Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC

Founded 1995 • With Angi since January 2005

4.6

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1706 Magnolia St

Glenview, IL 60025

Description

5 EMPLOYEES. USES SUBS FOR LABOR. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES. NO SERVICE FEES. ADDITIONAL CONTACT PERSON: ELIZABETH SMOLIGA. MAY CONTACT THROUGH EMAIL....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/12/2020


Abhishek G.

Tom was extremely professional and accurate with his time and cost estimates. He did some very intricate work for us with a stained maple hardwood in herringbone at our new townhome. He did 2 bedrooms and a hallway and would have been done even faster if it wasn't for our weather and how busy the market is. His team was always on time, very respectful of the rest of the house and clean and efficient. Very impressed and highly recommended.

Description of Work
Replacement of carpet with new hardwood - herringbone in bedroom

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

2.0

08/19/2014


JoAnn C.

He didn't come in a timely manner. He would come at night after work hours. I was very dissapointed. I would never reccomend him to anybody. I waited three months to get this service call taken care of and it wasn't done to a satisfactory level. I will be going with another provider.

Description of Work
The contractor reinstalled a new floor.

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Please make corrections to your review so it is accurate and true. Approximate Cost: $4,200 – remaining unpaid balance $1,200.00 Description Of Work: Diagonal installation of 1200 sq. ft. of prefinished flooring with the Bostic Best urethane adhesive; flooring was purchased by the client from an unrelated vendor. Red Oak Hardwood Floor, Inc. did not install the subfloor. Work was done in stages (evenings and weekends) upon agreement with the general contractor accordingly to the price ($4,200). We were hired to install prefinished flooring that the client purchased from an unrelated vendor and it turned out that the product did not meet client’s expectations. The client had a flooring manufacturer representative inspect the flooring and he did not find any wrong doing on our part. Again the client had a flooring inspector inspect the quality of installation done by our company and it was confirmed that the installation was done properly, yet client decided to put a hold on the remaining balance until a year from the project finish date. (Balance due Nov. 2014) We complied with the clients requests to fix dents and scratches on the floor done by other subcontractors and we did not charge the client for those repairs. Meanwhile client decided to post the inaccurate review over 9 months after project completion and before the balance of $1,200.00 came due in Nov. 2014.
2.0

02/11/2013


John M.

The owner who did the work for us was not very professional. He was moody, irritated that he had to redo the flooring, and difficult to understand at times. He did 3 rooms for us in oak. To this day, things are not quite right. We just decided to live with it rather than try a 3rd redo. The install of the oak wood was done well. The staining and top-coating not so well. In summary, Look Elsewhere

Description of Work
3 Rooms of Oak Flooring

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr. [member name removed], First of all I would like to thank you for your review and let you know that we are working hard to keep our clients satisfied and our company’s profile as accurate as possible. I wish we could hear from you in person about your disappointment in the way your floors turned out to be, preferably right after completion of your project and not 2 years later. Sometimes in such period of time some changes like discoloration of the stain and/ or finish can happen due to sun exposure or inadequate cleaning methods. We advise our clients to visit our website (www.RedOakHardwoodFloor.com) for helpful tips on maintaining your floors so the finishes will last as long as possible. Please let us know if we may be of further assistance.
5.0

03/19/2012


suzanne B.

They are amazing. Nobody else could do what I wanted. They think through a project before they jump in and they proceed very carefully. They clean up after themselves and use a dustless system. They are very accommodating to my schedule. I would definitely recommend them to others.

Description of Work
They are putting in new hardwood floor landings on three floors and also new stairs with baseboard molding.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

10/01/2011


Dana Z.

Great! Tom gave several underlayment options and let me know the pros and cons of each. Let me know pros and cons of possible finish colors as it related to some built in book cases and the adjacent kitchen cabinets. Always very friendly and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Refinish very large living room hard wood floors. Floors had scratches & gouges where a sofa had been. Finish an edge where flooring transitioned from HWFL to ceramic tile that had been completed improperly the first time (by the do-it-yourselfer who I bought my condo from).

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

03/20/2011


CHRIS K.

