Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

EVANSTON GLASS & MIRROR LTD

Founded 2001 • With Angi since September 2002

6 EMPLOYEES. NO SUBS. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGES.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(30) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 30 reviews
VICKI S.
5.0
05/01/2017
The men were prompt, efficient and really nice. I was so impressed that hired the company to replace some windows in my home.
Description of Work
I needed a bathroom mirror re mounted.
Category
glass repair, replacement windows
ROBERT F.
5.0
01/02/2016
Did a great job. Very professional, fair price for the job.
Description of Work
Came out within 30 minutes on New Years Eve. Was able to replace broken window without needing to resort to board-up.
Category
glass repair, replacement windows
Anne K.
1.0
03/25/2014
The company was unprofessional and seemed very nonchalant about getting someone out to get my window measured. When I called back in 6 days and they still had not measured the window, I received no apology. The man on the phone said he could get out to measure the window in a day or two (which he had already said a week earlier) so I said I would prefer to go to another company. He said, "well that's your option." No apology, no acknowledgement of poor service.
Description of Work
I called to ask for an estimate on a broken transom window at our house. They man who answered the phone said they would get out to measure it in a day or two. I called 6 days later to see whether they had been out to measure the window and he said they just didn't get to it yet. So the provider really did NOTHING except waste my time.
Category
glass repair
Jonathan S.
5.0
10/14/2013
I accidentally broke a window Sunday night, and figured I would have another cracked window replaced. One of my neighbors suggested Evanston Glass. I called them Sunday evening and they returned my call the next morning. There was a bit of confusion about scheduling because his guys got stuck at another job, which happens. Once they were there they did the job quickly, neatly, and professionally. The price was pretty reasonable, and they matched the privacy glass in the bathroom. I'd say that the overall experience was good. I wish the guy in charge of scheduling had communicated with me a bit better, but in the end I got my windows fixed pretty well within 24 hours of the call, at a good price.
Description of Work
Replaced two broken windows.
Category
replacement windows
Joseph C.
5.0
07/09/2013
Professional, courteous, and prompt.
Description of Work
Switched out existing full length windows.
Category
glass repair
JEFFREY S.
5.0
07/12/2012
Great job - very punctual. Both the screens and the glass look great!
Description of Work
replaced screens on patio, installed glass tops to bedroom dressers.
Category
glass repair
Burton K.
1.0
06/15/2012
He was just horrible. He wasted time, could not measure without assistance and in the end I had to pick up the glass shelf because he would not deliver it. He forgot the other shelf I asked him to make. He wasted my time, did not appear confident he could do the work and in the end would only take a check. Don't use this guy!
Description of Work
Had a plant shelf made for a bay window. Don't let him measure. He did it wrong. Missed several appointments.
Category
glass repair
Mary Ellen B.
5.0
01/12/2012
called for an estimate someone was out in a day and i was called with the estimate made an appointment for installation arrived on time did a fine job cost was a bit lower than the estimate
Description of Work
replaced two thermopane window panes
Category
replacement windows
PAM M.
1.0
12/27/2011
The appointment was set for 5-5:30 on a Monday afternoon. Someone called me at around 5:30 and said that an employees vehicle had stalled and he had to pick him up. He said he would call me the following day and reschedule. I never heard from him again. No surprise.
Description of Work
Needed an in home measure for a vanity mirror with two sconce cut outs. Called early in the remodel to get an estimated price and to confirm that they would service my area.
Category
glass repair
Kirsty C.
5.0
09/10/2011
We removed the door with the cracked mirror and took it in to the store. They gave us a price of $45and a ready date of one week. The work actually ended up taking more than two weeks. The mirror looks good, although it extends a fraction of an inch over the edge of the door, so it doesn't quite match the other mirrors on the other two doors. It does look much better, and this is not something that is readily obvious or that bothers me unless I really stop to look closely, which I don't, now that it is installed.
Description of Work
Replaced cracked beveled mirror on door of medicine cabinet.
Category
glass repair
Judy S.
5.0
06/24/2011
They were very good, very quick and very reasonable.
Description of Work
I used the services of Evanston Glass & Mirror last week and they brought my glass tabletop.
Category
glass repair
lila V.
5.0
05/19/2011
They did a great job and did exactly what I needed them to do. They originally told me to bring the storm windows to the shop for repair, but when I discovered I wouldn't be able to take them down on my own, they sent someone to pick them up. When the work was finished, they delivered and reinstalled them. I just told them which windows I needed fixed, and I didn't need to be home for the pick up or the delivery. I had originally planned to have them make a new replacement storm for another smaller window, which they came and measured for when they picked up the other windows for repair. I think maybe the order for the new storm got lost in the shuffle, because the two with the replacement glass were finished before the order for the new storm was even placed (it took a couple of weeks). It actually turned out OK because I decided against having the new window made, and I was able to cancel the order no problem. Still, I was glad to know they could do it, and the price estimate for the work was very reasonable. They were flexible and accommodating, and the work was well done.
Description of Work
Replaced plexiglass in large wood storm window with glass, and replaced cracked glass in separate storm window. They picked up and delivered/reinstalled the windows.
