Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING

Founded 1986 • With Angi since April 2010

3.4

(6) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2159 HAMILTON DR.

Dundee, IL 60118

Description

Don't Move - Improve Loan Program is availabe at Tri-R Construction and Remodeling, Inc. Since 1986 with over 50 years of combine experience. All work comes with warrantees, and guarantee customer satisfaction. All workers are employed by us. " Call Tri-R Construction and Remodeling, you be glad you did"...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

10/03/2017


Kenneth K.

I would not recommend them to my friends.

Description of Work
They remodeled 2 bathrooms and changed all the door upstairs including one sliding closet door.

Category home remodeling

1.0

09/04/2015


APB ..

COMPLAINT ABOUT: TRI-R-CONSTRUCTION STEVEN RABIN OWNER 1145 S. ROUTE 31 UNIT1 SUITE 276 CRYSTAL LAKE ILLINOIS 2157 HAMILTON WEST DUNDEE ILLINOIS KITCHEN REMODELING, HARWOODFLOOR INSTALL,NEW FRONT DOOR INSTALL (1) We did not receive the Consumer Rights Pamphlet, required by law. (2) Tri- R- Construction led us to believe he had a crew of people working for him but all we ever saw was one carpenter and the owner. (3) Tri ?R- Construction came into our home and totally gutted our kitchen. The problem was they did not have the corner cabinet they needed to get the job started. The vender that Tri-R bought the cabinets from instructed the Tri R carpenter on how to install the cabinets without the corner cabinet .The Tri ?R carpenter refused to install cabinets so this left us without a kitchen for over two months. I also forgot to mention they pulled up all the flooring too, you can only imagine the mess and inconvenience it was to us. We also were forced to eat out every day and night for over two months, at great expense to us. They left the basement a total mess with wood chips all over everything. (Pictures available) On several days the carpenter called in sick and admittedly said he was suffering from a hangover. (4) Tri-R Construction removed my kitchen faucet, r/o faucet, garbage disposal and water lines to my dishwasher. Then they reinstalled all new kitchen faucet, r/o faucet, garbage disposal, water lines to my dishwasher, water lines to my refrigerator, and toilet. As per the contract all work was to be performed by a licensed plumber. I checked with the State Of Illinois and Tri-R-Construction nor the owner of Tri ?R Construction are licensed plumbers or licensed plumbing contractors. I contacted two licensed plumbers who both concurred that the plumbing was not to code and would cause us problems down the road. As it stands now the plumbing needs to be redone because food just sits in the garbage disposal and doesn?t go down the drain. The drain needs to be lowered about 5 inches. (5) Tri-R-Construction installed new hardwood floors. I had over 70 wood planks that had to be replaced because of improper installation or because they were scratched or dented by Tri-R Constructions flooring contractors. I had to hire an outside contractor to repair the floors. Tri-R signed a document that allowed another contractor to repair his work and deduct the amount of money owed off Tri-R- Constructions bill. (6) Tri-R- Construction installed a new front door. The door was improperly installed and kept rubbing against the frame and some of the paint came off. During the winter cold air and snow would come through the door. Once again the owner finally agreed to let me get a different contractor to repair the door properly. The owner signed a document to allow another contractor to repair his work and deduct the amount of money off Tri-R Constructions bill. (7) We paid for quartz countertops Caesar stone 3100. We were told by Tri- R that his supplier could not get the quartz any more. The Tri- R told us that the quartz and the granite countertops were the same amount of cost. We were in a time crunch because of the holidays so we took the granite countertops. The countertop was ordered incorrectly and we had to wait again. The new countertop came in with the wrong sink, but we settled and took it anyway. Much to our surprise granite was half the price of quartz. We paid for quartz so we expected a price adjustment. The vender told me that the Tri-R refused to buy the quartz, even though that?s what we were quoted. It was because of the cost, not because he could not get the product. The vender billed the Tri-R for the remake of the second countertop because the Tri-R ordered it incorrectly. I got a letter from the vender of the countertop company that informed me that Tri-R-Construction did not pay their bill and that if I did not pay the bill they were going to put a lien on our house. I paid the bill, and have now paid for the countertops twice. (8) We waited and waited for Tri-R- Construction to finish the kitchen. All we got were excuses. He kept asking for more money but the job was not finished. We obviously are not going to use this contractor for the bathrooms. (9) I now have to hire a new contractor to finish the kitchen. With all the money I have laid out to fix his incompetent work, plus all the money I have paid out for the products that he was supposed to pay for, it turns out that Tri- R- owes us money. This kitchen project is costing me way over budget.This company has cost us more time, money and grief. This contract was signed 5/28/14 and is still not done. As of 7/9/2015 we got Tri-R to pay us a very inadequate amount of money thanks to our lawyer. This company left us with a giant mess to clean up. (10) If you think I am just a complainer, please read the reviews from another unhappy customer on the BBB web site. 5/15/2015

Description of Work
Remodeled kitchen,installed hardwood floors,installed new front door with side lights,Installed ceramic flloors.

Category home remodeling

3.0

04/16/2015


Brian K.

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/09/2012


Theresa M.

Amazing! Steve did a wonderful job making sure the bathroom fit right in and flowed with the decor of my home. This bathroom is on my main floor and had not been updated in years. The change in the bathroom was amazing and gives the house a totally different feel. I would definitely use Tri R again and would recommend it to my friends. It is so nice to hear the comments from people as they walk into the bathroom for the first time. This is one of the first major jobs I have attempted in my "fixer-upper" and love the results. I have already scheduled my next project!

