Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED

Founded 2002 • With Angi since March 2004

5.0

(57) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

355 HASTINGS AVE

Highland Park, IL 60035

Description

We are professional organizers who help you get organized and stay organized at home and in your office....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/29/2020


MARILYN H.

I used to live surrounded by clutter, and it was truly overwhelming. On a whim, I called Linda at Altogether Organized. Over a series of visits that were truly enjoyable, she helped me purge and organize, one room at a time. I even arranged separate visits for Linda to help each of my teenage sons organize their rooms. Linda is so pleasant and non-threatening that they both willingly cooperated with her and got the job done. Living in an organized home is wonderful, and the truth is, I could never have reached this point without Linda’s help.

Description of Work
Home de-cluttering and organization

Category home & garage organization

5.0

02/01/2017


Mona F.

Linda is amazing! I would heartily recommend anyone who is seeking a more ordered, simple, or neat lifestyle. Wow! And a delight to work with. I can't say enough about how great her work is.

Description of Work
Linda helped me organize and declutter in my house.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

03/03/2016


Jane & Niel Z.

She is superb. She is caring, thoughtful, kind and understanding. She is efficient and thorough and very professional. If you need help organizing, she is your best bet. Well worth it. She went out of her way to do everything she could for our mother.

Description of Work
We hired her to help my mother in law organize her boxes and papers. She helped her clean her desks and closets.

Category home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with [Removed Personal Info] and I look forward to helping her again if ever she needs me!
5.0

03/03/2016


Debra E.

Linda is nothing short of a pleasure to work with. She gets the job done quicly and efficiently. She professionally takes charge with a style that is warm and supportive. Simply put - she is "easy" to be around. I will continue to work with and recommend her.

Description of Work
I hired Linda to help plunge through 6 years worth of clutter in my basement. This included 6 years of build-up of disorganized kids toys along with all sorts of overflow household stuff that either had no use or no ieasy access parking spot. With Linda's guidence, I was able to give myself permission to eliminate pounds and pounds of unused stuff which all went towards charitable donations. Linda then facilitated an organized system of storing items in an easy to access and pleasant to look at manner. Not only is my basement now zen-like, so too am I! And I feel as many pounds lighter as the cummulative weight of the items I eliminated. :)

Category home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review! It was my pleasure to work with you.
5.0

12/06/2015


ann C.

Linda is amazing. Over the past few years, she has helped me with various projects in my ongoing desire to become more organized. She is incredibly easy and fun to work with. She is genuinely engaged in the process--she LOVES helping people get organized--and she is warm and friendly. Linda has a clear sense of what can and cannot be accomplished in a 3-hour time frame. She gets started right away and is incredibly efficient while balancing sensitivity to the emotional work of decluttering/organization and moving forward to create a more harmonious environment. The true test of her work for me has been my ability to maintain a lot of the way she has helped my organize my newly renovated kitchen, my den, and my common room workspace. Linda's service is definitely worth it. I would say that I'd hire her again, but I already have.

Description of Work
Linda helped me put together my newly remodeled kitchen. On other occasions, she has helped me organize my den and another work area.

Category home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

It is so much fun working with you! Thank you so much for your review.
5.0

09/28/2015


Chris B.

Her services were extremely helpful. She helped me throw away items we no longer needed; helped me sort through the things we were keeping and organize them into labeled bins, & gave me suggestions of where I could donate items. It was such an overwhelming job and I could not have done it without her guidance. She is completely hands on and helps with the entire project. I highly recommend her to assist in any project you need!

Description of Work
Linda helped me go through years of accumulation & messes in an unfinished basement.

Category home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

I just realized that I never responded to your review. Thank you so much! It was such a pleasure to work with you.
5.0

08/12/2015


Kristina S.

Linda was wonderful. She was very organized and really helped me focus on what I wanted to keep vs. toss. She made the process so easy and even offered to drop off some books for me at a local charity since she was heading there later that day.

Description of Work
Linda helped me go through all the kids toys and bedrooms and get rid of those things they had outgrown

Category home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review! It was so great working with you.
5.0

06/09/2014


Karen M.

