Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC

Founded 2011 • With Angi since April 2014

4.5

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1619 Weld Rd.

Elgin, IL 60123

Description

We provide a wide range of home improvement and construction services across the Greater Chicago-land area. We bring with us a wealth of experience, knowledge and ability to create the most enviable changes to your home. Along with our level of craftsmanship, we make it our mission to also bring

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Jill H.
5.0
05/19/2018
We had a gutter seal leak problem that other contractors said would take thousands of dollars to fix. Applaudable explained that it was just a simple caulking issue, fixed it for $150 bucks, and solved the problem! No hard selling and no pushing of services we didn't need. We will use them again when it is time to replace gutters and siding.
Description of Work
Gutter leak repair
Category
gutter repair
james K.
5.0
04/21/2018
I contacted a couple roofing companies and received quotes. Bob with Applaudable was most helpful in the process. He noticed that the roof showed signs of wind/hail damage. He recommended calling my insurance company. With their help and the insurance company I was able to get the roof redone. Nice company to work with. Brian, Kristen and Bob really did a great job start to finish. The crew was clean and organized. Great Job.
Description of Work
I needed a roof replacement.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Jim, We are very glad to hear you are happy. If you need anything in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Kristin Martinak-Cooke Applaudable Roofing & Construction, LLC
Syed M.
1.0
11/28/2017
He did not even get up the roof to do any maintenance. He took several weeks canceling earlier appointments stating that there were rains and roof was wet. He can't climb on wet roof since it will be slippery. Then when he came finally after one and half months, he used a binocular to visually inspect the roof from the ground. He said he will send me an email about the works that needed to be done on the roof. I never got that email either.
Description of Work
Need to do some quick maintenance such as putting some nails back which might have been popped.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

