Berg Roofing and Home Improvements

About

Founded 1950 • With Angi since November 2003

We as a family would like to take the opportunity to personally thank you for your interest in Berg Roofing and Home Improvements. This is our family’s business of over 50 years and we are proud to be running it in the tradition of our grandfather. We have always strived to offer the very best products and options at a good price. We will explain to you our apporach; which has been tested thousands of times with customers like you. We offer a full line of services: roofing, replacement windows, vinyl siding and insulated vinyl siding, fascia, soffit, gutters and gutter guards systems. We are a professional roofing and siding contractor and we offer the highest quality service at a good price. Don’t cut corners on your most important asset, your home. If you are looking for something a little more, we are the company for you. We offer a competitive price, excellent workmanship, honesty and we are very responsive to you needs. You are our highest priority as a customer. We have a number of crews working in the community, so we are able to meet your scheduling needs. We do not leave jobs until they are finished. We will never start a new job, until the current job is finished. We are also one of the only companies in the area that offers a dedicated service crew. From the initial contact to all follow-up calls, you will experience for yourself how the Berg team always strives to achieve 100 % customer satisfaction. You will be pleasantly surprised by our high level of service. Additional email - customerservice@bergext.com...

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+26 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(212) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

181

4

10

3

5

2

5

1

11

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

roofing (181)gutter repair (55)siding companies (44)window replacement (25)skylight installation (16)door installation (7)general contractors (11)chimney repair (3)window treatment (2)masonry (1)
Showing 1-25 of 212 reviews
1.0

09/30/2022


Susan C.

I posted my job as a roofing repair, Berg came out to see the job, decided it wasn’t a a job they were interested in. Insurance is covering repairs, they will only to a full roof replacement. I wasted my time on this appointment. Very dismissive.

Description of Work
roof repair

Category roofing

Work Completed On 09/30/2022

Service Provider Response

Sorry we could not help you we are a honest company if we can’t warranty are work we won’t take your money good luck thank you
5.0

07/08/2022


Mike C.

Everything was great. Berg worked with us regarding installation. Very professional installation team. Highly recommend Berg.

Description of Work
Complete siding

Category contractors, siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/05/2022

5.0

05/09/2022


Carol S.

We worked with John to have our windows and siding replaced on our home. It was the best customer service experience we have ever had. John was in constant contact with us throughout the project to ensure we had no unanswered questions or issues. His crew was professional and efficient. In addition to quality work, they also did an excellent job of cleanup, during, and at completion of the project. We would highly recommend Berg Home Improvements for their exceptional quality and competitive pricing. The added bonus is having John there to help guide you every step of the way.

Description of Work
Windows and siding

Category gutter repair, siding, replacement windows, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/09/2022

2.0

04/05/2022


Michael C.

We hired them to replace our roof - they were the best priced and we liked our salesman, Nick Peters. Process seemed to go fine, but we ‘needed’ 16 sheets of plywood during the roofing so of course our price went up over $1k+ on the agreed upon price. Didn’t even get bothered by that, crap happens. We were promised a thoroughly cleaned work area and that turned out to be 1000% false promise. When we let Nick know of our initial complaints, nails/screws and garbage everywhere in our separate garage - he assured us it was because the garage was closed (which I could have opened for them at any point) and he said he would come the next day to clean it up via text. He then left a voicemail on how that was ‘Bergs’’ A Team and how often people compliment them on how clean they left the job site. My wife, son, and myself found the additional nails/screws in the pictures in a half a** look. Berg’s workers also parked in my neighbors yards and left the massive ruts (They took zero responsibility for that). After further complaint and proof of the complaint - Nick responded, ‘Again, I’m sorry.’ Will not be recommending them or using them again.

Description of Work
They redid our roof and garage roof.

Category contractors, roofing

Cost $9,840

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/04/2022

Images

Review for Berg Roofing and Home Improvements - 900 Ogden Ave, Downers Grove, IL - 39686822

+6 More

5.0

03/31/2022


Maryan K.

The work went perfect, I had no problem, excellent response and professionalism; pricing was reasonable.

