The Handy Veteran

About

Founded 2017 • With Angi since July 2017

*CURRENTLY BOOKED OUT THROUGH MID JANUARY 2023* The Handy Veteran is a veteran owned and operated company. We offer free estimates and stand by our motto of professional and dependable services. We want to be the one stop shop handyman for you. We offer active duty and veteran discounts....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+8 more images

Verified Reviews

5.0

(104) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

101

4

3

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

handyman (74)woodworking (29)drywall (18)flooring (15)interior painting (13)door installation (10)house painting (8)basement remodeling (6)deck cleaning (6)plumbers (6)home remodeling (5)fence company (4)
Showing 1-25 of 104 reviews
5.0

07/15/2022


Steven K.

Very Happy with work done Install of 2 storm doors 2 men were ontime Very polite Very professional Awesome job

Description of Work
Installation of 2 storm doors

Category decks, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2022

Images

Review for The Handy Veteran - PO Box 105, Fox Lake, IL - 39800268

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to see you had a wonderful experience with us.
5.0

04/13/2022


Jamie K.

Kevin was amazing. He came when he said he would and was on time. His work was excellent and he cleaned up after. I would highly recommend The Handy Veteran.

Description of Work
Drywall

Category drywall

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much, it was great working with you and we hope to help with all future projects.
5.0

03/21/2022


Eva O.

Exceeded my expectations in every way possible. HIGH quality craftsmanship. Very accurate on time/cost quote. Completed on time. Fair cost. Honest & trustworthy. Explained everything in detail. Went above and beyond for customer service. Worked diligently. A delight to have in our home. Couldn't be happier.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category home remodeling

Cost $8,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/21/2022

Images

Review for The Handy Veteran - PO Box 105, Fox Lake, IL - 39669858

+3 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much, we were happy to do the job and glad to hear we exceeded all expectations.
5.0

12/15/2021


Barbara R.

Kevin was great, I was worried it would come down during the winds and winter and my dogs would get out of the yard. They fixed it and the fence is not going any where nor are my dogs. Kevin is booked until July but came out for me. My great thanks to the Veteran

Description of Work
Fence falling down

Category fencing

Cost $175

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/17/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy we could help!
5.0

10/28/2021


Nancy A.

PERFECT! Kevin's work is outstanding! We are very impressed! He is VERY easy to work with, reasonable, reliable, and timely.

Description of Work
Closet door repairs, storm door repairs, repair crack in stairs, repair crack in ceiling

Category drywall, handyman service, woodworking, doors

Cost $1,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2021

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your kind words, we strive to be all of those things!
5.0

10/04/2021


Chuck M.

Great,very professional, excellent work ethic, kept me in the loop as the project moved forward. Started when they said they would,very reliable,

Description of Work
Exterior Trim Replacemenr

Category handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2021

Service Provider Response

We appreciate you as a returned customer, we look forward to working on your next project!
5.0

09/09/2021


Jessica T.

The remodel went great. The team was super flexible with our ordered flooring material delays. I'm very happy with the end results.

Description of Work
Flooring, Painting, Drywall

Category drywall, flooring contractor, interior painters, doors, basement remodeling

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2021

Service Provider Response

We are glad to hear you are happy with how everything turned out!
5.0

08/09/2021


Dawn & Richard B.

Kevin and his crew worked for 5 full days to complete the deck. Most days they worked past 6. The deck is beautiful and very sturdy. I really love the finishing details around the pool. The stairs are wide, and I really like how he built the gate out of our existing deck. The final detail was the lattice around the back wall.

Description of Work
Deck

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your great review! We hope you get to enjoy your deck for the rest of the summer.
5.0

07/06/2021


Angela K.

Great! Will always recommend the Handy Veteran!

Description of Work
Deck Maintenance

Category drywall, handyman service, remodeling, deck cleaning, interior painters

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/06/2021

Service Provider Response

We appreciate that, we will be here for the next one.
5.0

07/06/2021


Nancy H.

Great job! Very prompt, worked quickly & professionally completed.

Description of Work
Siding

Category siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/06/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we try our best to work quickly but professionally!
5.0

06/01/2021


Rick P.