We assigned Mr. [Member Name Removed]'s account to one of our claims specialists named Bob (who by the [Member Information Removed] has quite a few wonderful reviews here on Angie's List) on October 8th. Mr. [Member Name Removed] sent Bob a text message on Monday, October 9th at 5:34pm (Bob saved the text conversation and took a screen shot of each message so that we would have documented proof of this conversation) asking "Hi, you are coming for roof maintenance this Saturday, right? Just wanted to confirm.". Bob replied on Wed, Oct 11, 9:21 AM - "Yes you are scheduled for this Saturday the 14th between 10 and 1030 Weather permitting, if it rains will have to reschedule and just so you know it's a 65% chance of rain that day. If it is raining or rain the night before and the roof is still wet I will call you before the appointment time and reschedule accordingly. Sorry I didn't get back to you sooner, we are swamped. Hopefully I'll see you this Saturday, have a great day. Bob sent another text message Oct 11, 11:22 AM - "Please confirm you received this message". Mr. [Member Name Removed] replied right back "Yes, I received the message. Thank you. Hope to see you this Saturday unless there is a rain". As predicted by the weather forecast it did in fact rain on Saturday so naturally Bob did not go to the appointment as we cannot inspect wet roofs. Bob sent a text to Mr. [Member Name Removed] on Sun, OCT 15, 9:57 AM - "How is your schedule looking for this week?". Mr. [Member Name Removed] replied back Sun, OCT 15, 3:53 PM - "It is difficult to manage the time during weekdays. Are you available next Saturday?". Bob replied Sun, OCT 15, 5:04 PM - "Yes, does 10am work for you?". Mr. [Member Name Removed] replied right back "Great, See you at 10am then. Hopefully weather will cooperate this time." Mr. [Member Name Removed] texted Bob on Tue, OCT 24, 5:41 PM "Hi Bob, did you send me an email for the roof maintenance? Did you even go to the roof/ Visual inspection from the ground shouldn't have had to wait because of wet roof. I am little confused about the service I purchased." Bob did make a concerted effort to reschedule the appointment as we do not inspect roofs in the rain or when they are wet for obvious safety reasons. It is also important to note that this package is for a very basic/simple tune up on a small to medium sized home, hence the low price tag, that is why there are disclaimers such as *up to 2,000 SF roof and height and pitch (steep roof) restrictions. Mr. [Member Name Removed]'s roof is at least 4,000 SF and a 10/12 - 12/12 pitch (twice the largest size allowed for this offer and very steep and unsafe to walk on). Bob should have explained that your home doesn't fall within the parameters of our standard offer and quoted you the proper price to have another party who is trained to walk on steeper roofs from our company provide you with this upgraded service. Please contact Kristin at our office and we would be happy to refund the $149.00 you paid for this service. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Kim L.
5.0
10/27/2017
Applaudable Roofing came and looked at the roof. I received a verbal quote for the roof after their inspection and look forward to working with them. Bob gave me some additional information about the over all condition of my roof, things to consider at another time. Bob was prompt, polite and a pleasure to converse with. I appreciate the direct and honest discussion. The would I hire again answer is based on our discussion today. I have no reason to believe it will not go well. I will post a follow up review once the job is complete
Description of Work
I have a leak from the Roof with a small amount of water damage in my home.
Category
roofing
Robert L.
5.0
07/16/2017
Perfect! They did everything they promised in the time frame they promised.
Description of Work
They removed and replaced my house roof.
Category
roofing
Renu B.
5.0
07/12/2017
Awesome! HWA referred Applaudable Roofing to us. Bob Cook came to our house. He was knowledgeable and experienced. Inspected the exterior of the house and the roof. He fixed the few lifted shingles (due to the storm/wind) and caulked the nails and the cracks. He offered tips on other things pertaining to our house. He was honest. He told us when we did not need anything and when we needed something. Gave us his card and asked us to call him if we had any questions. He was awesome!
Description of Work
Had a leaky roof.
Category
roofing
Joshua K.
5.0
06/23/2017
You wrote a review for Applaudable Roofing & Construction One hour ago 5.0 star rating 6/23/2017 Incredibly pleased with the level of service, professionalism and workmanship! We worked with Bob and Kristen primarily. Our insurance company was very difficult to work with, delaying repairs and replacement of both the roof and the siding the whole time water damage continued to pile up. Both Bob and Kristen went out of their way to assist us with the insurance company, keep us informed at every step what the status was, who they were talking to and what the outcome of every conversation with our insurance adjuster was. Bob was very knowledgeable and was very clear on the process, what to expect next, and what my responsibilities were to the insurance company and what his responsibilities were to me and the insurance company. In all we ended up with all of our much needed repair work completed in quickly by excellent crews, all of whom were very friendly and considerate of us and our neighbors as we live in a tight neighborhood. The craftsmanship was excellent and we had 0 scrap or garbage left in our yard at all! A very positive experience from start to finish!
Description of Work
Roofing and siding
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding, chimney caps
Kenneth W.
5.0
05/26/2017
Job was professionally done. Work crews showed up when promised. Workers were polite and obviously knew what they were doing. Put in long 13 and 14 hour work days to ensure that the work was completed before bad weather approached and ensuring that our home was protected against possible rain at the end of each work day. Our house is large and the roof is expansive and includes steep pitches. The Applaudable crew handled the job without a problem. Also, Bob Cooke, the claims specialist for Applaudable was the best! Very responsive. Answered all of our questions about the job and efficiently coordinated the work with our insurance company. The same goes for the owner, Brian. We would definitely use Applaudable again and recommend them to anyone in the area. We could not have asked for a better experience with a contractor.
Description of Work
Completely re-roofed our home - including tear off and removal of existing roof and replacing a skylight.
Category
roofing
Bernadette T.
5.0
05/16/2017
If you want someone honest, kind, and who will work wonders with you use BOB!!! I can't tell you how ecstatic I am!!! I thought I would have to save thousands to get my roof and gutters done. Bob saved the day and it is covered by my insurance!!! FANTASTIC!!!
Description of Work
Bob originally came out for my home warranty, but that was denied. He gave me great advice to go through my insurance for my roof. I AM SOOOO HAPPY!!! I am getting a new front and back siding, gutters, and roof!!! He flipped my bad situation into a wonderful one!!! My house is going to look brand New!!!!
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding, chimney caps
