Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES

Founded 1992 • With Angi since July 2003

4.8

(48) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

P.O. Box 6

Fox Lake, IL 60020

Description

Mark Goebel Enterprises, Inc. sets the standard for landscaping services in Northern Illinois and Southern Wisconsin. ....................................................................... "Beyond Compare" is more than a space-holding term. Our approach, from the first telephone call to final

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Steve J.
5.0
06/23/2018
Prompt and professional service. They showed up when they said they would and finished on-time. The work was meticulously done and the end result was exactly what I was looking for. Mark was very accommodating with the crazy requirements of the village of Lake Zurich. I interviewed a lot of contractors for this project, Mark stood way above the rest. I highly recommend Mark and his great team.
Description of Work
Residential Drainage
Category
excavators, lawn service, drain pipe

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed], It was a pleasure working with you, and glad we were able to fix your severe drainage situation. Mark
Louis T.
5.0
10/14/2017
We had an existing landscape retaining Wall installed a few years ago. Over time it sagged. Called Goebel out and they corrected the problem in a couple of days. Men were very attentive and cooperative as well as Mr. Goebel. I would recommend them to anyone. Very satisfied.
Description of Work
Remove existing retaining wall and rebuild
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Raul P.
4.0
09/30/2017
It was okay, they did a good job. I'd give them "B's" across the board. I would not use them again.
Description of Work
Put bricks on driveway.
Category
hardscaping
Steven K.
5.0
07/24/2017
Mark was very prompt in his estimates and arrived on time to all of our meetings. He worked with my ideas to guide me and develop the best possible design outcomes. His team was courteous and respectful of the adjacent landscapes and neighbors. The work was timely, neat, and very professional. It was noticeable that Mark had invested well in his equipment, as well as selecting talented team members for his jobs. They had access to the right equipment to keep the pace moving and the job site safe. The work was done on time and to the estimate. A crushed stone foundation was added to the wall base and geo-mesh was used to prevent the possibility of future wall leaning. The results exceeded my expectations. The family is pleased and excited about the new look to our pool area. I am confident that this is one job that will not need to be redone again in the future.
Description of Work
Mark's team rebuilt a 5' tall by 60' long block retaining wall that supported a terraced yard section used to contain my in-the-ground pool. The 21 year old wall was sinking and beginning to fail. The blocks were still of a contemporary design so they were able to be reused saving me the cost of new blocks. The team power washed each block so the wall material now looks new. The team also expanded the adjacent pool patio deck area 8'x30' with pavers, and added in red lava rock as a boarder around the patio.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping, patios
Gerard V.
4.0
05/22/2017
Yard looks great! He did mention some of my tree branches would be trimmed also but I didn't see that anything was done there.
Description of Work
Spring cleanup with edging and weeding mulch beds.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Theresa R.
5.0
04/27/2017
The work was complete as scheduled, and for the first time the property looks great. Mark and his crew did an amazing job.
Description of Work
A complete overhaul of lawn and landscaping of East and front side of property.
Category
excavators, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, mulch, drain pipe, hardscaping
Theresa R.
5.0
04/18/2017
He has very reasonable prices. I am going to have him to include landscaping this year. His workers are fantastic and professional. I like his guys.
Description of Work
Mow lawn, fertilize, weed and feed.
Category
lawn treatment
George K.
5.0
11/24/2016
The work was done very carefully and completely. Mark's crew was thorough and careful and understanding of my situation (recovering from a recent hospital stay). Felix, the crew leader, was in communication with me as needed, although the job was somewhat straight-forward.
Description of Work
I had a modified fall clean-up - leaves were blown and picked-up - to allow for an easier winter/spring.
Category
lawn service
Kori A.
5.0
11/18/2016
Everything was completed to my satisfaction. The workers were very professional, courteous and prompt.
Description of Work
A new walkway and porch were built leading up to my front door.
Category
hardscaping, patios
Sarah D.
5.0
11/16/2016
Entire job from estimate through completion of work was perfect.
Description of Work
Underground gutter and sump pump drain systems were old, clogged, and needed replacement.
Category
drain pipe, hardscaping
Larry W.
5.0
11/06/2016
Everything went extremely well. The crew was polite and professional. The work was meticulously installed paying attention to detail. End of the day cleanup was great. I do not have any issues with this contractor at all and would use them again.
Description of Work
We had a hardscape planter border installed in the back and side yard along with stone steps and two paver areas.
Category
hardscaping
Wesley K.
1.0
11/01/2016
See above work to be done. There wan't any.
Description of Work
We never asked for pricing from this company, we were just looking to see who was out there. Sorry for any inconvenience.
Category
hardscaping
Mary V.
5.0
10/11/2016
This company is simply amazing. Their level of professionalism exceeded our expectations and the quality of their products is far superior to anything I've seen in the past. Mark, the owner is extremely nice and helpful. He came out several times and provided lots of advise and suggestions on what to plant. Then he checked up on his guys when they were doing the job, and finally came back several days later to make sure all was done right. He is also always available and helpful with any advice or questions we have. I will not hesitate to recommend him to family and friends. Overall very happy with service, product, and the overall experience.
Description of Work
Planted arborvitae trees.
Category
hardscaping
Paul S.
5.0
10/11/2016
Probably the best company I ever delt with. Mark is very professional and just an overall nice guy. The price seems high but for the amount of work they did, I got a good deal. Very upfront and knowledgeable. I was impressed and would use them again.
Description of Work
Leveled the back yard, removed debris and added top dressing. Front yard surveyed the driveway and added gravel. Built front paver patio and paver border. Removed tree and added plants.
Category
excavators, mulch, hardscaping
JOHN W.
5.0
08/21/2016
Prices were competitive and work was completed promptly. We were satisfied with the work that was done. We will be continuing to utilize this service.
Description of Work
Bi-monthly lawn mowing and yard clean up.
Category
lawn service
George K.