Linda is amazing! She arrived on time, gave me the option of working along with her or doing my own thing and being available for questions as needed. She developed a very sensible and intuitive plan for organizing the kitchen and basically did all of the work, allowing me to work on other rooms that needed unpacking. Her design made so much sense that we felt that we did it ourselves. When we made dinner that night, everything we needed was just where we expected it to be. She was also a joy to be around, and I enjoyed the friendly and personable company for a day of unpacking. Thanks to her, after only 6 hours, the rooms that we use most often were in great shape, and our new house started feeling like a home only 24 hours after the movers left. I have used other home organizers before and have always been happy, but Linda surpassed all expectations and previous experiences. I cannot recommend her highly enough.

Description of Work
We moved the day before, and Linda helped with unpacking and organizing the kitchen. She also gave some advice on how to organize the bathrooms and most effectively utilize a linen closet.

Category home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [member name removed], you were a total joy to work! Please let me know if you ever need anything else - it will be my pleasure to help you.
5.0

02/12/2014


Vanessa G.

Linda is just so good at seeing how to take a space apart and puzzling the way to put it back together. She is impeccably professional, unerringly kind, bouyantly positive, and simply excellent at what she does. I always look forward to seeing her and working with her, and I know when she leaves I will feel good about the progress we've made on whatever project we're tackling. I feel one of her best qualities is her gentle but firm guidance on how to follow up after the appointment is over so that the work that we've done together is maximized. She is an empathetic, wonderful person and I would highly recommend her to anyone who is looking to tackle some organizational projects. My husband is a huge fan as well and has worked with her on some of his own organization projects. It's refreshing to meet someone who is so good at what she does and so obviously enjoys it.

Description of Work
Linda and I have been working together on some organization projects in my home over the past year or so. She has helped me clean out my attic and prepare for a garage sale, organize my basement and sort through toys, household items, memorabilia, paper, closets, you name it. This week she helped me sort through, clean out and reorganize a hall closet and some cabinets in my mudroom.

Category home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your wonderful comments! I too, always look forward to our appointments. It's so great working with you and I feel lucky that you found me!
5.0

01/20/2014


deborah T.

Linda is incredible. She is extremely personable and professional. She has been helping me for a few years now and has done a fabulous job organizing multiple rooms in my house (including my garage and basement). She is so sweet and friendly, she practically feels like part of the family when she comes over. She is also EXTREMELY efficient. I trust her completely and would highly recommend her to anyone who needs a little, or a lot of organizational help. Altogether Organized is the best in my book!

Description of Work
Sort through piles, organize room

Category home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

Thank you for all your amazingly kind comments! It is always my total pleasure to work with you.
5.0

01/19/2014


James M.

Linda was amazing and did a great job of handling my Mom. Linda is kind and caring, but assertive. She got Mom to keep moving forward on getting rid of things and sorting through her house. This was a huge project and Linda helped with some of some of the parts that required patience. It also was helpful having her help sorting and organizing kitchen, pantry, clothing and costume jewelry. I could help with the garage and basement, but it definitely helped to have a woman in these areas. Seemed like a third party was a good idea vs. my wife or kids. She also was a big help on getting things put up in the right places in the new space. It just worked out perfect! WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND LINDA!!!!!!

Description of Work
Linda helped prepare and organize for a move to a retirement community. After 35 years in her home my 84 year old mother needed some professional help getting through all her collections and clutter.

Category home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed]: Thanks so much for all your kind words. I loved working with your mom! I'm so glad you found me and I got the chance to help her.
5.0

01/14/2014


Shari N.

I am a very organized person who owns a labeler & knows how to use it. I have had some overwhelming life circumstances occur and found myself buried in papers and very important documents in addition to having moved. Linda was suggested to me by a friend who was in shock and awe I would need help labeling, but I am so glad I called her. She is on time, kind, patient and takes her job very seriously. She knows that your time is money and wants it to be of value to you and wants you to feel a sense of accomplishment. I enjoy her company and although the service in general is pricey (most organizers range from approx $50-$100) for what you think you can do yourself, if you could have you would have. She is very motivational, it forces me to do what I procratinated for so long and when she leaves it clears the way for me to do more & handle things that need to be addressed that were otherwise lost in the shuffle.