JoAnn P.
5.0
03/27/2017
Great. Job done quickly and effeciently
Description of Work
Redo of kitchen ceiling, drywall in garage
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed] for the great review. We are extremely happy that you are happy with our services. If you need us in the future we are just a phone call away. Applaudable Roofing & Construction, LLC -" A local contractor taking care of local customers ". Thank you again!!
Glenn R.
5.0
01/21/2017
While the actual repair work has not been done yet (scheduled for next week), I'm writing this review early to point out something that Bob the claims adjuster did that went above and beyond the call of duty: In addition to saving us money by successfully working with the Home Warranty company, he also likely saved our LIVES. I'll explain. While checking the attic to see if there was any water leaking there he noticed the smell of natural gas. I've been up there recently and didn't notice it. However when we pointed a very specific location I smelled it as well. Long story short.. called the gas company and indeed there was a leak. Thanks Bob!! I'll update the review after the repair. Hopefully that is before the next rain!
Description of Work
Roof ridge repair for a leaking roof
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we are happy to hear that Bob identified the gas leak and that your family is SAFE. If we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. Applaudable Roofing & Construction, LLC - "A local contractor taking care of local customers".
Brenda L.
5.0
08/08/2016
The whole experience with Applaudable Roofing was excellent from start to finish. Working with Mr. Dobrenick was a pleasure. He was always available for questions and concerns and he did the job exactly as he said he would. He took care of obtaining the necessary permits required and saw that the inspections were done as needed. His crew did an amazing job of being on time, working hard and cleaning up the area around my house to my satisfaction. The whole job was completed in one day's time and they arrived at exactly the time they said they would. Mr. Dobrenick is very conscientious and considerate of his clients time constraints which is very helpful. I can't say enough good things about him and Applaudable Roofing. I would recommend them highly to anyone who wants a job well done at an affordable price.
Description of Work
Removed two layers of shingles down to the plywood decking; replaced any wood than was not in excellent condition; installed ice and water shield to code; felt paper15 lb.; drip edge, 4 turtle vents; new chimney vent; installed all new shingles and ridge shingles. Clean up was done with magnetic roller to pick up all the nails. All materials was taken away by installer.
Category
roofing
Tom B.
5.0
07/27/2016
It is a fairly large and steep roof with multiple valleys, eaves, and hips (complex roof). Applaudable started and finished the project withing three days. They did a very nice job of cleaning up after themselves as well. Due to weather (late winter) the gutters had to be delayed by a few days after the roof was completed, but the gutters were hung and the entire roofing project completed within a week. It was a very pleasant experience.
Description of Work
Roofing company representative, Bob, found hail damage on roof and coordinated all paperwork for claim. We were able to work with my insurance company to have the roof and some of the gutters replaced. Bob was constantly punctual, friendly, and knows the ins and outs of dealing with insurance claims.
Category
roofing
Jennifer J.
4.0
07/27/2016
The workers had no regard for our children or pets safety, when addressed with Brian he fixed the situation immediately. He always answered or returned my calls within a timely fashion and took my concerns seriously. I would definitely recommend Brian to my family and friends.
Description of Work
Our roof needed 3 layers of shingles and cedar shank removed and all new plywood put down.
Category
roofing
Mary Ann I.
5.0
07/19/2016
Upon the first visit, Applaudable's Claim Specialist explained the process step by step. First our Home Owners Insurance needed to be contacted and a claim made for the damage. There adjuster came out wrote up all the damages. When the Insurance Company came to there findings and called me with what they would pay I was very distressed. I was going to have to come up with several thousand dollars to pay for the new roof. But Bob, Applaudable's Claim Specialist, knew how to get me through this part of the process. Bob instructed me to call my insurance company and simply request another inspection. So the second time around Bob pointed out every thing that was possibly missed. When my insurance company said they would cover the cost minus my deductible I knew I had absolutely chosen the right company with the right Claim Specialist to do my roof. After that point every thing was all systems go. The Applaudable's crew showed up and completed my handsome roof in 2 days. The workers were so focused on my roof it was pretty amazing to see it happen so quickly. I have to say I had never made an insurance claim of any sort and I am so grateful that I chose Applaudable. They literately told me what to expect every step of the way and were there for me from day one till the day of completion. I consider my roof a deal of my lifetime and received the best price, the best service and professionalism and a beautiful quality roof.
Description of Work
After a storm caused damage to my roof I called Applaudable Roofing & Construction, LLC. Bob, Applaudable's Claim Specialist came out the next day and took a look at the damage, He then explained everything I needed to know about the insurance process, within days materials were delivered and the work began. The workers were very polite and serious about getting my roof perfect. There was some paper work involved and Kristin at Applaudable's office took care of that for me. When I think back about it all I had to do is call.
Category
roofing
Rodrigo G.
5.0
07/18/2016
This was a very professionally run company. They came to my home and explained the entire process. They also left color selections for me. They did not pressure me into anything and were very polite. They kept me informed of the scheduling and when material was expected to arrive. They also made sure all garbage was picked up daily. If something was left Appluadable would be back later in the day. The great thing is I dealt with only 2 people through the entire process which really helped keep all the administrative paperwork very easy and organized. They are a local company and will recommend them to anyone needing roof or siding work done.
Description of Work
Applaudable Roofing was selected to repair my home from hail damage. They removed the old shingles, placed ice and water shield and replaced with my color selection. They upgraded me to the 30year architectural shingles. They also removed and replaced siding on 3 sides of my house that had damage.
Category
roofing, siding
Susan S.
1.0
03/18/2015
Company would not give me the report on my own house. Said they needed to take it back to my HOA. If we had known they weren't going to tell us about our own house we wouldn't have even let them look. They were very arrogant.
Description of Work
Home owners association sent out Applaudable Roofing and Construction to inspect the roof.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

