Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Put My Stupid Thing Together

Founded 2009 • With Angi since April 2014

4.9

(86) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

unknown

Glenview, IL 60025

Description

Furniture & Equipment Assembly (indoor and outdoor). Hanging: Stuff, not people, OK? Have Tools, Will Travel. We specialize in RTA (Ready-To-Assemble) furniture: All major brands; IKEA, Sauder, Bush, West Elm, South Shore, All the lines carried by Walmart, Target, etc, and the on-line companies;

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
David L.
5.0
06/15/2019
Great!!!! Immediately returned my call. I gave him make and model number and within the hour he got back to me with a quote along with his availability dates. 2 days later our swing set was assembled and ready for summer fun. Definitely would use again and highly recommended.
Description of Work
Lifetime Swing Set assembly.
Category
playground equipment
Emmanuel A.
5.0
02/17/2019
Wow, what an artistry, Resse was able to put my furniture together better than what I saw at IKEA. I give him five stars call him if you have any job to be done. Satisfied customer!
Description of Work
Assembling Tv stand
Category
handyman service
Brian B.
5.0
09/27/2018
Worked his *** off. Perfectly functioning bed. Stable grab bars. Prices can’t be beat. Would hire again and again!!!
Description of Work
Bunk bed assembly. Grab bars x4.
Category
handyman service
Charmaine G.
5.0
09/10/2018
Reese gave me an estimate over the phone, confirmed details via email 5 minutes later, arrived exactly on time, went right to work, finished in a timely manner, told me exactly what he did and confirmed I was happy with his work, cleaned everything up, and charged me exactly what his estimate was. Would hire him again.
Description of Work
Installed Ikea Runnen deck tiles over flat roof off master bedroom
Category
handyman service
Barbara M.
5.0
02/27/2018
Reese was awesome. If I could give A+ to everything instead of A I would. He is efficient, accurate, personable and so knowledgeable. Anyone who wants to better understand on their own how to handle these boxfuls of parts and screws just hang around while Reese and his associate are working. He's an excellent teacher as well as handyman. I wouldn't call anyone else in the future.
Description of Work
Put together a trundle bed
Category
handyman service, Uncategorized
megan M.
5.0
12/20/2017
Reese is a very prompt communicator. He tells you how much it will cost ahead of time to assemble the pieces you have. He arrives when he says he will. He brings blankets to protect your floors. He has the tools and knowledge to assemble the furniture well. He works quietly, cleanly and efficiently. He is a no nonsense person (at least while on the job). He cleans up after himself and leaves your home exactly as it was before his arrival. You can't say much more than that. He drove an hour each way to get to hour house which tells me he values the opportunity to work. I would definitely use him again if the opportunity came up.
Description of Work
We had 5 Ikea furniture pieces that needed to be assembled.
Category
handyman service
Lary F.
5.0
11/12/2017
I called Reese , he scheduled himself 2 business days later , arrived 5 minutes early. He went over the instructions with me and examined what steps I had prepped. He then put piece-by-piece together , making sure as he went that each piece was ready to work. He scheduled 4 hours and was done in 2!
Description of Work
I bought a desk that had to be assembled by me. I put some of it together and decided that I needed help.
Category
closet systems, handyman service
Megan G.
5.0
05/23/2017
Reece, Mike, and Gerald spent two days putting together our kids swing set. They were fantastic!!!! I would hire them again in a second. I highly recommend using their services!!!
Description of Work
Swing set assembly and installation
Category
handyman service
Angela P.
2.0
05/03/2017
They put my shed together August 2015. In Spring of 2016, I called to say 2 of the panels had blown off over the winter. I asked if he come and put them back up? He was unavailable. I had to pay someone else for the repairs. It is now spring of 2017. This winter 3 panels came off. I now for the 2nd spring in a row have to have someone come repair the shed. I don't know if they didn't use all the building materials or what the problem is, but It is a nice shed. I just picked the wrong people to put it together.
Description of Work
I hired them to put a shed together for the back yard.
Category
handyman service