Description of Work
Helped me organize my office & overwhelming mail

Category home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed]: Thanks so much for your review. It is always a pleasure working with you!
5.0

10/30/2013


Sarah R.

I had three different areas in my home where I kept my personal papers and files. Linda showed me how to weed out unnecessary papers as well as show me what should be filed together and where. She gave me an easy to use system that allowed me to put my hands on what I needed quickly. When it came to my business I needed her help developing a filing system that would allow me to keep track of vendor visits so I could quickly find when they were in my office and what we spoke about. This was trickier than it sounds as I needed to be able to put my hands on their information based on date of visit and not by name. All I can say is that Linda is brilliant. Within a day I had both my personal and business files up to date and in a new filing system that actually made sense. I felt more in control than I had in a long time. I felt empowered.. Linda listened to my goal and helped me achieve the end result I wanted. My office now feels like an office again, without piles of papers on top of my desk and credenza., not to mention the overstuffed files inside the drawers. What I appreciated most was her non-judgmental approach to what I considered to be an out of control and somewhat embarrassing mess. She is simply great to work with and great at what she does. She dove right in to help me gain control and create order. More importantly, she showed me how to keep it this way. It's been a couple of weeks and I can proudly say that not a piece of paper is out of place. Thanks Linda!!

Description of Work
Linda helped me organize my files - both personal and business.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

10/01/2013


christina G.

My room looked amazing after they left. They were on time, polite, respectful of my time and home. Also amazing of helping me find companies to pick up donations and companies to help me sell items as well as did research for me and sent me an email list of contacts. They worked in a timely fashion and were friendly. Made me feel as if I was spending time with a friend. Thank you

Description of Work
They were amazing helping me clear out and organize a bedroom. I am dealing with a medical issue at the moment and had no problem going above and beyond. Moving items helping get rid of items I know longer needed.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

09/10/2013


randie V.

Linda Goldman approaches the work, methodically. Goal oriented, focused, she is a good assesor of priorities. her systems approach is client oriented. Services are tailored to the individual client's needs. Using her expertise, Linda supports client's goals, with professionalism and vast experience. If she doesn't know something, she finds out about it. She is a problem solver. Each project is met with a pleasant postive approach that translates the mundane and tedious to 'easy.' The services offered are broad, from medical record keeping to arranging clothes closets. Altogether organized can do it all.

Description of Work
Altogether Organized revamped my filing system, organized my closets, assisted in a thorough culling of my house for spring cleaning,rearranged my kitchen cabinets and storage closets. Linda Goldman is a gem. Considerate of clients needs and budget, she evaluates and expedites services, seamlessly. Altogether Organized is one of my favorites.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

09/09/2013


Judith R.

I would recommend Linda to anyone. She is intuitive about the needs of her client. We accomplished our goals in a minimum amount of time. I feel renewed after organizing with her. She made my space more functional and attractive.

Description of Work
Organized my home. De-cluttered, streamlined, Made space functional and appealing at the same time!

Category home & garage organization

5.0

09/08/2013


Janice G.

We went room by room in my house over the course of a year. Every time Linda was here it was a pleasure to deal with her. You cannot believe how much you can get done with her. She helps you make decisions of what to keep and let go, and done with dignity and total respect for all of your feelings. I feel like i have a new house now, free of clutter and so organized! I recommend Linda 500%!!!

Description of Work
she helped me get rid of 20 years of junk. and she did it with kindness and compassion.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

09/08/2013


Robert B.

Wonderful. Great insight. Didn't hesitate to get down and dirty. Terrific ideas. A joy to work with. We'll definitely use her again (lots of organizing to do).

Description of Work
Purged and organized laundry room/kitchen storage space.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

10/31/2012


CHRIS L.