Excellent; Kevin realized the floor had hump issues and came up with the best (and cheaper) solution to do the job beautifully.

Description of Work
Flooring; install hard-wood floor over plywood sub-floor.

Category flooring contractor

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/02/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, we were happy to help!
5.0

05/28/2021


Kirk H.

trustworthy, dependable, and quality

Description of Work
Deck, Bathroom

Category drywall, flooring contractor, deck cleaning, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2021

Service Provider Response

That is what we strive for, thank you!
5.0

04/23/2021


Rose R.

Excellent. Kevin problem solved our issue and got straight to work to fix it and prevent future issues. Definitely our go-to handyman going forward.

Description of Work
Deck to house repair

Category handyman service, deck cleaning

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/23/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you would use us again in the future.
5.0

04/14/2021


SCOTT C.

Perfectly - Kevin and his helper arrived on time to replace a back door at our house. They noticed some repair work was potentially needed to replace a wooden board, which they did. I couldn’t be more pleased.

Description of Work
Doors

Category doors

Cost $550

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2021

Images

Review for The Handy Veteran - PO Box 105, Fox Lake, IL - 39294557

Service Provider Response

We are glad that we were able to help with another project of yours. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!
5.0

04/05/2021


Lynn W.

Kevin was very professional and friendly. He moved through the project quickly and I was very satisfied. The mantle is beautiful. I would definitely hire Kevin again and I highly recommend him.

Description of Work
Fireplace Mantel

Category woodworking

Cost $875

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/02/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, it was fun to build and look forward to hopefully working with you again.
5.0

03/01/2021


Theresa M.

Kevin and his team were wonderful. They were punctual, courteous, and very neat about clean up. He framed 5 windows and they all look crisp and bright. A+ on a thorough job which he stayed late to finish in just one day.

Description of Work
Window Framing

Category woodworking

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/26/2021

Service Provider Response

That is great to hear, I am glad that we were able to help!
5.0

01/19/2021


Randy R.

The work we had done went very well. We had a few pieces of siding that blew off replaced, a handrail installed going up the stairs, and a powder room painted. All work done quickly and very well. Kevin and his wife Laura, hope I got that right, are both very nice to work with. Hire him, we certainly will again.

Description of Work
Install Handrail, Siding Repair, Painting

Category handyman service, interior painters

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/19/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review, we appreciate you being a customer and hope to work with you again in the future!
5.0

12/16/2020


SCOTT C.

It went extremely well; he was able to come make repairs to the fence on relatively short notice, and did a superlative job. I’ve just booked for a door installation next spring.

Description of Work
Fence Repair

Category fencing

Cost $185

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2020

Service Provider Response

We are glad that we would help you with your project and we are looking forward to the next one.
5.0

12/16/2020


Amy N.

Kevin was punctual and professional. He completed the job on schedule and he did amazing work! We love the new look the gables add to the front if our home! We already scheduled him to come back for a basement finishing project.

Description of Work
Roof Gables

Category handyman service, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/16/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to working on your basement!
5.0

12/14/2020


Norma W.

Excellent,I am very happy with the work that was done. I would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Interior Painting

Category interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we are looking forward to your next project with us.
5.0

10/28/2020


Dominick D.

With 5 homes and numerous home improvement projects I have a lot of experience in this area. Kevin and his team surpassed my expectations in every way! With any job, especially one of this size, your going to have things that come up. Kevin and his crew handled it like true professionals and always put us, the customer, first. The quality of the work was too notch and we couldn’t be more pleased with the final product. Kevin is a very very talented carpenter and a perfectionist! They have earned my future business!

Description of Work
Flooring, painting, stairwell, tile on fireplace

Category drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/28/2020

Service Provider Response

We are so thankful you are happy with the work we did. We hope you enjoy your new flooring, fireplace and stairwell!
5.0

09/11/2020


Billy D.

Kevin and Miles were absolutely spectacular! They were very knowledgeable, understanding, prompt, and precise. Their attention to detail and ability to adapt to unforeseen issues was amazing. We highly recommend The Handy Veteran!

Description of Work
Shelving, deck built, wall hangings

Category handyman service, woodworking

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/11/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we look forward to working with you again in the future.