Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ken Spears Construction Inc

Founded 1975 • With Angi since August 2009

4.7

(7) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2759 Wagner Crt Ste D

Dekalb, IL 60115

Description

Ken Spears Construction, Inc., has been proud to serve DeKalb County and Northern Illinois since 1975. We provide complete home renovation and solutions for residential upkeep and updating. We protect the homeowner by: * Being fully insured, including workmen’s compensation on all

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
William O.
5.0
02/25/2015
unknown
Category
doors
Martin O.
4.0
05/31/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Siding, windows, soffit & facia. Could have had better results if they had postponed for milder weather.
Category
insulation, doors
Robert A.
4.0
03/11/2013
From the beginning we enjoyed working with the representative. She seemed eager to help and understood our concerns. Her attention to detail was excellent and she answered all of our initial questions. She met all timelines, answered all calls promptly, and was patient with us when we took too long. On the other hand, we felt their rough price was a little high, she seemed to contradict herself on a few key issues, and they would not do a detailed estimate without $400 in advance for the planning (the estimate we received was very rough--no details or breakdowns on cost). We received the impression that we would receive excellent, fast, high-quality service but only after putting some money down up front and payinga little extra for the quality. Again, this was only our impression; no work was ever done.
Description of Work
Met with a sales representative. She had an excellent presentation, was knowledgable and professional. She took detailed notes & measurements of the area where we wanted work done. She then prepared a written estimate.
Category
remodeling
James C.
5.0
05/02/2012
They all seem to be very responsible. They get back to me and do very great, good work. I would use them again in the future.
Description of Work
Ken Spears Construction Inc had installed a couple of doors for me.
Category
doors
James K. S.
5.0
02/08/2012
It went great. He put an insulated box over a light so it didn't catch the insulation on fire. I will be using him again.
Description of Work
He sprayed in insulation in the attic.
Category
insulation
Rita H.
2.0
11/11/2010
The estimator / sales rep came to my house. It was a total sales pitch with glossy brochures and hand outs. They wanted money up front to even start doing a plan/estimate which was non-refundable if I didn't use them. The other companies I had bid on the job all provided the same services (including the drawings) at no charge.
Description of Work
I just met with Ken Spears Construction and decided not to use them.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
David G.
5.0
07/24/2009
Amazingly well! We talked about and planned the remoddling for about 15 years. Even still, we weren't sure exactly what we wanted. We had talked to other companies previously, but it wasn't until we worked with Ken Spears that we were finally willing to pull the trigger on the project. First, Ken and his people were willing and able to work with us. We had several planning meetings to work out what we thought we wanted, and to get down to what we actually wanted. This was incredibly helpful, and something none of those other companies had been willing to do. Second, we got the project scheduled and could plan for the disruption in normal life. It's not possible to remoddel half of the living area of a house, especially the kitchen, eating area, and family room, without there being some disruption. Knowing that was coming, and when, helped us get ready for it. Ken promised (and delivered!) that they would start work when they had all of the materials delivered and ready to go (windows, cabinets, etc.), in order to complete the work as quickly as possible. Third, once work got underway, we had wonderful work crew(s) showing up every morning ready to work. Depending on the work to be done that day, we had two to a dozen guys, all of which were friendly, nice, and worked quickly. They also cleaned up their work area at the end of the day, so that even though the house was under construction, it didn't look like a construction site. Ken's guys, and his subcontractors, all did beautiful work. Forth, in any project this extensive, there are going to be bumps in the road, unexpected things that just come up. As expected, there were. They were handled with aplomb, barely even slowing down the work on the project. Fifth, this was an extensive remoddel, and it was completed pretty much on time and within budget. With this much work being done, the time estimate was naturally a bit vague at "about six weeks", but in reality, it was about six weeks, give or take a day or two, from start of demolition to completion of the final items. And the final price was the original estimate on the job. The windows and insulation project was the second one we had Ken Spears work on. This was also completed on time, on budget, and even though it was a much simpler project than the first one, the little surprises that working on an old house offers were handled well. I highly recommend Ken Spears Construction.
Description of Work
We have used Ken Spears for two projects now. The first was a major remoddling of approximately half of our house (Kitchen, Eating Area, Family Room), completed in 2007. The second was adding insulation and replacing all of the windows, completed in 2008. For the remoddling project, the entire area was gutted, down to the studs and subfloor, the back wall (brick) of the house removed and replaced with framed in windows, the floor plan in the kitchen rearranged, with all new counters, cabinets, a hardwood floor, and new drywall for the ceilings and walls. Removing the chimney required building out the roof where the chimney used to be. We also had them replace the roofing shingles, and replace the concrete patio. For the insulation and windows project, the window replacement was straightforward, just removing the old single-pane windows and installing new energy efficient windows. The insulation was more complicated, involving removing some of the wood siding to allow the blown in insulation to be done without leaving holes in the outside.
Category
remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    TopGun Services

    TopGun Powerwashing is a Family business. We offer powerwashing at affordable pricing. Services include homes, roofs, gutters, siding, decks, patio, sidewalks, driveway, etc. We offer free quotes and friendly service. Call or text at 815-993-0837.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    NextWave Construction

    NextWave Construction, LLC is a general remodeling company with over 35 years of experience. We are family owned and operated with our core competencies mainly focused on window, siding, and door replacement. Our mission is to walk each customer through their home renovation projects using clear lines of communication, a professional staff, and the highest quality installations. We couple all this with top-of-the-line products and our guaranteed low price. All windows, siding, and doors not only come with a lifetime warranty from our manufacturers, but we guarantee our work for life as well.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Vinyltech Windows, Siding & Roofing

    We are a Family Owned & Operated Business located in the heart of Downtown St. Charles across from City Hall. Walk-ins are always welcome so stop in and see us sometime. Or visit us at www.vinyltechinc.com.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Window and door updating, bath remodels and additions, kitchen updates and additions, second-floor and dormer additions, room addition bump outs, in-law suites, basement finishing, whole-home remodeling, and decks and porches.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Ken Spears Construction Inc

    How is Ken Spears Construction Inc overall rated?

    Ken Spears Construction Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Ken Spears Construction Inc open?

    Ken Spears Construction Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 AM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Does Ken Spears Construction Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Ken Spears Construction Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Ken Spears Construction Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Ken Spears Construction Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Ken Spears Construction Inc?

    Yes, Ken Spears Construction Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Ken Spears Construction Inc offer?

    Ken Spears Construction Inc offers the following services: Window and door updating, bath remodels and additions, kitchen updates and additions, second-floor and dormer additions, room addition bump outs, in-law suites, basement finishing, whole-home remodeling, and decks and porches.