Service Provider Response

This is an unfair and dishonest review. I assembled your shed in September of 2015. This was a storefront deal. My notes indicate you gave me a $20.00 tip. (which I do not think you would have done if you felt we were unprofessional slobs) In late April of 2016, you reached out to me to repair some panels that had blown off the shed. I made a trip from Glenview to Matteson [around 50 miles one way] to inspect the damage, but you were not there. Since the backyard fence was locked, I was unable to inspect the shed (and my day was wasted). I made several calls to your phone (and the cell-phone records will show that I was in Matteson). You later left me a message saying that you had to go out of town for family issues, and forgot to notify me. I reached out to you again, and I also gave you the contact information for my assistant who lives in nearby Dolton. You never reached out to either of us. These sheds are made of plastic and vinyl with a metal skeleton. They are not indestructible. The Chicago area has seen very severe weather over the last few years. My job websites are overflowing with people who need repair work for wind related damage to things like; sheds, fences, siding, roofs, etc. We used the materials packaged with the shed. Had we used other material, you would have been billed for that, and you were not billed. It is not a good quality shed. On Amazon, the Duramax 10 x 8 shed has a rating of 3 stars with 16 reviews. On the Home Depot website, it has a rating of 3.3 stars with 13 reviews and only 54% recommending purchase. Also, on the Home Depot website, are a number of other Duramax sheds, all with unfavorable ratings. Panels are probably going to continue to come off (some of the reviewers mentioned that problem). Maybe if the first repair crew had done some extra reinforcing, a second repair crew would not be needed. If the second repair crew does not do any reinforcing, you can expect more panels to come off. If you decide to replace the shed, I wish you, and whatever unfortunate contractor you hire, the best of luck.
Chris A.
5.0
04/26/2017
They were so great to work with from planning to how they interacted wonderfully with our family when here to great promptness to a wonderful result. Thank you so much.
Description of Work
Reese and his crew built a Cedar Creek Playset we bought at Costco. They did it in two days just as promised.
Category
playground equipment
George N.
5.0
04/13/2017
Were professional, detail oriented and did a great job hanging everything.
Description of Work
Hung pictures and a large heavy mirror on my walls.
Category
handyman service
Jason B.
5.0
03/20/2017
Excellent. Both men were professional, courteous, and did outstanding work. Can't recommend them highly enough.
Description of Work
I had some wall art and curtain rods to hang.
Category
handyman service
Scott G.
5.0
02/10/2017
It turned out great and we received several compliments Super Bowl weekend when we had people over!! I will most certainly use Reese and co. again for future projects!
Description of Work
They did an excellent job mounting 2 TV's, 2 jersey frames and another larger frame.
Category
handyman service
Denise D.
5.0
01/23/2017
This is my second time hiring this company. Mr. Reese arrived on time, very professional. Mr. Reese brought in all the necessary tools and then he started right away. Mr. Reese performed the necessary task in a timely manner. Mr. Reese also cleaned as he went along. Mr. Reese did a wonderful job and I'm very pleased.
Description of Work
I had a laptop cart, two rolling cart, audio stand and a tv stand put together.
Category
handyman service
Naeem M.
5.0
01/16/2017
Really great. I believe some paintings did not need drilling holes in the wall but its done.
Description of Work
Hanging paintings.
Category
handyman service
Rose M.
5.0
10/23/2016
Reese and his crew did a great job constructing a platform and assembling our Arrow 10x12 metal storage shed. It was a big job and took a few days, but Reese and his guys hung in there, even on rainy days to get the job done, including installing extra screws and 2 anchor kits.
Description of Work
Assemble platform and Arrow 10x12 metal storage shed.
Category
storage units
Kelly B.
5.0
08/11/2016
Service went very well. Reese and his assistant were on time, very cordial and completed the job well and in a timely manner
Description of Work
TV Mounting
Category
handyman service
Matthew M.
5.0
07/19/2016
Reese and his team did a bang-up job. He was easy to coordinate with, very communicative and provided his service in a timely and cost effective manner.
Description of Work
Provider assembled a large, wooden play set.
Category
handyman service
Elizabeth Q.
5.0
07/18/2016
Reese was fantastic. Very thorough and knowledgeable, and he and his assistant worked tirelessly until the projects were completed, all in one day. Reese even had stopped at the hardware store to pick up some extension cords we didn't even know we'd need. Very professional. Thank you!
Description of Work
Assembly of 5 bookcases and a kayak rack hung in the garage
Category
handyman service
Deann P.
5.0
07/13/2016
Reese and his crew were great! They were very professional. They worked thru the 90+ degrees days to get the swing set done for my nephews. Great group of guys.
Description of Work
I needed a Backyard Discovery Swing set built.
Category
handyman service, playground equipment
Nisha K.
5.0
05/31/2016
I have hired Reese many many times over the one year since I moved into my new house and I wish I can hire him full-time! His work knowledge, professionalism, punctuality, etc are all excellent.! He does his research before coming for the job/project and evens follows up after the job is done with any other suggestions and advise. His rate is very very reasonable and his helpers are just as knowledgeable and professionals. He is the BEST!
Description of Work
A huge Armoire & closet systems, hung heavy art works and mirrors, added floating shelves, installed an ironing cabinet, assembled a vanity table set and 2 outdoor sheds, installed window blinds and drapes
Category
closet systems, handyman service, Uncategorized
Kunal A.
5.0
05/19/2016
Extremely satisfied with Reese's work and professionalism. With the help of 2 other guys, Reese spent two full days building an outdoor playset for our son. He was very detail oriented and spent a lot of time organizing all the hardware and really learning all the steps involved. His team was on time every day and worked pretty much non stop until 6pm on both days. Glad I found Reese and will definitely use him again for any handyman type of work.
Description of Work
Built a large outdoor playset
Category
handyman service, playground equipment
Yolanda M H.
5.0
05/19/2016
EXCELLENT! Reese and co-worker arrived on time, fully prepared with tools and such. This is the second time I've used this company and will definitely use it again and highly recommend it. I had 2 mirrors for installation, each weighing approximately 45 lbs. Put Together had all the equipment necessary for installation (i.e., wires, hooks, screws, etc.). In addition to the mirrors I had 10 prints to hang, a table to assemble from Wayfair plus 2 shelving units, all work done within one day, with a guarantee. Put Together also noticed that one of my NEW kitchen cabinet doors was not aligned correctly, they took care of that as well. Did I say I'd use them again? definitely.
Description of Work
Hung mirrors, pictures, put together shelving units.
Category
Uncategorized
Barbie M.
5.0
03/23/2016
The arrival was prompt, he came prepared with all the necessary tools, explained what would happened, cleaned up after the work was complete. Excellent job. Yes, I will use him again.
Description of Work
Put Ikea cabinet together and install, mounted televisions
Category
handyman service
Betty A A.
5.0
03/23/2016
It went very well. They were punctual and professional and they finished in a timely manner.
Description of Work
I am definitely not handy. These two guys were amazing. They put my beautiful floating T.V. stand together and mounted it to my wall. They did a wonderful job.
Category
Uncategorized