Description of Work
Remodel of main floor bathroom.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure to be a service to you as well. Look forward to working with you in the future. Thank you for your comment.
1.0

05/04/2012


Randy S.

signed a contract with Steve middle of April,two weeks later I had to call him to see why he had not started the job.He gave me the excuse that the weather wasn't good enough.He was schduled to powerwash was my front porch and my deck.There were several days when there was no rain,besides he was to power wash which involves water.When I called him he told me he was just about to call me,(how many times have you heard that when you call someone),again he told me the weather was not good.The next couple of days there was no rain and the temps were in the upper 70's.Finally I called and said I wanted the job started by the weekend,this was going into the third week,he said ok.Then about 30 min later he called back to say he was not comfortable with that time frame,told him if he couldn't do it within that time frame I would like my deposit refunded,which he did. I felt Steve Rabin the owner was very unprofessional due to the fact I was the one who had to contact him,he never once called to explain why he was not showing up to do the job.

Description of Work
Never completed the job.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Signed contract on 4/19, told him I was two weeks out from sarting the job. I had spoke with the member on 4/30 and told him that it was to rain all week. He said it was going to be in the 80's on Wednesday, but that it did rain. I will not power wash (my unit is electric) or work in the rain. I told him that I would keep him posted. I get a call from the member on 5/3 and she ask when I would do the job. I told her the same thing, but that I would get there by Sunday, It rained on sunday, and it is raining every day before mind you. So I cancelled the job and hand delivered their deposit based on the unreasonable actions/request of the customer. Product is water based as well. The job would not hold up and I would look like the bad guy. This will not happen on my watch.
5.0

04/07/2010


Tunisia R.

The job overall went excellent. Steven kept me informed when the windows order was placed, the estimate completion date, and what date to expect installation. Based on what he told me, the job went just as planned. I never had that much attention to detail and excellent customer service performed. He even did the little odd jobs in my home that needed some attention ( for a single gal that was just fine with me). I'm planning on using him next year for the next set of windows. To me, being a single woman, I love to find a contractor that does not take a advantage of you, who knows the product, can tell u about his company and well as the manufacture, and provide outstanding customer service.

Description of Work
I have 5 windows replaced in my home. I had one window that needed to be reframed and they did an excellent job in re-framing the window. They clean up behind themselves. This company takes pride in what they do and it shows. I love those guys and Steven.

Category replacement windows

    Other local Pros in your area

    Home Build - Windows, Doors & Siding

    Home Build specializes in installations or replacement windows, doors, and siding. Home Build is a locally owned and operated home improvement contractor. At Home Build, every project is owner sold, supervised and approved. We’ve been providing superior products and customer-focused service for Chicago northwestern suburbs homeowners since 1997. We understand that we are only as good as the quality of the products we offer, which is why we have aligned with trusted manufacturers such as Pella, Alside, Marvin, Simpson, Therma-Tru, James Hardie, and other industry leaders. We offer something to fit every budget and many of our products are backed by lifetime warranties to give our customers added peace of mind.  

    Next Door & Window

    Here at Next Door and Window, we a ready to bring you the best options for your new window and home door project. Next Door and Window has the best windows by Marvin, Integrity, Marvin Infinity and Sunrise. Wood Clad, Vinyl and Fiberglass Windows and Entry and Patio Doors by Albany and Provia. Next Door and Window will have one of their highly trained professionals meet with you and discuss all the possible options for your window and door project, they will then provide you with a FREE NO OBLIGATION quote for your project. Best of all, Next Door and Window will paint or stain your window and trim to match any color you need with our paint match program. Most others leave the project for you to finish with paint or stain, but, at Next Door and Window we do that for you! Next Door and Window also provides the best installation procedures and materials to make certain your project is done right and we back it with the industries best warranties. We have a full team of installation and service professionals to answer your questions…fast! If a visit is necessary to your home we will work around your schedule within a half-hour window of time to handle your issue quickly, often within 24 hours. We have over 25 trucks in the field to serve you fast. We are there when you need us. Additional DBA - Wolt Window & Door. Additional showroom addresses: 815 E. Ogden Ave, Naperville, IL 60563, & 718 E Rand Rd Arlington Heights, IL 60004.  

    Offers by Next Door & Window on Angi
    Your Window Solutions

    Your Window Solutions is Chicagoland's answer to other mediocre, overpriced, and under delivering window companies. With over 30 years of exterior construction and window installation experience, we bring high quality alongside affordability to your home. Call us today to schedule your free no obligation consultation 833-367-9687  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Check
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Replacement Windows, Siding, Kitchen, Bath, Basement Remodeling, and Decks.

    Services Not Offered

    Concrete, Fence, additions

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING

    How is TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING overall rated?

    TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING is currently rated 3.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING open?

    TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING provide

    TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Check

    Does TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING offer free estimates?

    Yes, TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING offers free project estimates.

    Does TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING offer a senior discount?

    No, TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING does not offer a senior discount.

    Does TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING offer emergency services?

    Yes, TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING?

    Yes, TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING offers warranties.

    What services does TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING offer?

    TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING offers the following services: Replacement Windows, Siding, Kitchen, Bath, Basement Remodeling, and Decks.

    Are there any services TRI-R CONSTRUCTION AND REMODELING does not offer?

    Concrete, Fence, additions