Showed up on time, impressed us with being able to get rid of so many marks on our floors, promised it would take one day and that was true. No fus, no problems.

Description of Work
Sanded down and refinished two hardwood floor bedrooms and repaired numerous defects left over from carpeting laid over on top of the flooring.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

08/08/2010


Amy S.

We contacted the company for estimate on having hardwood installed in our family room and office after reading several angie's list reviews. This being our first venture into the hardwood floor arena Tom was very patient and thorough in answering all questions. An expert in the hardwood floor business, Tom clearly takes great pride in his work and was able to explain all of our flooring options and help us pick the best floor to fit our needs and budget. Once we decided on the type, style and color of floor we received the estimate to compare with our other estimates. The Red Oak estimate was not the cheapest and it was not the highest either, BUT it was the most comprehensive and professional of all the estimates. Once we decided to go with Red Oak Hardwood flooring they were very good about working around our schedule, they arrived on the scheduled date, on time and completed the job in a timely manner. The finished product is fantastic and we could not be happier with the work!!! Their work is simply the best and they are by far one of the best companies we have worked with; ever!!! The employees are very professional, neat (i.e. they did not leave a big mess for me to clean up later) and the quality of workmanship and attention to detail is extraordinary. We will definitely be using this company again in the future.

Description of Work
Supplied and installed red oak hardwood floor in family room and office area of house.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

07/31/2009


ALLEN H.

They also moved the furniture for us. They were very professional and the results were great. We were gone when they did the work, and they were very trustworthy, and trusted them with the keys. They are very knowlegable, and there was very minimal dust.

Description of Work
They resanded and refinished the hardwood floors in our condo.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

01/15/2009


Rachel K.

They did a great job. There was almost no dust. The floors have been transformed. His team was a pleasure to deal with. I interviewed three companies before I settled on Red Oak Flooring. They were by far the most professional of the three and right in the middle for price. Tom's approach is like that of a craftsman. I would use them again.

Description of Work
They sanded down our hardwood floors, stained the floors, then sealed them.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

12/30/2008


Karen R.

Tom was very skilled, offered good suggestions, and the overall craftsmanship was very good. Very punctual, professional and flexible about working around our schedule.

Description of Work
They refinished our hardwood floors.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    BM Hardwood Flooring

    We offer quality and affordable flooring installation services.  

    Wizard Of Wood Floors Ltd

    One of the few Bona Certified Craftman in the entire Midwest. Multiple Angie's List Awards. In business for over 38 years. Only company offering a 5yr warranty. Serves on boards for product development and evaluations. Expert witness in the industry. One of the few that uses all finishes and experienced using all kinds of hardwood flooring. Free estimates. Additional website: wizardofwoodflooring.com.  

    Source One Hardwood Flooring LLC

    Sanding and Refinishing! If you are looking to rejuvenate your home look no further than Source One Hardwood Flooring LLC! With nearly 2 decades of experience we are the foremost authority in home improvement services for the Chicago area. We are a family owned and operated company specializing in all aspects of home improvement, but our bread and butter is all matter of Flooring – Hardwood and Laminate – but offer much more! Contact us today to schedule an appointment for your home.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Source One Hardwood Flooring LLC on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    $10
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    OLD FLOOR REMOVAL AND DISPOSAL, SUBFLOOR, HARDWOOD FLOOR INSTALLATION, NEW AND EXISTING FLOOR REFINISHING, CUSTOM DESIGN, INLAYS AND EXOTIC WOODS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC

    How is RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC overall rated?

    RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC provide

    RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC offers free project estimates.

    Does RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC offer a senior discount?

    No, RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC?

    No, RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC does not offer warranties.

    What services does RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC offer?

    RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC offers the following services: OLD FLOOR REMOVAL AND DISPOSAL, SUBFLOOR, HARDWOOD FLOOR INSTALLATION, NEW AND EXISTING FLOOR REFINISHING, CUSTOM DESIGN, INLAYS AND EXOTIC WOODS.

    Are there any services RED OAK HARDWOOD FLOOR INC does not offer?

    Ask for details