Category
replacement windows
PIETER D.
5.0
12/29/2010
They were very efficient. They gave a price that was half of what another company was estimating.
Description of Work
We had an estimate from them for a door mirror.
Category
glass repair
Herbert S.
5.0
10/29/2010
He did outstanding work. He is "no frills", and this translates into tremendous savings for the consumer. His nearest competitor was nearly double in terms of price. We had planned on replacing the door, but he was able to repair it and saved us thousands of dollars. I appreciate his low-pressures sale approach, too.
Description of Work
He replaced the glass in a sliding patio door.
Category
glass repair
jack L.
4.0
07/19/2010
Work was done well. I walked in down the street and told them what i wanted, i came in a couple hours later and picked it up.
Description of Work
Wanted a little glass/plexi-glass shelf. They were suppose to double the edges, but they had not. It was not a big issue so it did not matter to much.
Category
glass repair
Nancy R.
5.0
06/30/2010
They are very, very good at what they do, from coming out to the house, measuring, etc. I highly recommend them.
Description of Work
I've had several projects for Evanston Glass and Mirror: they made a glass cover for an antique dresser I used as a changing table, they've replaced ripped screens, made a heat resistant glass table cover, replaced a foyer window, and I'm about to go to them this week for another ripped screen (I should mention all these projects are from baby/toddler and puppies!).
Category
glass repair
Leigha K.
5.0
01/23/2010
Work was done very quickly. Measurements were perfect. They delivered them and "installed" them, taking the time to clean thoroughly and fit them perfectly on the furniture. One piece I measured wrong, and it was taken away to redo for no extra charge. I think they went the extra mile. Pleasant to deal with. Only drawback is that they only take checks or cash. I've also brought several screens to be repaired over the years - pricing is reasonable and job is done well. Support local businesses like this!
Description of Work
Ordered 7 pieces of custom glass for table tops (dining room, nightstand, media console, desk, etc.).
Category
glass repair
David B.
3.0
06/16/2009
So, they replaced two large windows in our apartment and did a good job with the actual placement i.e they don't leak and they look good. That said, I have a few problems with the service. First of all, they left caulking material all over the hardwood floors around where they were working. It would be impossible for them to not notice the mess they made - and of course, they didn't clean it up. Second thing is their overall demeanor in the house. They were efficient and courteous, but some of their conversation was not professional. That said, most of it was in Spanish, but I know enough to know what is appropriate and what is not, especially when in front of a customer. As for the price, I am sure it was a good price, however, I didn't handle the details so I can't say exactly what we paid. Overall, functional windows at a good price, but leaving a mess behind completely sours the entire experience - not to mention that I have to clean it up.
Description of Work
Replaced two large windows
Category
glass repair
DORIS D.
5.0
09/06/2007
We were extremely pleased with the whole project. The company made appointments for their estimate and to install the windows and showed up right on time. The same 2 men made the estimate, and did the work. They were very careful, pleasant and neat, cleaning up completely before they left. This was a difficult installation as the 2 windows could only be reached from the roof, and under an overhang, while the temperature outside was over 90 degrees. We would certainly use Evanston Glass again for any window or glass need and recommend them highly to others.
Description of Work
Two very competent and nice men came to measure and estimate 2 broken celestory type thermal windows broken in a severe hail storm. It took a couple of weeks for the glass to be ordered (we were told this in advance) and then the same men installed the new windows.
Category
replacement windows
GORDON C.
5.0
10/09/2006
Delivered windows at a very reasonable price, and in less time than forecast.
Description of Work
Fabricate a set of 10 large storm windows, with aluminum frames.
Category
replacement windows
Steven T.
5.0
08/30/2006
They were very prompt and professional. They did all the work for less than I expected the price to be.
Description of Work
They replaced a thermal pane in my basement.
Category
glass repair
WILLIAM R.
2.0
10/19/2005
THEY CAME OUT TO GIVE AN ESTIMATE ON SEVERAL CUSTOM-SIZED THERMO PANE WINDOWS. SAID THEY WOULD PROVIDE ESTIMATE WITHIN THE WEEK. BUT THEY DID NOT. I CALLED TWICE TO CHECK AND EACH TIME THEY OFFERED AN EXCUSE AND PROMISED TO RESPOND IMMEDIATELY. NEVER DID.
Description of Work
ESTIMATE FOR THERMO-PANE WINDOWS.
Category
replacement windows
CARY C.
5.0
04/04/2005
EXCELLENT. MORE THAN HALF THE COST OF SACOCCHI GLASS IN WINNETKA. PROBABLY BECAUSE EVANSTON GLASS & MIRROR DID THE WORK IN-HOUSE.
Description of Work
THEY REPLACED AN IRREGULAR-SHAPED MIRROR.
Category
glass repair
MEL & JANIS L.
4.0
10/14/2003
THE WORK DONE WAS VERY GOOD. HOWEVER IT TOOK TWO DAYS AND A SECOND CALL FOR THEM GET BACK TO US. IT HAPPENS FROM TIME TO TIME, THE OWNER WAS APOLOGETIC.
Description of Work
REPLACE GLASS IN ONE THERMO-PANE WINDOW AND THE GLASS IN OTHER WINDOWS.
Category
glass repair
SUE & JOE C.
2.0
10/09/2003
DID NOT RETURN CALLS. MY IMPRESSION IS THAT SINCE THIS WAS A SMALL JOB, THEY DID NOT RESPOND. ORIGINALLY, I SPOKE WITH A SERVICEMAN AND HE SAID HE WOULD COME OUT WITHIN A WEEK TO INSPECT THE WINDOWS AND PROVIDE AN ESTIMATE. HE WAS PLEASANT AND SAID HE WOULD TRY TO GET OUT IN THE NEXT WEEK. I CALLED BACK 1 1/2 WEEKS LATER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE PERSON I SPOKE TO WAS OUT SICK AND THAT HE WOULD HAVE TO CALL ME WHEN HE RETURNS, ANOTHER TECH SAID HE WAS RETURNING THE NEXT DAY. I AGAIN GAVE THE SECOND SALES PERSON MY PHONE NUMBER AND ALL THE PARTICULARS AND HAVE NEVER HEARD FROM THEM SINCE.
Description of Work
CALLED TO SET UP A TIME FOR THEM TO COME OUT TO PROVIDE AN ESTIMATE ON THE WINDOW REPAIR WORK REQUIRED.
Category
replacement windows