Description of Work
They did the roof, siding and windows for us.

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review hope to work with you again
5.0

12/21/2021


Roger Y.

Great people to work with..Enjoy talking with Nick and was very professional..we would recommend to all our friends and family..The crew that did ours was excellent, friendly,clean up, and work very hard..Thank you so much!!!

Description of Work
Roof on House and garage

Category contractors, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2021

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the nice review hope to work with you again
5.0

10/31/2021


Roger T.

We are very happy with the roofing job performed by Berg Roofing. I received a few estimates and I went with Berg because I thought they would do a good job at a fair price. Nick provided the estimate and was able to answer all my questions. There were about 5 roofers that performed the work over 2 days. Job went smoothly and Berg did a good job of cleaning up when they were finished. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Replaced shingles on roof

Category roofing, skylights

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2021

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the nice review
5.0

09/22/2021


Coleen H.

Excellent from start to finish. Provided detailed quote, let us know a week before work would start, and then started and finished work when expected including clean-up. Highly recommend to others!

Description of Work
Roof replacement on single-story ranch

Category contractors, roofing

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/18/2021

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind review
5.0

08/14/2021


Ramana Y.

Wonderful! The work was completed in June of 2021. John Oros came for the initial appraisal. We ended up paying a little less than $11,000 for the job. I cannot say enough good things about John and Berg. Above all he was completely honest and forthright. He actually talked us out of replacing some of our other windows saying that it was a waste of money and that the problem was not the windows, but was actually due to issues in the attic. He could have easily said that these windows needed to be replaced and we would have believed him. I really appreciate his honesty. In terms of the work itself, Berg did a wonderful job. The seams were all perfectly caulked. The windows and door were perfectly aligned, and the casing of the garage door frames was perfect. I would have no hesitation in reaching out to John and Berg for any other home repair/improvement needs. Just a great job overall.

Description of Work
Replacement of patio door and windows and recasing of the frame of the garage doors

Category contractors, siding, replacement windows, doors

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2021

5.0

06/26/2021


Vicky E.

Berg had the best of three price quotes; the crew did the job in one day (despite a half-hour downpour), and did a good job of covering vulnerable areas and cleaning up afterwards. Nick is wonderful to work with, communicating regularly and easy to get ahold of.

Description of Work
New Roof put on

Category roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2021

5.0

05/12/2021


Steve B.

After having gotten a lot of bad roofing advice and work over the years It was a real pleasure to work with Berg. Their pricing was competitive and the work done well and promptly. The roofers arrived about 7:30 AM and were all done and gone by 5:00 that afternoon. The whole process was very well organized; they clearly have done this a lot of times. My contact at Berg was Tom Pierce. He’s very knowledgeable and responsive and good to work with. My house looks great now and all the leaks seem to have been banished. Thanks, Berg!

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category contractors, roofing

Cost $10,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/07/2021

5.0

04/07/2021


Justin G.

Competitive pricing, very responsive, and quality service. John was very accessible throughout the process and his installers Andrew and Thomas did great work.

Description of Work
31 Windows replaced along with vinyl siding replaced around garage door and rear exterior door

Category siding, replacement windows, doors

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/06/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review hope to work with you again
5.0

01/21/2021


Ken W.

John Oros was a very responsive, professional representative of Berg Roofing who from the onset, was an excellent communicator. Pricing was competitive and the workmanship was outstanding. Having been in the building business for 40 years, I have experienced many construction processes and this one was above and beyond expectations. His workers were extremely prompt and neat during the process while giving us the quality workmanship we expected. We could not recommend the enough. The vinyl windows are of highest quality and we are very pleased with the final product. Strongly recommend!!!

Description of Work
Window replacement

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/28/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank your for the kind review hope to work with you again
5.0

11/25/2020


Jeffrey R.

Had a full roof replacement. It had to be rescheduled a few times but it got done before the cold of winter set in. Appears to be good work (only time will tell), certainly looks fantastic. I still gave an A but one not so perfect aspect was the clean up. A huge mess was left in my back yard on day one so we couldn't let my dog out, honestly that wasn't the real issue as they were short days but even after the cleanup they were nails and smaller debris everywhere. They were not the cheapest but they were local (Downers Grove) and Bob was great to deal with. Cost $16,400.