To whomever reads this review please understand 1 very important thing; The HOME OWNERS ASSOCIATION with whom we have a maintenance agreement is the bill paying customer NOT the home owner. We were given specific instructions by the HOA (our client) to report our findings directly to the association NOT the home owner. We decided to send the most personable sales person we have; Brian, the owner of our company, who is a licensed roofing professional and a very stand-up, like-able man with a great sense of humor. The home owner asked Brian what the challenge with the house was, he explained that he was directed by the home owner's association to report directly to them with our assessment and that the association would communicate our findings to them. At this point the home owner became very upset and yelled at Brian and told him to "Get the F**K out of my house", Naturally, Brian left immediately and contacted the home owners association to let them know what happened.
Andrew S.
1.0
12/05/2014
BUYER BEWARE!! Bob, the sales representative showed up at the home of my mother. He told her that she would be able to easily get insurance money for the siding replacement and the damage to the house. The home has aluminum siding that is rather old, and the hail damage is on only three sides of the house. When my mother mentioned this, Bob told her that the aluminum as scrap would be worth ?a lot? and would be able to cover the other side of the house. He also told her about other possible areas of the house that he could advocate for the insurance to cover. Essentially, according to Bob, the only cost to my mother would be the insurance deductible. Bob asked my mother sign what she thought was a "good faith" agreement, allowing him to ?advocate? for her when the insurance adjuster arrived. My mother arranged for the insurance adjuster to come and look at the house. She called Applaudable and let them know that the insurance adjuster would be there. Bob met with him and estimated the cost of the replacement (minus deductible). The insurance company gave a check for approximately half of the amount to Bob, and the rest to my mother. At no point during this transaction did Bob indicate that the amount the insurance gave him was not going to be enough to adequately cover the cost of the repair of the entire house. Several days later, Bob came out to the house to do a follow up measurement. He claimed that there had been some mistakes made on the original paperwork, and he needed to double-check his original numbers. Again, he gave my mother the impression that things were moving along nicely. Several days later, Bob called to inform my mother that, despite all of his promises, she would indeed, need to pay $5000 more for the siding on the house in order to complete the job on the undamaged portion. Of course, my mother said that she would be unable to do this, and that she would have to decline. ?I don?t know why you wouldn?t want to do this,? he said. She told him that he had, on several occasions, told him that there would be no cost to her beyond the deductible. She had also been clear to him that she would be unable to do the job if the cost was much more than what the insurance would pay. At this point, she was told that Applaudable would be keeping 20% of the check that she had given them for their ?free? estimate. This amounted to almost $1000. He also referred her to the ?contract? that she signed earlier, where those terms were spelled out (in half-tone print on the back) ?We have to feed our families,? Replied Bob. ?We need to be paid for the work we have already done.? When my mother inquired about what work they had done, Bob mentioned the "many" times that he had been out to measure and ?advocate? for with the insurance. Most recently, Bob called to inform my mother that the check from the insurance was in the mail, minus the 20%. He also informed her that she could give her lawyer a call if she wanted. ?They have had several people try to get their money back from us,? he said, ?but no one has ever won.? Bob made all sorts of claims to my mother in order to get her to sign a contract in haste. When few of his claims came to pass, he used the contract to cover his own mistakes. While these practices may not technically be ?illegal,? they are, at best, deceptive; at worst, slimy. Bob should have just apologized, returned the full amount, and learned that when you make a bunch of verbal promises you can?t keep, it?s better to admit it. The ill-will that this situation has caused is far expensive than the $946 dollars Applaudable roofing got from my mother.
Description of Work
No work was ever performed. They only performed an estimate.
Category
roofing
Stephane L.
4.0
02/11/2013
................The person I dealt with is not with the company anymore but they very helpful and they made sure that they do a good job with the roofing. They were present when the insurance company came in , they influenced the insurance company. They know what they are doing.
Description of Work
............I had the roofing done.
Category
roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    MK General Contractor