Great, great and great. Linda is insightful when it comes to purging, and she's persuasive in a way that makes you feel good about parting with unnecssary items that are really just causing clutter. She seems born to organize - and she is fast! By the time we were finished with this multi-step project, my house felt easy to live in. And she was very disciplined about creating new organization systems and spaces for our new home that would suit our needs and our lifestyle. The icing - Linda is a lot of fun!!! Our weekend hours together felt nothing like a chore - we laughed a lot and had a grand time - and the work still got done quickly.

Description of Work
In preparation for a move, Linda led my efforts to purge, organize, develop space ideas for the new home being built, map items to new space locations, create comprehensive lists in preparation for the move and create organizational systems for the new home. She'll be back to stage our current home!

Category home & garage organization

5.0

10/28/2012


Eunice G.

From the minute Linda entered we were working on the organization of my basement. We got rid of many items that I didn't need--organized the items to throw away, give away, and repair. We also organized the items we kept in a way that made more room and ease of access. Folders and bins were labeled. I have used Linda many times. She has organized my office when it was in dire condition. We have organized closets and pantries. Linda is quick, hard working, and pleasant. She is worth every penny I have spent because the quality of my life is so improved when she leaves.There is not a minute wasted. She organizes our time so there are things I can work on while she organizes the rest. She never leaves without me feeling that everything is so much better than it was before she came. Linda never leaves a mess behind. Linda is so pleasant that my husband, who usually wants to do everything himself has consented to have her help him organize his office. My daughter also used Linda . She moved out of town and wished she could have brought Linda with her.

Description of Work
Organized my basement

Category home & garage organization

5.0

10/18/2012


Janice G.

Amazing, efficient, Great!!

Description of Work
Linda changed my life! I have had her come to my house and we have gone room to room and cleaned out and organized. My house feels like a brand new home! I feel like I have a whole new wardrobe after we cleaned out closets and got rid of clothes I never wore. We got rid of tons of things that we do not use and are just sitting around. We re-organized my kitchen so everything is with in reach for me (i am short) and again we got rid of so much that we did not use. Also, Linda is a wonderful person who is patient and kind when you are working with her, so it is always a pleasure when she is at my house. I highly recommend Linda!!!

Category home & garage organization

5.0

10/12/2012


Robyn S.

It was an overwhelming success in many ways. One outcome was that I will not be needing a new or custom extension to the desk! I think that one of Linda's most unique and effective qualities is that she can manage a potentionally personally vulnerable situation (it is hard to display your mess and disorganization to others) with incredible grace, lack of judgement and good humor. Honestly, for three hours all I heard was laughing and fun coming from that part of the office. I could not believe when bags and bags of stuff/trash was removed and beautiful order was restored. I can't imagine how all that happiness translated into such effective work, but it did. Another great outcome was that it felt to my staff like a gift, rather than a burden or punishment. Also, I think they felt empowered to keep the systems in place and even work on their own improvements in the future. Linda was very discreet, thoughtful and helpful. It was the best value for my money that I have received in a long time!

Description of Work
Altogether Organized (in my case the owner/president Linda Goldman) provided an outstanding morning dedicated to helping my dental office front desk staff organize and systemize a clean, productive and efficient work space. Three people share a working space and I (the owner dentist) felt like it didn't present well and was disorganized so that others in the office could not always find things easily. Further, one of the staff members was requesting a very expensive custom addition to the desk so there could be more writing space.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

05/04/2012


JEANINE M.

Altogether Organized is nothing short of terrific. Despite trying many different organizational strategies over many years, I still had had no luck in clearing out the clutter in my house. This winter, however, with a move to a different country looming, I decided to get in touch with Linda Goldman of Altogether Organized. Over the course of several visits to my home, Linda helped me get rid of clutter that had been accumulating over a decade or more--and she managed to do so with both good humor and a sensitivity to the emotional challenges that clearing out the clutter can involve. Linda made the whole process a lot easier with her ability to quickly discern what's important to keep (from a financial, records-keeping, or emotional standpoint) and what can be recycled or discarded. I also appreciated Linda's non-judgmental attitude and patience toward what most people would regard as boxes of rubbish but which in fact contained a few real gems here and there. Linda Goldman made a real difference in our home. I highly recommend Altogether Organized!