Description of Work
Full tear off roof replacement

Category contractors, roofing

Cost $16,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/13/2020

2.0

08/26/2020


Paul C.

I had a signed contract with Berg, but we could not get the roof replaced. He mentioned that he had a hard time getting materials. I was able to get the same shingle from the same manufacturer from another roofer with no problem.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

Work Completed On 05/14/2020

5.0

08/05/2020


Craig L.

We were thrilled with this company. John O. was our contact person, and he was super-helpful and very responsive to our questions. The crew was fast and effective. All work was completed in a timely fashion. 5 star service! Would highly recommend!

Description of Work
Roof, siding, trim, downspouts, Gutters

Category contractors, gutter repair, roofing, siding

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review hope to work with you again
5.0

08/01/2020


Lauren F.

We were put in touch with John Oros as we needed to replace our entire roof. From the start John was professional, very responsive and helped guide us through the process. I appreciated that John kept us in the loop throughout the process both in regards to timing and also during the work itself. The team doing the job was also very professional, punctual and fast! We are not only happy with how the roof looks but can’t say enough in terms of what a pleasure it was working with this company. I would highly recommend Berg for any of your roofing needs and would encourage you to ask for John. Overall a great experience.

Description of Work
We needed a new roof and gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2020

Images

Review for Berg Roofing and Home Improvements - 900 Ogden Ave, Downers Grove, IL - 38764627

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank for the review hope to work with you again
5.0

07/25/2020


Nicholas D.

We needed a new roof, so I called 3 companies for quotes - obviously Berg being one of them. Nick Peters was our salesman. Not only was Berg far and away less expensive than the two others, but Nick was so amazing to work with. Nick was very direct and to the point making the decision easy, while guiding us throughout every step of the process. Nick showed up for the start of the job, would check in during install, and followed up immediately once complete. It's hard to find quality customer service like Nick provided. The labor workers were so clean and professional. Getting a job this big done, could be a nerve wracking process, but I would 100% recommend Berg!

Description of Work
Complete New Roof Install

Category roofing

Cost $12,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/24/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review hope to work with you again
5.0

07/10/2020


Amy M.

We needed a large bay window (original to our 50+ year old home) replaced. We were looking to replace it with a picture window and contacted a few companies for bids, but Berg gave the best quote. Also, John pointed out some potential related work that would result from the change. I had thought of these too, but John was the only one who mentioned it to me up front. Which means we didn't have any surprises during installation and Berg's quote was inclusive. John was easy to work with and always responsive. The two gentlemen who installed the window did a phenomenal job with great attention to detail. Overall a fantastic experience.

Description of Work
Picture window replacement

Category replacement windows

Cost $4,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/09/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review hope to work with you again
5.0

05/31/2020


Kristin M.

Tom Pierce and his crew did a spectacular job. I called for estimate in early March for new roof because of some missing tiles and concern about possibility of squirrels getting access. Tom took care of the immediate problem areas and we agreed that some time in late May work would be completed. It was done in one day, care was taken to clean up afterward and I couldn't be more pleased.

Description of Work
Tear off and reinstall of new roof, vents and chimney flashings

Category roofing

Cost $8,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/29/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review hope to work with you again
5.0

04/24/2020


Richard R.

Very well. Quick to provide quote, competitive price, good crew who worked from 7am to 7pm to complete the job in one day, and good cleanup of debris.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review hope to work with you again
5.0

04/07/2020


Jessie L.

John and team were very professional, responsive, fair and punctual. We are very happy with the fantastic job they did on siding our house and garage. They paid attention to details and were very diligent about clean up as well. I highly recommend Berg Roofing and Home Improvements.

Description of Work
Siding on house and garage

Category gutter repair, siding

Cost $19,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/06/2020

Images

Review for Berg Roofing and Home Improvements - 900 Ogden Ave, Downers Grove, IL - 38483716

+3 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review hope to work with you again