.

The work was good. The workers were fine. The work was pretty solid. They are good on price. We had a some confusion on the work on some customizations with picking our own products instead of going with theirs.

Description of Work
They remodeled my basement and upgraded electrical box to 200 AMP service.

Category basement remodeling

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/12/2014

Service Provider Response

Hello [member name removed], It was a great pleasure to work with you on your basement remodeling project. I am so glad to hear that you were satisfied with our work. I apologize for the confusion you felt in regards to using your own products. We do try to offer a competitive price for every project and therefore do need to sometimes use products with our contracted vendors to keep the contracted cost down. We greatly apologize for any confusion that may have caused you. Take care, Angelo Pecoraro President A.P. Builder & General Contractor
4.0

10/02/2014


Frank H.

A bit more expensive than others.

Description of Work
Offered an estimate for work to be completed

Category remodeling

Cost $15,000

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/05/2014

5.0

08/26/2014


Audra B.

I had some adjustments but A.P. Builder's were professional and patient from start to finish.

Description of Work
A.P. Builders Remodel My New Hair Salon. Replace Flooring, Added an Additional 2 Rooms For An Office & Make-up Room. Installed A Foot Spa & Shampoo Bowls.

Category remodeling, home builders

Cost $32,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2014

Images

Review for A P Builder & General Contractor LLC - 2079-A Stonington Ave, Hoffman Estates, IL - 9122967

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Hello [removed member name], Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We enjoyed working on your project and our so glad that you were satisfied with your salon improvements. Please don't hesitate to contact us, should you have any other project needs. Regards, Angelo Pecoraro Owner A.P. Builder & General Contractor, LLC.
4.0

06/10/2014


Karen T.

I first contacted Angelo In December due to his Special Deal. At that time he came over and gave me a sort of cursory in-home inspection, following it up with an offer to do everything I wanted (which at that point included replacing the floor but not the new corner) for $10K. I put his offer aside and collected more offers, all of which were much higher. In February I contacted him again and asked him about his offer; he replied that he would need to come back over because he could not remember the property well. This time--with the new corner and no floor, and with new appliances included--he quoted me 14K, still by far the lowest I had seen. I accepted. Two weeks later, in March, he began. At the time, he said things would take about two weeks. They took six. To be fair, some of that delay is not altogether his fault: he had originally thought to replace the soffits, only to discover upon starting to remove them that they house vents. (I did wonder, though, why he had not checked that before ordering cabinets.) It took an extra ten days for new cabinets to be built, as Angelo's cabinets are all made to order. When work was done, it was generally done well. He was entirely amenable to the selections we made for appliances, for the granite countertops, for the backsplash, for the faucet, etc., and his people did a good job installing them. I'd love to say the same about the installation of the cabinets themselves--and for the most part I can--but there were issues I don't quite understand: why some doors were not installed properly, why the two lazy susan cabinets were both filled with construction dust that I needed to clean up after the fact, etc. I also don't really understand why the twin patches on the soffit walls were never sanded down (and still are not, as I am going to need to throw a tarp over my entire kitchen to do so). I am writing a lot of complaints, and I guess it sounds as if I am really unhappy when that is not actually the case. I am very happy with my new kitchen. Every time I go into it I smile. The cabinets are lovely, the granite is beautiful, the backsplash is perfect, the appliances are wonderful: it is exactly right (other than what I speak of here). But if you are going to use Angelo, you need to understand what you'll be getting. He is a very nice man, and he does good work. But he has a few problems that are the reason I would not use him again. First and foremost is communication: the number of phone calls and emails that went unanswered became extremely frustrating. It did help a little that I made the discovery that Maria, who works in his office, is actually his daughter--she accidentally copied me on a family message--so I could bug her more personally than I otherwise would have to get after him, but still that should not have to happen. When he does respond, his English is very fractured and he composes messages on iPhone apparently using the voice to text command, so it's often an adventure making any meaning of what he writes. This is one actual email: we're at hour home, can't need be tomorrow or at 10:0 /11: am or next Saturday Another problem, which is different but in some ways also a facet of communication, is the fact that he changes schedules without alerting us of the changes. Huge example: appliance delivery. He ordered the appliances from Abt and told us they would be delivered on a Thursday morning. His backsplash guys were working on the same day. When the appliance guys came, the backsplash guys were nearing a break but not there yet. The appliance guys asked if they could do another delivery in the area and come back afterwards; of course I said that was fine. It was about noon. The day wore on...and on...and on...and they did not come back. Eventually I called Abt, around 5:00, wondering where the heck they were. I was told they were scheduled for delivery on Friday, and they had never been scheduled for Thursday at all. Impossible! I told them. They were actually here already today! Abt told me they didn't know what to say and I should call my contractor, so I did. Angelo, when he got back to me, told me that he had canceled the delivery because he didn't think the backsplash would be dry enough. That's just one example. He did things like that a lot: saying a thing would happen on a Wednesday so we'd wait for someone who never showed up. Sometimes it was Angelo himself we waited for who did not show up and did not call. AS I WRITE THIS I am still waiting for him to return to fix a hinge on a cabinet that he has told me several times he would be here to fix and has not shown up for. I like Angelo. I think he is a fair man who ultimately does good work. But my husband and I also found it very, very difficult to work with him at times, and if we had this to do again I think we would have made a different choice.

Description of Work
Removed old cabinets and most appliances from small kitchen and replaced them with new ones; added a new corner to previous kitchen design.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2014

Service Provider Response

We completed this customers project per contract and to her satisfaction which is confirmed in her review as she stated herself that she is very happy with her kitchen and smiles every time she sees it. There were some unforeseen circumstances and unique situations that arose during construction in which we handled promptly and accordingly which caused a small delay that our customer was fully aware of and understood due to the circumstances that arose. We strive to provide excellent service and quality results to all our customers and feel we completed our customer’s project to her upmost satisfaction. Her grade of an “A” on our quality is a direct reflection of our outstanding work. Please read our other reviews from our many satisfied customers. Thank you. A.P. Builder & General Contractor, LLC
5.0

05/16/2014


Alex R.

They did good. The work looks great. They were easy to work with and Angelo get to contact with us.

Description of Work
A.P. Builder & General Contractor LLC remodelled an entire condo kitchen, bathroom and bedroom.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/30/2014

4.0

04/30/2014


Sarah B.

I contacted them regarding some interior painting. I felt that they were more expensive than they led themselves onto be, but they were fine from what I can remember other than that.

Description of Work
I purchased a $99 Big Deal for 4 Hours of General Contractor OR Handyman Services.

Category interior painters

Cost $99

Work Completed On 04/15/2013

1.0

04/22/2014


SUSAN C.

Note date listed above is not accurate as no work was done and I did not recall last contact. We did not use service provider as he did not provide services that I needed and I got a refund.

Description of Work
DId not do any work as could not agree on services so I got refund

Category remodeling

Work Completed On 09/01/2013

5.0

02/24/2014


michelle M.

Very nice and professional man. Expert opinions and a great listener. Job was completed on time and no unexpected costs.

Description of Work
A sump pump was installed

Category home builders, basement remodeling

Cost $5,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/24/2014