5.0
12/21/2015
The clean-up went very well. The weather caused several days delay by itself. Once the weather broke, everything came together just fine. Leaves were gathered and taken away and the perennials were cut down as we agreed. The crew was very considerate of our yard decorations and they conducted themselves professionally,
Description of Work
Mark and his crew came out and performed a fall clean-up for us.
Category
lawn service, hardscaping
Mark Y.
5.0
11/15/2015
Mark and his crew provided excellent services at a great price. I'd definitely use them again!
Description of Work
Final grading
Category
hardscaping
Gregory B.
5.0
11/07/2015
Mark was quick to come out & take a look, quick with an estimate and quick to get the job done. Could not have gone any smoother, looks great and we saved a little with the coupon. Outstanding sevice.
Description of Work
Added a paved ribbon walkway beside driveway.
Category
hardscaping
Jason K.
5.0
08/24/2015
Mark showed true professionalism and patience upon his initial site visit to assess the situation in order to provide an accurate fee proposal. After interviewing several landscape companies, Goebel Enterprises, Inc was far and away the company that we wanted to have work on our project. Mark created a design within our budget and listened to our concerns about on going maintenance. Not only did Mark provide an excellent design, he shocked us by suggesting we do a little less initially in order to live with the changes so we didn't feel overwhelmed by the modifications. His workers are excellent, polite, and professional as well. Mark made several site visits to verify the work being performed and our satisfaction with the end product. In short; huge success and we'd recommend Goebel Enterprises, Inc to any of our friends and family.
Description of Work
Landscape renovation for our single family home. Designed layout to compliment and improve what we already have in place.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Michelle Z.
5.0
06/02/2015
They did an excellent job. Our lot is a little to big to cut and we hadn't gotten around to it. Mark came out, estimated it, which was very reasonable and agreed to have someone there to do the first cut. Looked great. He will be coming back on a weekly basis. Would highly recommend and will continue to use.
Description of Work
Lawn cutting on a weekly basis.
Category
lawn service
Michelle Z.
5.0
05/29/2015
Was very easy to deal with. Estimate that was provided was fair. He came to the house on scheduled day to cut the lawn and did an excellent job. Very easy to work with.
Description of Work
Lawn cutting
Category
lawn service, hardscaping
Nat C.
5.0
05/10/2015
Everything went great from start to finish. Mark was very helpful in suggesting improvements to my backyard that needed a lot of work. The paver work was expertly done and the plants and shrubs selected complimented the area very nicely. The side beds were reshaped and existing boulders around the yard were incorporated into a very smooth design. Everything was fantastic and was above and beyond by expectations. Lots of unexpected little improvements were a nice touch. Very professional and highly recommend.
Description of Work
Installation of a paver walkway, landscaping, reseeding and clean-up.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
PATTI L.
5.0
05/08/2015
Original grading of yard was above foundation in certain places, causing large water problems in basement, beyond capacity of waterproofing. In addition, back yard sloped toward house, thus increasing water problems. Mark created solutions and he and his crew worked to implement them. Ground near house was lowered below foundation (quite a feat since all electrical, gas, telephone, and cable lines came in at that side of the house). Then sump pump and three downspouts from roof were connected, separately, to underground piping and pop-ups far from house, where ground fell away. Near foundation, brick was installed as retaining walls for ground at and around corner of house and for gas-powered electrical generator. Smaller rocks were laid over ground next to house to provide footing and drainage. Ground near back of house was plowed to create a long channel to move excess water, that would normally go toward house, to the south and toward ground that naturally sloped away from the house. As a result of Mark and his team, the basement is dry and the yard where they labored looks great!
Description of Work
Lowered ground near house, installed drainage, from downspouts and sump pump, leading to pop-up water outlets far from house, and grading sloping backyard away from house.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, drain pipe, hardscaping
Kathy H.
5.0
04/25/2015
Mark contacted me immediately, came out quickly for an estimate, and scheduled the installation as soon as I got all the permits and finished a job they were working on. They arrived at 6:30 AM to start work on a Wednesday, worked until 6:00 PM that day, and completed the entire job by noon on Thursday. I was so impressed with the work, the quality, the clean up, and every part of the process. Mark is available by phone or text, and responds immediately when contacted. I would very highly recommend them for any type of landscaping project. Thank you Mark...you were amazing!!!
Description of Work
Mark and his crew installed a 7' x 18' brick paver patio.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Carolyn C.
4.0
10/15/2014
I had to straighten things out that I didn't like. It didn't turn out well. He sent the crew in but he didn't supervise. When I complained, he asked me what I wanted. I told him that he should have been there. When he showed up, he straightened everything up because I didn't like the way his foreign brand crew come in here and think they could do what I want without talking to me. He did it the way I wanted it but I don't want to go through things twice. The job turned out well but getting there was tough. It was good. He did the job and he did what was asked. It was a good price.
Description of Work
They did the landscaping.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review,but I would like to share a few concerns and clarify some details. I am taken back by your wording of my crew "FOREIGN BRAND CREW" . To me they are like family. I would like to stat that this work was being done on a very old flagstone retaining wall installed by someone else many years ago. The homeowner asked me to repair only a small portion of the wall that had sunken & settled over the years. I set up the job (as I always do initially upon starting a new project)with my foreman & showed him in detail what I expected of him to complete on this particular repair. Anytime you are trying to fix a small portion of an existing wall with this type of material it will never look like brand new. Upon my return to review the job & get final payment the clients son stated that they were not happy with the work.I asked him what would make them happy with this project ,and he said to do a little additional work on a very small portion of the overall work that we had done. I had the crew return in the coming days to complete the request & everything was ok/d and paid in full. Sincerely, Mark Goebel