    Other local Pros in your area

    FENCEWORKS INC

    Servicing the North Shore and the North Side of the city . Fenceworks is a family owned business that has been around the North Shore since 1967. We specialize in Western Red Cedar Fencing, Aluminum, PVC, Chain Link.  

    Angi Certified

    GARAGE FOR YOU INC

    Chicago garage builders, Garage 4U, Inc. has been building custom garages since 1990. As a family owned and operated small business, service and European craftsmanship allows us to give you - our customer - freedom to choose what you want. Every garage is custom built from first grade materials and we offer a variety of sizes and finishes. No job is too large, no dream is too big. Please call us today for a free estimate. Uses subcontractors for roofing.  

    Angi Certified

    Chicagoland Home Products

    Chicagoland Home Products is an independently owned and operated closet and window treatment company founded in 2011. With over 25 years of experience in design, manufacturing and installation, you can be sure that Chicagoland Home Products will deliver a quality product, whether it's custom closets, garage organizers, pantries or custom window treatments. We accept all major credit cards and we are Better Business Bureau accredited.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Storage
    Artwork/Murals
    Fitness - Equipment
    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Assembly of all "assembly required" products. Some handyman services also offered: Flatscreen installation. Ceiling fan swap outs. Toilet swap outs. I hang a lot of heavy things on walls (mirrors, sculptures, paintings, wine racks, IKEA-BESTA, IKEA-SEKTION, etc.) Proof of insurance, certificate of insurance, or being ADDITIONAL NAMED INSURED: ... can be provided or arranged as needed. My agency is Hausman-Kunkel out of Roselle, IL. Due to customer demand, I now offer picture hanging.

    Services Not Offered

    Trash Hauling. We do not re-assemble used swingsets. We do not run electrical conduit.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Put My Stupid Thing Together

    How is Put My Stupid Thing Together overall rated?

    Put My Stupid Thing Together is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Put My Stupid Thing Together open?

    Put My Stupid Thing Together is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Put My Stupid Thing Together provide

    Put My Stupid Thing Together accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

    Does Put My Stupid Thing Together offer free estimates?

    No, Put My Stupid Thing Together does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Put My Stupid Thing Together offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Put My Stupid Thing Together does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Put My Stupid Thing Together?

    Yes, Put My Stupid Thing Together offers warranties.

    What services does Put My Stupid Thing Together offer?

    Put My Stupid Thing Together offers the following services: Assembly of all "assembly required" products. Some handyman services also offered: Flatscreen installation. Ceiling fan swap outs. Toilet swap outs. I hang a lot of heavy things on walls (mirrors, sculptures, paintings, wine racks, IKEA-BESTA, IKEA-SEKTION, etc.) Proof of insurance, certificate of insurance, or being ADDITIONAL NAMED INSURED: ... can be provided or arranged as needed. My agency is Hausman-Kunkel out of Roselle, IL. Due to customer demand, I now offer picture hanging.

    Are there any services Put My Stupid Thing Together does not offer?

    Trash Hauling. We do not re-assemble used swingsets. We do not run electrical conduit.