Description of Work
Helped sort through years of miscellaneous papers as well as other household flotsam and jetsam.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

10/28/2011


AMY G.

She is so friendly and tactful and made us feel comfortable right away. They originally helped us go through some major financial paperwork. They are helping us get the paperwork to the right professionals and to help coordinate all aspects of our financials so everything will work full circle. My husband & I have different methods of handling these situations, and she helped to create a comfortable environment to work together. She has helped me setup a work station and worked with me to develop methods and tools to get things done in an efficient way. She listens to my problems, makes recommendations, and if those don't work out, she adjusts recommendations at that point. Whatever we do, she is always right on time. She ensures she gets things done before she leaves. Another person helped organized our laundry room. She helped me categorize my belongings and set up the room so it was more functional. She had so much energy, it got me motivated to continue working and organizing. If Linda thinks that someone else could do something better, she is open to giving referrals. She will also make a referral if she thinks someone will do the work for a cheaper cost to me. For instance, she recommended someone to help me on a regular, long-term basis. When I was having trouble deciding what to do, she would go "I will just tell you what to do, so you will have something that works, and then you can adjust if you want". The price is reasonable; it is a little higher than normal, but she is doing quite a bit of complex work. It is definitely worth it.

Description of Work
They have been helping me off and on for about a month. It is sometimes hard for me to get things done and organized, and Linda and her staff have been very helpful.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

10/25/2011


amy S.

Very well. I was able to choose what to work on, but I usually asked Linda for her opinion of the most urgent project. She can make the work fun and adjust to my needs whether I am highly motivated and feeling energetic or feeling tired and stuck in the mud. Once we have worked the minimum length of a session, we can end the session whenever we arrive at a good stopping point. In other words, if you book a 4 hour session but finish a project after 3 hours, the session can end. I am able to work more on my own now, but would not hesitate to call Linda again.

Description of Work
Many times over the last several years, Linda has helped me settle into my home, move out of my home and settle into a new one. She has helped me sort through years of memorabilia and many objects that I recently inherited. She has connected me with charities who can use donations. Linda is friendly, warm, professional, motivated, and very happy to help people get organized. The best part for both of us is to see the progress after several hours of working. Linda has helped me live in a more organized way. I was ready to work hard to make this change, but I could not have done this without her. Her prices are probably competitive. They just seem high to me, since I am watching every dollar. Also, I'd say that she is worth a slightly higher rate than some other organizers, if, in fact, her prices are a bit higher than some others. I have not compared rates, since we work so well together.

Category home & garage organization

    Other local Pros in your area

    Closet Organizing Systems

    15 TIME TOP SHELF DESIGN WINNER by CLOSETS MAGAZINE/WOODWORKING NETWORK. Offering custom-designed closet and cabinetry systems, we are dedicated to providing our customers with the highest quality workmanship, superior materials, and personalized service on every project.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    ORGANIZATION OF HOMES & WORKPLACES, DECLUTTER & ORGANIZE ANY ROOM, ORGANIZE FOR A MOVE, SET UP NEW HOME, HELP DECIDE WHAT TO KEEP/LET GO OF, CREATE CUSTOMIZED SYSTEMS FOR MANAGING PAPERWORK & EFFICIENT FILING SYSTEMS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED

    How is ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED overall rated?

    ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED open?

    ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED provide

    ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED offer free estimates?

    No, ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED does not offer free project estimates.

    Does ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED offer a senior discount?

    No, ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED?

    No, ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED does not offer warranties.

    What services does ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED offer?

    ALTOGETHER ORGANIZED offers the following services: ORGANIZATION OF HOMES & WORKPLACES, DECLUTTER & ORGANIZE ANY ROOM, ORGANIZE FOR A MOVE, SET UP NEW HOME, HELP DECIDE WHAT TO KEEP/LET GO OF, CREATE CUSTOMIZED SYSTEMS FOR MANAGING PAPERWORK & EFFICIENT FILING SYSTEMS.