    Other local Pros in your area

    CHICAGOLAND BRICK PAVING AND LANDSCAPE

    Small business with less than 20 employees working for you our customer. We provide customized landscape/hardscape design and installation to meet your needs and desires.  

    Angi Certified

    ARROWHEAD BRICK PAVERS

    Arrowhead Brick Pavers Inc. is an experienced company that takes great pride in our superior custom hardscape installations. Our experienced staff will help bring custom designs and quality installations to each and every customer. We install over 200,000 square feet of pavers every year and have over 35 years in hardscape installations. We are backed by Unilock and are considered one of their top residential installers as well as an authorized Weber dealer. All of our work is fully guaranteed. We are also a complaint free member of the Better Business Bureau with hundreds of satisfied customers. We sincerely look forward to working with you on your custom installation and bringing "outdoor living" to your home.  

    Angi Certified

    Salinas Landscaping & Construction

    For an immediate response to all of your hardscaping and landscaping needs... Call Roberto @ (847) 544-1747  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    lawn maintenance, spring & fall clean ups, design & plant material installations, brick pavers, retainings walls

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES

    How is MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES overall rated?

    MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES open?

    MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES provide

    MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES offer free estimates?

    Yes, MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES offers free project estimates.

    Does MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES offer a senior discount?

    No, MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES does not offer a senior discount.

    Does MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES offer emergency services?

    Yes, MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES?

    Yes, MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES offers warranties.

    What services does MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES offer?

    MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES offers the following services: lawn maintenance, spring & fall clean ups, design & plant material installations, brick pavers, retainings walls

    Are there any services MARK GOEBEL ENTERPRISES does not offer?

    ask for details