    General Contractor - Remodeling, HVAC, Plumbing and Electrician  

    Angi Certified

    Next Door & Window

    Here at Next Door and Window, we a ready to bring you the best options for your new window and home door project. Next Door and Window has the best windows by Marvin, Integrity, Marvin Infinity and Sunrise. Wood Clad, Vinyl and Fiberglass Windows and Entry and Patio Doors by Albany and Provia. Next Door and Window will have one of their highly trained professionals meet with you and discuss all the possible options for your window and door project, they will then provide you with a FREE NO OBLIGATION quote for your project. Best of all, Next Door and Window will paint or stain your window and trim to match any color you need with our paint match program. Most others leave the project for you to finish with paint or stain, but, at Next Door and Window we do that for you! Next Door and Window also provides the best installation procedures and materials to make certain your project is done right and we back it with the industries best warranties. We have a full team of installation and service professionals to answer your questions…fast! If a visit is necessary to your home we will work around your schedule within a half-hour window of time to handle your issue quickly, often within 24 hours. We have over 25 trucks in the field to serve you fast. We are there when you need us. Additional DBA - Wolt Window & Door. Additional showroom addresses: 815 E. Ogden Ave, Naperville, IL 60563, & 718 E Rand Rd Arlington Heights, IL 60004.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Nicholas James Painting, Inc.

    Interior painting contractor, 30 years experience, Cabinet painting, drywall repair, wallpaper removal. Fully insured.  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    104.016010 105.006073
    Trade License Locale
    Elgin, IL
    Trade License Authority
    State of Illinois Dept of Financial Professional Regulation
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2017
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Exterior Services, Roofing, Siding, Windows, Doors, Exterior Painting & Decks, Exterior Trim, Garage Doors, Gutters, Soffit & Fascia. Interior Services, Basement Remodeling, Bath Remodeling, Demolition, Doors, Drywall, Flooring Carpet & Tile, Insulation, Kitchen Remodeling, Painting, Trim Work

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC

    How is Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC overall rated?

    Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC open?

    Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC provide

    Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC?

    Yes, Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC offer?

    Applaudable Roofing & Construction LLC offers the following services: Exterior Services, Roofing, Siding, Windows, Doors, Exterior Painting & Decks, Exterior Trim, Garage Doors, Gutters, Soffit & Fascia. Interior Services, Basement Remodeling, Bath Remodeling, Demolition, Doors, Drywall, Flooring Carpet & Tile, Insulation, Kitchen Remodeling, Painting, Trim Work