Phone

Address

2903 CENTRAL ST

Evanston, IL 60201

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

GLASS & MIRROR. PRODUCTS & SERVICE.

Services not offered

PAINTING (TRIM, ETC.), AUTO GLASS. NEW WINDOW INSTALLATION.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

EVANSTON GLASS & MIRROR LTD is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

EVANSTON GLASS & MIRROR LTD is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

EVANSTON GLASS & MIRROR LTD accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, EVANSTON GLASS & MIRROR LTD offers free project estimates.

No, EVANSTON GLASS & MIRROR LTD does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, EVANSTON GLASS & MIRROR LTD does not offer a senior discount.

No, EVANSTON GLASS & MIRROR LTD does not offer warranties.

EVANSTON GLASS & MIRROR LTD offers the following services: GLASS & MIRROR. PRODUCTS & SERVICE.

PAINTING (TRIM, ETC.), AUTO GLASS. NEW WINDOW INSTALLATION.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

FB Construction, Inc.

5.0

(24)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

FB Construction, Inc.

General contractor with expertise in multiple categories including full gut rehab, windows, doors, siding, bathrooms, kitchens, additions and more! Over 40 years of industry experience allows us to start and finish any project efficiently, effectively, and on budget.  

Next Door & Window

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Next Door & Window

Here at Next Door and Window, we a ready to bring you the best options for your new window and home door project. Next Door and Window has the best windows by Marvin, Integrity, Marvin Infinity and Sunrise. Wood Clad, Vinyl and Fiberglass Windows and Entry and Patio Doors by Albany and Provia. Next Door and Window will have one of their highly trained professionals meet with you and discuss all the possible options for your window and door project, they will then provide you with a FREE NO OBLIGATION quote for your project. Best of all, Next Door and Window will paint or stain your window and trim to match any color you need with our paint match program. Most others leave the project for you to finish with paint or stain, but, at Next Door and Window we do that for you! Next Door and Window also provides the best installation procedures and materials to make certain your project is done right and we back it with the industries best warranties. We have a full team of installation and service professionals to answer your questions…fast! If a visit is necessary to your home we will work around your schedule within a half-hour window of time to handle your issue quickly, often within 24 hours. We have over 25 trucks in the field to serve you fast. We are there when you need us. Additional DBA - Wolt Window & Door. Additional showroom addresses: 815 E. Ogden Ave, Naperville, IL 60563, & 718 E Rand Rd Arlington Heights, IL 60004.  

Siding & Windows Group specializes in exterior remodeling, including siding, windows, doors and roofing replacement, as well as decks & porches. Our ability to provide the best customer experience, combined with the highest quality products in the industry, helps us give homeowners a value that is unmatched. We continuously research and educate our team on the best quality products and thoroughly train each member of our team for the simple intent of giving our customers the comfort that they are in good hands with top-notch service. It is our great pleasure for our clients to admire the diligent high attention to detail of our work and enjoy the results: a great looking home with products that lasts for decades . We provide ethical specifications that is custom to your property. Please contact us for a free, no-obligation estimate and allow us to transform your home to the dream home you want.